Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

TomTom - VIA 1415M GPS with Lifetime Map Updates - Black/Gray-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 487 reviews

85%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 45 Reviews
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    I suppose for $79 it was an OK deal

    Posted
    NototheTT
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    It did not come with an AC/DC cord and couldn't purchase. Unit could only be accessed by the battery charger in the car or a computer. Sometimes you like to activate and charge it in a hotel room to see what to expect. The alarm for exceeding the speed limit was an interesting feature, but could also be very annoying. Could not find a way to deactivate it or soften the sound, esp if a baby was sleeping in the car and it would trigger freq. It did not have enough memory to carry Canadian maps without deleting parts of the US. Will now have to re-load them after just going to Niagara Falls. It was excellent at finding us when we left the route or pulled off to eat. Would actually tell us which way to turn out of parking lots--better than the Garmin we owned. Not as helpful at finding nearby restaurants/hotels/or gas stations. Seemed to find and keep the satellite signal well, even in mountains. Did not use "landmarks" to tell us about upcoming turns, but reminded us frequently. Only would give the next maneuver to make when queried, rather than allowing us to access several maneuvers/turns ahead to know what to expect.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hello there, thanks for reviewing the VIA 1415. We're happy to hear you like the device and its navigation features. However we're sorry to hear about any trouble. We appreciate the feedback.

      You can disable speeding alerts on device by going to: Main menu -> Settings -> Safety settings -> Disable "Warn when driving faster than allowed". However if you leave it enabled and select "Next", you can also choose a different alert sound.

      The maps have grown a lot since the device was released, but in case you need more maps installed, you can also use an SD card (up to 32Gb).

      Hope this helps!
      Let us know if you ever have any questions.
      Cheers, Hanna at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    TomTom has ruined a great GPS

    Posted
    ericgene

    This went from my favorite to least favorite GPS in one update. It will no longer automatically come on when you start the car. Here's what you have to go through: 1. fumbling for the Power Switch ([it's on the back} and holding it for 8 seconds. 2. Waiting for it to boot up (2-3 minutes) 3. Clicking on the legal warning (it's not their fault if you crash) 4. Waiting for re-acquisition of satellites 30-90 seconds. This isn't a fluke, my larger TomTom now does the same thing. I've essentially stopped using mine. Google maps is ready in 10 seconds. Still prefer dedicated GPS for trips, guess I have to find another brand after 10 years of being a loyal customer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Mixed Bag

    Posted
    havanajoe8
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member
    • Top 100 ContributorTop 100 Contributor

    I bought this to replace an old Insignia GPS which no longer had map updates. The MyDrive software worked very poorly; it would show that it was downloading an update and then switch to an error message. I found that to check the status I had to close the window but the update would still run in the background, so I'd re-launch it and see the status for a few seconds before the error message. It took almost 90 minutes to download and install the map updates, but they did install. On the other hand, once updated the unit actually works quite well, I had no issues with actually using it, other than the menu system being a bit awkward to navigate. Too bad the update system is so bad, I had considered returning it but now that it's updated I'll hang on to it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Could use some work

    Posted
    MelCk
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Bought this at the last minute because I was leaving town and this was the only one in stock at my store. My Garmin died on me moments before I was set to leave. I was apprehensive at first but it didn't disappoint that much. I would of gave 5 stars but it took me the longest way ever to my destination! I updated the maps prior to using and went through all the setting. It wasn't set to "avoid" tolls or such so I don't know why it took me the way it did. But overall it was easy to use and the price was right it did its job. I do miss my Garmin though..

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hey MelCk, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, however we're really sorry to hear about the problem with the route it offered. We always aim to offer the best possible routes, and are more than happy to help with any routing issues. If you experience any further trouble or have any questions, let us know. Cheers, Hanna at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    I want to kill this GPS

    Posted
    Anniejames
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Not a great purchase. Pinpoint directions in the nick of time (sometimes too late) without seeing the upcoming direction. Touch screen doesn't respond well, and it doesn't recognize 40% of the addresses given (even though they're regular neighborhood or business addresses that my iPhone can find). Slightly disgusted that I spent nearly 100 bucks on this. My last GPS was much better, and I bought that one in 2005.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    basic gps but be careful

    Posted
    Zanbato
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    All i wanted was a basic gps for long trips and this works fine for a basic gps. The problem comes when you use the points of interest feature. Every time i tried to use the POI option im sent to some place where the POI is not found. The worst was being sent to an empty field 30 miles from the closest gas station when trying to find a shell fuel center.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    It's a decent GPS

    Posted
    Eric
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It has trouble giving directions in a high traffic area with multiple exits. The screen is very small too. It would work great in a small town but in a city like Dallas I would stay off of interstates with it because you will have to turn around A LOT.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hey Eric,

      Have you updated this device yet? This will ensure that the latest software is installed, meaning the device will be running its best!

      You can update your device in the MyDrive Connect software:
      www.tomtom.com/getstarted

      If there are further issues after this, I recommend performing a Factory Reset. Cheers,

      - Cameron at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Basic GPS

    Posted
    ShamGadgets
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    If you are looking for a basic GPS with no real bells and whistles, than this is it. In my opinion it lagged and would tell me to turn after I already passed the street. I took it back and got something with a bigger screen and more bells and whistles.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Very good GPS

    Posted
    Ijjy
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I like this TomTom GPS but still need to get used to it. I have had my old Garmin for years and I can see the difference between the two. For one, TomTom does not say 'recalculating'. Also, the screen resolution is brighter.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Bad signal

    Posted
    Kyla
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I dont know if it was just me or if its really like that but the signal was very bad. Was hoping to use it in canada but it couldnt pick up anything at all. Good thing the car rental had a gps in it. Returned this without a problem

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    There is still a need for TomTom

    Posted
    jt7928
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I was tired of getting the wrong directions from Google maps on my phone so I decided to go back to using the TomTom,it doesn't have traffic but I can check traffic on my cell phone. Unlike Google Maps,I am not using data.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi and thank you for your feedback! Glad you are enjoying your new 1415M and no longer burning through your data package with Google Maps! TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Meh

    Posted
    Stuart
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I bought this last minute for a move as my Garmin was accidentally packed by movers. Screen is a bit difficult to read as some text comes up really tiny. It still got me to where I needed to go, which is what counts.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi there, Stuart,
      Thanks for taking the time to review the VIA 1415M. We're glad to hear the device has successfully taken you from place to another, but we're sorry to hear it still left you feeling disappointed. Are there any specific parts where the text is too tiny? Currently we haven't heard more feedback about the font size, but we're always happy to take on the feedback. Cheers, Hanna at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Wasn’t impressed- compared to google maps

    Posted
    Anita
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Used for travel but gave several options for travel and didnt match up with mapquest lost signal when travel and took a wrong route and had to use different option for travel instructions

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hey Anita,

      Thanks for this review. The device's mapping won't match with MapQuest because it is TomTom Mapping.

      It sounds like the device needs to be updated - this will ensure you're on the latest map. You can do this in the MyDrive Connect software on your computer, available here:
      www.tomtom.com/getstarted

      Hope that helps!

      - Cameron at TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    OK, but not as expected

    Posted
    Lonelyfool

    1. My address that I moved in 30 months ago not shown, but the AAA's map does. 2. Some time suggests stupid route. If you are new to that area that's OK. 3. The volume is too low.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Not worth $100.00

    Posted
    emoshoes333
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I was surprised that this product was $100.00 and really has no redeeming qualities. It seems that GPS should be cheaper by now, or at that price have some really cool features.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good basic unit

    Posted
    GROOT
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Very basic but for the price has some nice features. Took more time to get sat lites than my old garmin. As I get use to it I am beginning to like it more.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Fair price - could be easier to use

    Posted
    Manitasnegras
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Pros - affordable price, good size, nice image and voice directions Cons - hard to place and remove from the windshield, the menus are a bit complicated

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    I returned it.

    Posted
    Buddy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I returned it for a full refund. I have had one before and it worked great. The screen on this one was too small so, therefore I returned it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TomTomCommunityManager

      Hi there, thanks for your review. Yes, we try to produce different screen sizes for different needs. The Via 1525 has a 5 inch screen, we also have models with a 6 inch screen too!! Cheers, Becky@TomTom TomTomInc.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Stopped supporting

    Posted
    Derek
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Tom Tom stopped supporting this a little after a year of use. Pretty disappointing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Tom Tom GPS

    Posted
    12345
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Purchased this product for a raffle we had at work. I know everyone has GPS on their phones, but this was still a great buy.

    I would recommend this to a friend