Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Maytag - 5.3 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle Top-Loading Washer - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 1255 reviews

86%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.3 out of 5 stars with 1 review

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 1,255 Reviews
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best washing machine ever!

    Posted
    Susan
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Hi! I am in my late 40s and have owned and/or used many washing machines, over the years. I moved to a new home over four months ago. The dryer was fine, but there was no working washing machine. This one is by far my favorite of any washing machine I have had. It is very easy to set. I usually don't like an electronic keypad and prefer old-fashioned dials, but this keypad is so easy to use and hasn't caused me any problems at all, so far. Actually, there is ONE dial. :) It spins around loosely until you stop it where you want, and is actually fun to set. While setting the machine, there are pleasant musical tones. And, the settings are useful: delicate, cold-water wash, bedding, normal... I love that the machine automatically adds the right amount of water. And, the machine is QUIET. Of course, you can hear it running, but it is not noisy. I have it in a closet in my kitchen, and I guess the closed closet doors help mute the sound, too. When doing research online about washing machines, prior to my purchase, I found a group of people who prefer old fashioned washing machines and who can't stand the new kind. Well, this kind of washing machine is definitely a different kind of machine than the old-fashioned kind, but I have only seen improvement, nothing bad. Everything I wash comes out very clean, the same as with the old machines. I love that there is no middle bar (sorry, I forgot what it is called) for the clothes to get tangled around. The machine is huge and can fit any bedding you wish. I have washed a queen-sized puffy comforter blanket with plenty of room to spare in the machine. I have washed two or three pillows at once, but more could fit. You can also do loads as small as you like. It looks strange to have a tiny bit of clothes at the bottom of this big machine, but the machine automatically puts the correct amount of water, so I don't worry. When you put the clothes in the machine, it moves them around a little to balance the load. It is still a good idea to load the clothes the way I learned years ago, with heavier and bigger items at the bottom. Once I didn't do this and the machine shook a bit, but I moved around the clothes a little and the issue was easily resolved. That was the only time that happened, and I do maybe 5 loads a week. It would be ten, except that the inside of this machine is huge. And, other family members do another few loads. By the way, the outside just looks normal-sized. I have heard people complain that clothes get wrinkled with this type of machine. Well, you set the machine for how much water you want it to extract, by choosing a "spin speed." The highest speed is for items that absorb a lot of water, like blankets and towels. Delicate items that dry easily, don't need much spinning at all. If you choose a spin speed that is too high for your clothes, they could get wrinkled. If you choose a medium speed, the water will be extracted and your clothes won't get wrinkled. This machine is quite deep. If you have very short arms and/or are short, it probably will be difficult to reach items at the bottom. Maybe, you could stand on a step-stool, but don't fall in! I wonder if there is something you could put at the bottom of the machine to make the clothes higher up. Most of my loads fill the machine at the most halfway, maybe 3/4 of the way for a huge load. I am 5'4" and have long arms and can reach that last sock at the bottom, but sometimes I have to lean in or stand on my tippy toes. My daughter is 5'2", also with long arms, but has fibromyalgia and manages just fine. She has never complained about reaching into the machine. One more thing: When I first ordered from Best Buy, I chose a different machine. I guesstimated the right size, instead of measuring, like I knew I should. When the machine arrived and was installed, it stuck out too much and the closet door couldn't close. I was so upset. The delivery crew told me to call Best Buy and they could switch it. They were right! Oh, and they also told me to feel free to use the machine that didn't fit as much as I want while waiting to exchange it, which was such a relief, because I needed to get my laundry done! I called the store where I bought it and explained the situation. An employee suggested some other models that were shorter from front to back. He gave me some measurements to look for, and then I browsed the internet and did some research. I wanted a very reliable machine that fit. I decided on this one because the dryer I have is a Maytag Bravos, a match to this washing machine, so I thought they were probably the same size, meaning the closet would close. Best Buy set up a delivery date that was soon, and they sent a team to pick up the other machine and deliver my new choice. No questions asked, and they exchanged it at no extra charge, even though this machine cost a little more than the other one I had chosen. They said there was no extra charge because of my trouble. I was the one causing them all the trouble! Wow! Also, I almost forgot to mention that I was worried what would happen if this new machine didn't fit. I was told not to worry, because then they would exchange it AGAIN! Double wow! I will make sure I only buy from Best Buy. I already buy all my computers from them and always get Geek Squad service. Now, I will make sure I buy all my appliances from them. They were super-nice and super-professional about this exchange. It was actually a pleasant experience, from the delivery people to the people at the Davie, Florida store (The Tower Shoppes) and back. I didn't even mention that I was given the utmost of attention and help when choosing the original machine, at the store. So nice, friendly, helpful. Thank you, Best Buy! Highly recommend Best Buy AND this washing machine.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Super capacity! Power Wash and Deep Water cycles!

    Posted
    mrwalker63
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had owned 2 large capacity, HE top loaders prior to purchasing this Bravos XL. The Maytag blows my previous machines away in both capacity and performance! My laundry facilities are on the bedroom level (2nd floor) of my home so I've been reluctant to buy a front loader due to the noisy spin cycles and leaky door seals. Although the Maytag is a bit noisier than both of my previous top loaders, it can handle loads twice the size of the maximum capacity of the GE Harmony washer it replaced. It is also much simpler to use than the touchscreen of the GE. The Maytag's dial selector and cycles are much more user friendly than the computerized LCD display on the GE. To those of you considering this Maytag, I have some advice about HE top loaders (I've been using them for 15+years). If you have never owned an HE, READ THE OWNER'S MANUAL from front to back! The operating behavior of an HE top loader is very different from the traditional agitator top loader. WATER LEVEL was a major concern for me until I understood how an HE wash system works. The plates in the bottom of the wash tub replace the old agitator. On many HE machines, it may appear that very little is happening during the wash cycle, but nothing could be further from the truth. Gravity and the weight of the wet clothes are the catalyst that pulls the soapy water through the fabric and holds the clothes against the bottom plate, which works much like an old fashioned washboard. Contrary to what many think, a higher water level has very little to do with how clean the clothes get with this system. The damp clothes themselves actually do a lot of the cleaning as they rub against each other. Too much water will reduce the cleaning action! Although it's hard to tell, the clothes will circulate down to the bottom plate as long as the wash tub is not overloaded. It happens more gradually than in a traditional washer. The spin cycle, however, works much like a traditional top loader. The centrifugal forces pull much of the dirty water and soap out of the clothes before the rinse cycle. Sorry for the long winded explanation, but it took me a long time to get my head around this concept. I hope it helps you make the right choice for you. I noticed that there are a lot of unfavorable reviews on this washer. I doubt many of these disgruntled buyers read the owner's manual before operating this washer. There are also a few external factors that will affect the performance of any washer in a negative way. Overloading, insufficient hot water temperature (should be at least 120 degrees F), water quality (hard water leaves mineral deposits on clothes), cheap or non-HE detergent, too much detergent (may cause suds lock) and lastly, clogged or insufficient plumbing (sewage may back up into the machine). These are issues that the manufacturer has no control over, but many buyers still prefer to complain and post bad reviews without taking all of the circumstances into consideration. I will now step down from my soapbox;) Seriously, this is an excellent HE toploader for the money!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ah, I miss our old washer...

    Posted
    MrTTJr
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Our old washer died, it lived a good life. It handled a family of 6 for over 10 years. Fast forward to this washer. The dreaded replacement. First I have to say this. Best Buy is great. Their delivery and installation were great. This review is about the product, not Best Buy. Ok, the good. It looks nice. It seems durable, not like the old one, but decent enough. Basic enough controls as well. Now, the bad. It's supposed to be an energy efficient washer. Well this thing can never balance so it runs forever trying to balance. So the idea of saving energy went right down the drain. Our latest issue was when we tried to wash a mattress cover. Yes, a simple twin sized mattress cover. We actually let it run as long as we could to see how long it would adjust. After 2 HOURS, we pulled the thing out and let it dry in a sink. Then the same thing happened with another item. Next, It's really noisy. I mean you can hear this thing clear across the house with loud kids. That's a good thing when you need to hear when it is done, but it stinks when you are trying to go to bed and the balance warning keeps going off. Yes, you can turn off the sound, but once in a while you will forget and when you do, it will remind you how loud it is. Chrome: Okay, this will sound silly, but chrome on a washer, really? A washer gets dirty. It is well used. Fingerprints everywhere. Not a function issue, but still funny. Washers are not fashion statements. They are machines that need to work and work well. (And yes, we should have noticed that but we ordered these online. Never again. Into the store we go for the next round, which I am expecting will be sooner then later.) Cleaning ability: Not the greatest. Enough said on that. Double washing may be needed on super dirty items. Last thing, no quick wash cycle available. Our last unit had a quick wash that said 23 minutes and you could bet your life on that thing that it would be done in 23 minutes. This new washer says 54 minutes for a normal wash. Not one single load has ended in under an hour. So, back to the energy savings idea? Where is it? I have yet to see how this thing will save money and energy. SO, all this said, if we could return it, we would. We cannot, so now we are stuck with it. We cannot wait until it breaks. Once it does. Asta la vista baby!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      Hi MrTTJr, thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you’re not totally satisfied with your purchase. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Customer feedback is very important to us and we will be sure to pass your concerns on for further review. MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    I would NOT recommend this washer

    Posted
    PurpleKat53
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have had this washer for about 6 months now. I am still waiting for it to get better. I bought this because of the size and the customer reviews . There is no short cycle. You cant use pods with small loads they don’t dissolve. Today was the final straw for me writing a review. I washed a sheet that my dog had an accident on late last night. I got as much as I could off and today I washed it with 2 lap blanket. The soiled was all over the sheet and the blankets. I used the bedding setting and unlesss you wash everything in deep water wash forget about you clothes coming out semi clean, the lint will be stuck to all your clothes and if you do wash bedding in there your better off going to a laundry mat. They will be much cleaner. My towels don’t come out clean. I have to rewash everything twice. I have tried to use all the settings and the only way one i seem to go back to is the deep water setting only because that is the only way to get your clothes wet and not damp. So where is the savings between extra soap, water and electricity? This washer was such a disappointment on so many levels I would move on. I bought Maytag because it was also a good strong product and my mother still has hers after 30 years. The only plus side I can see is that it does ring your clothes out nice so your dryer doesn’t have to work as hard. I can’t wait to get rid of this washer. I’m tired of doing everything twice.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      Thank you for the review. We are very sorry for the frustration you have encountered. We recommend looking at the link below for troubleshooting tips and tricks.
      https://producthelp.maytag.com/ MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    I miss the real agitators...

    Posted
    yourbrokenoven
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I'm comparing this purchase with my previous washer which was a front-loader. I like the high capacity. It's the best thing about this product. It could have two wash settings and I'd still buy due to the huge drum. I read all about top-loaders before purchasing, because I still read people complaining that they don't feel their clothes come out as clean without true agitator. This model has an agitator of sorts. At the base of the drum, there's a small area with ridges that stick up maybe 2 inches, and it rotates independently of the main drum. This combined with the motion of the drum itself acts as the agitation mechanism. There really is a good bit more motion going on in this machine than I really expected. You'd think this huge drum wastes a lot of water as well, however, when it's "full" clothes don't seem to be any more wet than they would be in my old front-loader. It seems to do a decent job at sensing the right amount of water to use. All this being said, I was using a very old top-loader with a smaller drum and a traditional agitator in a rental house for about 6 months prior to this purchase, and I do feel that the older machine without all the fancy electronics did a better job at getting clothes clean. I have had a few items make it through and still appear to have food on them in the Maytag... It's not frequent, and what I did to compensate was put in slightly smaller laundry loads, and that seemed to do the trick. There is still a "soak" setting, if you feel you really need it. This machine only takes about 55 minutes on an average normal load compared to my old front loader which took about 25 minutes longer with a much smaller load. The control knob is great. Nothing more to say about that. The button panel uses some sort of touch sensing, and that's okay for the most part, but having to hold my finger on the power or start button for 3 seconds to get any response seems counterintuitive, though I can see a use case in preventing a curious toddler from causing havoc. I have one of those too... All in all a pretty good machine, and best capacity per dollar I could find.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrific Delivery Experience

    Posted
    Carlos

    If I could give a negative rating, I would. We purchased this washing machine and paid for the installation at the time of purchase from Best Buy. Unfortunately, had we known what was to come from the delivery and installation, we would have picked up the washing machine and installed it ourselves. When the delivery men were switching out the old washing machine for our new one, they obviously didn't know what they were doing because: 1) The man removing the water hoses from the wall forgot to shut the water off before we reminded him that he had to. 2) When he did finally shut off the water line and removed the hose from the cold water line, he busted the pipe of the cold water line inside and water was spilling everywhere. Water went all over the floor, and honestly the only thing this man did that seemed helpful was clean it up. The man then proceeded to say our pipe had been broken and he was unable to connect the washing machine for that reason, as if no one was there to witness him causing the damage. His partner who walked in on the incident then went on to say, "Oh we have to go, there's nothing more we can do here", and the two left. Now, we do not have any running water in our house to meet our basic hygienic needs because we had to shut off all the water going through the house. We have called Best Buy to make this complaint with there department that handles these claims, but the case manager handling our claim is moving so sloth like, it seems there's no urgency with our situation. We tried following up with him to get a claim number so we can get running water in our house and try to move forward with our claim, but it seems like the case manager is trying to avoid us and our situation. This is really an unbelievable and horrendous experience. All anyone can say is, "I understand your frustration..." No, these employees don't because no one understands that we can't use the restroom, wash our hands, shower... The worse delivery experience ever Best Buy!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The missing agitator is the problem

    Posted
    James
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    My wife and I read all of the negative comments and thought to ourselves, these must just be complainers and went ahead and bought this machine anyway. It is a Maytag, they are supposed to be one of the best out there. The first load was a king size comforter. We loaded it in evenly and eventually had to hand wring all of the water out of it after 3 hours of the machine continuing to refill in order to balance the load. The lack of an agitator seemed like a great idea in that it gave us so much more room, but the agitator is what keeps your loads balanced. Luckily the dryer that we bought with this set was outstanding and able to handle drying the soaking wet comforter. Every load that we did thereafter was small in order to not unbalance the machine. Unfortunately the water monitor that prevent excess water from being used, never actually allowed the water to cover all of the clothes. We noticed after every wash, that the Unstoppable sprinkles would fall all over the floor when we would transfer the load to the dryer. We called Amber at Best Buy the day after it was delivered and she ordered us a new LG Front Loader set to replace this set. This concept of no agitator in order to make more room is a great idea, however the technology is not there to ensure your load remains balanced throughout the wash. This in turn makes the machine refill over and over again to try and balance the load for the spin cycle. Just get a front loader and do the monthly wipe-down of the seals with a White Vinegar and Water solution to prevent mold. Also, keep the door open when not in use, and this will prevent water from remaining in the crevasses of the door and machine.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      Dear James:
      We're sorry to learn of your disappointment and regret that our company has lost favor with you.
      If you could possibly give us a second chance, please contact us at 1-800-344-1274 Mon-Fri: 8 a.m. - 8 p.m. EST.
      Sincerely,
      Marie
      Maytag® Social Media Relations MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Decent toploader if looking for this style washer

    Posted
    Thrivegirl4u
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    We only had this about a week and I put it to the true test as we have had a front load machine for 20+ years and loved them. We only decided to go this route as technology has changed and felt with the big tub size without the agitator maybe it was time to go this route. The size of this thing is huge and greatly appreciated for washing big items like comforters and pillows/blankets. However, as I am only 5’ it I did have to use a step stool. That didn’t bother me, I’m used to it but for some might be bothersome. I had issues with it leaving white residue on my dark items if I used the Oxy option. I use liquid detergent so assume I would have had a bigger issue if I would have used powder detergent. It just didn’t seem to agitate enough to get the soap spread throughout. Not saying this is this model’s fault, just an issue I believe may be because of the way these style machines work. I also found a lot of lint on my washed items, which I never had issues with in a front load machine. It did a great job spinning out the excess water and felt did an okay job with cleaning but did find some odors still present using the same amount of product I used in a front loader washer. I am partial to the size capacity of the front loader and cleaning capability and so may be biase a bit. I have always washed all my blankets, comforters etc. in my front loader with no issues so size capability has always been important, in which this washer didn’t disappoint in size, but larger loads felt didn’t get as clean and ended up rewashing some loads. Uses a lot more water and just isn’t as efficient as a front loader so we exchanged for a Maytag front loader in the end.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    I am a Maytag owner forever

    Posted
    Homemaker

    I really like this machine so far, I have had it about a month now.The spin cycle almost dries my bath sheets which are huge,I use the extra spin cycle, it helps the dryer. Hubby is 6' 4" so, he needs huge long towels.While I am only 4'11" and have to use a 2 step ladder to reach the bottom of the tub,I am on the top step and still have to get on my tippy toes. Hubby laughs watching me get laundry out of machine when he's home. He keeps telling he's going to come home one day and I'll be stuck in the bottom of the machine yelling "Help". Sometimes especially on my hubby's uniform pants I get a grayish white film and I was rewashing and it goes away but, last time I just threw it into the dryer and came out fine. I make my own laundry soap and putting into the soap dispenser is just so easy.It also corrects if off balance itself no shutting off. Although I do miss my 29 year old Maytag (yes, it was 29 years old really when it died. Hubby changes parts here and there but nothing major all under $40 but, then the transmission went that was it) I enclosed a picture of my old baby.I got the extended warranty since nothing last in this throw away world. I doubt this machine last like my old machine.Will see !

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good for light colored clothes

    Posted
    Ladychev
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Went with a top load after having a front load for 10 years. Wasn't sure about the "no agitator" but went with it. With the glass lid you can see the clothes don't seem to rotate without the agitator. Got one with the deep wash feature too (heard it washes better) however any load I wash with dark colors comes out with a residue on them which looks like wet lint. I have used both pods and liquid detergent (at different times) and it still happenens. It's a new washer, so there isn't gunk built up, and the washer does have a clean cycle with affresh. It also doesn't matter the material and I'm guessing the residue is on the lighter colors too, its just not visible. I did an additional rinse & spin and it still didn't clear it up. The drum though is 19" deep but I wouldnt fill it more than 10" to 12" and its 23" in diameter. I'm 5'10" and almost can't reach the bottom without my feet coming off the ground! So beware if you're shorter.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst Machine Ever

    Posted
    BestBuyPurchase
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I chose this washing machine for its size, thinking it would accommodate our huge loads of laundry, in addition to our super small loads as well. Thanks to our old pets we are washing our king size bedding a lot, their blankets, towels and several of the dogs wear belly bands, for incontinence, that require washing almost daily. The first load I washed was the belly bands. The washing machine gives so little water that it didn’t that I couldn’t see any water after it finished “filling up”. It probably gave me about 2-3” inches of water, maybe. Well, it did not get rid the urine smell in the bands. I end up hand washing them. This type of load requires more water than this machine is programmed to use. Our back yard is a muddy mess, I have to soak my clothes in the tub to get rid of the mud before it goes into the wash! I washed several of my more delicate clothes; and, with so little water it has ruined a few pieces, with so little water it rubs and beats everything against the bottom of the drum. I wanted to return it, but my husband panicked was so worried about not having a washing machine (we were without one for two weeks before buying this one - a tough two weeks!) Oh, I didn’t tell you, this so called smart machine weighs your load and decides how much water it needs, you have no say in the matter. So, if you wet all of your laundry before putting it in the tub it will weigh more and trick it into giving you more water.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      BestBuyPurchase, thank you for your review. We manufacture several different models with various feature and accessory designs yet will be versatile in meeting the needs of most users while still providing the best performance in the industry. We are sorry if some operating characteristic or feature is unsatisfactory, and we apologize for any inconvenience this concern has caused you. Thank you for providing this valuable feedback. We will pass this information along. MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    No so great top load

    Posted
    Beachbunny20
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I had a front loading Maytag that lasted only about 5 years. Maybe that should have been my first thought replacing it with this top load model. I was not pleased at all with it cleaning ability. Granted it has all of the water saving features but my clothes and my kids clothes didn't come out smelling like they had been washed. So after those first 2 loads I decided to watch the machine go through the cycles. Real fun right? I threw a load of gym clothes in there and to my surprise with the lower water level and agitation all the of the clothes on the top basically just went around in circles and never went below the water line the entire wash cycle. The agitation never pulled any clothes from the top layer down into the tub so everything that was on top of that load stayed on top through the wash cycle and just didn't get washed. VERY DISAPPOINTED! The next thing on the do not like list was the noise. Very loud agitation when the machine was just going through the sensing process, the agitation was like a tractor engine going on and off and that was the low agitation when it picked up it sounds like a plan trying to take off and finally related to noise is the cycle changes and the locking of the lid just should not sound like you are opening and closing a safe. Thunk to lock/unlock the lid and a clunk to start/end a cycle. I had enough after about 3 days. This machine was even louder than the front Load Maytag that died. And those are loud anyway. Sent this back to BB unfortunately.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      Hi Beachbunny20, sorry for your frustration, the load process for a top load washer is different from the front loaders. If you would like to speak with us we would be more than happy to make sure the next washer you purchase will work as expected. Call our Care Experts at (888) 923-8485 and they can address your concerns! MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Waste of money, doesn't wash well at all.

    Posted
    CMDC4139
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Swapped mom's old agitator washing machine for this seemingly better one. We hate it! Leaves white residue on clothes and doesn't wash well at all. Dark pants with dog slobber come out exactly how we put them in. Mom has to hand wash these items after they come out half clean. Tried to wash a twin-size, thin comforter and it kept rinsing/draining over and over again; filling up all the way to the top. I had to shut it down and call customer service. To my surprise I was told that the machine was not for washing bedding!!!??? Next try was 2 bath mats, it kept filling all the way to the top and draining... called customer service again and was told that it was not for washing mats! So now we have to go to the laundromat to wash bigger items. Our water bill hasn't exactly improved as we thought it would with a machine that supposedly uses less water as it fills up several times to wash a small load. A technician told us that you have to load it evenly and not cover up the circle in the middle otherwise it would keep readjusting by adding more water. We have tried that but when the machine works, the normal friction makes the clothes shift and it eventually covers up that circle, so we are not sure how this is supposed to work. Mom is tired of it and we are going to have to buy her a new one and dispose of this one. Very disappointed!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      CMDC4139, we thank you for your review. At Maytag, we are constantly working to improve our appliances and our service, and it is only through feedback from customers like yourself that we are able to do so. We have documented all of the concerns you have mentioned, for review by our managers and engineers. Our managers and engineers do regularly review our files, to look for areas in which we can improve our products. Thank you, Maytag® Social Media Relations Team MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DO NOT BUY THIS!

    Posted
    Timothy
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    DO NOT BUY THIS! We purchased the Bravos XL washer and dryer set in February 2016 thinking that it would last for at least 5 years. In December 2017, a year and a half after purchase, the washer stopped working and displayed an error code that the user interface or cpu wasn’t working. Even though the one-year warranty was up, we called Maytag and asked them to fix this defective washer. They agreed and sent a repairperson out and replaced the entire board in the washer. Yesterday, again, this washer stopped working and gave us the error code that the user interface and cpu isn’t working. We again called Maytag and spoke with “Cena” who told us that it was a “Goodwill Gesture” that they fixed it the first time, and that they wouldn’t be fixing it again. This washer was maintained well, was only used twice a week in a household of 3, and resides in a newer build house with updated wiring, etc. Keep in mind Maytag won’t stand behind defective products they produce. I recommend avoiding Maytag and going with a company that will stand by their products.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      Hi Timothy, thanks for the review. We regret to hear that your Washer is not living up to your standards and are happy to look into this with you. Please reach out to us directly at 1-800-344-1274, via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/maytag or Twitter @MaytagCare. Let’s see what we can do for you! MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Does a great job of cleaning clothes, fast too

    Posted
    Sherlockbonz
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I don't know what YOU may want in a washer, but I was looking for two things: A. Will my clothes be clean? B. How fast can I finish laundry and get on to better things. This Maytag certainly gets clothes clean, so "A" was covered. It takes care of "B" in two ways. First, it is huge, so you can do really large loads. Second, it is just fast. A normal cycle takes 45min. If you increase the spin time (to reduce drying time) the cycle increases to 55min. It fits about 40% more clothes than my old HE high-capacity brand "K" Elite (made by L...G...), and is about 20min faster, so that works out to getting laundry done in less than half the time. As another bonus, if you modify a cycle (for example, increase the spin time) it remembers, so you don't have to change them every time. I considered brand "S" as well (they are reviewed higher) but that brand sits much higher than the Maytag, so those are harder to unload. The only thing keeping this from getting a solid 5 stars is it is a little bit louder when cycling. If your washing machine is near a living space in your house, you will hear it running. If that doesn't matter to you, then this a perfect machine.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Awesome Machine!

    Posted
    cd64057
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought this washer after my old Maytag Bravos 300 Series had issues with filling up on the wash cycle and also on the rinse cycle ( I had to fill a 5 gallon bucket with water to initiate the wash cycle and then on the spin cycle I needed to turn my machine off refill with another 5 gallon bucket of water and then my clothes would be done). I had experienced these issues at around 6.5 years of ownership and decided to replace my old machine just before having it for 7 years. I had went from a 4.7 CU to this 5.3 CU drum. It's awesome to be able to wash 2 king sized comforters at once! This machine does take a lot longer on a cycle then my old machine did which is kinda interesting considering they are both High Efficiency non agitator machines. I frequently use the wash with Oxi option which takes about an hour a half per cycle. I was used to spending around 55 mins on my old unit for the normal wash, warm wash, high extraction mode. My only real major pet peeve thus far is the controls are SUPER sensitive and you would think just touching play would be enough to start the cycle but no I have to have my finger in just the right spot and then WHAM! the washer begins and my clothes come out CLEAN! I've even been getting my bathmats to be really clean as well. Delivery was fantastic! And yes if you are used to using lots of water with an agitator machine this machine does use a bit less water however I actually think I use a little bit more water now then in my old machine even before it started not working right due to the fact that this machine has a deep water wash function that my old one did not. This machine is a very musical one and will play a catchy tune at startup as well as when the clothes are ready to be removed. I did buy my machine during the President's Day sale for 629.99. Even at the normal 808.99 pricing it's not a bad deal just time your purchase for the sales if you are able to. ;)

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best replacement I could buy

    Posted
    jackie13

    After a long research I decided to settle on this washer. After reading many reviews I still wanted to go for it. And let me tell you. It's the best washer I ever had. Bought from Petrillo's appliances, was much better deal and it's a dream come through. I was able to fit 2 sets of bedding and 3 towels and it was still only 3/4 load. To be able to have a perfect wash you need to read a manual first. I used Tide HE for whites and woolite dark HE for darks. The water adjust by it self and there is enough to make the best wash and if you feel you need more water there is a button deep water wash and it will fill more water, which I think is not necessary. The washer is sensing how much clothing is inside and fill the water accordingly. Don't pay attention to bad reviews. They just did not read the manual and not operating the washer correctly. The only inconvenient I have is I am 5" tall and washer is very deep, so getting to the bottom is impossible for me. But I still wanted to have an extra large capacity and just bought myself a barbecue metal thongs. So now it's not an issue. Very quiet and beautiful washer. Switching from 16 years old washer is fantastic. And now I will be able to wash my comforter + no problem. Love it. Hope will last as my old one for as long. Buy it, you won't regret.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stay Away

    Posted
    dhaz
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Wow, this is really sad that Maytag continues to make this machine. Our LG front loader went after 10 years of service. Before that, we had a Maytag Toploader that worked well for many years. I went online to Best Buys looking at what was out there and read lots of positive reviews on Maytag 53 Cu Ft 11Cycle TopLoading Washer Model: MVWB835DW, so we got one. It's been two months and my wife has tried everything to make this machine work, but with no luck. Without an agitator, the machine has to spin super fast, which in turn destroys the clothes that are being washed. We are talking, pulls in knitted items, jeans, and shirts that come out with white veins running through them. Mind you, no bleach has ever been used in this new machine. And, did I mention the wrinkles? Wow! A washing machine should not be a source of anxiety, and unfortunately, this two-month-young Maytag Bravos XL has become just that. I'm heading into Best Buys today in hopes that I can trade it in for something else. Keep your fingers crossed!! Maytag, there is a problem with this machine = please pull it from the market and stop selling it. You have a reputation to live up too. You need to step up and do the right thing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      Hello, thank you for the review. Please look at the link below for troubleshooting tips and tricks. We hope this helps.
      https://producthelp.maytag.com MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DONT BUY!

    Posted
    Imani
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I wish I could give zero stars because Maytag engineers drop the ball on this one. I've used Maytag appliances for many years ie… dishwashers, washers, dryers etc... I'm actually replacing a Maytag 2000 series front loader which was ok, unfortunately after 5yrs it fell apart. (naturally after the warranty period) Nonetheless, this washer is an absolute nightmare, that's funny, as of this writing, the Maytag technician just showed up, unfortunately he felt the wrath of a man that just lost all patience along with his temper. I walked the technician down stairs to show him this pos (you wouldn't believed I just finished a load right before he arrived) and explain to me who designs a washer that can leave some clothes wringing wet and some partially dry? even after several washes! really? I wish I had Maytag CEO Ralph Hake in front of me! let him explain this fiasco! In the end he wouldn't be a happy camper. Before all the nay sayers ask about washer set up and end user input. I'm here to tell you 1) YES I READ THE MANUAL BACKWARDS AND FORWARD. 2) BESTBUY TECHS SET UP THE UNIT THE SECOND TIME! Second machine same result. Never again,

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      Imani, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. Please email us at Maytag_Reviews@Maytag.com at your earliest convenience with your username (Imani), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, Maytag Social Care MaytagBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Very Disappointed

    Posted
    TabithaIsrael
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I am convinced this washer does not actually wash the clothes. No matter what size the load there is always part of the laundry that is completely dry at the end of the wash cycle - right in the middle of the machine. It's like the water just runs down the sides of the machine and doesn't get moved around or something. On top of that the clothes always have a residue after the wash cycle - some times it's like lint other times it is like caked up detergent in some areas. Most times the clothes appear to be just wet - and not clean. I have a family of 6, with children so I fully expect all of the kid's clothes not to have the food and other fun stuff on them after they are washed - not the case with this washer. We've had it for over a year but it has always done this. I'd taken a picture at one time but figured there is no point because I'm sure we are stuck with it. I was sold on getting this brand because for some reason ( commercials) I'd thought this was a great brand machine to have...Not True At All. Very disappointed with how this machine "washes" clothes. If I had to do it again I'd buy a machine with the piece in the middle that way all of the load gets wet during the wash at least.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      MaytagTeam

      We are sorry you are unhappy with the design of the washer. The Department of Energy standards state how much water any water-based appliances can use, and our washers meet all of their stringent guidelines. We would recommend balling up the clothing similar to the size of a soccer ball, and place around the agitator one at a time. We would also recommend stacking it up so it is around the sides and the agitator plate is visible with all of the clothing around it. Do not fill up past the 2nd to last row of holes in the basket to help avoid overloading. The bulky cycle will allow more water to enter the tub, but will not spin on the highest spin setting. We are sorry that you are unhappy with the design, and can note your concerns MaytagBrand