Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Whirlpool - 24" Top Control Built-In Dishwasher with Stainless Steel Tub - Sunset Bronze-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 443 reviews

95%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-8 of 8 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Absolute garbage, esp with silverware

    Posted
    Corgic

    We got this dishwasher in February to replace an old Maytag model that was not draining properly. While this machine is much quieter and gets the top rack fairly clean, I expected a lot better. This is WORSE at cleaning than our 10+ year old Maytag, and yes we have used the (expensive) recommended cleaning pods. Oftentimes plates come out with crud baked onto them. I'm not talking went in with baked on crud. I'm talking like bits of guacamole get somehow hardened onto the plates. And the silverware? Forget about it. Absolute garbage. I think this may have to do with the two location options for the utensil basket being the door itself or the left-hand wall. Not in the dead center over the rotating arm like older models. You don't even have to crowd stuff in here to have poor performance, although that certainly makes it worse and allows you a severely limited number of utensils per wash. You cannot have more than two pieces per compartment, or about 8-10 pieces per wash. In fact, the dishwasher does you the favor of flinging food particles into the basket if you have it on the door. And it does a horrific job of removing things like peanut butter from knives. (The attached photo is after using a paper towel before loading to wipe off excess peanut butter because we're trying our best here.) This pictured knife was in a compartment by itself, not cupping or touching anything else. You basically use this dishwasher to sterilize. That's it. Have fun hand-washing everything first.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      Corgic, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. Please email us at Whirlpool_Reviews@Whirlpool.com at your earliest convenience with your user name (Corgic), copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, Whirlpool® Social Care WhirlpoolBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed over time

    Posted
    Napersuez

    We have had this dishwasher for almost a year now. Initially, it seemed okay. It is very quiet, which we like, but the dishwasher does a terrible job of getting the dishes clean. We use jet dry in the rinse agent drawer and have tried different detergents, using different cycles (sensor, normal, etc). We usually rinse our dishes off first before putting them in the dishwasher but are finding that if we don't completely remove any food particles, the food will remain on the dishes after they have been washed. We have used the utensil rack both on the door and in the bottom tray, but the silverware does not come clean either way. I have purposely place items so they will be in direct contact with the spray arms and still they come out dirty. We previously had a whirlpool dishwasher for 20 years and I'm sorry we got rid of that unit - it was better built and did a much better job of cleaning dishes.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      Hi Napersuez, we thank you for your review, and are sorry to hear of the concerns you're having with your Whirlpool® Dishwasher. We'd like to follow up with you regarding your concerns. Please email us at Whirlpool_Reviews@Whirlpool.com with your name, phone number, address and model/serial number so we may do so. Please include a brief description of your concerns in your email. Thank you, Whirlpool Social Care WhirlpoolBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    the one and only redeeming quality...

    Posted
    mj2018

    It's very quiet. Hate hate hate everything else. Utensil tray is a flimsy joke... and it's gray, so you can't see the silverware. There is NO PLACE to put large utensils, fortunately I kept the utensil rack out of my old dishwasher and am using that. Top rack spacing is ludicrous. The center row too wide and the two rows on either side of it are too narrow. I find myself just throwing things in the top rack which is frustrating. Need a flashlight to see if the rinse aid dispenser is full. Rinse aid is essential otherwise dishes are still dirty. Am running this dishwasher way more often since it holds about 30% fewer dishes. And it's ugly. But hey, saved 10% when we bought four pieces. Thank goodness the whirlpool refrigerator is fantastic.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      mj2018, we really appreciate your feedback and do apologize for the inconveniences. Please feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns. WhirlpoolBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do Not Buy (Door Locked)

    Posted
    AdaLovelace
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This washer was bought in 2018 and ran well until now. The control panel (with the buttons) are along the top and cannot be accessed while it is washing or locked. We use premium wash pods with Cascade Rinse Aid and use the washer properly. It’s been 12 hours since the wash was complete and the door will not open and the blue light is flashing. This product is a cheap product designed to break down near or after warranty expiration so that It costs $300+ to fix it. Save your money and buy a decent product that is not Whirlpool.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      Hey AdaLovelace, we value your time and would like to look into the concerns with your Dishwasher. Please reach out to us directly at 1-800-253-1301, via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/whirlpoolusa/ or Twitter @WhirlpoolCare. We’re looking forward to hearing from you. WhirlpoolBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    $$$ quit after just over a year

    Posted
    HORRIBLE
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This was part of a suite of Whirlpool products that we purchased a bit over a year ago. It doesn't work anymore. It runs, but dishes don't clean; soap doesn't even get dissolved. Tried all of their troubleshooting, still nothing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      HORRIBLE, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. If you have not had your issue resolved, please email us at Whirlpool_Reviews@Whirlpool.com at your earliest convenience with your username (HORRIBLE), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, Whirlpool Social Care WhirlpoolBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Wrong size

    Posted
    MAN1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Dishwasher did not fit the space correctly tub to big return to store for a Bosch it fit perfect. Also the Bosch cleaned the dishes better without leaving stains on them like the whirlpool, even thought the whirlpool had a heat dry cycle which the Bosch does not use.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      MAN1, we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your dishwasher. We wish you the best with your new dishwasher. WhirlpoolBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Dishwasher

    Posted
    Dinouctx
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Just bought this unit and it does not dry the dishes! Very disappointed!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      Your dishwasher is designed to use rinse aid for good drying performance. Without rinse aid, your dishes and dishwasher interior will have excessive moisture. The Heat Dry and ProDry™ options will not perform as well without rinse aid. Rinse aid improves drying and reduces water spots and filming. Water "sheets" off dishes rather than forming water droplets that cling and leave spots. Rinse Aid can also help your dishwasher retain less moisture on the interior walls and door.
      It could take up to 2 weeks of regular usage for the new dishwasher to reach optimal drying performance. WhirlpoolBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Junk

    Posted
    AJP11111
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Junk stick with maytag These touch sensitive buttons are horrible.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      WhirlpoolTeam

      We thank you for your review, and are sorry to hear of the concerns you're having with your appliance. We'd like to follow up with you regarding your concerns. Please email us at Whirlpool_Digital@Whirlpool.com with your name, phone number, address and model/serial number so we may do so. Please include a brief description of your concerns in your email. WhirlpoolBrand