Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

KitchenAid - 46-Bottle Wine Cellar - Custom Panel Ready-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 3.7 out of 5 stars with 27 reviews

70%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 27 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Noisier than my 36" Built-in refrigerator

    Posted
    ErikK
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    If you intend to install this in your living spaces, I recommend looking for a different product. This cooler makes more noise when the compressor is running than my much larger kitchen refrigerator, and the type of noise is also more penetrating. The cooler emits a buzzing sound best compared to an open microphone or an improperly grounded electrical guitar connected to an amplifier. I have an extended warranty on the unit, but neither the original warranty nor the extended warranty service organizations are willing or able to deal with this problem. I suspect a design defect, a quality control problem on the manufacturing side, or some combination of both.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      ErikK, we thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the design of your KitchenAid® Wine Cellar. We appreciate your feedback and we will be sure to document your comments in the appropriate manner for future consideration. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Many Bottles Do Not Fit!

    Posted
    Humres32

    I cannot tell you how disappointed I am in this purchase. This fridge cannot accept larger wine bottles. Champagne, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Chateauneuf du Pape bottles get stuck - it'svery hard to slide the shelves in and out and your wine labels get damaged (because of lack of clearance). When I've called Kitchen Aid (I was transferred to many different departments), I was finally told by a supervisor to go back to where I bought the fridge from. This makes no sense as they are not responsible for the design. When I submitted a complaint online, with pictures and a video, the response was "Unfortunately we recommend placing smaller wine bottles on the racks. We appreciate your feedback and will document your concerns". I spend $2000 on a wine fridge that cannot store my favorite wines. Please don't make the same mistake.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Compressor Failed in 2 Years; Small Bottles Only

    Posted
    BritCardo
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    In my opinion, this is a great looking wine fridge. Unfortunately, the temperature control is not very precise but worst of all is that the compressor failed as at its coldest setting, it would only reach 54 on top and 62 on the bottom and the light would always stay on. I would press the door button and release - and it does nothing. I would turn it on or off... nothing. The light stays on. How bizarre is that?! Plus it is worth noting as others have that the shelves are very “short” (not tall) meaning many, many good wine bottles simply don’t fit.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Beautiful unit...

    Posted
    Hpdell
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I did have worries about purchasing this given the other reviews given the reliability comments. Taking into account that people are going to most likely review when they have problems, I went ahead. Driving points were: it was on sale for an excellent price (saved $500 from what our builder wanted for the same model) and it matched our other appliances. Capacity is above average, appearance is above average, and it cools as expected. So far, no problems,

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love this wine fridge

    Posted
    ScottieDog
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    My husband and I purchased this wine fridge a year ago. We love it and are glad we can now store our more expensive bottles of wine in the proper temperature. The only minor complaint is that some bottles are too big to fit well in the slots, but we just try to arrange them where they fit in a different spot. It's very quiet. We keep it in an unused bedroom out of the sunlight. Hopefully in our next house we can have it installed under a counter in the kitchen, but a spare room works just as well if you have the space for it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Very Nice, makes some noise

    Posted
    MattB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    Purchased about 6 weeks ago. Great looking unit, sturdy shelves for wine bottles, with a nice wood face front. Dual zones is a nice feature to keep whites at drink-ready temps. The unit does make a bit of noise when the compressor is on, although it has gotten a bit quieter over time. That prevents my 5th star. Overall very pleased, although it is one of the pricier models out there. I have a cheap $300 Sanyo in the garage that has been going strong for over a decade, so hopefully this one will live up to that level of durability.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do not buy if you want to store wine

    Posted
    Realist

    I have had Subzero wine coolers in past, and while they are expensive they perform well and you can actually put wine bottles in every shelf. The Kitchenaid on the other hand will not fit typical wine bottles (pinot or Syrah) due to the limited distance between the shelves, and the top shelf in lower section will only fit a split and not even a typical bureaux bottle. I would not waste your money on this cooler if you want to store wine.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Realist, we are constantly working to improve our appliances, and it is only through feedback from customers like you that we are able to do so. We have documented all of the concerns you have mentioned, for review by our managers and engineers. Our managers and engineers do regularly review our files, to look for areas in which we can improve our products. We know that can be disheartening; especially when you have just purchased a new Wine Cooler and you have high expectations for it. We’re sorry that we are not meeting/delivering these expectations. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Beautiful built in wine cooler.

    Posted
    DCzar
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Fits really nicely in a built in space. Matches the Kitchenaid refrigerator line as well. The handle is sturdy and the drawers are top quality. I like the dual zone feature as well. Lighting is gradual when you open and close the door. Worth the money for the fuction and finish.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Disappointed
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I bough this item expecting a fully functional wine refrigerator only to find out that it will not hold the larger diameter - Pinot Noir, Cab, etc - bottles. Who designs a “Wine Refrigerator” that will not hold even a regular bottle of wine without scraping off the label! This might be OK for beer bottles but terrible for wine.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Fits very few bottles

    Posted
    hms1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The unit is very nice-looking, but the shelves are terribly designed. Nothing but the thinnest of bottles will fit height-wise, and very few bottle shapes will work head-to-tail, further limiting the number of bottles than can be accommodated on a shelf. This is a terrible design - avoid.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Beautiful

    Posted
    Daveboy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    My wife loves her new Kitchen Aid wine cooler. The dual zone is perfect for Our needs. It would be a tight fit if you put in 46 bottles. You also have to remove a drawer if you want to have oversized bottles. This is not a problem as we do not Keep that Many bottles

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Very nice unit with 1 minor(?) issue

    Posted
    ptg0987
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Unit is great now that I found and addressed a sheet metal vibration issue. The sheet metal under the unit made a very load buzzing when the compressor was on. I think this is a design flaw, but a strategically placed sheet metal screw has quieted it down completely.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Wine Refrigerator

    Posted
    Stella
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I ordered these to replace what I lost in Hurticane Harvey. I love that they have separate temperature controls for the top and bottom...I can adjust based on my wines or other drinks.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Does not meet expectations

    Posted
    Teredon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Compared to previous wine coolers, this cooler limits bottle size so only smaller claret type wines will fit. Example, champagne needs to be placed in kitchen refrigerator.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Clean

    Posted
    Sako
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Very clean fridge. We actually use it for other drinks and some wine. It fits great in our kitchen and love the light up when you walk by.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great product

    Posted
    Gsanti
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Great looking wine cooler. A bit expensive but our original choice became unavailable. Cools great. Only bummer is you cannot fit champagne bottles in it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Nice fridge

    Posted
    Alil5150
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It’s pretty heavy and is a little louder than I would like. It’s not extremely loud just can hear it cycle. Good quality and well built.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disfunctional Design

    Posted
    Alec

    Don't purchase this wine cooler if you buy Burgundy style wine. The poor design of this model only takes small diameter bottles.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Really like this wine fridge

    Posted
    Jeana
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Looks great, shelves slide really smoothly, bottles fit snug and don't move, temperature is very easy to adjust. Great product

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    All bottles do not fit in slots.

    Posted
    Sunne
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    My prior Kitchenaid wine cooleer had better slots for bottles. Temperatures and lighting is good.

    I would recommend this to a friend