Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Wemo - Light Switch - White/Light Gray-Front_Standard

Wemo - Light Switch - White/Light Gray

Model: F7C030FCSKU: 1218832

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 1638 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.7 out of 5 stars with 15 reviews

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 32 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Beware of security flaw

    Posted
    Chuck58

    Once you llnk this to your home network it is NEVER erased. I had one of these and then gave it to my friend who lives 5 miles away. Even though he linked it to his network, once he got outside and the phone app launched it communicated with the Belkin Cloud server. Guess what ? He could see all my other Wemo devices I had in my home and control them. The light switch retains the old network and password. Belkin knows all about the flaw but have not corrected it. You can NEVER sell or give the switch to someone else once you link it to your network. The next person will have access to any other Wemo devices you own. it took Belkin 3 weeks to fix this.. You would never know this is going on. The only reson i stumbled onto it was i hlepd hookit up in my friend's house. Then we went out to dinner and we launched the Wemo app on our phones. i was shocked to see all of my devices on his phone and I could still see the switch on my phoneplus all of my own devices. The 2 networks were linked and crossed. Never buy a used on off of Ebay. The switch memory is never erased. You really cannot sell it to someone else either unless you have no other Wemo devices. it was by accident that I discovered the issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Belkin won't HONOR their own warranty

    Posted
    Matrixdell
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Bought 3 Wemo Dimmers September 2017 one of the units recently failed. Called Wemo Technical Support as the dimmer has a (3) year warranty https://www.belkin.com/us/support-article?articleNum=24620). Wemo refused to honor their own warranty even after I had proof of purchase from Best Buy. Tech support said when I bought my dimmer only came with a (1) year warranty. This is not true as researched this product and waited for its first release. Check out the link to their warranty page. Very disappointing Belkin wont honor their own warranty. I don't recommend this product if you are the type of person who counts on a company to back their product if it fails. Case# 10889599 Tech Support Employee ID: 22128 (Alex G.) Thank you Wemo for leaving me out to DRY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Takes a week to reset after firmware update.

    Posted
    CoolCole
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Annoyingly (almost) useless. Every time they make a firmware update, it takes over a week for it to reconnect. I've gone through 5 firmware updates in the past 6 months and each time I consider a new product. I've tried contacting support, but every time I do, they ask me to walk through the same exact steps as the previous person and then they say they'll move the ticket up to the next level and I stop hearing back. I consider this to be a faulty product with zero valid tech support. They didn't even offer to replace it. This will end my support of any belkin device. I'm done.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi Coolcole,

      We understand how frustrating this must be and we're sorry hearing your experience with our support team. Please allow us to look into your case so we'll be able sort this out and address the challenges you've encountered. If you were given a case number, please send it to us at WEMOCares@belkin.com. If it's not available, you can provide us your phone number and/or email instead along with the link to this review.

      We look forward to hear from you.

      Regards,

      WEMO Support
      www.wemo.com Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Too deep for a crowded switch box

    Posted
    Jacko
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I could not install the switch so the "One Star" rating is misleading but necessary to complete the review. The physical side of the switch is too big for my double switch box. The switch needed to share space with a 4-way switch and there was just to much wired wire nuts in the box to allow the depth of this switch. I previously has a programable switch in this spot, but it was not quite as deep and barely fit.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great idea, terrible implementation

    Posted
    prjctfish

    From all the research I have done it appears that almost 50% of buyers (reviews on amazon, engadget and wemo's own community...) have very significant issues. I have three Wemo outlets which all failed after about 6 months, won't connect to wifi even though my Nests, Dropcam, and other devices have no wifi issues on the same network/SSID. The devices either have signifcant engineering defects or manufacturing defects

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi prjctfish,

      We appreciate the feedback and took note of it. The Team is working hard in improving our products to provide better experience. We would also like to take this chance to assist you. Please send us an email at WEMOhelp@belkin.com with your contact details and the link to this review.

      Hope to hear from you.

      Regards,

      Belkin Support
      www.belkin.com/support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Ok product with a big design flaw

    Posted
    sharque
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I originally liked this product and bought a number of them for my home. There are a couple flaws that buyers need to consider. First, to control the lights you have to use the Wemo app. I preferred to use Wink. Second, The button to reset the switch is at the bottom edge of the toggle switch and we accidentally reset each switch a number of times. This is a ridiculously bad design and it is not reasonable to have to wait for your light switch to reboot.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Wifi doesnt work

    Posted
    amitg
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The wemo app will the far majority of the time not find the wemo light switch on the network. The app will show "Device not found". If you go into LTE mode, then you can control the app. The device appears to be connected successfully to the 2.4Ghz network, but seems to fail at being reliably discoverable on the network. End result - you cant control it via the app when you are at home. Defeats the purpose of having a wifi controlled switch.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. It is unfortunate that the device is not working as expected. It’s best to make sure that your mobile device is also connected to the 2.4GHz network if your router is dual-band. We’d like to further look into your concern. Please send us your contact details through our email at WemoCares@belkin.com. Also include your location and the link to this review in the email. We hope to hear from you the soonest. Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Doesn't Stay Connected

    Posted
    MarginalHulk
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This was pretty easy to install and connect to my wifi. However, it often lost connection, wasn't connected when I wanted to use voice commands with my Amazon Echo, and actually would cause my Echo to be non-responsive when it was trying to communicate with this switch. I tried it with one of the outlets, and it was marginally better, but not much. I'd steer clear of Wemo stuff for a while.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi, MarginalHulk,
      This is an uncommon behavior for the Wemo Light Switch. To ensure a stable connection, make sure that the firmware of the Light Switch is up to date. You can also try to set a static channel on your wireless router to reduce interference.
      If this persists, send us your contact details at WemoCares@belkin.com along with the link to this post.
      We hope to hear from you again.
      Regards,
      Thaddeus
      Wemo Support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great Concept, but

    Posted
    NotoriousDee
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I should have read all the reviews before buying. Installation was relatively easy. However, configuring the switch to connect to my WiFi did not work. I tried everything from resetting my wifi, removing the wifi password, resetting the switch and etc, but to no avail, it didn't work. I will be returning all the switches I purchased.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi, NotoriousDee,

      Connecting the Wemo Light Switch to your Wi-Fi network should never be a challenge if it's located within your Wi-Fi range along with your handheld device. Before you consider returning the product, we'd like to get you over to one of our Escalation Engineers to walk you through the process. Please drop us an email at WemoCares@belkin.com with your contact details and the link to this review.


      Best regards,

      Jay
      Wemo Support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    WeMo needs an easier installation for light switch

    Posted
    PeteTN
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Following the sparse enclosed instructions I connected the light switch. I have spent the last 2 days trying to have the switch connect to my android Nexus not to mention the internet. I have given up and plan on returning it tomorrow.. The instructions on Belkins webpage are somewhat vague but I cannot get the switch to connect to my tablet..

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi Pete,

      We are here to assist you. You may send us an email at WEMOCares@belkin.com with your contact details and the link to this review. We would also appreciate if you can include the following:

      * WEMO app version
      * Android version of the handheld device
      * Brand and model number of the router

      Regards,

      Belkin Support
      www.belkin.com/support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very expensive light switch.

    Posted
    Rob1966
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    It will not stay connected to the wifi. It connects when my wife resets the router. I thought I needed a new router, but when looking at new routers, the kid at Best buy said your problem is the switch. He said I should have read the reviews before I bought the two switches. Oh well, they still work like regular light switches.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi, Rob1966,


      We aim to provide our customers with convenience when using our products. What you've come across with the WEMO Light Switch is not the experience we wanted you to have. Allow us to take this opportunity to assist you and improve your experience with the unit. To establish a stable wireless connection with your switch, we suggest you set a fixed channel on our wireless network. Also, make sure that the firmware of your light switch is updated. To check if there's an new update, check out this link: http://www.belkin.com/us/support-article?articleNum=27353

      Feel free to email us at WEMOCares@belkin.com for further assistance. Kindly include your contact information and the link to this post as reference. We'd be glad to assist you.


      Regards,
       
      WEMO Support
      www.wemo.com Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The worst home automation device that I've bought

    Posted
    Bbplus
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Aweful. Should have read online reviews before buying. Every couple of days the switches go offline and I have to reset the breaker on my panel to reset them. Almost everyone encounters these issues. If you send error codes to belkin, they won't even bother to reply. Don't buy. If you do, return them within the return terms.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi, Bbplus,

      Your feedback is important to us. This is definitely a strange behavior and we appreciate your bringing this to our attention. We could start checking if the unit's firmware is updated. Also, we would like to trace the history of your case. Did you send the error codes through the "Report a Problem" option on the WEMO app? If you did, feel free to send us an email at WEMOCares@belkin.com so we can assist you accordingly. Please include your contact information and the link to this review for our reference.

      We look forward to receiving your email.

      Regards,

      WEMO Support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Bricked

    Posted
    Disgruntled
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My recommendation is to NOT purchase this item. Mine is being removed today and destroyed with a hammer. After three weeks (3 weeks!) of attempts with different strategies, the WiFi connection with my router simply cannot be recovered after a whole home power failure.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Would not work with LED

    Posted
    Tony48
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have LED outside lights and the switch will not work. The LED lights flash constantly with the switch on or off. Bought the lights at Lowes to conserve energy. When trying to program it kept telling me my internet was too slow, I have no choice as I am on Hughesnet satellite

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    It stoped working

    Posted
    Topher
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    For the fist month or two it worked great. But as of the last two months it disconnected form my wifi and i am unable to reconnect it. Tried a factory reset and still unable to get it connected to my wifi!

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi Topher,

      We understand the hassle that you are experiencing with the Wemo Light Switch disconnecting from your network. Tweaking the router's wireless channels and making sure that the firmware is up to date could help resolve this setback. Should you need further assistance, e-mail us your contact details and the link to this review at WemoCares@belkin.com and we'd be glad to have our Escalation Engineers to contact you.

      We look forward to assisting you.

      Regards,

      Joseph
      Wemo Support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Meh

    Posted
    Nichole
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Disrupts wifi terribly. I had these for six months and it continuously made the wifi signal drop out. To their credit I had six of them on my network but it became very annoying, I ended up trying to returning them, no dice though.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi, Nichole,

      Your feedback is important to us. Hearing about your experience with your WEMO Light Switches is not we expected. This is a very unusual scenario and we want this case to be verified. There could be other network or devices that interfere to your wireless connection. By the way, what is the model number of your router? To improve your wireless connection, We recommend specifying your network's wireless channel to either 1, 6 or 11.

      Please observe the connection and don't hesitate to send us an email at WEMOCares@belkin.com in case anything goes. We'd be more than willing to assist you.

      Regards,
      WEMO Support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    doesn't work consistently

    Posted
    OCBBshopper
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased the wemo for our front porch and garage lights and programmed them to on dusk to dawn and it doesn't work -. turns on and off randomly. I wiill have to call customer service

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi,

      This is a very unusual behavior for the Wemo Light Switch. We recommend that you reset and configure the Wemo device again to try and fix this. If the same thing happens, send us your contact details at WemoCares@belkin.com and we'll have our Second Level Technicians assist you further. Don't forget to include the link to this post.

      We hope to hear from you soon.

      Regards,

      Thaddeus
      Wemo Support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Expensive for an on/off switch

    Posted
    Louis
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Switch works to turn lights on/off. Even with Belkin help(approximately 1 hr on phone) could not connect to wifi. No problem with other wifi devices. Returned to Bestbuy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi, Louis,

      We could have had out Second Level Technicians assist you further with the device. We respect your decision in returning the device. If you have further questions, feel free to email us at WemoCares@belkin.com.

      Have a good day!

      Regards,

      Thaddeus
      Wemo Support Belkin

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not so smart

    Posted
    Nugget
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Bought yo use with Alexa but the switch can’t be used with a light that is controlled by 2 different light switches

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    not useful

    Posted
    rrrr
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was not able to make use of it , it looks like it need separate phase line mandatory. Since my house had old wiring i couldn't make use of and end up returning it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      BelkinStaff

      Hi, Rrrr,

      If you are referring to the neutral wire, then it is a requirement to successfully install the light switch. We understand that you'll return the switch as it isn't compatible with your setup. However, feel free to reach out to us anytime via WemoCares@belkin.com should you have inquiries with the other Wemo devices.


      Regards,

      Irish
      Wemo Support Belkin