Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Samsung - 24.6 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless steel-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 3239 reviews

91%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Page 1, showing1-20 of 22 Reviews mentioning:
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Three repairs in a month

    Posted
    VKathleen
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I've had to have three repairs on my two year old refrigerator in the last month. First the ice maker stopped working resulting in a $400 repair. Three weeks later everything in the center of the refrigerator froze, followed by the sensor going out, requiring another $150 repair. That fix lasted a week before the sensor went out again. Another $150, not PLUS time off of work and all the food we had to throw out. This has been a major disappointment.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Broke 3 times in 3 years - Bad Product & Service

    Posted
    Juanito
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Should be a great fridge but after $700 in repairs before it was 3 years old the ice box has failed again. Granted, this is the fault of HNG Appliance which Samsung contracts which in the Seattle area is unfortunately for Samsung the warranty and so called specialist. So Samsung puts out a product that loses the refrigeration components (turned it into a freezer) which in turn apparently fried the water line system to the ice maker. Then they had HNG appliance be the recommended agency but it stopped working 2 weeks after HNG's 90 day warranty. Last fridge went 18 years w/o any repairs/service. Samsung/HNG combo can't even prevent 3 sets of repairs in under 3 years. Don't buy it

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst refrigerator I have ever purchased

    Posted
    rwp24
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I read several reviews on this unit about 3 years ago and it received good reviews. We have had several issues and now it does not cool, the door flap on the left door is broken and the repair costs are half the price of a new unit. Before purchasing a Samsung refrigerator I would recommend going on you tube and take a look at the comments from the DIY repair videos.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Initially purchased a lemon; received replacement

    Posted
    lilb00kie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I initially purchased my refrigerator in June 2016, by September 2016 I noticed water under the Cool Select Pantry Tray. Apparently, water had built up over weeks. Although, I think the refrigerator is nice overall, I'm highly disappointed that Samsung would select just a horrible repair center (Nisi) for the Houston area. They were unresponsive and was never able to accommodate me with a date for repair. Months later I was able to get BestBuy's Geek Squad to come out for repair. It turned out that the water was leaking from the inside wall of the fridge which was unrepairable. Has anyone else had this problem?? I know have my second replacement as of February 2017 and it seems to be working fine. (yes, I dealt with cleaning water weekly due to the issues with the local repair center). The amount of water accumulated over a weeks time was about two large bowls. Yikes! I was not able to find any similar issues with this model, so I opted to receive the same model as my replacement. I can only hope that this was a one off issue.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Keep your $1800 dollars and DON'T BUY

    Posted
    Lorigal
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    A little over a year after delivery of this refrigerator in January, 2015, we discovered water "pooling" under the CoolSelect Pantry drawer. We mopped the water with towels and a few weeks later, we could not open the pantry drawer. After numerous attempts to open, we realized water had pooled again and froze the drawer in place. We also noticed a slow drip coming from the water dispenser. We had an experienced appliance repair shop service the refrigerator and was told this problem is common with the Samsung refrigerators. He repaired the problem with the pooling/freezing water and resealed the Ice Maker compartment. We are still getting a slower drip from the dispenser and have had it with Samsung! I should have done my due diligence and investigated other owners reviews and comments and would have saved myself over $1900! DO NOT PURCHASE THIS REFRIGERATOR.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Poor Ice production

    Posted
    OhioJC

    Bought this refrig in 2015 with a 5 year Geek Squad warranty. The ice maker would continually frost over and the defrost would freeze over, producing water in the crisper and bottom of the refrig. The Geek Squad did a good job repair and replace parts (they were great), but after 6 months, the condition would re-occur. After the 3rd repair visit, the Geek Squad declared this unit a 'lemon' and offer me an exchange for a new unit. I purchased a new LG refrig and am now extremely happy!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Nothing but trouble

    Posted
    Baddeal

    We bought this refrigerator because our daughter owned one and was happy with it and because Best Buy offered it at a good price. It has given us continuous problems. We have had to replace the ice maker twice and the refrigerator fan once, as well as defrosting the ice maker fan, which our repairman told us was a problem that many owners have had. In addition, when we called Samsung to complain that we had gotten a lemon and that we had spent more than 50% of the purchase price on repairs, they said that our warranty was voided because we had not used an authorized repair service. But no link to such a service can be found on Samsung's web site nor can one be found using Google.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible!

    Posted
    MichelleM
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We purchased this refrig Oct 2014. It makes terrible noises all of the time and now Dec 2015 the evap coils are frozen. Of course, the warranty expired in Oct 2015, so we have to pay over $350 to have it repaired and from what I am reading online others have had to have the same issue repaired more than once. BEWARE of Samsung. We never had issues with our Whirlpool refrig that we purchased in 2005 and it is still running!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    samsung customer service is below subpar

    Posted
    carolokc
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    have had issues since day one with ice cubes being broken when dispensing. Full cubes made in bucket but are broken upon dispensing. Had repair out 7 times, Now told by Samsung tech that it is a design flaw and cannot be repaired. But no satisfaction or consideration from Samsung customer service. Will not buy Samsung product again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not worth the $$$

    Posted
    gregh16
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Ice maker was not working when I received the refrigerator. A week later the Geek squad came to fix it. There were 5 major recalls on this model and repair guy did not have the parts. A week after that they came and hopefully fixed the refrigerator. It makes a lot of loud banging and hissing noises. I can not recommend this refrigerator even at the Black Friday prices.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DON'T DO IT.

    Posted
    losttoo
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Product preformed great for 6 months and then frig side cooling went out. Samsung warranty seemed to be on top of things at first, but 3 weeks later, no solution-no cold food. THEY SENT a repairman out who diagnosed problem and said circuit board and fan was out, common problem to him on all Samsungs. But now Samsung is stating there is no repair center in my area. My sister-in-law who worked at a major chain warned me about Samsung but I didn't listen. I thought with more good reviews than bad, product would be OK. BUT SO SORRY NOW!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    The ice maker keeps breaking.

    Posted
    ashep

    We have had this fridge for exactly two years now and about a year and a half after we got it we started having problems with the ice maker and had to have a repair man come out every two months to fix it. Water started coming out before the ice and the ice was slushy, it would stop making ice and we would have to wait another day to get any ice at all. When we first got the fridge we had issues with the freezer drawer making a squeaking noise when you open it. We called Best Buy and they did have someone come out right away and replace the drawer. Overall the fridge is nice, it is too bad you can't use the ice maker. For spending the amount of money we spent on the fridge I would like to have my ice maker work. I will not by another Samsung refrigerator.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ice maker drives you mad!

    Posted
    Frustrated

    The frig and freezer are fine after 8 months however the ice maker is terrible! It freezes atleast 3 times a month! When this happened you have to remove the tray and scrap the ice off of the ice shoot. I scrape my knuckles up every time I have to do this! If you dont get the tray set back in properly, it will only give you crushed ice. I have also experienced the tray being frozen to the ice maker making it difficult to remove the already difficult tray. This problem, along with no available repair men that will work on samsung in the area will keep me from ever buying another samsung appliance again! If you use the ice daily as I do, stay away from this stupid frig.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Nice looking, but a nightmare product

    Posted
    chris

    The fridge is nice looking but not a good use of space. That said, my major problem is the icemaker. There is a class action suit against Samsung concerning the French door icemakers. They leak, they make weird noises, they freeze up and quit working altogether. They have known about this problem since 2015 and still don't have a solution to this problem or a least won't give you a permanent solution to the problem. I have had a repairman out several times and have even replaced it and still the same problem. Bad design and I recommend not purchasing unless you want to have to use a hairdryer to defrost it every few weeks or turn off your fridge for 24 hrs to completely defrost every few months. I don't even use my icemaker any more because it's easier to just freeze ice trays. My recommendation is DO NOT BUY and to look at icemaker problems and read the hundreds of complaints on this product.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    this is a horrible refrigerator

    Posted
    frustratedinwisconsin
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    We bought this refrigerator on 2-25-2016 and we have had nothing but problems with it. The ice marker is to close to its plastic wall, so when the ice drop from the ice marker trey, they get stuck and then it clogs up and I have to go into the ice marker and chip away the ice so they can fall again. Horrible design!! NOW, the refrigerator is making loud noises, so we have to hire a repairman to come out and fix it. My guess its the compressor. Remember, this fridge is only two year old. ON the plus side, it looks nice, but thats it!!! Stay away from this!! Samsung, I wont ever buy from you again!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Will never buy Samsung appliance again

    Posted
    azkramer

    Had issues with the ice and water from day one with this product. The water dispenses extremely slow and have ruled out all other factors for the cause. We have had repair guys out numerous times, parts replaced but nothing works. The times I have contacted Samsung I got nothing but thrown in circles, leading no where. I could go in detail of my awful experiences, but I will just plain say I have never been so disappointed with a company in my life. ALL of our electronics are Samsung and we have never had an issue. This is the main reason we went with Samsung for appliances. I am not happy with the dishwasher either. I think its safe to say I highly recommend AGAINST this product and ALL Samsung APPLIANCES!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Samsung refrigerator

    Posted
    BWags
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased this because of the quality that Samsung us known for and I needed to replace an old Kenmore refrigerator which barely made it 9 years. Too many repairs for the ice dispenser really cooled me to fixing it one more time. We purchased this Samsung and have had it for a month now and am pleased with it. The spacious interior lets us find what ever we are looking for and we have room to spare. This ice dispenser works fine and I think the filtered water tastes better than that of the old refrigerator. I read some reviews where people complained of the water dispenser dripping but we haven't had that problem. This is a very solid unit and the refrigerator is very quiet when it is running. I am pleased with it and am glad I purchased it. The delivery men from Best Buy were courteous and knowledgeable about the installation of the equipment. Best Buy has done themselves proud.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Good For 2 years

    Posted
    BThor
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Fridge works fine, for about 2 years. We purchased this fridge in 2014. Two weeks ago, the fan started making noise due to ice buildup behind the cooling panel in back. We also smelled burning coming from the fridge. We removed the panel, since the 1 year warranty was already expired.... We found a giant block of ice, and burned/melted plastic and Styrofoam. After fighting with Samsung for days, they finally sent someone for a repair. Temp sensor went out, which caused the defrost heater to stay on too long, melting the plastic. It then would not turn back on, causing the ice buildup and fan noise. Stay away.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DO NOT BUY SAMSUNG. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    Posted
    AAJJ

    Our Samsung refrigerator's freon leaked right near the end of the warranty. We called Samsung to come out and repair the fridge. They sent a tech, who told them that the issue could not be repaired. We followed up with Samsung for a refund, and have been jumping through f-ing hoops for the last 6 weeks. They love to change your information in their system at whim, so good luck with any kind of paper trail. Ticket numbers? Nope. They change those without telling you. We are completely dumbfounded by how such a large corporation could be so unresponsive and irresponsible. Oh, wait. Now, I get why their phones were exploding.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Wondering if Samsung should stick to electronics

    Posted
    Miss
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We bought our Samsung refrigerator in 2012 for $1800 so I'm thinking it should last us a while. The only questionable review I read was the front door ice and water were slow. That's putting it mildly, they are very slow. Two years into ownership a fan in the back started humming a little louder than normal. I checked the manual for any help, thought maybe the ice bucket was too full so got in the habit of shutting off ice maker when the bucket was full. The humming stopped for a while then came back twice as bad. Made a call to Samsung but before anyone showed up the humming stopped again. Finally the frig quit cooling to capacity and I had to call Samsung again for a repair person. Come to find out that since this is an auto defrost if for any reason the defrost cycle is interrupted by a power surge it stops defrosting and refreezes whatever water is still there so my motor/fan had a buildup of ice around it hence the horrible noise and lack of cooling. Since the repairman was here to defrost everything in July I have had to once again unload everything from my frig and freezer, unplug it and open the doors to manually defrost again not to mention the times I have had to defrost my ice machine so it would work. Now two weeks later my frig is starting to hum loudly again. Am I going to have to manually defrost every two weeks! I'm thinking of biting the bullet and buying another new frig but it won't be a Samsung.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend