Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

TomTom - VIA 1415M GPS with Lifetime Map Updates - Black/Gray-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 487 reviews

85%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 487 Reviews
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    I suppose for $79 it was an OK deal

    Posted
    NototheTT
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    It did not come with an AC/DC cord and couldn't purchase. Unit could only be accessed by the battery charger in the car or a computer. Sometimes you like to activate and charge it in a hotel room to see what to expect. The alarm for exceeding the speed limit was an interesting feature, but could also be very annoying. Could not find a way to deactivate it or soften the sound, esp if a baby was sleeping in the car and it would trigger freq. It did not have enough memory to carry Canadian maps without deleting parts of the US. Will now have to re-load them after just going to Niagara Falls. It was excellent at finding us when we left the route or pulled off to eat. Would actually tell us which way to turn out of parking lots--better than the Garmin we owned. Not as helpful at finding nearby restaurants/hotels/or gas stations. Seemed to find and keep the satellite signal well, even in mountains. Did not use "landmarks" to tell us about upcoming turns, but reminded us frequently. Only would give the next maneuver to make when queried, rather than allowing us to access several maneuvers/turns ahead to know what to expect.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hello there, thanks for reviewing the VIA 1415. We're happy to hear you like the device and its navigation features. However we're sorry to hear about any trouble. We appreciate the feedback.

      You can disable speeding alerts on device by going to: Main menu -> Settings -> Safety settings -> Disable "Warn when driving faster than allowed". However if you leave it enabled and select "Next", you can also choose a different alert sound.

      The maps have grown a lot since the device was released, but in case you need more maps installed, you can also use an SD card (up to 32Gb).

      Hope this helps!
      Let us know if you ever have any questions.
      Cheers, Hanna at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    TomTom has ruined a great GPS

    Posted
    ericgene

    This went from my favorite to least favorite GPS in one update. It will no longer automatically come on when you start the car. Here's what you have to go through: 1. fumbling for the Power Switch ([it's on the back} and holding it for 8 seconds. 2. Waiting for it to boot up (2-3 minutes) 3. Clicking on the legal warning (it's not their fault if you crash) 4. Waiting for re-acquisition of satellites 30-90 seconds. This isn't a fluke, my larger TomTom now does the same thing. I've essentially stopped using mine. Google maps is ready in 10 seconds. Still prefer dedicated GPS for trips, guess I have to find another brand after 10 years of being a loyal customer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    An easy to use and accurate GPS

    Posted
    Speedbird
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I've found when traveling, using the GPS mapping software in my cellphone took more power than I was able to put back in with the USB port in most cars. I travel a lot in Canada and the phone can use a lot of data updating map info, so the Tom Tom was an easy choice. It is the same software that came standard in my 2014 Mazda 6 and has a built in windshield mount. I now save data consumption on my phone and have the best of both worlds rather than relying on the phone for everything. Back to the Future. This is what I was doing 10 years ago.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Mixed Bag

    Posted
    havanajoe8
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member
    • Top 100 ContributorTop 100 Contributor

    I bought this to replace an old Insignia GPS which no longer had map updates. The MyDrive software worked very poorly; it would show that it was downloading an update and then switch to an error message. I found that to check the status I had to close the window but the update would still run in the background, so I'd re-launch it and see the status for a few seconds before the error message. It took almost 90 minutes to download and install the map updates, but they did install. On the other hand, once updated the unit actually works quite well, I had no issues with actually using it, other than the menu system being a bit awkward to navigate. Too bad the update system is so bad, I had considered returning it but now that it's updated I'll hang on to it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst GPS I've Owned

    Posted
    Roni

    I've owned one TomTom and 2 Garmin GPS items, and the TomTom VIA 1415M is by far the worst. It would not pick up a satellite near airport properties; so I had to drive several miles, frequently in the wrong direction, to pick up a signal. It frequently lost signals, while signals on my cell phone worked. It didnt give the information I needed without going to another screen while driving, i.e., miles to final destination. The final straw was that it froze up when I downloaded updated maps. Once the new maps were loaded, the introductory screen froze and would not advance. I had this less than a year. I have switched back to Garmin.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Like the device, not the Website

    Posted
    wiredworker
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    This replaces an older model TomTom, so I'm familiar with the basic operation. I like the lifetime maps and inclusion of Canada, which is essential for my part of the US. However, the old interface permitted me to fully operate my device through the computer, which I've found impossible to do with this one. Too bad, because the older system made it easy to try out alternate routes and options easily without going outdoors to get a GPS connection. All I can do with this one is get a destination and one route. With the old TomTom Home, I could play around with all the options and alternates just as if the device were operating in the car.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works very good

    Posted
    Motoracer28
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Pros of the GPS. It has quick boot up time. Easy to navigate programming. Very accurate with destinations. It adjust your arrival time as you drive. You are able to put short cuts on main screen. Easy to make it calculate another route. Cons of the unit. No time on screen if you do not have a route planned. Makes you put in a Home Point before you can even use it. (I Know how to get home, its the getting there that is difficult.) Sometime it does not switch from day to night driving screen unless you have a route planned. You can change it in setting or create a short cut on main screen.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Nice small GPS

    Posted
    Dadmon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This is our first TomTom unit after a couple of Garmin units proved to be fragile and their customer service was pathetic. This unit is small but that's OK because it doesn't block the view out of the car. The screen is great, bright and clear with good lighting in sun or at night. Navigation is also good though some routes it chooses can be pretty exciting. We've seen very interesting areas on some of the country roads the unit has sent us down. That said, we always get where we want to go when it says we will. Some of the controls and functions are not readily apparent or easily completed but that's not a major problem. Overall this is a quality unit and we have used it with success.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Far from right

    Posted
    Bluethroat
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Set up is straight forward but time consuming. Downloading the map and getting it installed took a lot of time. Search-ability on my Garmin was a lot more easy and intuitive. In this, one needs to add the city/ town first then the lane and only then do you add the building number. In most cases you may not have a specific lane. Ideally it should have been the other way around. Regretting my purchase. Unfortunately, I crossed the 14 day return period else I would gladly returned and got myself an upgraded, larger screen GPS.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Just a Really Nice GPS

    Posted
    EmmJay
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    My old GPS is from 2006 and charged a lot for updates, so I never updated it. This TomTom 1415M has free updates for life, and they are really coming through with them. I am getting emails regularly with a new update of the firmware or the maps themselves. Always a smooth experience. I love the voice volume adjustment and the quite wide graphics view from such a relatively small screen. I am absolutely delighted. And I have nmot once gotten lost in Berkeley, which for my old GPS, was the Twilight Zone that would send me to various places I did NOT want to be! This is a real bargain.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Thanks for the raving review, EmmaJay. We feel very smug. Sounds like we couldn't wish for a better review. If you need anything else, just let us know!: http://bit.ly/2lMrMme . Cheers, Sam at TomTom. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Poor User Interface

    Posted
    jbramlage
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I had a great difficulty getting this Garmin to respond to my directions to find an address in Orlando FL when it tried to take me to somewhere near Chicago. It also used Indiana as HOME rather than Pensacola FL where I was. Once it could be redirected to the correct location, it seemed to behave well, except for missing the main junction home and taking me about ten miles out of my way. I had to set it at maximum volume to hear it and it would stick to the dashboard so my passenger had to hold it when we approaching a major decision point. In all, very disappointing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hey there! It seems as though you are reviewing a Garmin! If that is not the case and you are reviewing the TomTom VIA 1415M, is there anything that we can do to help resolve this issue? Cheers, Chelsea at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    gets the job done

    Posted
    usedforwork
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought this gps for a new job where I would be traveling throughout Monmouth and ocean counties. most of this territory is unknown to me so this purchase was to help me better navigate the area. I was not disappointed. you can change the settings as far as the route goes which Is good for me because I have driving anxiety and I like to avoid highways as much as possible, if possible. the only thing I didn't like was it never took me the same way twice; although that's probably because I tried to avoid the highways and I was coming home during rush hour.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi there, thanks for the review! We are very happy to hear you like the routing settings of the device! Different settings will give many different route options, depending on the area. If you ever experience any trouble with the routes, let us know and we'll be happy to investigate. Cheers, Hanna at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    A hassle!

    Posted
    ddsm

    My device was unable to update the maps on my product immediately after purchasing so I was stuck with an outdated map. Kinda blows since I use it for emergencies, but I have a lot of backup (paper) maps I can use, so I just learned to deal with it. However, I was sent an email from TomTom saying that my subscription offered a new map. "Awesome" I thought, "I'll just give it another shot". Well 3 hrs later, not only do I still not have an updated map, but the update was corrupted and I am now looking at a $90 paperweight. Thanks TomTom for starting my work week with a headache.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience, we ask that you please call our customer support team at 1 866 486 6866 for assistance in updating the device. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Could use some work

    Posted
    MelCk
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Bought this at the last minute because I was leaving town and this was the only one in stock at my store. My Garmin died on me moments before I was set to leave. I was apprehensive at first but it didn't disappoint that much. I would of gave 5 stars but it took me the longest way ever to my destination! I updated the maps prior to using and went through all the setting. It wasn't set to "avoid" tolls or such so I don't know why it took me the way it did. But overall it was easy to use and the price was right it did its job. I do miss my Garmin though..

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hey MelCk, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, however we're really sorry to hear about the problem with the route it offered. We always aim to offer the best possible routes, and are more than happy to help with any routing issues. If you experience any further trouble or have any questions, let us know. Cheers, Hanna at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    does it all but---

    Posted
    Pavelbure
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Got it on sale for 89 bucks. Liked that it has Canada Maps at a cheaper price than the others. However due to its small 4.3 screen I can only recommend this for the occasional light GPS user. I am pretty nearsighted and its just a bit too small in screen size for me but I don't want to spend 100-150 or more for a bigger screen that has a Canada map built in. So I just drive a little slower and just pay more attention to the voice prompts.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    What a Joke!

    Posted
    Keepitreal

    Got this as a gift and prayed it wasn't trouble because my last TomTom had problems. When it hardly picked up reception, I blew it off saying it was the area I was in. When it stopped taking a charge after the first month, I said maybe I did something wrong. When it happened again and I only had this product for 3 months I had enough TomTom!! Doesn't come with a holder, its difficult to insert the charging plug, if it ever works and ALWAYS gets jammed up. The reception goes out way too much. Finally, the device said my maps needed updates after 2 months of use.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    I love my TomTom

    Posted
    Jules
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I am thoroughly enjoying using my TomTom. The information available is plentiful, for example, updates. I had one GPS before, and that one does not even compare to this one. I like how distinct the screen is when you need to exit from the highway, as to which lane you should be in. If I do get lost, the TomTom Quickly adjusts with a new route. Coming from me? I am geographically-challenged! And I do love my TomTom!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Simple & Easy To Use

    Posted
    MarineMsgt
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The GPS was ready right out of the box. Since the initial use, I've updated the device through the TomTom Connect desktop app which makes quick work of any map and software updates. The UI is crisp and easy to navigate; I especially like the lane change feature which helps making those critical exit ramps easy to find. The added benefit of lifetime map updates (4/year for the device lifecycle) along with a good price makes this a no-brainer purchase.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    I want to kill this GPS

    Posted
    Anniejames
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Not a great purchase. Pinpoint directions in the nick of time (sometimes too late) without seeing the upcoming direction. Touch screen doesn't respond well, and it doesn't recognize 40% of the addresses given (even though they're regular neighborhood or business addresses that my iPhone can find). Slightly disgusted that I spent nearly 100 bucks on this. My last GPS was much better, and I bought that one in 2005.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great to travel with, Tom Tom is the way to go!

    Posted
    Jaylee
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Great navigator for any age, easy to use , would not want to travel long trips or short trips without it.firt time I used it went to Destin , Florida from Ohio. Got us to Destin no problems . Also got us all around Destin and others destinations with great accuracy. Wanted to go home through Georgia to get peaches, got us to the peaches with no problem. Would recommend this product to anyone who likes to go places and not get lost.

    I would recommend this to a friend