Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

TP-Link - Wi-Fi Smart Light Switch 3-Way Kit - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.3 out of 5 stars with 54 reviews

91%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 54 Reviews
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    5 wire installation with neutral required!

    Posted
    bzm3j81
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I initially wanted to rate this product with 2 stars. The are no wiring requirements in the product description and the product web page misleads you to think that you can install anywhere there is a 3-way switch when it says "No need to understand complex 3-way switch wiring or master vs. auxiliary switch configurations." and "...makes it easy to replace 3-way switches...". In reality, the product requirements should inclue a 5 wire installation with neutral. I wanted to find instructions prior to opening the box, but there were none to be found. There are no significant instructions in the box, instead the Kasa app leads you through the instructions. While the Kasa app does a decent job, it failed to address my configuration. In my configuration, I have 4 wires (which I input into the Kasa app and it misled me further). Ground (bare copper), Common (black), and two travelers (white and red). One one side of my hallway, there are no other wires. In the end, I found out I could not set up this smart switch on that side of the hallway. On the other side of the hallway, I have the original 3-way switch in the same receptacle with a normal 2 way switch that controls a separate set of lights. I'm lucky that I have that because I was able to splice into the neutral (white) bundle that was in there. Once I cleared the wiring hurdle, setup in the Kasa app was pretty easy. Just know that the Kasa app expects both HS210 smart switches to be connected to the same light fixture. Since I only connected it on one side, I just clicked "Next/OK" buttons through the rest of the setup and everything works. Having a plain (non-smart) 3 way switch at the other end of the hallway is fine, no function loss. In fact, I find very little reason to dedicate 2 smart switches on the same light fixture. Knowing that the two Smart Switches in the HS210 kit are functionally identical and being able to separate them onto different fixtures is what redeems the major wiring requirement gaffe. I further tested this by installing the second HS210 switch in another location where I have 3-way switches for my stairway. Everything works. My Kasa app now has two switches that control different fixtures. Response time for both fixtures in the Kasa app is immediate. Setup on both Google Home and Alexa was quite easy. Response time for both fixtures to voice commands on either platform is immediate. Another shortcoming on this is that the flanges that allow you to secure the switch to the electrical box and to the switch plate are rather thick. So using a normal Decora switch plate tends to sit away from the drywall. I think you're probably fine if you only have the switch installed in single gang configuration as TP-Link includes two single gang switch plates that seem to account for the thick flanges. But since I was installing them in a double gang configuration, the switch plate sits about a millimeter away from the wall. The switch looks like a rocker switch that is always in the 'on' position. On and off functions are both toggled on the bottom half of the switch. I would prefer the whole button to be popped up and the ability to press anywhere to toggle the on/off function, but I'll get over it. There is a faint light circle within the switch to help locate it in the dark. I wish there were a way to disable that, but again, I'll get over it. Would I buy this again? Surprisingly, yes. It comes down to getting two discrete switches for the price of one. I've got a couple more 3-way switch locations and now that I understand the true wiring requirements of the HS210 kit, the ability to separate the two smart switches in this kit, comparing competitor requirements and their price points, I would not hesitate to run HS210 kits where needed. It is a great value.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Check your 3-way switch wiring BEFORE buying

    Posted
    Panther68
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member
    • Top 1000 ContributorTop 1000 Contributor

    First, and foremost, take my 3-star rating with a grain of salt. I was not able to install the switches, and for a reason I will soon detail. This rating has NOTHING to do with the product, itself. It has to do with the fact that TP-Link hasn’t bothered to inform purchasers, or potential purchasers, of the wiring requirements. Furthermore, TP-Link presents FALSE information on their website. If you go to TP-Link’s webpage for this product, officially HS210 KIT, near the top of the page, the second bullet-point starts out “No need to understand complex 3-way switch wiring or master vs. auxiliary switch configurations.” Further down, it indicates “Simply replicate the wiring from old switches and the Kit will take care of the rest.” Unfortunately for TP-Link, these two statements are NOT the truth. So, you are probably asking yourself, “What am I referring to?” To provide some very basic electrical information, when it comes to 3-way switches, they can be wired in any one of three different ways – the first utilizes 3 wires, the second 4 wires, and the third (yes, you guessed it) 5 wires. The 3-wire configuration is really a “jerry-rigged” configuration, and consists of a black “common” wire, plus two “traveler” wires (typically one red, & one white). This is the most common configuration. The 4-wire configuration adds a “neutral” wire, the color of which could be green, gray, brown, or some other color (green & gray are the most common). Finally, the 5-wire configuration has two “neutral” wires (typically one green & one gray). So, getting back to TP-Link’s false information about how simple installation is, they “ignore” the fact that ONLY the 5-wire configuration will work with the HS210 KIT Smart 3-Way Wi-Fi Light Switch. If you have the 3-wire, or 4-wire, configuration, you can NOT use the HS210 KIT. Making matters worse, you don’t find out this extremely important piece of information until you first download & install the app on your smartphone, then create an account, then log into your account, then add the 3-way switch to your app’s configuration, then select “NOT YET” when the app asks if you’ve already installed the switches, and finally getting halfway through the step-by-step installation instructions that the app walks you through. Now, if one has a 5-wire configuration, as REQUIRED by this kit, then, yes, installation would be as simple as TP-Link claims it to be. However, if you don’t know, for certain, whether or not you have a 5-wire configuration, and you only discover that you don’t when you reach the step involving connecting the HS210 switches to your in-wall wiring, then, no, installation is NOT “simple”…in truth, it is 100% impossible to install. If TP-Link wanted to be completely honest about the product, they should indicate that a 5-wire configuration is REQUIRED to install, and operate, their Smart W-Fi 3-Way Light Switch kit. Failing to disclose this information, combined with their publishing the statements I mentioned in the first paragraph, is not only misleading, it is lying to customers. In my case, I didn’t discover this until I reached the “install switches” step…after wasting 30 minutes. After that, I had to spend another 15 minutes putting everything back to how it was before I started. In the end, after wasting 45 minutes, I am, needless to say, NOT happy. If you know, for certain, that your 3-way switches utilize a 5-wire configuration, then I might recommend this…however, in saying that, understand that I am ONLY saying this because, having had other TP-Link products over the years, I have never had any problems with any of those previous products. On the other hand, if you are uncertain of the wiring configuration of your 3-way switches, then it would behoove you to find out BEFORE purchasing this. If you discover, or are told (possibly/probably by an electrician), that your 3-way switches utilize a 3-wire, or 4-wire configuration, then, no, I cannot recommend this. As to my overall “not recommended”, this is because TP-Link appears to have (possibly) purposely failed to inform people, prior to purchase, that installation REQUIRES 3-way switches with a 5-wire configuration. Disclaimer: This product was provided free, or at reduced cost, for the purpose of reviewing the product. Nevertheless, the above review, be it positive, negative, or somewhere in-between, is a 100% honest review, and the price paid played absolutely no part in my review.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    So helpful

    Posted
    mamallg
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    TP-LINK - Wi-Fi Smart Light Switch 3-Way Kit Included- 2 smart switches, wire labels, 2 year warranty This smart light switch is intended to work with a 3-way switch that controls the same light. It works with Apple or Andrioid, Alexa and Google Assistant. We installed these switches in our home for our garage lights on the front of the house. We have 2 switches to control them- one in our foyer and one in our garage. But before we could install the new smart switches, we had to buy new light plates. One of them had to be ordered online since the plate is more specialized to cover 4 switches, not all the same size. My husband is handy and understands basic wiring, so he was able to do the installation. It took him a couple hours. Then we downloaded the Kasa app to our phone and we were able to set up the lights to automatically turn on. We choose "sunset" which is nice that it adjusts to the daytime/nighttime hours. And then our light is set turn off during the night but it's customizable to you and your needs. We've been wanting lights like this for a while. It's especially helpful if you go out of town a lot to keep the house more lit up. I wish the TP-link smart wi-fi light switch worked directly with my Apple HomeKit so it was one less app to download. But Kasa offers a selection of products so they're trying to streamline the controls in their app. When the light is on, if you look in the app, a green light is lit. When the light is turned off, the dot is empty in the app and on the switch itself, there is a lit circle. I think the indicator light should be on when the light is on. To me, it seems backwards that the indicator light is on when the light is off. But overall, this smart light switch is really nice to have. I like that I can control our garage lights from anywhere.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Easy install for the home electrical beginner

    Posted
    Snarltoof
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member
    • Top 1000 ContributorTop 1000 Contributor

    I was a little worried that the installation instructions in the package were really sparse, but rather than rushing ahead and installing the switches on my own, I followed the directions. The app is really useful in helping you identify what wiring you have and what you need to do, and it does recommend that you hire an electrician for anything out of the ordinary. Don't mess around with your house and A/C wiring!! My house is a bit older, so some of my wiring is a bit wonky. I intended to install the switches to control my office light that's on a 2-way switch and I ran into a couple of issues. One of my receptacles had the wrong color wires. The other one didn't have a white wire. As for the wrong colors -- I was able to test and find the right wires so I hooked up one of the switches just fine. Since the other switch didn't have a white wire, I just couldn't use the smart switch there without some serious electrical work. I finished up the first switch, then hit next,next,next on the installation wizard 'til it was done. The switch works great!!! More on that later. So I decided to try something -- at first when I only found one of the switch pair with a white wire, I checked the other 2-way switches in my house, and found the exact same issue with my hallway light. Only one side had a white wire in the box. So -- I took the remaining smart switch and installed it for the hallway light. It worked independently of the first one! I have full functionality on both lights. So I wonder why the kit wants you to install both switches for the same light. It seems wasteful to me. I got both lights up and running, and the Kasa app has timers and stuff in it, which is cool, then I added it to Home Control in Google Assistant, and now it all integrates smoothly into my household automation. It took about 20 minutes to install each switch. I had to do a little modification for the first one -- the hole in the wall was a little too small for the switch body to fit through, so I trimmed the plaster flush with the electrical box, and now it fits just fine. I was able to use my existing switch plates, and since I've upgraded all my other switches and outlets to white Decora, everything matches. I love how the switch just blends in. When the light is off, there's an illuminated O shape so you can easily find the light. I really like this set. I'm also really happy that my electrical wasn't quite right because it led me to discover that I didn't need both switches on one light for it to work. Highly recommended!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Exactly what you want from a smart switch

    Posted
    TrueReviews20
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    There are many options nowadays for smart devices. There are cheap, moderate, and high-end devices and I'd say this set falls perfectly in the middle. I would recommend this smart switch set to any of my family and friends. I have electrical knowledge so set up was extremely easy for me. If you don't have any electrical experience do not be afraid! This is super easy to set up, but please make sure you understand the basics of electrical work and the important safety considerations. Overall, I had both switches installed in under an hour or so. Setting up the smart functionality was also simple and straight forward. Highlights: You do not need to buy any extra equipment to get this set up! No hubs, smart home systems, bridges, etc. You can get this connected to your phone right out of the box. If you have an Echo or Google Home, you can link these up without extra equipment as well. Simple easy wiring. There was nothing different about wiring these switches than your standard light switch, you just get the awesome smart function as well. Looks great and will complement your other rectangular switches without noticing the difference, too much. App functionality was really simple and straight forward. I believe you can integrate this with the Apple Home app so you don't have to add more apps to your phone. Includes matching face plate. Instructions for set up are though a video, which was nice but I prefer text. Important Considerations: This switch does not operate like a typical rocker switch. You just push on the bottom portion to control it manually, so it's slightly different than standard. This becomes a slight issue if you are mounting to a multi switch panel with non-smart switches. I had to swap out toggle switches for rocker style because all of my 3 way switches were on multi-switch panels. You might want to keep this in mind when you purchase. The entire switch is larger than your standard rocker switch, but this should not be a problem unless you have a lot of wiring in the box or an already crowded box. You should be able to work with it, but you might want to take a look at your install locations before purchasing any smart switch. Overall I would recommend this switch set to anyone. TP Link kept it simple and straightforward. This set works exactly as it should. Most of the potential issues come from the install itself, which is out of the product's control. Make sure you know what you're doing and take a look at your install locations before jumping in. Otherwise, you will be very satisfied!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    It Works Every Time

    Posted
    Cueball2000
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have been automating all the lights in my house for some time now. I use a variety of different plugs and switches to give me voice control using the Amazon Echo, the Google Assistant and Siri as well. Most of the other switches gave me problems either setting them up or working properly when called upon. This TP-Link Switch connected with no problems following the instructions in the app. The app asks you what color wires do you have in the wall and when you enter the information it shows you a diagram based on your wires. I followed the diagram and connected both switches. Once both switches were in place, following the directions it was easy to get it set up on my WiFi. Now that I was able to switch the lights on and off using the app, it was time to set them up to work with Alexa and Google. I once again followed the instructions and got them both working on both. I like to have both of them since every once in a while one of them doesn't work for some reason and rather than trip over things in the dark to get to the switch I can always use the other one. I am using these switches to control the light in my kitchen which has a fluorescent tubes fixture. Since you can't control fluorescent lights with this switch, I bought 2 LED tubes (only $7 a tube) that fit right into the fixture and now the switches work perfectly. One thing I should mention is that the plastic box on the back of the switch is slightly wider than the old switch that I had in my hallway switch box. In a single, modern switch box like in the kitchen there was no problem but the hallway box has a second switch that controls the basement light. This was an old steel box that has steel tabs on the top right and bottom left for screwing in a steel cover. This was the wrong box as this kind of box is used for outlets rather than switches but it was put in when the house was built about 70 years ago. Unable to fit the switch in properly, I had to wedge it in at a slight angle to fit it into the box. The switch plate cover wouldn't fit now so I had to file out the openings to make it fit. Unless someone really examined it carefully, no one would notice it but it was a little annoying trying to get the switch into the box. Since I got the switches installed they have worked flawlessly. When I notice I left the kitchen light on, a simple "Alexa turn off the kitchen" shuts them off. I'm that much closer to getting my entire house voice controlled!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Nice 3 way switch, clean design, easy to install

    Posted
    Gizmo
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    This is my first foray into 3 way switches, I’ve heard they can be complicated and the advice I received was “label your wires”! First thing I did when installing the TP-Link 3 way smart switch was to take a photo of the wires the way it was wired into my “dumb” switch”. Then I noticed the stickers that TP-Link was nice enough to include to assist with labeling your wires. The TP-Link app “Kasa” is very user friendly, it walks you through the installation step by step. I had a bit of difficulty with my installation, one of the switches I was replacing only had 4 wires (2 traveler, power, and ground), it didn’t have a neutral wire that was needed by the smart switch. I ended up leaving my original 3 way switch here and installing the smart switch on the other end of the circuit, works fine. I can shut off manually from either switch and have smart switch capability. Setup and operation Once the hard part was done, all I had to do was connect to the switch wifi and configure it to my home wifi as well as setup on Alexa. This took about 10 minutes and I had a working 3 way smart switch! “Alexa, turn on stairs!”. Now when my kids leave the lights on, I can either make them go back and turn off or I can turn it off with Alexa. One thing I noticed, only the bottom portion of the switch toggles on and off, it sort of looks like its always in the “on” position. This might bother some. Conclusion: The switch does what it’s advertised to do. No problems, the design (and the included wall plate) has a clean and simple, matches the other non-smart switches I have in the home.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great home upgrade

    Posted
    Marine778
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The TP Link Smart light switch is a great upgrade to any home. This is a two pack so it’s even better. Having a spare home, I have various TP Link WiFi plugs throughout my house and they work well. My problem with them and all the other brands is that they stick out from the wall pretty far and if you have something you want to place close to the wall you are limited. My remedy for that was to attach them to a power strip, but these make things even better! Obviously they don’t look like normal light switches, at least not the ones in my house. They do have a nice glowing circle on them to help you see them in the dark, which was an unexpected nice feature. The switch kit was very easy to install using the Kasa app, which walks you through the processor. Everything is well labeled and you don’t need an electrician to do this. Once you get to the point of connecting it to WiFi, it’s very intuitive and takes just minutes. Again, the instructions are great. The Kasa app is also awesome. You can switch you lights on from your smartphone. This was the main reason I got these. I have things set up so that when I’m not home it looks like I’m at home. I have an alarm system on my home already, but this is an added security measure. Another thing that’s pretty cool about this product is that it is compatible with Amazon Alexa and the Google Voice line as well. So you can literally tell Alexa to turn on all lights (that you have hooked up) or specific ones individually and they will turn on. Or just use the Kasa app and turn them on from your phone as you get close to your home. Pretty cool product and line of products for that matter. At the end of the day, if you have any electronics knowledge and maybe a little home maintenance know how, this will work for you and add value to your home. I recommend it to anyone that has a smart home or is interested in small smart home upgrades without going crazy. I’m very happy with the product and I think you will be too.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best Value WiFi Smart Switch

    Posted
    nkpstudios
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member
    • Top 500 ContributorTop 500 Contributor

    I can't say enough about these switches. I own like 15 single pole TP-Link switches and have to use a work around because there wasn't a reasonably prices 3-Way switch until now. Dollar for dollar, there is nothing better out there. Setup Setup requires basic knowledge of electrical. If you are uncomfortable dealing with electricity, hire a contractor. Aside from that, I had both switches replaced and functional in less than 30 mins including activating them to my Kasa account. Compatibility Works flawlessly with both Alexa and Google Assistant. It is nice being able to use my Home Mini and Echos to interact with the lights and my Note 8 when I am away from home. This seamlessly ties into the major ecosystems with the exception of HomeKit. I have it set up with IFTT also and there are no problems. True customization!!!! App The app is great and works on both iOS and Android flawlessly. My iPhoneX and Note 8 were a breeze to setup. I wish they would add auto shutoff like my Wemo dimmers have, but otherwise no complaints. Ideas I would like to see the ability to turn off the always on circle that indicates where the light switch is when it is off. I have one in my room and it is quite bright in a pitch black room. I would like to see the implementation of an auto-off feature after someone forgets to turn off the light. Wemo has this and I have it set to 10 minutes which makes life easier when you have kids who leave lights on and you aren't upstairs or in other rooms of the house. Verdict MUST BUY for smart home adopters. If you are making a smart home or just want added convenience. You can use IFTT to turn on and off lights when you unlock your door using a smart lock too. Possibilities are endless with the TP Link ecosystem. Thanks TP-Link for making home automation affordable!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    They just work!

    Posted
    Chadwick
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    The TP-Link smart 3-way switch was the latest addition to my smart home setup. I already have several TP-Link products (including switches) so I was familiar with the installation needs and had the Kasa app on my phone. Some important things to look at before buying. Go ahead and crack open the box where you intend to install the switches. Make sure you have a neutral wire (white) and plenty of space (the switch is relatively large). If either of these is a no, either be prepared to hire an electrician or skip buying them altogether. Luckily, my home doesn’t/hasn’t yet had either of these drawbacks. If you are comfortable with basic wiring and can follow the very clear in-app instructions, getting these switches up and running should be no problem at all. Took me about an hour total to get them in, but that included moving switch positions in a multi-gang switch box so I could use an “off-the-shelf” switch plate. By the way, switch plate fitment is why I dinged the review by a star. As with my other smart switches (both TP-Link and other brands), they are a bit large and the flange that runs around the outer rim is too thick to let the switch plate sit flush against the wall without some modification. Not sure why the manufacturers haven’t figured this out and solved it on their end. Aesthetics weren’t terribly important where these two were installed so I didn’t take the time and effort to file edges down for a flush fit like I have on the others. Maybe I’ll go back and do that on a rainy day when I’m really bored…but I seriously doubt it. All in all, the TP-Link switches just work, integrate seamlessly into my smart home routines, can be controlled by Alexa commands, and are a good bit cheaper than the competitors.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    It works, Instructions are fairly detailed but...

    Posted
    1ShadowFox1
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Home automation excites me. I have several smart switches, devices, and appliances in my home. Technology is amazing. This switch, however, is the first smart device that has underwhelmed me. I have bought similar switches and was very impressed with their wiring diagrams, quality components, and versatility of the switch. This switch doesn't check any of those marks. The install instructions for this device are completely through the app designated for the device. Although I prefer paper, these instructions are pretty detailed and helpful, but it is semi problematic if your switches are on the same circuit as your wifi modem when you have to kill the power. The install instructions are well oriented towards the novice electrician and anyone can do it. Don't be afraid. This package only comes with the specified color, which was also unique in my experience with smart switches. Every other switch I have purchased has come with both a white and an almond or light almond. When installing this switch, all I could keep thinking was how cheap this switch felt. The screws on the switch back all the way out, the button feels flimsy, and just overall leaves a sour taste in my mouth. But even with these characteristics that disappointed me, the switch works quickly and reliably. The app is friendly, however I typically never use the app again after enabling the skill for my smart assistants. Yes, this switch works with Alexa. Would I recommend this to you? No, I would not. But if they run an amazing sale on it and don't mind the cheaper feel, then this may find its way into your home.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TPLinkSupport

      Hi,

      Thank you for sharing your experience with our product. We're happy to hear you were able to easily install the device and you're enjoying its features, including Alexa integration. We appreciate your feedback regarding the physical design and aesthetic aspects of the smart light switches, and we'll gladly share it internally with the appropriate team. If you have any questions or concerns about your Kasa experience, please feel free to e-mail Kasa.Support@TP-Link.com and we'll gladly follow up.

      Thank you,
      TP-Link Support tplink

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works well once you find the App

    Posted
    sdunnin
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The switch works great and Kasa app is easy to use. Couple of minor problems with one being my fault. The first issue was finding the app to begin with as the instructions in the box are pretty paltry and direct you to load the app in order to get further instructions. I was installing on an Ipad and had a hard time locating the correct app by searching the Apple App Store directly. There were several Kasa apps but not none of them the correct one. I first installed a Kasa by Veho Smart Home app as it seemed the most compatible. Do not try this one because it will not work. You want the Kasa by Tp-Link App, however, the only way I was able to get to it in the app store was via the app link on the tp-link web site. The other issue was due to me not utilizing the install instructions, which are pretty good and provided in the app, because I thought I knew exactly what I was doing. I neglected to realize that the first 3-way switch I tried to replace did not have a common wire which is required by the switch. It got power and I was able to add the switch to the app and connect it to wifi but it would not turn the light on. If I had followed the app's instructions I would have noticed that. Ended up replacing the other switch only. Little secret is that you only need one of the 2 HS210 switches on a 3-way circuit for it to work. When going through setup you just keep hitting next when it prompts you to setup the second switch You can then use the other switch on another 3-way circuit and have 2 wifi controlled 3-way switches.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    NOT as easy as you may think

    Posted
    ravedave
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have a 15 year old house, some switches come with a neutral wire and some do not. I looked and one end of the hallway had a neutral and the other did not. My house not having this is not the fault of TPLINK just my wacky builder. If you know a decent amount about wiring, this is not terribly difficult. My original plans for this switch was a long dark hall that would be great for a smart 3 way switch. I have put other switches in the house and they were all fine. After some help from an electrician (and new wires) I did get this working. It does work as advertised, I have several other TPLINK devices I use and they all work well with the Kasa app. You need to remember to set an on AND an off time. My WiFi connected pretty well, for some reason the first couple of tries it only saw my guest network (which it would not connect to for security reasons?) and not the main secured network. Eventually I got it. I personally hate the face plate. It does not sit well (flush) against the wall. I have moved it several times and no help. I do not like it does not have a dimmer, seems like that should just be a default thing all switches have. I know these all need a neutral. With so many home builders putting a neutral in some outlets and not others this is going to be a hindrance for future smart devices. some kind of workaround that does not involve an electrician? Yes I will recommend this, but take apart each switch (even on the same circuit) and visually verify for the neutral.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Not What I Expected

    Posted
    glspark2007
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Honestly, from the description given on these switches, I was expecting a quick, simple install process. Turns out, not so much. Took quite a bit of effort to get these installed because the wiring was different than expected. Now that they're in place, I have a couple of issues. 1) I think they look cheap. I was expecting a modern, contemporary type upgrade to my house to go along with some of my other smart devices (thermostat, doorbell, etc.). Instead I got a cheap looking switch that seems out of place. 2) I have dimmer switches already installed that I use ALL the time. Can't use them with these switches in place. Because of the issue with the dimmer switches, I decided to take out the switches from my kitchen and family room and put them in the hallway (one upstairs and one downstairs). I feel like these locations make life a little bit easier (I know, first world problems), and I don't care quite as much about the aesthetic issues. That's why this is a 3 and not a 2 star review. Once the switches were finally installed, they do work on my Wifi network, and I'm able to control them with my Google Home. Overall they work and I'm using them, but they still were not what I expected. Be prepared for likely wiring issues and make sure you have a good location to use them first. If those issues are covered, I'd still recommend them because they are a cheaper option for home automation.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works but not as I would like it to

    Posted
    ChrisS
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This light switch works as advertised but I was frustrated by two aspects. First, the light does not support dimming. Since almost all of my 2 way switches are on dimmers, I would be losing functionality by installing this. I did read that you can install just one side of the 2 way switch with the smart switch and use the other as is. I tried doing this with a dimmer as the other switch and it worked until the light was set to dim, and then the smart switch got confused, probably because of the low voltage. The second issue I had was that the Wi-Fi connection needs to be secured. I have an open Wi-Fi network and keep all of my files behind security. I also have over 40 other devices connected to my network, so I was unwilling to change the security settings on my mesh network to accommodate one switch. This was very frustrating. I did setup a guest account with security and used that to connect, but if I wasn't also connected to that account then it didn't work. For this reason, I uninstalled the switch and will not be using it. Despite my indifferences, there are a lot of positives to this switch. It is easy to install and the app works pretty well. It also has a cool design and offers settings to automate your lighting by hooking up to Alexa. The app is smart enough to use your location to lookup sunrise and sunset times so that you can have the switches turn on from dusk to dawn.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Making life easier at home

    Posted
    phoenixfta
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I love the smart home movement, now that products actually work and aren't so proprietary. The TP-Link 3-way smart light switch is nicely built and paired with the Kasa software/app. The app works with your favorite home assistants so you get the dream trio for control: 1-A physical device you can switch on/off and dim; 2-Control from your smart phone or tablet 3-Voice control via your home assistant. The only complication is that first one...you do need to physically install the switches. It's not hard, but if you are not electrically inclined, that's daunting. Another key element is you need to have a neutral wire in your house, and you probably won't know until you've started the installation. That said, it's easy to install and get the Kasa app going. I love that I can now come home and turn on or dim lights from one side of my living room and turn them off when going to bed at the other side. (or vice versa). Nice product.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great addition to my home

    Posted
    MarkusMN
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network

    This works exactly as advertised. It replaces the toggle switches that were in my basement and it now functions as a push button switch. The installation was complicated by my wiring, so it took longer than I had hoped. This is NOT the fault of the product. If you have an iPhone 10 with iOS 12, the location function will not work with the phone application. I had to set it up from a device with an older OS. Once it was initially set up, it worked just fine. The application will walk you through the WiFi setup. The smart phone needs to connect to the wireless source provided by the switches and then the application will tie them to your existing network upon completion of setting up the first switch. Both switches are set up separately but will be tied together by the application upon completion. The application is nice for turning off the light remotely and the switches have a dim light on the bottom to help find them in the dark. Finally, the finishing plates can be difficult to keep in place unless the switch housing extends outside of the sheet rock. I ended up using spacers when mounting the switch for one of my electrical boxes. My house is becoming more and more wireless and this was a great addition.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Another option for home automation

    Posted
    LSNerd
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member
    • Top 1000 ContributorTop 1000 Contributor

    As I continue to make my home "smart" I will try a variety of products. I currently have three different platforms controlling everything from door locks to interior and exterior lights plus video. These switches fit the bill for the room I usually watch movies in. As with any project that involves dealing with electricity follow the instructions exactly! Although these are pretty simple to install for someone who has done 3-way switches before, it can be confusing. This has nothing to do with the product and all to do with who 3-way switches work. Again, if you are uncomfortable with dealing with electricity find someone who is comfortable with doing the install. It took all of 30 minutes for me to be up and running. Installation is actually easier than installing a standard 3-way switch since all connections are clearly marked. Connection up to WiFi was as simple as following the instructions on the downloaded app. The app has some neat features where you can setup schedules, start a timer or define times when you are away to either have the lights on or off. It even give you a total run time over the day week or month. Overall a good product with decent functionality. The app also supports other devices in the line from cameras to sensors and smart bulbs.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Easy install and setup!

    Posted
    TechMatcher
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I'm not normally lazy, but I hate getting out of bed to turn off the hall or stairway light after all the kids climb into bed. Enter the TP-Link HS210 Smart switch! I installed the smart switches on just one end of the 3-way switch to allow me to stay in bed and use the app to control the lights - or from the main level, use Alexa to control the lights! Depending on your switch config, you may have to purchase a new cover plate - like if you have 3 normal switches and now you installed one of the HS210 switches with is a "wider" switch style. Obviously, it won't fit into your existing narrow switch cover plate. No biggie - they are like $5. If you haven't installed electrical switches before, be careful and shut off the power. Take before photos so you know how to connect them - and to revert back if you have issues! Overall - very cool and functional addition to the house!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    "Hey Google - Lights" - Awesome!

    Posted
    ShawnInKB
    • Tech Insider NetworkTech Insider Network
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Welcome to the future! So cool to walk into a room and say "Hey Google, Lights" and they come on! Super easy to install if you are comfortable replacing a light switch (turn off the power first!) and the app walks you through it step by step with images and instructions. One note - the 3 way switches aren't dimmable, however if you have a dimmer installed already on another switch in your 3 way circuit, you can leave that installed and just use 1 of these. They still turn on / off correctly with the app, a manual switch press, or via Alexa/Google. I did this and then used the other switch for another light altogether, so almost like getting one for free since you can split these to work 2 separate 3 way switches! "Turn on the lights and beam me up!"

    I would recommend this to a friend