Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Ring - Spotlight Cam Wired - White-Front_Standard

Ring - Spotlight Cam Wired - White

Model: 8SH1P7-WEN0SKU: 5839313

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 361 reviews

93%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.8 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews

Pros

Cons

  • Live view is enabled on all devices and doesn't seem to impact battery life very much.Gregg
    See all reviews that mention battery as a con

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-8 of 8 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great idea - bad product

    Posted
    Marlow29
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased the spotlight cam hoping it would make up for the terrible doorbell cam, however, they have both proved to be worthless. After hours on the phone with ring support they finally decided i should not have followed the instructions in the video or in the manual. The optimal height is not 9 feet even though their instructions suggest otherwise. So here i am in 20 degree weather running tests trying to get it to work properly and they finally decide it is too high and that 5-7 feet is the proper height. I'm sorry but i the instructions had said that to begin with, you might not be reading this negative review. They clearly state 9' as the optimal height then act surprised that your device isn't 5-7 feet off the ground. Really? Installation is easy, but un-installation is a different story. Those screws that stripped when mounting it? Now you have to unscrew those stripped screws you were lucky to get in the first place. Also, get ready to fill all those holes you made when mounting and running the wires. SOOOOO frustrating. Every single Ring support person i've talked to has been nice and helpful, but unfortunately they all give conflicting information. As far as the doorbell which is a different product. It still picks up cars that are 80 feet away but not cars that are 8 feet away. One person will tell me to run the sensitivity up and the other person tells me to turn it down. Bottom line, neither of these products perform the basic advertised functions.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Marlow29,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor and inconvenient Ring experience, this is not the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I greatly appreciate all the time and energy that you have invested in trying to get your Ring devices to work and I would like to step in and personally ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, I do see that you mentioned already being in contact with our Customer Support team, however, I would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly so that I can personally assess these issues and from there provide you with the best possible resolution. It is imperative to me that we get your Ring devices both up and running consistently to your expectations and I would like to see to it that we do this for you ASAP. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on drastically improving your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good video, major privacy concerns

    Posted
    NoRing
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    From a technical standpoint, the camera is 4-stars. However, from an implementation standpoint, it is 0-1 star. The camera does a good job picking up motion. The setup is straightforward and flexible. You can configure when you want to receive alerts and configure the areas where the camera should look for motion. The problem I have with the camera is that every time it detects motion (whether you have it configured to receive alerts or not), it will record the motion and upload that video to RING's cloud service. For example, I have it configured to not send alerts in the evening or during the weekend when I am home. But there are hundreds of videos from my camera in their cloud service from those times. I have spoken with their support team and there is no way to prevent this. Their first response is "it's not recording 24x7", and while that is correct, it IS recording and uploading video EVERY TIME it senses motion, regardless of whether you get alerts. Personally, I do not want every movement the camera sees recorded and uploaded to RING's cloud service. For example, even though I would like the area monitored at night, I would absolutely NEVER install one of these near my teenage daughter's room. Because of this design, the use cases for interior RING devices are extremely limited in my opinion. Unless they add functionality which links recording and alerting, I will not be purchasing another RING product for inside the house.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good during day, poor night performance

    Posted
    Derrick
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I purchased this camera to overlook the turnaround/parking area at my house as have limited view of this area from the house and often can’t tell who just came up my driveway until they walk to the door. The motion detection and day time features work great, but in my opinion the camera has little to no night vision unless there is an alternative light source like a full moon or motion has already been triggered. If you just look at the live view at night I often see a little of the siding on my garage and black. I worked with tech support for over 3 weeks and while responsive their final determination was that my driveway is not reflective enough and the fact that my camera, which must be in range of WiFi, is picking up a piece of my siding black is all the camera will show in the dark. In my opinion the camera does not have the advertised night vision it has vision in low light. Priced as a premium product and about as effective and with the features of half the price.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    So so.

    Posted
    Fortyfive
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Sporadic. I have it set for low sensitivity and a small area and they constantly pick up rain and moths. Power cord is bulky and can’t be removed and reattached. Very disappointed. Video quality is poor. It can’t read the plate on my car in the daylight. Low light output.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Unable to use

    Posted
    Lynn
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I had to return the Ring wired spotlight because I thought it could be connected to my existing motion-detector floodlight wire already installed to my house. It could not. The technician suggested that I purchase a Ring flood light.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not really for me

    Posted
    Sezs
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I bought this with the ring and the floodlight but but the spotlight I returned it because it has a plug in cord and that will not work outside since it could be very easy for anyone to disconnect it

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Sezs,

      I am sorry to hear about your less than excellent Ring experiencing. Would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com so that I can both follow up on your return as well as ensure that the Ring devices that you currently own are up and running perfectly for you?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not to happy

    Posted
    Will
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    The product works great for picking up motion. But the picture quality is horrible you couldnt make out a face on a person if had to.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    No power out of the box

    Posted
    A8Tablet
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Camera would not power on out of the box. Had to return and out of stock so I can't review yet.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi A8Tablet,

      Oh no, this is not the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. Would you please email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com so that I can drastically improve your Ring experience?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring