Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

CyberPower - 160W Power Inverter - Black-Front_Standard

CyberPower - 160W Power Inverter - Black

Model: CPS160PBURC1SKU: 9037029

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 1400 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 1,400 Reviews
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Worked as advertised

    Posted
    Smoothy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    So, bought this as I had to do a bunch of work on a roadtrip. Truth be told, I didn't realize my laptop Power supply stated 180w (unit states 160w) so I may not have gotten the most out of this thing. If I recall correctly, it did charge my laptop when not in use and I wasn't draining while using (held steady). There were times when it seemed I had to unplug either laptop/phone or both because the charging stopped but usually reseating the device or re-plugging laptop/phone worked. Device also got really hot but that may have been the aforementioned 180w to 160w difference. All in all, it did what I wanted it to do (allow me to use my laptop over a 5+ hour road trip). I'll likely only use it once or twice a year but overall, I think it is worth the cost if that is what you are looking for.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    This product needs some work!

    Posted
    LoneStarGuy
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I purchased this to use with my mobile phone charger, NOT the USB but the 2 prong that the USB plugs into that then plugs into my wall outlet at home. This is the 5th or 6th one that I have purchased over the past couple years, they will work fine for a short bit and then next thing you know, the fuse inside is blown. The small glass fuse is so unique apparently that it can't be found in any auto part, home improvement, or Wal-Mart store. Luckily, this product does have the 2 year warranty, but recently I have found another brand that I am trying now, so this one is going back to the store since the fuse has blown. Since the only thing I am plugging into it is my phone charger alone it should not be blowing fuses.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TechSupport

      Hello LoneStarGuy,
      We're always looking to improve our products and value customer feedback. The issues you've described are certainly not typical and we'd like to help. Please do not hesitate to contact our technical support team at 1-877-297-6937 (press 1).

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Okay, not fabulous!

    Posted
    Red6
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I went into Best Buy to purchase a car adaptor for my laptop. I was getting ready for a long road trip and needed to get some work done while I wasn't driving. The sales associate recommended this product to me. I purchased it and left on my trip. The opening for Reb plug was so small that I couldn't get my cord to ply into it. We ended up stopping at another Best Buy where they fixed the issue. I was told all this adaptor comes this way. Next time I will test the product out before leaving. The item shouldn't need fixing before it is ever used.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great for travel

    Posted
    Laura
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I bought this product for a long road trip I was taking so I could do work on my computer. It was great because I could plug in my laptop and have my friends use the USB ports on it to charge their phones. Definitely a great product to have if you travel a lot and need to get work done as well. The only problem I had with it was the difficulty I had getting my prongs into the plug. I was afraid I would break it because it took a decent amount of pressure.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Won't last long + poor warranty

    Posted
    Tomkat
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Had this for our new car for less than six months when it quit working altogether. After 30 days, you must go through the manufacturer, who wants credit card # and $5 (and probably postage) before offering to do anything. Would you calmly give your credit card # and money to someone who made a bad item that was sold to you? Not me. Should only have to get a case number and mail it to them. Seems a bit of a rip-off, and reflects badly on Best Buy as well.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TechSupport

      Hello Tomkat,
      Thank you for informing us of your experience. Our standard warranty process does not require this information and our team would be happy to help if the item is under warranty and a replacement is necessary. You can reach our tech support team at 1-877-297-6937 (press 1). Once again thank for providing your feedback on this product.

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works good! Sometimes.

    Posted
    KIING25
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Inverter works great. I have it powering my laptop when I'm on the road. I am an outside sales agent for my company so my comp needs to be fully charged at all times. I have realized that after 20 minutes or so the unit would shut down and restart. You would hear the fan come on and stop. Power to the laptop and phone would go off and back on. I always have the A/C on, and one of my vents blow right onto the inverter so it's not over heating. It's a simple issue but it can be annoying at times. My laptop charger uses 50 watt of power so no, I'm not overpowering the unit.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Surprise!

    Posted
    smoothreviews
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    All the great reviews and potential this cyberpower idea was and had, now im looking at mine after a road trip recently and had to spend all the while wondering why i purchased this item without leaving the store and get it tested. Needed this for the outlet and it the plug would not go into this device. Appears to have some aluminum blocking it. Nothing went right if something needed to be done then i wouldn't know because no instructions or details on the box. To make matters worse I eventually gave tech support a call and how this story of customer service continues to be bad. I was hopeful but ill just return.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Works, sort of, but causes annoying messages

    Posted
    Chuck
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I tried to use this with an ASUS X541N lap top computer. On the lap top, pop messages incessantly go on and off alternating between "Plugged In" and "On Battery". Of course, it should never say "On Battery" because it IS plugged in to the inverter. I suspect the inverter's power output is noisy and this is confusing the lap top's power monitoring. What makes it annoying, is that these notification messages appear in front of whatever is otherwise displaying.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      TechSupport

      Hello Chuck,
      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on this product. We appreciate customer insight and will take your comments under consideration as we are always looking to improve our products. If you would like to troubleshoot the issue further we're always here to help. You can contact us by calling 1-877-297-6937 (press 1).

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    worked as my emergency backup

    Posted
    Jojo530
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I got this when my laptop battery died one hour into a 5 hour road trip (I was the passenger). I had a lot of work still to do and needed a power source. Stopped at Best Buy and picked this up, and had no problems powering my laptop, and even recharging it while I worked. My only (very minor) issue was that it was difficult trying to plug in the 3 prong computer cord into the articulated plug. Once I was plugged in, it worked great. So maybe the lesson is to plug your device into the power inverter first (where you can use 2 hands), then plug the inverter into the car socket - problem solved!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Keeps you working in a pinch

    Posted
    Jeff
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    So I had to pick this up for my girlfriend so she could charge her work laptop and work while we took a road trip. This worked clutch in charging her computer and phone via usb port. It was a little audible but as it's inverting the power it's drawing from the car, I can't really complain at it doing work. It didn't bog down my car's electronics or anything so I really have no reason why I wouldn't rate it lower than 5 stars. It works exactly as intended.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible Product :(

    Posted
    McWinning

    I may have just received a defective model but this is the second one of these car adapters i have purchased. They weren't the same brand, but they both performed just as poor. They both worked for about 5-6 hours tops. it didn't even survive one car trip from South Carolina to Florida. it didn't even make it to Florida! I was promised by an employee at Best Buy that this would easily power a laptop and a cell phone charger at the same time. He said that it would easily power a 90W laptop charger. My charger is only 65W and it can't even handle that. Very disappointed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Road Trip Buddy

    Posted
    TexasGeekMom
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    During a road trip from TX to FL our old converter stopped working. Oh no! That can't happen!!! How can you road trip and not video edit at the same time? Impossible! We found our closest BB and got the ONLY converter they had. We LOVED it immediately. It was better than our old one in its prime! The added USB was a huge plus! We will be getting a second for road trips that are initiated from the other side too! Thank you again Best Buy!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    good but needs improvement

    Posted
    techtouch
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This product works ok if you only need to have one device needing charging/power, otherwise you will get frustrated that it only has one usb port for charging your phone/tablet besides using the actual power cord to plug into the socket here. This device is also kind of big and bulky so if you have this plugged in to your cigarette lighter, don't expect to be able to use your cup holder. In addition, be careful about leaving it plugged in on an always on cigarette lighter adapter because it will drain your battery.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works good for power but wasnt perfect for me

    Posted
    tlange413
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This device provides power as it should with no problems like overheating or insufficient wattage. The only issue I had was when I plugged my phone in to charge it and used an aux cord to connect the phone to my car stereo. As soon as I plugged the charger in (using an ac adapter plug, not the usb slot) it created a loud buzzing over the stereo. When I plugged it directly into the usb slot instead of using the two pronged ac adapter the noise went away but my phone charges slower via USB only so I would have preferred to use the adapter.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Good while it lasted

    Posted
    Commuter
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I really was hoping this product would help me on my 1 hour daily commute. I would not recommend this simply because the product life span is too short. The product was good for about 4 months and then it gave out on me. I only used it for charging my cell phone. The charger that I had before (different brand) lasted for about 3 years but it was discontinued so I was hoping this charger would be on par but was very disappointed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good, but loud car power adapter

    Posted
    Pete
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought this power adapter to charge my wife's laptop for a long road-trip to California and it performed well. It did take a minute or 2 for the laptop we were charging (a 2013 Asus 15 inch) to change from "plugged in not charging" to "plugged in, charging" though. After extended use, you will hear what we thought was probably either coil whine or an internal fan buzzing away, but with music on in the car at a reasonable volume, you probably won't hear it. Overall, it did the job we bought it to do, but loudly, and for a relatively premium price.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    PRODUCT BLEW A FUSE

    Posted
    ARIZONA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    THE PRODUCT BLEW A FUSE AND COULD'NT FIND A REPLACEMENT. THE BEST BUY CUSTOMER SERVICE REP. ,THAT HELPED ME, WAS VERY GOOD BUT AFTER CONTACTING CYBERPOWER.COM AND THEIR TECHNICIAN, PETER TOLD ME HE'D SEND ME SOME REPLACEMENT FUSES, CONFIRMATION # 86793, NOT ONLY DID'NT I EVER GET THEM, BUT AFTER TRYING TO GET IN TOUCH WITH ANYONE, SO I CAN GET INFORMATION ON WHAT'S GOING ON, NO ONE WOULD HELP ME. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE ON THEIR PART.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great charging device

    Posted
    JoePositive
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Bought this the day before a road trip and it was a lifesaver. My wife and I charged our phones with the USB port, charged a laptop with the outlet (at the same time as charging a phone), charged the portable dvd player we had for the car ride and also kept tablets charged. We went on a 32 hour road trip (16 each way) with 3 younger kids and it proved to be well worth it. A little pricey, but I keep it in my car now and have already used it multiple times. Once you have it, you'll use it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Works well, but noisy.

    Posted
    MatthewD71
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    There is a fan, or something like a fan built into the device, which makes sense. Unfortunately it is loud. I actually took my car in for service because it sounded like something was acting up inside the dash panel. I wish I had read a review that explained fan sounds will emanate from the device, and you can simply unplug it and it will stop. The USB charger port seems slow, so if you are buying it I would primarily use is for the 3 prong computer charger.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Works, But Loud

    Posted
    Shadeau
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    This thing does what it says on the package: 100W of continuous power via USB and a plug. For a road-trip it was perfect for charging both a phone and a Surface Pro. The problem is that even under low load (20W) it gets hot enough to trigger the fan, which is very, very loud. I would've liked them to design better cooling.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend