Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

KitchenAid - 30" Built-In Double Electric Convection Wall Oven - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars with 223 reviews

  • 20%
95%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 223 Reviews
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    So far so good!

    Posted
    vrmobile
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    October 2015, after moving into a new home, I decided to update my old GE cooktop, double oven, and microwave. Kitchen Aid was having a great promotion at the time, along with most other high end appliance companies and I was having a hard time deciding on the best brand to purchase. Of course, the more appliances you buy, the better the rebate. The last home I lived in I purchased Thermador appliances and was mostly happy with them, but this time around I thought, "is Thermador worth the extra $2-3K more?" Both KitchenAid and Thermador looked very similar, stainless steel, rolled bar handles, digital display. In the past I didn't think KitchenAid looked high end, but with this new line it definitely was a competitor. I even liked the blue oven interior (which they mirrored after Wolf). I decided to go with KitchenAid in the end and now I come to my review of the oven: I have been very happy with this oven from KitchenAid. I have owned it for several months and have cooked many dinners in it. The overall look is great. The blue interior, the rolled handles, and shiny stainless steel exterior (on a side note, the outside is magnetic! I can attach my thermometer to it). It looks just like the higher end manufacturers. Performance wise, it has done well. Recently I had some food overflow and I used the self clean function. It worked well, but in the future I think I will not use it. I had recently read how using this feature can hurt your oven and lead to future problems because of the high heat that is generated. When I did use the self clean, it got so smoky inside the oven it coated the glass and made it look dirty. Plus, the fumes were bad. My advice is to forgo the clean function and use a paste of baking soda and water, coat the oven and let it sit overnight and wipe in the morning. I also used this paste on the oven window and got it back to looking brand new again. Took a little elbow grease to get the film of smoky air off the glass, but it worked great. I also like how you can turn the "beep" off on the oven. My last oven(Thermador) was loud every time I pushed the control buttons and I had no control over it, but with this Kitchen Aid, there are more features. On another note, I purchased an extended warranty through BestBuy on this oven. I did read several bad reviews about this oven which made me have some concerns, but I thought in the end an oven is an oven and they all do the same thing. What makes them different is size and look. I felt this oven had the same look and size as other high end models. Why should I pay $1-2K more? So I purchased an extended warranty instead. I hope I don't have to use it, but if I do end up with a lemon, at least I am protected for 5 years instead of 1.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Know what you are buying before you buy!

    Posted
    ChrBert
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    We're slowly replacing all of our GE appliances which were installed in our home when our house was built. We had a single oven previously and wanted to upgrade to a double oven. We even decided convection was the way to go. I probably looked at this oven at 3 different stores before finally deciding to make the purchase. I wanted about 3 weeks for delivery. In the meantime, we prepped the area where it would be installed, retrofitted cabinets, moved other appliances, we thought we were ready. Then delivery came. Our delivery guy needed to remove the back panel of our cabinet because this oven is deeper than the last. That's OK. He attached it, installed it into the wall and turned it on. Both ovens were running. Then we blew a fuse. Reset the fuse. It blew again. Tried only running one oven at a time. That seemed OK. But I didn't buy a double oven just to run one oven at a time. I need them bother to work. It turns out our house is NOT WIRED properly to accommodate this oven. My home was only built in 2008, so it's not that old. We read in the installation booked and realized we need a 40 amp circuit breaker and the wiring needs to be a 12 gauge wire, when most homes only have 8 gauge wire (what we have). So now I have to pay to have my house rewired to accommodate this oven, which I'm going to do. But really, I may have thought twice about all of this had the sales guy told me we might need a retrofit in wiring. We had mentioned how we were adding this oven to replace a single oven. No one ever suggested the wiring in the house might need to be checked first. And this monster 256 lb oven will have to be pulled out of the wall again and reinstalled. My point is, I could have had the house rewired while I was waiting on my 3-week delivery of this oven and I'd be able to use both of my ovens right now. But I can't. I'd like to blame the sales guy entirely, but I can't. We are partially to blame here by not reading all of the technical jargon and understanding that having a double oven required double the ampage. What I can tell you with the one oven I've been able to use, is that it works beautifully. It's a stunning oven. I love the convection, but it's taking some getting used to.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent oven - quiet and efficient.

    Posted
    yvon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Right before a dinner party, my 16 year-old JennAire double convection oven malfunctioned to the point where we turned off the power to it. Over the years, we used it for roasts, loaves and loaves of bread and dozens of cookies and casseroles. We researched double ovens, read reviews and stumped around to different stores to see what was available. With a special price and a deal for free installation, we decided on the KitchenAid and I'm glad we did. Compared to my old oven, this one is eerily quiet. You really can't hear the fans - just a faint whistling sound and, since it's still fairly new, some creaking and settling noises. I haven't used the express pre-heat feature - but it only takes 15 minutes or so for the oven to heat up. I've used the proofing feature - it's great when the kitchen is too cold for bread to rise normally. Bread, cookies, muffins and tarts have come out perfectly done. It's very entertaining to turn on the oven light - almost like a theater! Because the window is so large, I have been cleaning it once a week. You wouldn't want gunk to build up on it and spoil the show. General cleanup is easy - but that's probably because I've been wiping up any spills right after baking. Some minor annoyances - the oven light turns on both ovens. You should be able to turn them on separately. Also, there's only one timer - there should be separate timers for each oven. All-in-all, I've been very happy with this oven...and can recommend it to anyone who enjoys baking at home.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Preheat Slow and Innaccurate

    Posted
    DRED
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Food doesn't cook properly in this oven because when the preheat alert sounds the actual temp in the oven is up to 100 degrees under the set temperature. The manual says, during "The preheat cycle... The actual oven temperature will go above your set temperature to offset the heat lost when your oven door is opened to insert food. This ensures that when you place your food in the oven, the oven will begin at the proper temperature. Insert your food when the preheat tone sounds." When I called Kitchenaid they sent a service person who said that none of this is true. He said if it reaches the set temp after a half hour it is operating properly. I called Kitchenaid and they said the same thing. I asked if the preheat statements in the manual were intended to mislead customers, or were just a mistake. Now I've wasted time having someone come to my house, on the phone with their customer service, and writing this review all for the joy of spending a few thousand dollars to have an oven that is little better than the one it replaced. Kitchenaid should provide accurate product information so customers can make their buying decisions based on facts.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      DRED, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. If you have not had your issue resolved, please email us at NAR_Customer_Solutions@kitchenaid.com at your earliest convenience with your username (DRED), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, KitchenAid Social Care KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Faulty double oven

    Posted
    bejo
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Steam gets in the panel, then it says key error and just stops working. I had 3 technicians here but there is nothing they can do to fix it. Customer service keeps telling me to cover my food. How am I supposed to cover frozen fries or frozen pizza? It gets all soggy. Last Thanksgiving we had to cover our turkey, the steam got in just 30 min after it was in, so we had steamed turkey instead of baked. Can't even roast vegetables. It still under warranty but KitchenAid won't replace it. They know all the models have this design flaw. I expected more from a company like that. Instead I was treated with dishonesty. All our appliances are Kitchenaid, and our refrigerator also stopped making ice just 3 months after installed. They are just not made to last. I would spend the money on high-end kitchen cabinets that will last for at least 30 years.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DO NOT SPEND EXTRA ON KITCHENAID

    Posted
    BRYCEE

    4 repairs in the first 12 months and still our oven is consistently off on the temp from 100 to 25 degrees, they say (kitchen aid tec) they just don't know whats wrong (or believe us) and it cant be fixed. Much of our food is now under cooked or burnt, yet we have had at least 5 ovens in our life and have never had such a problem. The first visit they were suppose to come for was no call no show (ASI, kitchenaids repair company),. waited 5 hours for them. Unfortunately, this is who whirlpool uses, so they were their quote unquote certified tecs. My oven worked for 6 months, and now we have to watch everything we make like a hawk, never knowing if things are going to burn (usually lower oven), or the upper over, usually uncooked. Don't use these guys and don't but Kitchenaid. Thought we were getting a better brand, but clearly wasted our money.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love it!

    Posted
    Loosh
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Whats nice about this oven is that both top and bottom are full size and BOTH have confection capabilities. This was important to me because being Kosher we have to separate milk & meat so now I have a full oven to do both, in confection or regular mode, without sterilizing it in between. This feature would also be handy for people who have family dinners & run out of space because now you have two large ovens. The microwave is not in the top oven since its a full size oven/confection so I just have to find a small microwave to put inside a cabinet which will roll out. For us this is better because I never cooked in my microwave anyway, I just used it to heat things up for leftovers, so I only need it to be a regular size for a large plate. This oven iis beautiful on the inside & when the lights are on, the glass is so clear it looks like there is no glass so its easy to look at your food when you are cooking without letting the heat out. It also has a thermometer to put in a big roast before you cook so you can see how its cooking without opening the door. I Love these features.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Great looking, but door seal is not great.

    Posted
    Hopeful4oven
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    WARNING! The spec sheet for the finished dimension of this oven is wrong. It is actually 3/4" shorter than what the spec sheet says. This required a 3/4" shelf to be built on-site during the installation, to make it fit. The installation guy was great and took care of it for me. The oven itself is very nice looking, but the doors don't seal as well as they should and steam leaks out of them, which exposes the touch panel to moisture. As others have noted, this could be a major issue and I would recommend that you use the lower oven when cooking food with a higher moisture content. What I really like: touch pad layout is very intuitive and easy to use and the oven has a clean design, with a blue interior that really pops. It's very quiet in terms of fan noise when operating.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    So far so good

    Posted
    Mttay
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    The oven has worked great so far. Bakes evenly and wasn't hard to figure out how to use. It's quieter than my 18 year old kitchen aid it replaced. My only complaint would be that it protrudes out from the opening. I didn't realize there was an additional flush mount kit that I needed to order to get it flush like the old one. Best Buy doesn't sell the kit so they wouldn't have installed it that way anyway I guess although it is a safety concern. The part of the door that sticks out is obviously hot to the touch. Would have done it differently if I had known about the kit.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Pricey but Great

    Posted
    Hard2satisfy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This was a replacement for my old Jennair double ovens that I loved, but it gave up the ghost on Thanksgiving day. Look wise this is more glitzy than the Jennair. I prefer a more subdued look, however I've gotten many compliments on it's good looks from friends and family. With the oven lights on, the bright blue background glows. It looks fabulous. and the door glass looks like there won't be an issue with spills between the glass which are impossible to clean. I love the double convection, in my old oven only the top oven was convection. I love roasting meats in a convection oven. The control panel is quite sophisticated. It coverts recipes from regular bake to convection. It even tells you when the oven is cooling down. My only worry is the same I have with all of the electronic controlled appliances--how long is the control board going to last, and how much is it going to cost to replace. The old turn dial appliances lasted forever.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good so far

    Posted
    Cindy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Love the size of glass in doors...makes viewing what you are baking great. Not sure why there isn't a separate light for top and bottom unit. The convection runs much quieter than the GEProfile we replaced. I am a little concerned how much heat comes out of the bottom unit when using the top one. I haven't even used the bottom unit yet. I started reading reviews after I had noticed this and was alarmed at what I read. Stories of glass shattering from heat and electric boards going out. Says never to use the self clean feature or you will have a ton of problems. This was pretty disappointing, as I thought kitchenaid was a very good brand.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Too noisy for open floor plan

    Posted
    Susan
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This oven is NOT quiet. - we can hear it running upstairs! I just had it installed yesterday so I will update if thie Geek Squad fixes it (that’s another story). It is driving us crazy and I’m surprised so few reviews mention this. When the oven goes into the “cool down” cycle it starts blowing hot air out of the vents just above the doors. The whistling noise this cycle makes is extremely loud and annoying. It’s not coming from inside the oven - it’s coming from the back. It is similar to an exhaust fan noise, only higher pitch. Our kitchen is open to the rest of the house, so this is unacceptable for our home.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Looks fantastic and works very well

    Posted
    H22hatch
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Our previous GE profile double oven had a really hard time maintaining accurate temperatures and we were really worried that the kitchenaid would do the same thing. Turns out we were completely wrong. The double oven work really well and temps are very accurate. You can even fit a full size cookie sheet with the convection fan without issue, the old oven couldn't do that. Installation was very straight forward however it's incredibly heavy, I think at least 200lbs. You will need 2 people to lift it into the cabinet. Only thing I wasn't a fan of was the legs to raise it to fit larger openings. They are held with one screw and seem to move easily. Over they don't impact the finished installation. Very happy with the purchase.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Sits Tall in Opening

    Posted
    WildHorses
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    First, this is an excellent oven. That being said, for those of you looking to replace an older KitchenAid double oven with a new one as I did, be advised the control panel is taller by about half an inch over the older models. It still has the same cutout/mounting requirements, but the exterior dimension is taller. This meant the cabinet doors above the oven wouldn't fit. In my application, I was able to lower the shelf the oven sits on, and all was well.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Nice oven

    Posted
    PictureCrazyMom
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    We needed to replace our 18 year old oven and after a lot of research we decided on this KitchenAid oven. We are very happy with it so far and it looks beautiful in our kitchen. It comes with a gliding/roll out rack in each oven which is nice for large roasting pans. The heating element is hidden which makes it so much easier to clean. This oven also has the convection conversion feature that converts a standard thermal bake cook time and temperature into an ideal cook time and temperature for convection cooking. The only con that I have is that it takes a lot longer to preheat than my old oven

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Paint flakes in oven interior

    Posted
    ovenhater
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I am about to begin my fourth round of calls with kitchenaid over the same problem with this oven: paint -- from the interior of the back panel that covers the fan -- flakes off and blows around the oven while in operation. Kitchenaid replaced my first oven, then replaced the back panels, and now some months later it's happening again. So unless you like eating paint chips or making warranty calls, I'd avoid this oven.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      ovenhater, thank you for your review.

      We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your Oven. We can completely understand your frustrations with this and will document your concerns accordingly.

      Thank you,

      KitchenAid® Social Care Team KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Very nice machine

    Posted
    Cablehider1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I had an Electrolux double oven before this one. It was real fancy too. Lasted almost 4 years to the day before using the self clean feature which warped the bottom of the oven and also created a 4 inch half moon crack that exposed the heating element. Long story short, Electrolux told me it is out of warranty and I am S.O.L. This Kitchen Aid is very sleek and heats pretty quick. It also has a lot of bells and whistles. I've been using it for only a couple of weeks but so far so great! I really like it. DO NOT BUY ELECTROLUX!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    double oven extraordinaire

    Posted
    Megaboom
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This oven does everything except turn itself on and it can do that to with the proper programming. The best part is the stunning beauty of this appliance. I've never seen an oven that I would call beautiful, until I saw this baby installed in my home. Ive only used it once, but it was awesome. The preheat mode brings the oven a little past the temperature to allow for you to open the door and cool it off just a bit as you slide your food in. And it heats up fast.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Double Oven

    Posted
    50andfabulous
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    My first convection oven... I've had to adjust to this change. The ovens tend to under cook from what I'm previously used to. I just have to use the max time when baking. The ovens fit fine in my previous double oven opening with the exception that they had to move the electrical box to be flush into the wall. This was a slight extra charge. The ovens when on also blow hot air through the exhaust area on the bottom. This can warm up the kitchen. I"m pleased with my ovens. Control buttons are easy to use and learn how to use.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love it!

    Posted
    JCMPDR
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I purchased an older model of these ovens 5 years ago at our previous home. When we moved this summer, our new home had a single Thermador oven. Even though it is a more expensive oven, it did not compare with the KitchenAid I owned that was 5 years old. We recently purchased these ovens and they are wonderful. They are large enough to hold 6 13 x 9 pans and the convection feature works beautifully. I highly recommend these ovens.

    I would recommend this to a friend