Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Samsung - 23 cu. ft. Counter Depth 4-Door Refrigerator with Cool Select Plus - Fingerprint Resistant Stainless Steel-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 769 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 31 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Front Door is Peeling away

    Posted
    SMCOakland

    Purchased exactly 12 months ago and the front door started to peel away. We are an older couple, no children household. Samsung considers it "cosmetic" so it not covered under warranty. Purchase at your own risk if you want 3/4 of your refrigerator black stainless after one year. Here's the conversation I had with the Samsung representative. Riwaj G (Samsung Agent)(09-24-2018 09:12:22 PM) I understand that the front face of the refrigerator is peeling, correct? User (09-24-2018 09:12:35 PM) correcy User (09-24-2018 09:12:38 PM) correct Riwaj G (Samsung Agent)(09-24-2018 09:13:47 PM) In this case, service will be the best option for us. Riwaj G (Samsung Agent)(09-24-2018 09:14:02 PM) Help me with your area zip code. User (09-24-2018 09:14:08 PM) 94611 Riwaj G (Samsung Agent)(09-24-2018 09:14:22 PM) I will help you with the nearest Samsung authorized Service Center contact details. User (09-24-2018 09:14:48 PM) is there a warranty on it? I purchased it 12 months ago. This is clearly a production problem User (09-24-2018 09:15:07 PM) No one expects the front of their refrigerator to peel away Riwaj G (Samsung Agent)(09-24-2018 09:15:32 PM) Peeling is considered as the cosmetic damage and it will not cover under warranty.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Beware. Do not buy this. Research first

    Posted
    Beware
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Please do some online research before you make a decision to buy this fridge. I would suggest you DO NOT BUY IT, but if you decide to (overall it's a great fridge), and I never get warranties myself because I've never needed to use one, I STRONGLY SUGGEST you get an extended warranty with this. You will find numerous complaints, etc. specifically regarding the ice maker on this fridge. You will even find info about a class action law suit over it. I never leave reviews because my wife and I have a 5 year old and an 8 year old and are too busy to even find time to clean the house. The only reason I'm writing this is because I'm currently online trying to figure out how to fix my fridge. I always do research before I purchase something, including checking reviews, which I typically take with a grain of salt on an individual basis. I feel it's better to gather as much info as I can based on professional reviews, reviews from owners, etc. and then make a decision. I did that with this fridge and I have been perfectly happy with it until recently, as I'm sure most reviewers have. We purchased it in April 2016 and had no issues with it at all until summer 2018. As I started my research, I quickly found out it was a rampant issue, regarding the ice maker, and that it seems to fail not far beyond the warranty date. That's exactly what happened in my case. You will find that people have had their's repaired numerous times only to have it continue to fail. So now I'm off to try and figure out why there is a fan running continuously since we turned the ice maker part off...

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Numerous design flaws

    Posted
    miker295
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I spent $3k for this refrigerator and regret it regularly. I have three continual problems with it: - The steel on the doors is very thin and can be dented easily. Three of the four doors had dents in them within a few months of purchase. The dents are big enough that visitors have commented on them. I was told it is $500 for EACH DOOR to replace. - The ice maker freezes water particles to the point that ice buildup eventually prevents the ice maker from working and has gone so far as to freeze the ice canister in place. We've had to defrost the whole fridge and three weeks later the issue is already returning. - The freezer compartment has some sort of filtration issue where tiny frozen particles appear on everything - all surface areas and containers. I haven't even tried to get this one fixed. It's too bad because the flex option is exactly what we needed in our kitchen, but I am nearing the point where I am ready to declare this one a $3000 loss and buy anything other than a Samsung next time.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Hi, miker295. We are always happy to help. To further support your concerns I'm including the link to the troubleshooting guide (https://bit.ly/2RRIH3W) to resolve the issue. Thank you for choosing Samsung. ^Shifa Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible ice maker

    Posted
    seanm

    The icemaker makes very little ice. Most mornings there wasn't enough to fill 2 hydroflasks. The cubes are extreemly small and melt almost instantly. Since it did not make enough we made ice trays in the flex-zone which was set as a freezer. Had to go to -3 deg to get it to freeze the cubes. Fill them in the evening and the next morning only the surface was frozen. On top of that the finish on the doors show tons of finger prints. Had to wipe down daily. We returned it for a GE (Of which the icemaker just broke!) I give props to Pacific Sales at the BestBuy Honolulu for taking the return as this counter depth was not a stocking item. Took 4 weeks to get a replacement which is the norm for here. I thought the fridge looked cool and the flex zone was a neat concept, but it just doesn't work. A big flaw is having the ice maker located in the refrigerator. Seems counter intuitive for making ice consistently.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Frustrating Fridge. Not worth the price.

    Posted
    AirGeek
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    We purchased this fridge thinking we can have more space but couldn't fit same stuff from our old 26 ft fridge into this one. The doors don't close by themselves- doesn't matter how much you adjust the fridge and doors, you have to push them shot. Forget sticking a magnet to hold a Note on the fridge. The front surfaces is all "plastic". The worse part is it's water filter. It's costs 3 times my old fridge and requires replacement every 600 gallon water use. (vs. 1 to 2000 before) And you have to pull the fridge out of its space (and bring it in the middle of kitchen) to turn off its water supply line before changing the filter. I was better off with a fridge at half the price. DO NOT BUY.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Broken at 21 months

    Posted
    JaneRN
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I loved the unit until the fridge stopped cooling well at 21 months, so it was out of warranty. The first tech said it was the compressor and covered under the 5 year warranty for parts and labor. But he did not know how to fix it. The second tech deemed it unreparable and now we can't get it fixed. They said it is a lemon, but the warranty is only for a year, so they are going to give my money back. I have to wait for them to send it and then send them the cut cord and sticker with the serial number on it and then they will send a check. I figure I'll be without a fridge for a month. Great job Samsung. I won't be buying another of their products.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Seal system dead&poor customer service

    Posted
    Michkyle

    one year only and all of sudden it just stopped cooling for all rooms. Call the customer service, and waited 2 weeks until they send over some one for initial diagnose and it turned out to be the compressor, seal system problem. Then after another week, the special technician came. Did few things and stopped in the middle just left and telling us the compressor was tapped, so it is out of the seal system & compressor warranty. Samsung will not cover for repairing, which likely will cost $1k estimated and still not sure if it is fixable or not. Completely just waste your money if buying Samsung!!!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Looks GOOD

    Posted
    AngG
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Waiting for the repair man, for the third time... ice cubes freezes up and won't dispense, have to use the freezer downstairs, for ice. Besides that, the last time the repair man was here, he put culk around the outside of the ice maker and it looks terrible... that's the way "Samsung wants it". If the fridge was free, then be it, but it wasn't FREE. Wish I would have read the reviews, before purchasing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Good Product, Poor Service

    Posted
    misc206

    A couple of retailers had better price on this item, but I've decided to buy it at Best Buy since they offered free delivery, installation and hauling of the old refrigerator. It was delivered and installed on time, but my old refrigerator hasn't been removed, citing that it's a built in. First I've been told they need to send extra people. Later I was told that I need to have it removed and that I can send a bill for reimbursement. After I've told them that I would rather return the item they've scheduled a new crew to pick it up. Instead of sending four people as agreed, two guys showed up and didn't want to remove it. I've missed two days of work and spent probably two hours on the phone getting a runaround. I would buy the refrigerator again, just not at Best Buy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    What a disappointment!

    Posted
    Stacy

    I cannot stress enough NOT to purchase this refrigerator! We purchased ours in November 2015 and have had nothing but trouble with the ice maker ever since. It finally completely quit making ice this past November. We have had 2 new ones installed and it still doesn't work. Our repairman is at a loss as to how to fix it. After doing much research, I have discovered soooooooo many people who have had trouble with theirs as well. A refrigerator this expensive should last a lot longer than 3 years. We will never, ever purchase another Samsung appliance again, and I advise you to do the same.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worked fine for a while, now I hate it!

    Posted
    Tarheel
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Loved this appliance at first! My frig is less than two years old. After nine months the ice maker started making noises and quit working. Have had multiple technicians attempt to repair it with no luck. Now the whole refrigerator is not cooling or freezing. For a product that cost almost $3000, expected a lot more. Samsung has cooperated with repair request but I am really frustrated that now in July, I have no refrigerator in my kitchen. Had to buy ice all summer and throw out food that went bad. Fruit flies too!. Very disappointed in this product and Samsung! Hope no one else has this experience.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible

    Posted
    Unhappy
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I Bought this fridge 4 years ago and after 3 years the fridge started to have a leak on both sides of my front door bottom hinges, and my top fridge stopped working. Samsung authorized rep came out and deemed it as unrepairable and said it was something internal that they cannot find. After 4 appointments of them coming to my home, speaking to the tech, videoing Samsung techs in, they said that they can not find it a For 2 months Samsung has been telling me I am out of warranty and they can not do anything about it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Hello Unhappy, thank you for reaching out to me. I am here for you! I would love a chance to talk with you so that I can understand the situation a little better. Please reach out to me via our Facebook Support Page: https://bit.ly/2LmCR7F, our Twitter: https://bit.ly/205UzRm, call 1-833-REVIEW8, or our Samsung Community Support: https://bit.ly/2hsVXP2 and reference ticket #1138499214, Thanks! ^Mae Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Ice Maker easily freezes up -

    Posted
    nanadog01
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    It is worst refrigerator we have ever purchased. DO NOT BUY IT! It has ongoing ice maker issues. Google Samsung refrigerator – ice maker icing up and you will see. The techs will have you defrost/ shut down ice maker then reset it and it works…. For a few weeks before it ices up again. The problem is that the Ice maker is in the “warmer” refrigerator section – it thaws. Poor design – no insulation. For this much money I shouldn’t have to fiddle around with this nuisance. DO NOT BUY! DO NOT BUY!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The Worst Ever.....

    Posted
    CeJay

    Bought this in 2015 from Best Buy. Owned it for 2 years and it stopped cooling. Called Samsung to see if it was still under warrantee. We had a service guy come out, he confirmed that it was under warrantee. I have spent several weeks, without a fridge, going back and forth with Samsung about it. They will pay me the minimum possible. None of the people that I spoke to spoke English well. It has been a horrible experience. This is a great fridge for a brief time, then it becomes a horrible job for you. Save yourself the headache and buy something else.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Icemaker Problem

    Posted
    Volts
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This is the first time I tried Samsung Product. I don't have much trust in their products when it comes to quality. I have read the reviews about this Ref but still I wanted to try. I was so disappointed. Within a year period, the Icemaker failed twice. Ice accumulates around the icemaker where it disables/blocking the production of ice. I should have listened to the reviews. Very disappointed with customer service, not much help. I will never buy Samsung product, never again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not Much Ice produced then broke 1 year in

    Posted
    William
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    The refrigerator has had a buildup of ice in the back left just below the ice maker since turning it on. The ice maker only produces a few glasses of Ice per day. I have balanced it and had "professional" installation which they broke the back leg off and could not replace it. Google this Brand and check to make sure you can deal with the issues that will pop up. For such an expensive refrigerator it should have lasted longer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Ice maker with known issues & no fix!

    Posted
    Tmomma
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    Paid too much for this fridge! Only had it 6 months and the ice maker has frozen to a halt and not producing ice. Upon researching the matter, this issue has been known to Samsung for several years now with no fix! That’s unacceptable! Waiting for my first service visit and to be strung along like many other customers have been. Don’t buy it!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Refrigerator Cooling System Ceased Functioning

    Posted
    MPFRIG

    Within 10 months of purchasing this refrigerator, it stopped cooling properly. It was discovered by the technician that there were 3 leaks in the system and it could not be fixed. Therefore, it will need to be replaced. It has been over a week and I was informed today that it will be at least 5 days until i can go back to Best Buy and get it replaced. Additionally, i have basically needed to call customer service each day to determine status. This has been a very disappointing experience overall. I would rate the product a 0, but am forced to select 1 star.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Beware!

    Posted
    LFinMO

    We bought all new Samsung appliances in 2015. The microwave quit working one month after the warranty expired. The repairs were going to cost $500, a new microwave was $450. Now this refrigerator water filter mechanism needs replaced. I have never had so many issues with appliances. Check online about this refrigerator, the water filter housing frequently needs replaced just a couple years in. Be warned!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    not refrigerator, just a decorative

    Posted
    Iran

    I received a damage refrigerator and after less than 20 hours, the refrigerator stop working. the Samsung is not accepting to fix it because stopped working less than 24 hours after delivery. I asked best buy to return it and still no one take care of my issue. I keep calling the best buy but no one is responsible. Please let me know, if some one know where I have to take my complain and return this décor and get my money.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend