The Family Afloat [LP] - VINYL

  • Artist: Bound Stems
  • SKU: 17159726
  • Release Date: 09/09/2008
Cardmember Offers
Frequently bought together


Ratings & Reviews

Overall Customer Rating:
100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (1 out of 1)


You need to install Flash Player to hear these tracks.
  • Taking Tips From the Gallery Gang
  • Happens To Us All Otherwise
  • Passing Bell
  • Palace Flophouse and Grill
  • Clear Water & Concrete
  • Cloak of Blue Sky
  • Only Clementine Knows
  • Winston
  • Crossed Off Together
  • Sugar City Magic

Overall customer rating

would recommend to a friend
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Album of the year


    The first time I went through this album, I was a bit disappointed because most of the tracks on the first half take a while to get used to (I love them all by now). However, the album’s strength is side 2 (I have it on vinyl, so I can actually say that). Starting with “Cloak of Blue Sky” and ending with “Sugar City Magic” we are given four perfect tracks with one nifty musical interlude. The sprawling epicness (is that a word?) of Appreciation Night is very impressive, but I prefer the intimacy of this album, and that is where the addition of new singer/multi-instrumentalist Janie Porsche to the writing process really helps. This is an album about the idea of family, and how painful and difficult that idea can be. It is also the best album of 2008 by a fair margin.

    I would recommend this to a friend

Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.