Skip to content
Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Highly rated by customers for:
Your price for this item is $399.99

Customer reviews

Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars with 148 reviews

Rating Filter

Rating by feature

  • Value

    Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars

  • Quality

    Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars

  • Ease of Use

    Rating 4.6 out of 5 stars

Pros mentioned filter

Cons mentioned filter

91%would recommend to a friend

Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

The vast majority of our reviews come from verified purchases. Reviews from customers may include My Best Buy members, employees, and Tech Insider Network members (as tagged). Select reviewers may receive discounted products, promotional considerations or entries into drawings for honest, helpful reviews.
Page 1 Showing 1-20 of 148 reviews
  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Oh the sound

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 1 month when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Being the nerd that I am, I didn't just want a couple good speakers, I wanted true surround sound for my new computer. I had a previous version of this setup from the early 2000s and it ran like a champ for years , but it was time for an upgrade. I'm planning on setting up both my computer and two different game consoles on this screen, so extra digital audio inputs on the speaker set was a must. The setup comes with speaker wire to connect each of the speakers, so it's easy to fish through small spaces. Extra long cords provided for the back speakers. There are six inputs, the green/orange/black combo from most good computers, red/white RCA, a couple digital audio and so forth. It's easy to switch between them from the control box. I adjust the main volume on the control box, and then fiddle with the volume from the volume control on my keyboard. When you adjust the main volume control on the control box, the speakers in use are lit up. It would have been cool to make the colors adjustable on the control box. They're just orange. Not bad, just would have been nice to make them match the color of the keyboard lights. My only complaint is that the control box is light... to light. It can scoot around on the desk. If i were them I would have added a pound of weight inside to keep it in place and help it feel more substantial. Once I get my new computer and monitor all set up I'll probably velcro or command-strip it into place. Also, it looks like they were designed to have black mesh speaker covers, but they're not included. When did they stop making the mesh covers? Aside from that, truly amazing speakers.

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Logitech
      Posted .

      Hi Snarfy,
      Thank you for your five-star review! It is greatly appreciated. Continue to enjoy your device. If you ever need assistance, please contact Logitech Support on the website.
      LaShonda from Logitech

  • Cons mentioned:
    Product marking

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Good Value For The Price

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Overall a good value for the price. Two questions: 1) Why are the 6 Channel direct (PC Sound Card) jacks not marked as to which speaker they serve (Front, Center, Back). and 2) When there are markings on the product showing where the connections are to be made, why do manufacturers simply emboss the markings in the plastic and therefore the same color as the product and nearly impossible to see.

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Logitech
      Posted .

      Hello, DeanH! I'm happy to hear that, overall, you're enjoying the Z906 speakers! Feel free to reach out to our support team here https://support.logi.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=360000621393 if you ever need any assistance or if something happens in the 1-year limited hardware warranty. Thank you for the feedback on the lack of markings on the product itself! I will be passing this along. - Maggie from Logitech

  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Logitech surround

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I purchased the speakers just under a month ago and I am very pleased with the sound quality. I use this at work I work in an automotive repair shop and it is more than enough to fill the shop with crisp and clear music.

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Logitech
      Posted .

      Hi Calvin, we're glad to see you're loving the sounds of the Z906 5.1 Speaker System! Continue to enjoy and happy listening!

  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality
    Cons mentioned:
    No hdmi input

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Logitech Came Through For Me!

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for more than 2 years when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I don't write a lot of reviews and it has been I think over a year since I wrote one. I promised the customer service person at Logitech who does the replacement for products that I would write a review if they honored their warranty. If you buy the system from Best Buy you get a two year warranty. If you buy from Logitech.com you get a one year warranty. Anyway after I owned the Z-906 for almost a year it started to not let me change the functions on the little module. Like sometimes I couldn't change the input or change the speaker pattern being used. Any rate, when I called them over a year ago they told me they were out of replacement control modules. Not happy, but whatever. It worked most of the time and never fully broke. One day I was looking on my Best Buy purchases and remembered that I could really use that part and my old one could still break of course. I knew the thing was bought in July 2021 and the warranty was already or about to expire. Sure enough, I had like 10 days left before the 2 years were up. I called them again, told them I had tried to get a replacement over a year ago, and they saw in their records what I was talking about. About 6 days or so I got my stuff in the mail. So, they ended up doing me right. I definitely should have contacted the again sooner. One way or the other they honored their warranty when the two years were darn near up. It's nice when a business shows credibility and doesn't treat you like crap. Businesses that get your money and then don't give a crap don't understand that people talk. They can make a lot of money from their reputation alone. If someone in my family or a friend tells me how a company doesn't show respect to their customers or don't care because they already have your money, I personally hope their stupid business fails. LOL!!! One way or the other their profits could be higher. As far as the Logitech Z-906 goes, you get good value for your dollar. The satellite speakers do a very good job, especially for their size. I use my system for home theatre, and it does a great job. I listen to my computer hooked up to it for my favorite music and it does a great job. Is it as good as a dedicated a/v receiver doing like 5.1 or 7.2 or even 9.2 surround? No of course not!! I don't understand why people think using any computer speaker system is going to sound like a movie theater or concert. Regular price $400, and you might go deaf from the decibel level? Some people need to get real. When you can get this system on sale it's a great buy. I don't know if it would fill a 40' by 40' room, but I'm sure it would sound OK. The satellites are pretty good, but the subwoofer has very good impact. It gets deep and rumbles pretty good. The only real conn is there is no HDMI input. But there are ways to use adaptors from Amazon if you need to. As far as HDMI to optical, I don't know. I would buy this system again for sure. Make sure when you connect the control module to the subwoofer, you make sure you do it right. If possible, never disconnect it and just keep it plugged in. And get it from Best Buy for the extended warranty.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Price, Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Awesome Sound

    |
    |
    Posted .
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I've only had my speakers hooked up for 2 days but let me tell you, they can rock the whole house. The is sound great at all levels. Not the very best speakers I've ever owned, those cost $1200.00, but at this price point they deliver truly incredible sound. Crisp treble and Good bass with decent mid. Sitting in front of them at 50% volume is intense, at 100% you'll be wondering if maybe you went too far and pondering the cost of Miracle Ears in 2020. If you want your computer/device to be a jukebox your neighbors hate, you found the right speakers.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Bass, Price, Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Best. Speakers. Ever

    |
    |
    Posted .
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Quite simply put, for the price, these are some of the best speakers you could get. To find a complete surround system that is its rival or better particularly for pc use you’d be spending into the thousands and typically getting a far bulkier system besides. It’s a great system for surround sound gaming but also a brilliant system for music and movies. The bass is punchy but also tight, not overdistorted and overdriven as many of it’s cheaper pc speaker kindred tend to be. Unless you have the bankroll to go for some serious Definitive Technology or B and O sets, this is by far your best bet.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Price

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Great for the price

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 2 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    For the price you won't do much better for a 5.1 self powered system that is computer friendly. Great for gaming as the sub kicks hard. Decent for music, the sub could be a little more flat and less boomy.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    More boom for the buck.

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    But the system, because the first system I bought with the subwoofer and just 2 speakers wasn't quite enough, and one of the speakers was broken right out of the box. But instead of bothering with it, they let me return it. And I got. this bigger system. It's wonderful. It's awesome. Wouldn't it hurt if it came with a few more connections to hook up to your computer, but I dealt with it. I made it work.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Bass

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    These are phenomenal speakers

    |
    |
    Posted .
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I listen to my music too loud, literally, almost 24/7. And I've owned many different types of computer speakers. Before this I had a VIZIO 38" Home Theater Sound Bar run optically to my computer. It sounded good. But these, OMG... no really. The bass is tight, and hits hard, even at low volumes. The speakers have so much clarity that you can crank them to very high volumes and it never gets that "loud feeling" to them. Which is where the 1000 watt max comes in. You will never need to crank it up past the point where it sounds good. It may not even be possible. The controls for the speakers are awesome as well. I feel like a miniature DJ with all the different sources and settings that can be altered. You can switch between two sources from your computer, optical and 5.1 surround sound from the audio jacks with a push of a button. This is very useful if you like to watch audio encoded movies, (eg blu-rays, dvds, etc.) Overall, I am completely blown away. This may be my favorite electronic purchase I've made in 10 years.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Bass, Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Great non-HDMI surround sound option

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 1 month when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I purchased the Logitech Z906 5.1 500 Watt speaker system for surround sound for both my TV and game computer. I'm giving it 5 stars for what it is, a really good computer audio system that also plays well with TVs and other audio devices, given you have the right hookups. Pros: Overall, the sound quality is very good. Much better than any sound bar I've had, and way better than the sad speakers that come in most TVs these days. The subwoofer can pump out a nice healthy level of bass. I always test bass and surround with the first Sauron scene from Lord of the Rings, and was NOT disappointed. The provided remote is functional, allowing you to change volume, input, and sound mode/levels. The provided speaker wires should be plenty long enough for any small to medium room. My living room is 11x14, and they are just right for where I needed to place the speakers. This system has 6 audio inputs (NO iPod input or bluetooth, the Best Buy description is misleading. I did not purchase it for either of those options). 1 - 3-wire 1/8" Computer Audio Surround input (green/orange/black, comes with the wires for that) 1 - RCA left/right input (red/white) 2 - Optical Digital Audio input 1 - Coaxial Digital Audio input (orange) 1 - 1/8" stereo input (located on the control module) The control module has a large knob for adjusting volume levels, and buttons for selecting the audio modes and inputs. It offers various surround modes depending on which input and type of signal you are using. If the input is digital and you are sending a surround signal, it will automatically use "Decode". If you are using an analog or stereo input, you have 3 "Stereo" options to choose from: 3D (expands stereo in to fake surround, does a pretty good job), 4.1 (plays stereo left on the two left speakers, stereo right on the two right speakers, plus the subwoofer), and 2.1 (just the two front speakers and subwoofer). I easily mounted my two rear speakers using the Sanus HTBS floor stands. Cons: There are no EQ settings, so you get what it gives. I found the front speakers to be a little too "crisp" and ended up reusing my old bookshelf speakers for the front left and right. I would have liked some EQ options. If you are sending a true surround signal to one of the digital inputs, you can not use any of the stereo enhancement modes. therefore, if, say, you have your TV outputting Dolby Surround, and your Netflix show is only in stereo, you can't fill the surround speakers unless you set your TV to output regular stereo as well. Lack of HDMI input might be a deal breaker for some. I didn't need it. Final thoughts: Overall, a great speaker system for PC gamers, and a quite capable system for TVs as well, as long as you know what to expect. I've seen some questions about receivers, and this does not contain a receiver. All connections are on the subwoofer (except for the 1/8" input on the control module). I would recommend the Z906 to anyone who does not want to break the bank on a surround system while still getting a quality product.

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Logitech
      Posted .

      Hi we're glad to see you're getting the most from your Z906 Speaker System! You can't go wrong with a sound test with a LOTR scene! Continue to enjoy and happy listening!

  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality
    Cons mentioned:
    No hdmi input, Speaker wire length

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Great compact system for gaming and movies!

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I am pretty impressed with what you get in the box. The speakers, subwoofer (which houses all of the connections), control module, remote, speaker wires, and pc connection wires are all there. Everything you need comes in the package. When listening to music, playing video games, or watching movies this system packs quite a punch for it being smaller. Mounting the speakers was simple since it has a thread hole in the middle of each speaker. There are adjustments and fine tuning you can do to make it sound better. Overall a great system for the price. There are a couple of things that I would like though: 1) The remote feels very cheap. It works, but it is very flimsy. Something a little more solid would have been appreciated, 2) The pc connection (maybe a defect) doesn’t sound very good. It sounds like a lot of static and crackling when I am playing any device out of it., 3) Longer speaker wire. I was lucky enough that 4 out of the 5 speaker wires were long enough for my set up, but the last one, I had to use my home theater speaker wire to run so it would reach the subwoofer to connect, and 4) I’m not sure why Logitech hasn’t added an HDMI connection to the unit. Don’t get me wrong, the fiber optic connections are wonderful, but now a days with how convenient HDMI is, I’m not sure why they wouldn’t do that.

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Logitech
      Posted .

      Hello, I am so glad to hear you are satisfied with the product! Thank you for being a Logitech customer and taking the time to write this review!

  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    This system is INSANE

    |
    |
    Posted .
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I was looking to replace my old Samsung surround sound. I caught this on a deal of the day and I'm glad I got it. The system is awesome. The sound is so clear and crisp. Even at 75% volume, which is insanely loud, there is absolutely no distortion. Just crispy and punchy sound. I would buy this system again, in a heartbeat. Took me about 1 hour to mount speakers. I removed 1 star for not coming with mounts, or mounting screws.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Good bang for the buck

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Nice sound for the price. This system replaced my old Logitech Z5500 5.1 that after many years of great sound gave out. The new Z906 5.1 system is simple to set up gives good sound from smalish speakers and subwoofer. For the price I think it is a good value

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Price

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Amazing surround sound!

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 1 month when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Amazing quality for the price! Pairs great with a home theater on a budget!!

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent sound but not for special case use

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Sound is amazing. I cant complain with that. The only issue with taking a star is a big one for me. It is difficult to convert into a PC work station for 5.1 mixing. Very. I ended up having to purchase an external sound card to export out properly.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Price, Sound quality

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent sound reproduction with useful features

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 1 month when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    First off, I need to explain that the primary reason I bought these is for music production and editing. Not gaming or movie watching. I also do almost all of my "fine tuning" with Sennheiser HD 25's. That said, It's more than adequate for my purposes in that after I do my production and editing, I can get a good feel for what the public will hear when I do my DJ gigs by playing the tracks on these speakers. The biggest reason I like these is because of the way the control module is set up. All my IO jacks are in the back of an IP rack mount computer. It's a long way back there and a real pain to access This control module allows me hands on adjustment at the front of the computer with a headphone jack. In other words, I no longer have to stretch my headphone cable to the back of the computer, and I can control everything by hand adjustment or remote control. To me, sound quality is like spaghetti sauce or pizza. What tastes great to one person may only be average to another. The sub woofer is more than capable of reproducing deep bass with a good quality sound. Likewise, the 5 other speakers (left and right rear, left and right front, and center) put out a surprisingly good mid and high end sound. Are they (fill in your personal all time favorite best sounding speakers)? Probably not. I will, however tell you unequivocally that I got a better than average set of speakers at a fair price. Although social media seemed to be all abuzz about these being "all that", I'd say they're "almost all that". To REALLY get "all that" would cost me thousands! Happy listening!

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Logitech
      Posted .

      Hi TheMadDoctor, we're glad to see you're loving the sounds of your Z906 5.1 Channel Speaker System! Continue to enjoy and happy listening! -N from Logitech

  • Pros mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    thumper

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Packs the punch for the buck, sounds like im at the theater but can remotely edit levels and effects

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Easy setup, Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Great entertainment system

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 1 month when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    Purchased for PC and TV in my office. Great sound system and easy setup. I had 2 Logitech 9600 before this and they were good while they lasted, control module died on first and subwoofer would not power up on the second. I like this system more and nice addition to my office.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Connectivity, Sound quality

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Really the last great 5.1 PC speakers left!

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for 1 week when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    My old Z506 speakers finally died after about a decade of constant use. These are SO costly and don't seem to benefit from a separate tweeter. I tried Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 and while they sound great for gaming and video they really need a center channel. These sound fantastic. In fact, almost transparent. I hoped more applications would support Dolby Digital or Dolby Live but Win 10 and 11 abandoned this. I use both the optical connection and the regular (color coded pc jacks). They sound identical but the Optical will send uncompressed audio from DVD's and .mkv video files and the light will show it is decoding the stream. Otherwise unless you use a very old Realtek driver or have a Soundblaster Z soundcard you will have to live with "3D audio" which is still pretty great. As far as far as gaming goes the positional audio is great even without paying for a Dolby codec. Are they worth almost $400?? Well they don't sound much better than the $100-$150 Z506. You do get a decoder and a digital input as well as multiple inputs, so if money is no object this is the way to go.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Cons mentioned:
    No hdmi input

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Great wired system. No more connectivity issues.

    |
    |
    Posted . Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.
    This reviewer received promo considerations or sweepstakes entry for writing a review.

    I found this after doing some online searching for reasonably priced wired/corded surround systems. This one caught my eye because of the on-sale (reduced) price point and from positive experiences with Logitech. I set it up in the 300 square-foot room. This system provides more than enough volume. The subwoofer is impressive. I’m in a noisy area so the front plus rear setup of a 5.1 system is necessary. The front, rear and subwoofer levels are separately adjustable. The highs are not the best because it does not have separate tweeters (Frequency Response: 35 Hz – 20 KHz). In the box for the satellites and center channel, you get two 25ft and three 15ft 18-guage black speaker wire. I had to get a roll of speaker wire (50’) and wire splicers because of where I mounted the rears (in the middle of the wall). Make sure you measure the entire distance up and down walls where you are mounting the rear satellites. The control console is very light and with the large size of the cable in the back, it likes to move around a bit. I saw a review that said someone needed to use Velcro/mounting tape to keep it still. They were right. Some of the orange indicator lights on the control console stay on so it may be distracting if it is set near your TV/Monitor. If you are going to mount the speakers on a wall or ceiling, I recommend the Rocketfish 2 pack, model RF-HSWM2B UPC 600603166594 or the 5 pack, model RF-HSWM5B UPC 600603166600 (I bought the 5 pack) both available at Best Buy and have all of the necessary hardware including screws for the satellite speakers and center channel. Item "Specifications" listing error - at the time of this review: On Best Buy’s website, under Specifications > Audio, it lists “Number of Speakers – 0”. This is not accurate. You get the four satellites (two front, two rear), center channel and subwoofer. Also, under Connectivity, it lists “Headphone Jack” - No. This is not accurate. There is a headphone jack on the side of the control console.

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Logitech
      Posted .

      Hello, we are happy to hear that you are enjoying your speaker system. At Logitech we strive to give our customers the best product experience. Thank you for pointing out the discrepancies in the item listing, I have forwarded that to the proper channel. If you ever have any feature/settings questions, please visit us for support at https://support.logi.com/hc/en-us

What experts are saying

Powered by alaTest

Rating 3.5 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

The analysis of all aggregated expert reviews shows that the reviewers are positive about treble quality, sound, usability and bass quality. Using an algorithm based on product age, reviewers ratings history, popularity, product category expertise and other factors, this product gets an alaTest Expert Rating of 84/100 = Very good quality.
  • T3Rating, 4 out of 5Danny Phillips on September 8, 2011

    Logitech Z906 reviewA top-notch THX-certified home cinema system for your PC

    Full Review
  • Expert ReviewsRating, 3 out of 5August 29, 2011

    Logitech Z906 reviewLogitech is better known for PC speakers than home cinema systems, but it made one set that suited the living room just as well as the study. The excellent Logitech Z-5500 handled movies, games and music, had plenty of inputs and sounded

    Full Review
  • ConsumerSearch.comOctober 1, 2011

    Best surround-sound computer speakersReviews say surround-sound computer speakers can't match the sound quality of a dedicated home theater system, but the Logitech Z906 does a good job bringing home theater-like experience to your desktop. This 5.1 system (five speakers plus

    Full Review
  • techau.com.auBryce Wilson on September 20, 2011

    Review: Logitech Z906 5.1 Speaker SystemMovies, games, music and other assorted media are only as enjoyable as they sound. I remember the night and day transition when I went from a 2.1 system to my first 5.1 surround sound system –

    Full Review