Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

TomTom - VIA 1415M GPS with Lifetime Map Updates - Black/Gray-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 486 reviews

85%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 28 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst GPS I've Owned

    Posted
    Roni

    I've owned one TomTom and 2 Garmin GPS items, and the TomTom VIA 1415M is by far the worst. It would not pick up a satellite near airport properties; so I had to drive several miles, frequently in the wrong direction, to pick up a signal. It frequently lost signals, while signals on my cell phone worked. It didnt give the information I needed without going to another screen while driving, i.e., miles to final destination. The final straw was that it froze up when I downloaded updated maps. Once the new maps were loaded, the introductory screen froze and would not advance. I had this less than a year. I have switched back to Garmin.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Far from right

    Posted
    Bluethroat
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Set up is straight forward but time consuming. Downloading the map and getting it installed took a lot of time. Search-ability on my Garmin was a lot more easy and intuitive. In this, one needs to add the city/ town first then the lane and only then do you add the building number. In most cases you may not have a specific lane. Ideally it should have been the other way around. Regretting my purchase. Unfortunately, I crossed the 14 day return period else I would gladly returned and got myself an upgraded, larger screen GPS.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    A hassle!

    Posted
    ddsm

    My device was unable to update the maps on my product immediately after purchasing so I was stuck with an outdated map. Kinda blows since I use it for emergencies, but I have a lot of backup (paper) maps I can use, so I just learned to deal with it. However, I was sent an email from TomTom saying that my subscription offered a new map. "Awesome" I thought, "I'll just give it another shot". Well 3 hrs later, not only do I still not have an updated map, but the update was corrupted and I am now looking at a $90 paperweight. Thanks TomTom for starting my work week with a headache.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience, we ask that you please call our customer support team at 1 866 486 6866 for assistance in updating the device. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    What a Joke!

    Posted
    Keepitreal

    Got this as a gift and prayed it wasn't trouble because my last TomTom had problems. When it hardly picked up reception, I blew it off saying it was the area I was in. When it stopped taking a charge after the first month, I said maybe I did something wrong. When it happened again and I only had this product for 3 months I had enough TomTom!! Doesn't come with a holder, its difficult to insert the charging plug, if it ever works and ALWAYS gets jammed up. The reception goes out way too much. Finally, the device said my maps needed updates after 2 months of use.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    GPS: Get People Stuck

    Posted
    Bonzitre
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This GPS was terrible. I went on a 1600 mile road trip one way and it was searching for signal 90% of the time. No clouds, flat open land, nothing to block the GPS signal at all, and this thing wouldnt find signal. Luckily I had a general idea where I was going or I would have been lost somewhere in Wyoming or Montana.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Complete Waste & Poor Navigation

    Posted
    Mackie82
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I connected this to my PC and allowed the updates, etc per the instructions and this still wasn't good. I was late for appointments with this because in the middle of navigation it would completely stop. Several times I would look down and see it was no longer responding. My iPhone works better. Returned and back to using my phone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Fail

    Posted
    Crouzer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought the Tom Tom and had to return it 48 hrs later. It would not synch up the three GPS satellites. I let it sit there for the entire day I was at work and it wouldn't even synch to ONE out of the three satellites. It wouldn't recognize my home address either. Pay the extra and buy the Garmin brand, With them you get quality and ease of use.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi there, we’re really sorry to hear you didn’t get a great impression of our VIA. Often if one of our items has been in storage for a while it can struggle, but it certainly shouldn’t take a day to connect any of the 6 satellites. This would of required some troubleshooting with us. I understand you don’t have the product any longer, but for anyone that might be reading this and it sounds familiar please do not hesitate to get in contact with us here inbox.reviews@tomtom.com and we’d be more than happy to find a solution for you. You can also give this link a go: http://bit.ly/2kCmLbz. Cheers, Sam from TomTom. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't waste your money

    Posted
    4unknown13
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Terrible, horrible, waste of money. It doesn't work. It loses connection and leaves you with out knowing where to go till it finally reconnects only to continue to keep losing it again and again. Bought and went on a road trip. The only saving grace was we found another Best Buy and exchanged this for one that worked.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi there,

      Really sorry that you were stuck with a faulty GPS. However, I'm glad you got the unit swapped out for another device in working order. If you need any help with setting this new one up, please give us a call and we'd love to assist!

      The number is 877-757-7137, and the lines are open Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EST.

      Cheers,


      - Cameron at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    cleared my maps

    Posted
    Toni
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought my tomtom June 18, 2017. It seems it automatically erased all my maps i had downloaded and tried to reload them tonight...after 5 hours, was still not even 1/2 done. I believe i have a defective tomtom. I do not have receipt but you can bet i will be making a trip to best buy ASAP. not impressed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi there, so sorry to hear that you have had problems updating your maps.
      You can find some useful information in the link below :-
      http://bit.ly/2BWwT7C
      Please contact us if you need any assistance at all :-
      Phone number: 877-757-7137 / Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EST
      Cheers, Becky@TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't waste your money

    Posted
    Mlbf
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    After the third time using the GPS, it constantly says searching for a signal. It doesn't ever find a signal though. TomTom tech support has not been able to assist in anything other than providing me with different phone numbers to call.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi there,

      Really sorry to hear you've had some issues with the device not finding a GPS signal. It seems like this device could benefit from an update - we strongly recommend doing this as soon as you receive it, because it may have been on the shelf for some time before purchase.

      You can update the operating system and maps on your device by using MyDrive Connect. Follow this link to download the program to your computer: http://bit.ly/2whUu3C

      From there, simply log in with your TomTom account and connect your device via USB. Check for updates. The most important one in this case will be called QuickGPSfix - once installed, this means your device will find a satellite signal much faster.

      If you need any further support with this, please give us a call! We'd love to help - 877-757-7137 (Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EST).

      Wishing you a safe time on the road,


      - Cameron at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Choose another gps

    Posted
    Kathi
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    GPS won't turn on and it has not even been 1 month. The first time I used it, it worked great. I usually like Tom-Tom. I took this down to FL on vacation, and it would not turn on. I had only used it 3 times!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi Kathi,
      I am sorry to hear that the TomTom Via 1415 will not turn on anymore. What you described should not happen. Unfortunately, based on your review I cannot comment on what the cause might be. Therefore I would like to suggest that you contact our Customer Care Department. This way our agents are able to take a closer look. Please contact us on direct line 866 486 6866 or via the following page http://bit.ly/1Rk5Yp3. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Constantly searching for signal

    Posted
    Mlf1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    After 3x of use the gps constantly searches for signal and never finds it. TomTom tech support has just transferred us to different people who have been unable to fix the problem.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hey Mlf1, I'm very sorry to hear you've been having a tough time getting a GPS signal on your VIA 1415M. I have included a link to our support pages for assistance in recovering the signal: http://bit.ly/2qqiCil. Please also note that we have a one year manufacturers warranty, and can replace your VIA if it is not receiving a signal and is within warranty. Cheers - Roy at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    quit working after 2 months

    Posted
    alwaysapril
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I am very disappointed in this gps. I have used it only 2 months and it has already quit working. It has been very unreliable. I have used other brands in the past with no problems.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your VIA 1415M, please contact our support team at 1 866 486 6866 and we will have it corrected. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The screen is so small

    Posted
    emale
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I got this because it's on sale and much cheaper than Garmin. But I have to return just one day later as the screen is horribly small and it took me minutes to complete an address.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi Emale,
      We're sorry to read that you decided to return the device as we are working on various improvements, some of which are based on user feedback. We also have a 5 inch screen available - the VIA 1515M GPS. Let us know if we can assist you with anything else. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Falls short

    Posted
    stac

    I drive for a living, and the GPS is very roundabout....settings access is poor. Directions are much more direct in google maps. Died after 8 months use

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Thanks for taking the time to leave us a reviews, stac. Sorry to hear your VIA is no longer working, I’d be more than happy to help. If your device is still within 1 year you are entitled to a free repair which we can get set up as soon as possible. You just need to forward your details to this email: inbox.reviews@tomtom.com. I’d also like to take on some feedback, you mentioned the settings access and directions weren’t direct enough for your needs. Was there anything in particular about the directions that you didn’t like? This can always be passed on. Cheers, Sam from TomTom. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    It stopped working after only 1 month of use.

    Posted
    RCMJR
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    It stopped working after only 1 month. I need to return it for another one. Maybe the one I purchased was just faulty. Hopefully the next one will work.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience, if you have not already swapped it at the store please call our customer support team at 1 866 486 6866 for assistance. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible Product

    Posted
    ronald
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Very hard to register with Manufacturer, not user friendly, hard to read screen. Returned it to store. Clerk said she wasn't surprised.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      I'm sorry to read that you decided to return the device. We value user feedback and use it to constantly improve our products. In the last 3 months we have released 2 updates that included new features, some of which were based on user feedback. TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Pass on this gps

    Posted
    Chos
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    At least half of the addresses that I have put in this gps, it doesn't recognize. Graphics are terrible as well. Useless

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hello Chos, we are sorry to see that you were unhappy with the Via 1415m and had difficulties with address searches. If you would like to discuss this us directly please contact TomTom Customer Care via the channels in this link – http://bit.ly/1Rk5Yp3 TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    sucks

    Posted
    javig21
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    this thing got me lost several times and kept losing gps signal i mean gps are to help get to a place not to get you lost

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Gps

    Posted
    lindy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    After 2 uses it did not work. In the process of getting another one from the manufacturer or my money back

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience, if you have any questions about your replacement order please call our customer support team at 1 866 486 6866. TomTomInc.