Ring - Chime Pro Wi-Fi Extender and Indoor Chime for Ring Devices - White

Extend the reach of your Ring doorbell with the Chime Pro Wi-Fi extender. It plugs into standard electric outlets and boosts the network signal of your Ring so you'll always know when someone is at your door. This Chime Pro Wi-Fi extender has a convenient volume control and issues multiple alert tones for optimal versatility.
$49.99

Protect your product

Learn about Replacement Plans
Protection Plan Options

Item Added.View List

Add to List

    No lists found. Create one today.
    Add Item
    Cardmember Offers

    Overview

    What's Included


    • Ring Chime Pro Wi-Fi Extender and Indoor Chime for Ring Devices
    • US plug
    • Quick Setup Guide

    Ratings & Reviews


    Overall Customer Rating:
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (572 out of 666)

    Features


    Extend Your Ring Network

    Chime Pro extends the signal from your router to your Ring devices, so you can eliminate Wi-Fi dead zones and never miss a Ring alert.

    802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi connection

    For 2.4 GHz only.

    Plug Chime Pro into any standard power outlet, link it to all your Ring devices

    And get Ring alerts anywhere in your home.

    Chime Pro has a tone that works for you

    From seasonal sounds to popular classics.

    Do Not Disturb mode

    Mutes all alerts.

    Stay on top of local crime

    Ring Neighborhoods lets you receive real-time crime alerts from your neighbors, so you can all work together to make your community a safer place.


    Customer rating

    4.3
    86%
    would recommend to a friend

    Pros

    Cons

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      Does not boost WIFI strength

      Posted
      Hachima
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

      This product changed my "59-63" "Good" rating in the Ring app to a 73-79 "Poor" rating and made the signal worse than without the adapter. I used an older Netgear router instead and it boosted my signal to 43 which is still "Good" but much better than without using an intermediate device. I have a a Netgear Nighthawk 8x R8500 and my ring would not always show the video but just a black screen. I would always get the motion detect within seconds so connectivity was live. Based on support threads the ring device has issues with MTU which with many of the Netgear routers releases in the last few years which explains why the notification (small packet) works while video fails. As a test I did a ping -f -l 1400 to the device and was experiencing extreme packetloss. Having packetloss on a local network is a very bad sign. I tried using the Chome Pro but it made the signal weaker and I still experiencing the same issue. I suspect the defect exists in the Chime Pro also. I re-provisioned an older Netgear R6250 as a wireless access point at the same physical location as my current router. When connecting to this router I no longer experience the connection issues I was seeing before. I then moved this to the spot I was trying to use the Chrome Pro and it significantly helped the connection to the Ring Pro. So in the end the Chime Pro weakened my signal by 10-15 points and using my own router I increased the connection strength by 20 points. The Chime PRO also appears to have the same issue with newer Netgear routers as the Ring Pro.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Ring

        Hello,

        Oh no, I am so sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience, with that being said, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to turn your Ring experience around for you. I would love the chance to connect with you personally so that I can further investigate these issues and come to a resolution once and for all. It is of great importance to me that your Ring devices are working consistently to your expectations so if you would kindly contact me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com I would like to get this fixed for you ASAP.

        Thanks,

        Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
        Kaitlyn.rosenthsl@ring.com Ring

    • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

      Didn't work for me

      Posted
      Ken99999

      I love my doorbell cam and my spotlight cam. I noticed in the Device Health section that they were getting poor scores for Wifi Signal health (I just bought a brand new Nighthawk wifi router). So I decided to try out the Chime Pro for the wifi extender function. I don't fully understand why, but the Chime, plugged in, indoors, about 30 feet away from the router gets a WORSE signal than the doorbell, which is about the same distance away in the same direction but outside the front door. I attempted to move the Chime around to different parts of the house and the signal reception never improved. I even plugged it in to an outlet that was directly behind the router on the other side of a drywall wall, and the signal got worse. My curiousity peaking, I got an extension cord and held the Chime pro up in the middle of the room where the router is located, and again, the RSSI score was lower (-27). Its possible its just something to do with my router setup or how my home is shaped, but the Chime Pro does me no good and I returning it.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Ring

        Hi Ken99999,

        Hmm, this does not sound right. Even with a Chime Pro, we recommend at least 1 Mbps upload speeds for Doorbell and Stick Up Cams and at least 2 Mbps for Doorbell Pros/Doorbell 2/Video Doorbell Elite/Floodlight Camera or Spotlight Camera when connecting through the Chime Pro. Upload speeds that are significantly lower can lead to degraded video quality and other performance issues. Would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

        I would appreciate the chance to improve your Ring experience.

        Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
        Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

    • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

      A must if you have a weak signal

      Posted
      JMac
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

      I purchased a Ring Pro doorbell and installed it. My router is on the other side of my house so my signal was just OK. There was a definite delay when the bell rang and the video on my phone lagged. I installed the Chime Pro and fixed both problems. Not only does it extend your wifi signal (only for Ring products) but it acts as a chime for you doorbell. I have since purchased 2 Ring Spotlights ...one for my basement door and one for my driveway (garage walk thru door). Of course, both of those were also just on the edge of wifi ...so I purchased 2 more Chime Pros...Easy to setup and does a great job extending the signal. The downside is they are a bit expensive, but I think totally worth it for the piece of mind I now have that I now when someone is coming near my home. Its cool you can change the Chime tones to a number of tones. For my garage and basement I chose the dogs barking...Could be a bit a bit louder but all in all pretty neat. Oh and the customer service for Ring is first Class. I had to call them for my doorbell install...answered the phone quickly and the agent was very nice and patience. Highly recommend.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

      Usually does the job

      Posted
      Bill
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

      This provides a review of my purchases for a “Ring” system: Orbi AC3000 routers (3 units), Ring Doorbell 2, Chime Pro, 2 Floodlight Cams, doorbell install, and home Wi-Fi setup. I will review the individual components which were mostly quite good. However, their merits were masked by systemic weaknesses in the Best Buy system for communications and project management: Communications: I didn’t know the Wi-Fi consultant was scheduled until he called to confirm his appointment the next day. No one from Best Buy ever told me about the schedule for the doorbell install consultant’s schedule so I did the work myself. Project Management: You sold pieces that were supposed to become an integrated system but there was no integration planned for or provided. You don’t have an electrical contractor on staff so the Wi-Fi was installed before the floodlight cams could be tested. This proved to be a small problem, presumably because of the masonry construction of my house.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

      Had to get a second one

      Posted
      jesuslover

      The first one set up quick in 5 minutes. After one day it stopped. I called ring and spent 1-2 hours on the phone. It would not show the chimepro Wifi. They said get a new one. I buy a new one and this one took 5 minutes then it was not connecting. After hours of reconnecting and retrying it, the chime pro extender worked. After 2 weeks of use, I do need to reconnect it to the ring every time I have to charge the ring. It’s not always convenient but I like the feature on the extender showing me the connection is dropped when there is a red circle. Tp-link extender never gives me a warning on my phone. I have to walk to the room to look at the red light and know it’s not connected. I think ring works only with chimepro but not as well with tp-link.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Ring

        Hi jesuslover,

        I am so sorry to hear about this poor and inconvenient Ring experience. This is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I do, however, greatly appreciate all the time and energy that you have invested into trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to step in and ensure that your efforts are not wasted.

        Bilan J., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
        Bilan.jenkins@ring.com Ring

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      Doesnt make anything better

      Posted
      Paul

      How does this make my other ring products worse? I dont get it. I have AT&T fiber and had a good connection to my doorbell and spotlight cam (which hardly ever works). I thought I could make the connection even better by adding the chime pro. Boy was I wrong. Both connections went to poor and the chime is literally 10 feet from the doorbell and another 10 feet from the spotlight cam. Had to put it in the same room as my router because if I moved it anywhere else it wouldnt detect my wifi network. Ring has some serious issues and they need to be addressed. I will more than likely be returning this and the spotlight cam.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Ring

        Hi Paul,

        I am sorry to hear about this less than excellent Ring experience. Do you happen to know what your upload and download speeds are? If you email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com I would be more than happy to assist you further.

        Thanks,

        Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
        Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

    • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

      I really do like the chime pro, however...

      Posted
      JScott
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      I really do like the chime pro as an exentended doorbell with extra chime noise features, however, I have not had much success with it as a wifi extender. I even purchased faster internet from Comcast, but still my video feed is not consistent and very rarely works. I have moved the chime pro to several locations in the house with ring support on the line, but getting the same results. Signal reads Good in device health on both the Ring Pro doorbell and chime pro. I'm not too sure what exactly is causing the issue. Ring is going to send me another Ring Pro to see if maybe I just have a faulty doorbell. Ring's customer service has been top notch!

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

      Works as advertised...

      Posted
      Migs
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      Ok, so I was having some serious connectivity issues with my Ring doorbell. Especially when I tried to use the live view option. I watched tons of reviews for this Wi-Fi extender, and I just didn't believe it. Since I really need to know who is at the door of my house when I'm not there, I finally broke down and purchased this item. I have to say that this thing is a game changer! Since my Wi-Fi source is upstairs it no longer has the choppy connection video. I also don't have that long wait while the circle of connection turns until video shows. All I can say is that it works for me, and as I add more products I will add another extender downstairs far form the WiFi box.

      I would recommend this to a friend




    Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.