Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Samsung - Activewash 5.4 Cu. Ft. 12-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer with Steam - Fingerprint Resistant Black Stainless Steel-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 627 reviews

93%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 23 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Tears Clothes

    Posted
    Jeff103832

    We were excited about the new washer and enjoyed it for the most part at first. The only issue we had in the beginning was that our towels were taking longer to dry. We assumed that we just needed to find the optimum wash cycle. After about 6 weeks i noticed that a couple of my shirts started getting tiny holes in the seams. i just assumed it was normal wear and tear of the shirts. Then a few more weeks pass and more shirts are getting more holes and we notice our towels and bed sheets are starting to fray. My wife has said it is taking 3 hours for a normal load of towels to dry. I have verified that during a towel drying cycle the lint filter has to be cleaned multiple times because it is getting saturated with lint. This is due to the washer being too rough on the towels. I cleaned out the entire dryer duct system just to make sure it wasn't a dryer issue. Our previous washer which was a front load did not do this. After 3 months of trying various washing and spin cycles we are still having these issues and are stuck with ruined clothes, towels and bed sheets along with a $800 washer bill. We have talked to 3 different people at Best Buy and they could not care less. Their response was "we should have notified them sooner of any problems." However, these issues are not immediately obvious and occur over time. Our next attempt for a remedy is to contact Samsung. It is possible we got a lemon.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst Machine

    Posted
    Justdont
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    This is the worst washing machine I’ve ever had - I would definitely not recommend it. I don’t even want to sell it because I feel bad for whoever would get it. It always stops and says unbalanced no matter what size load I have in there - So a normal load of laundry takes about three hours to finish, super productive right? Also, while it’s trying to Balance it loads with water every single time so it’s a huge waste of water. I can’t reach the bottom of it because it’s so big - so if you’re short steer clear of this one. Along with that- our matching dryer is also the worst dryer we’ve ever had. It never completely dries our laundry the first time - No matter what setting I put it on - I Have to restart it at least twice or it leaves our laundry smelling moldy and needing to re-wash. It’s a terrible circle of awfulness. Just when I thought doing laundry couldn’t get any worse. If you like being tortured anytime your clothes are dirty go head and purchased these.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. ^Lo Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Less than a month old and breaking down

    Posted
    Justin
    • My Best Buy® Member

    My review is on my experience so far. I had the washer and dryer installed march 6 and it us now march 25. It worked fine for the first week and a half. Then it it started giving ur and ub errors. Saying it was unbalanced. I thought it was strange washing sheets and becoming unbalanced when I was told it would have not problems with king sized comforters. Ok the first time just getting used to it. Now it will do it if I wash 6 bath towels everytime. I find it hard to believe that it cant handle a handful of towels. Tonight I tried washing a load of my toddlers clothes and gave the same error. It has been less than a month and already issues. I have to call bestbuy in the morning to see if it was an install issue or a machine issue. If it is a machine issue I will be asking for a new machine probably different brands reading all the other reviews.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Hey there, Justin. I completely understand how frustrating this must be for you! There are several potential causes for an error code to display on your washing machine, however, often times an unbalanced error shortly after installation implies that the unit is not properly leveled. For further clarification, check out this link that explains all possible error codes and also provides ways to fix and prevent them (http://bit.ly/2GsUweI). I hope you find it beneficial and want to thank you for being a Samsung customer. ^Lo Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Regreting it

    Posted
    Olguitas
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I bought this machine 6 months ago and I'm still not very happy with the purchase. First the tank is very deep and I have to jump on the washing machine and almost get inside to be able to reach the bottom clothes. The lid has an extra piece supposedly to soak the clothes (totally unnecessary) which makes it weigh a lot and I have fallen over my head several times because of the weight of it, it is extremely frustrating that you have to hold the lid with one hand and with the other try to reach the clothes of the washing machine and avoid being hit. I wish I could return it and buy another one with a better system.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Thank you for your feedback, Nenes. Samsung is always looking for ways to improve our products and reviews like yours show us areas of growth potential. ^Lo Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Active wash lid frustration.

    Posted
    dannyboy
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Lid is always falling closed. The lid when open is so close to the balance point the least little thing it will close. Some times when opened quickly it will bounce closed. There you are with double hand of clothes and have to put pile of clothes down and start over. Falling on your head when loading and unloading the clothes. Samsung's fix is to hold the lid open with one hand. This means open lid slowly confirming lid stays open and then load and unload your clothes with only one hand. Not impossible. Very sad and no one needs the frustration of the lid banging on your head.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Thank you for your feedback, dannyboy. Samsung is always looking for ways to improve and reviews like yours are vital in this process. ^Lo Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT

    Posted
    JHerrera
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought this washer a few months ago, biggest mistake ever. I have had 2 technicians stop by and switch parts out in it within a 6 month period. It leaves 80% of stains on the clothes. They come out looking like all I did was submerge the clothes in water. A lot of times, after a wash cycle, the water isn’t drained out, it’s completely full when it says it’s supposedy finished. When I select “Spin”, the washer drains the water, refills it, and again, doesn’t drain it. Please contact me if it is possible to exchange it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    VERY Disappointed

    Posted
    emptyaylor
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have purchased several Samsung TV's and was VERY pleased with the product and life of the TV's. When we needed a new washer and dryer I assumed it would be a no brainier to go with Samsung. I was VERY wrong! The washer is horrible to wash blankets or sheets. If you have to wash a load of jeans or heavy clothes it could take hours! Our washer is only about a year and a half old and I'm sure it will need to be replaced in the next few years. I am getting ready to purchase all new kitchen appliances and they WILL NOT be Samsung.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Thank you for your feedback, emptyaylor. ^Lo Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don’t like it

    Posted
    Gri1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    The washer is don’t work.My clothes get TIED IN KNOTS all the time every time. I've tried laying each piece in separately and that still doesn't help. I have to untie all the shirt sleeves at the end of the cycle. Sheets are the worst, try getting them untangled. Clothes don't get clean either, why, because they never have enough water covering them and the clothes are tied in knots. The washer machine is making my clothes dirty

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worse washer

    Posted
    Telebatte
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    This is my 3rd Samsung and I should of learned my lesson the first time. They all break within the first year multiple times. Computer, mother board has went out. Screen freezes and can’t press buttons. All within the first year. I am currently out of warranty and the repair man didn’t even show up when I called the week before the warranty went out. This is expensive garbage. I will never buy Samsung again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Does not clean or rinse. Huge Disappointment.

    Posted
    diver
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I bought this on the advice of a salesperson and after reading the ratings and reviews. Maybe mine is a lemon? The dishes not only come out covered in a white film (which I thought could be the soap or hard water), but they are still very dirty with food particles, especially on the silverware. I am returning this unit as I don't trust that a repair will take care of the problems. What an inconvenience especially in the middle of a move.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible!

    Posted
    Emily
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I was so excited to get this washer based on reviews and salesperson recommendations. I will say this is the absolute WORST washer. It has ruined so many clothes as it leaves black flakes all over them despite how many times you clean the washer. Very disappointed, and to top it off we also purchased the matching dryer which has been repaired three times in a year.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Hello Emily, We are always happy to help. To further support your concerns I'm including the link to the troubleshooting guide (https://bit.ly/2RU4rfk) to resolve the issue. Thank you for choosing Samsung. ^Shifa Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Leaves clothe with spots

    Posted
    Awilda

    I’m so disappointed. After doing so many research I though I made the best decision. My black and white clothes come out with spots. See picture. Bought it back in September and will be calling Best Buy to see what they say. I even feel worse cause my family also bought one based on my recommendation.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MsSamsung

      Hello Awilda, we understand your frustration with this washing machine. If you are still having issues, please feel free to fill out this form and our Social Media department would be more than happy to assist you. http://smsn.us/SamsungSupportUSA ^Michelle MsSamsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Only had for a few weeks leaks everywhere.

    Posted
    Strike

    Very disappointed in Samsung and Best Buy. Bought both the washer and dryer and had it professionally installed by geek squad a few weeks ago. It leaks everywhere. My laundry room had 3 inches of water and soap. It then took a week to get a tech out to look at it and will take another week to get it fixed. Don’t know why it needs to be fixed when it’s brand new.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    do not like

    Posted
    pmo2015
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    this washer is the worst washer I have ever owned. high efficiency...I would use my mom's standard 20 year old washer. I dont even feel like this washer washed my clothes very well. plus the washer thinks it is smart but it is not. such a pain in the butt to own. would never reccomend.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    I’m sorry I bought this set

    Posted
    Aksanaeve
    • My Best Buy® Member

    My clothes are never washed well. I often have to wash them twice and the dryer needs to run two or three times before it dries. A load takes me hours! And it never seems fresh. Buyer beware.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Hey, Aksanaeve! I realize your experience has been less than ideal, and I'd like to change that. I am providing this link
      (http://www.samsung.com/us/support/troubleshooting/TSG01108627/), that will explain why using the right amount of detergent will maximize your washer's cleaning power! Thank you for being a part of the Samsung family! ^Mae Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Doesn't wash good

    Posted
    HappyGuy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I think everyone is rating this machine high because it's huge and has great features. But it doesn't wash good which is it's main purpose. The missing agitator is probably the culprit. Samsung should not have tried to reinvent the wheel by removing the agitator.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      I have some great tips and tricks to help you get those clothes clean HappyGuy! This link: https://bit.ly/2CA7FB0 will tell you everything you need to know about getting the best cleaning performance from your washer. Thank you for being a part of the Samsung family! ^Mae Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    No warranty

    Posted
    Bestbuyyuck
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Ran one load in this washer worked fine..... went to run a second did not work at all called Samsung hoping for repair. They stated I have I no warranty. How is it that they will not warranty a 3 day old washer.buyer beware!!!!!!?!?!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      I understand how frustrating this is for you and would like to speak with you to see what we can do to better your experience. Please reach out to us via any of the following outlets and reference ticket number 1139169876.
      1. Facebook Messenger:  http://m.me/samsungsupport
      2. Twitter:  https://twitter.com/messages/compose?recipient_id=18768513
      3. Toll-free call (Mon-Fri: 9AM-6PM EST): 1-833-REVIEW8 (1-833-738-4398).

      We look forward to speaking with you. ^Lo Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    First wash. Lint all over clothes.

    Posted
    Rater
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    After the washer was installed. I ran a clean cycle then washed clothes. Very first load. Lint all over the clothes. Called and had it picked back up.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Display Broke in less than a month

    Posted
    Michael1979
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Only have of the Uber's on the display work. My towels always still smell after washing. I've tried every cycle but I don't believe this is working correctly.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    NICE WASHER, EASY TO USE

    Posted
    Vdublover
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    EASY TO USE, HOLDS TONS OF CLOTHES, VERY QUIET HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    I would recommend this to a friend