Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Samsung - 7.4 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Electric Dryer - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars with 2226 reviews

95%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 2,226 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Little responsibility for awful product.

    Posted
    KrisKros2017
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I hate writing reviews, but I feel like I have been duped into buying this garbage and want to protect other consumers. In August 2016, my now husband and I bought this dryer, along with its matching washer. I specifically chose a Samsung product because my family has always had great luck with Samsung. Fast forward to October 2017 (literally 1 month after the warrantly expires) and this dryer starts making an awful and consistent squeak. After hours of research, I find this is common in ALL Samsung dryers and, if not repaired, could lead to the dryer seizing. I call Samsung in a panic due to the 260ish looming repair bill, and they agree to cover the parts. I didn’t realize the parts only costed like 15 bucks!!! What a raw deal! The man who repaired it was very kind, though, and we moved on (believing the dryer would no longer be a problem). Not so... not 6 months later, and the constant squeak from their shoddy bearings is back! I call Samsung again, livid, and they finally agreed to cover the entire cost of the new repair after hours spent arguing on the phone. However, I was told this would be the last time they would offer any support. I thought it would finally be fixed and at least last another year or so. Guess what, the squeak is back again, along with a really great scraping/grinding sound. Guess we are footing the bill on this? I wanted to love this dryer, but having to repair it every 6 months when we’ve only had it 28 months is RIDICULOUS! Purchasing the Best Buy extended warranty would have likely saved us hundreds! Additionally, just found (through my own research) that the washer we purchased has been recalled (happened literally 2 months after we bought it) due to the top blowing off and injuring people. Samsung NEVER contacted us and therefore risked our safety. UNBELIEVABLE. Now we must determine how we will move forward from here with a very unsafe washer and a dysfunctional dryer. I once loved this company and their products, but now I am just so disappointed! Please beware!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    great dryer; lousy install

    Posted
    tkfred
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The dryer is great; no issues at all with the performance or quality. The installation was a "0" stars out of 5. The installer replaced the dryer flexible exhaust hose (metal) and proceeded to mash it completely shut when he pushed the dryer back into position. They never bothered to verify the quality or correctness of the install so they packed up and left as is. I ran the dryer and went out back to the exterior dryer vent exit to discover almost no air flow. So, I did what they should have done and leaned over the dryer unit to see the problem; the exhaust from the dryer was mashed shut. Thinking this was a priority to get resolved, I called the next day to have the installation performed correctly. Unfortunately they did not share my level of importance of getting the job done right and it was not re-installed correctly till almost a week later. If the dryer was run in the condition it was originally left in the dryer would have overheated and burned up or have burned my house down. Again, they did not feel it was important enough to come out the next day to fix. So, 5 stars for the dryer itself and 0 stars for the install; I round it up to a 3 star rating because the dryer itself is great. The install is not. Look at the attached photo after install #1 and you can judge for yourself.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great dryer, large enough drum for a queen comfort

    Posted
    nmpiper
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Great washer! I've had this washer for about a month now, and it has worked wonderfully since it was delivered. Really LARGE drum, I had no problem fitting a queen sized comforter inside-- but I did have to run two cycles to get it 100% dry. But that could be because of the material and the density and weight of the comforter. All of the settings work perfectly, and it dries my clothes so much faster than the dryer I had been using! I can't express enough how impressed I am with the drying speed. I LOVE how it can sense the dampness of the clothes and adjusts the timing accordingly. It's not too loud either- actually, this set(washer and dryer) is relatively quiet. I'm hoping it lasts for years, as I've never owned a Samsung washer & dryer and am not sure as to the longevity of the ctaftmanship. The interface is user friendly though, and the buttons are easy to press. The cutest jingle plays at the ene of the cycle, which I adore. That's a preference thing though- either you'll like it/not mind or find it slightly annoying. Purchased the 5yr extended warranty.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Samsung Dryer DV45H7000 - DO NOT BUY

    Posted
    MajorKong
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I'm hoping this will save someone else from a poor purchase. We bought our Samsung washer and dryer less than 3 years ago (July 2016 for model DV45H7000EW/A2). Our dryer has had 2 major repairs in the last 6 months--first, for a bad heating element, and now a broken idler pulley. Both of these failures are common, if you do a little research. $460 total repairs for a 3 year old dryer and almost as much as we paid for it originally. The service tech said that neither of these parts should have failed in such a short time and that the idler pulley was a design flaw (the part has been known to break and has now been redesigned). He literally told me that the dryer wasn't worth further repair should something else break. I realize that I'm well out of the 1 year warranty, but I just don't believe that major appliances like this, which cost a lot of money to begin with, should fail within such a short period of time. Yet, when I contacted Samsung support after the first repair, they told me that there was nothing they could do. My family had the same Maytag washer and dryer for my entire childhood and into college. Previous to this, we had LG appliances that never gave us any issue in 10 years. We should have kept those when we moved. I will never purchase a Samsung appliance again and I would caution anyone else against purchasing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Samsung

      Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share this experience with us. Samsung is always looking for ways to improve our products and reviews like yours are vital in this process. ^Lo Samsung

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great dryer, horrible quality, horrible support

    Posted
    nogoodusernames
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The dryer does what it's supposed to; it dries clothes efficiently, and it has a lot of settings for different load types. However, the unit I had delivered developed a ridiculously loud screeching noise (90 dB+) within 6 months. Looking online, 6 months seems to be when a lot of Samsung appliances begin to fail. Luckily it was under warranty, so we called to get it serviced. The first time we tried to schedule, they called us back when my wife and I were both at work, and within minutes of not being able to get ahold of us, they cancelled the service request. We ended up setting up a new appointment, and the people never showed up. They are now in the process of issuing a refund, but they tried to process it through Home Depot (hint: we bought it through Best Buy, which is why I'm writing a review here.) Their customer support is basically worthless; it took about 20 minutes on the phone to make them understand that Home Depot wouldn't know anything about my purchase at Best Buy. I'm hoping that they'll be able to get back to me this week with the refund. TL;DR: the dryer is nearly unusable after 6 months, and Samsung is unable/unwilling to repair it, so they are refunding the purchase. I don't know if I'll ever buy another Samsung appliance after this.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DONT BUY!!!!!!!

    Posted
    LASTSAMSUNG

    We bought this Dryer the end of September 2014. In April of 2015, it quit heating. I called customer service, and a week later they sent someone out to repair it. However, I had to fight with the repairman to make this a warranty claim. It took me a half hour and calling Lowes to convince him it was only six months old. The repairman was mad because he could not figure out what was wrong. It took him three weeks to fix it. In the meantime, I spent three weeks going to a laundry mat after paying a lot of money for a new dryer. Samsung didn't really care. After he "fixed" my dryer it never did sound right. Now, in September of 2015 it made a horrible noise and locked up. I called Samsung and they refused to fix it. Saying that it was no longer under warranty, I argued it was, I talked to someone higher up and she was nastier than the other employee I talked to. After giving up and going to buy another dryer (another brand of course) Talking to the lady she said it is for sure under warranty. So now I am playing the laundry mat game AGAIN. Since it will be another two weeks before a repairman can come out to fix it. I always recommended Samsung products because of great customer service we had a few years ago with a television. BUT NEVER AGAIN after the treatment I have received from Samsung.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    cracked drum after 4 months

    Posted
    linda99
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    Very disappointed in our new Samsung electric dryer. It started making a thumping noise a couple of days ago. Looked inside and there is a large and growing crack in the drum at the back, next to one of the ribs. Best Buy is sending a repair crew next week to run diagnostics on the machine. Googled the Samsung dryer crack issue and it's a very common one, something that is not mentioned in Consumer Reports and similar paid reviews. Best Buy said they will handle this after the diagnostics, with replacing the drum or giving us a full in store credit for what we paid. I am hoping they declare it a lemon as we don't want a repeat of this cracked drum mess with Samsung products, and we will look at other manufacturers for our next dryer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Hesitant about HE washer, now I love it!

    Posted
    Mert
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I was really hesitant to purchase an HE washer, since I've only ever owned traditional agitator washers. Now that I have one, I would never go back. This thing uses just enough water, but gets my clothes so much cleaner than my traditional washer. The clothes come out so much softer too. I haven't run into any of the issues I was concerned about initially. The clothes are always clean and fresh smelling, it never goes off balance, and I was even able to keep using my same sensitive skin detergent (which was rated for all machines, including HE.) I go through so much less of the soap now! Some of the cycles are a little longer, especially heavy duty. However, I wash most of my clothes on delicate, which is the same cycle time as my old washer. The only two things I find a little less than ideal are the frequency with which I have to run a "self clean" cycle, and the delicacy of the glass lid. It seems I get about half the loads promised between self clean cycles (which takes almost two hours), and the lid already has a bad scratch (even though I knew from reviews it was delicate and have been careful.) But, the advantages totally make up for those issues, for me. I also like the song it sings to tell you the cycle is finished. Unfortunately, the song is a little long, which irritates my husband. At least there is an option to turn the sound off!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works very well, some features a bit confusing

    Posted
    dSchuette
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This Samsung dryer is replacing an older model Kenmore. The quality is excellent, though I'm a little baffled by all the pushbutton options. I would have expected a little more modern digital display. Dries clothes quickly and efficiently. The end cycle warning is a little over the top--it basically sings a ten second song for you. (I'm sure you can turn it off if you choose.) It also gives you a mid-cycle "partial load" complete warning, which was a little confusing. We did look it up, and it is functioning properly--basically telling you that SOME of your load is ready to be pulled (which conceivably then will save energy on the rest of the load). When the timer goes off, the clothes are near perfectly dry--the worst we've had so far has just been a very mild dampness around the collar and cuffs for some fabrics. All in all, it works well, and does what it's supposed to with a few extra bells and whistles (literally) than you might be used to.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Dryer!

    Posted
    cath8r
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought this with a matching washer. It's simple to use, has ample space and when used with the matching washer, dries clothes quite quickly. For the electric version you have to purchase a power cord separately. I thought that was odd until I realized that there are both 3 and 4 prong outlets (older outlets are usually 3 prong). The delivery guys did not install the power cord strain relief properly. I watched the guy fumble with it outside on the truck before bringing it inside, so I checked it out after they left (yeah, I could have made them fix it but decided to do it myself). The machine would have worked anyway but I don't leave things undone like that. That was the one thing they botched but that doesn't mean it will happen to you. Just watch them and if you think something looks wacky, have them correct it if you can't do it yourself. There are more expensive models of this dryer that have a steam cycle, but we didn't need that. For the price point this one is a good deal and works well with it's matching washer. The manual is easy to understand and the controls are easy to use. It remembers your previous settings so keep that in mind...that could be good or bad depending on what you have in the dryer! I would give this more stars if I could. Buy it and enjoy it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Broken Drum in less than 24 months

    Posted
    VeryDisappointed
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Very disappointed in our new Samsung electric dryer. It started making a thumping noise a month ago. Looked inside and there is a large and growing crack in the drum at the back, next to one of the ribs. Googled the Samsung dryer crack issue and it's a very common one, something that is not mentioned in Consumer Reports and similar paid reviews. Please check out the Samsung Community boards for this problem happening time and time again. Some have had luck getting the drum replaced outside the warranty period, others not so lucky. if you chose to buy this dryer, without exception, buy the extended warranty.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great dryer

    Posted
    eternalbliss69
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This dryer auto-senses the dampness of the clothes before turning off, and while I think it could use alittle more work in that department, I am generally very pleased with this machine. I'd say probably 8 out of 10 times the clothes are fully dry when I open the machine, but there are a couple of times I've needed to turn the timer back on for an additional 10 minutes to finish up a few damp spots. But overall, I'm pleased. It dries huge loads of clothes automatically without me having to set the time. It just senses how big the load is and sets the timer itself. So for it to mess up occasionally is okay with me. I just turn it back on and find something to do. No biggie to me. But for others, that may be something that is a real turn-off. Just thought I'd mention it. Overall, I'm still very pleased with the machine. Its very quiet and it can handle very large loads (including my king size comforters).

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Junk just like Samsung washer

    Posted
    alamkarb

    My wife and I have had this dryer for two weeks. We have used it approximately 3 or 4 times. This thing has had issues from the get go. The heating element is insanely loud. It will drive you nuts until it gets warmed up. Smelled hot on initial use too,but at least that got better. Tech came out and said the noise was normal. There is no way this can be right. The buzzing element is bad enough,but now the thing has developed a very noticeable rattle or vibration. You can hold your hand against the side of the washer and it will stop. This will drive me up the wall and my wife also. Very let down by this thing. No way that can be normal. My wife and I are going to have to go and talk to the store owner for a resolution of this issue. Stay away from this dryer,and the Samsung washer I reviewed about a week ago.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    DV45H7000EW Works Great for the first month

    Posted
    Coldest1

    Pros: -Bestbuy's Awesome Pricing -Bestbuy's Delivery and professionalism with install and old appliance removal. -Dryers notifications ringtone that dry is complete. Cons: Dryer doesn't send text message to come get your clothing. Dryer breaks at 14 mos Buy this dryer if you like the brand name, but aren't concerned with longevity. Do you like spending hours scouring the web for repair videos and repair advice, would you mind traveling to the laundromat to dry your clothes as you decide how to cope with, how to arrange repair of your newer model paper weight? Have you choosen to become an authorized appliance repair technician? We'll look no more.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Just the Average dryer

    Posted
    Starterwave
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    We did have high expectations since our previous dryer was at least 7 y/o but there is nothing special about this dryer. We purchased this Samsung eletric dryer on sale and would have returned it but it was too late. Our annoyances are that it does not have an interior light, the door opens to the right and we need it to open to the left. Granted, the door can be switched to open left but depending on your laundry room set up this can play a big factor. The default end of cycle alert is too loud and too long. From what I can tell, it's either on or off. You can not turn the volume down or shorten the chime. I believe our previous dryer was more efficient.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible product

    Posted
    Dissatisfied

    We purchased the washer and dryer. After 5 weeks, the dryer quit heating. Had to go through a repair service who couldn't get out to see it for a week. He determined the circuit board was bad and needed replaced......in another week because the part had to be ordered. Bottom line, 2 weeks without a dryer and 2 days home from work for repair on a 5 week old machine....no thank you. And we found out the machine was manufactured 1 1/2 years ago. Samsung was very difficult to work with, would not replace the machine because it was "only a bad part". We returned both and bought a different brand.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Quiet, large tub, fair amount of options

    Posted
    Eric77TA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Our 10 year old washer died unceremoniously right before Black Friday. The previous model, while long-lived was pretty bare bones and we decided we'd like something with a few more features, but not outrageously expensive. The Samsung models were on sale, and were recommended by the salesperson and after reviewing and comparing to other models on price/features v, we decided to go with them. My understanding is that these are the models that were recalled previously, but that newer models have the former issues corrected. I guess time will tell. So far, performance has been admirable. We can wash twice as much as our previous machine, with less water, and it comes out equally clean. I am rating 4 stars as after only a month or so in use, I can't make a "final" decision yet, but we have been happy with this model so far.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great dryer with easy to use settings

    Posted
    RMatSLU
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Wife and I purchased this dryer with the matching washer 2 months ago. It was a great upgrade for us as our older set was pretty beat up. We love it so far. Many different settings that actually work. I put a comforter in there on the wrong setting and it didn't completely dry. Put another comforter in on the correct setting and it came out perfect. I know that's what it supposed to do but I'm coming from a set that just had temperature settings and length of time to dry for so you had to figure it out. The settings on this dryer makes it very easy to use. It is pretty quiet, holds a very big load of cloths, towels or linens, very easy to use and looks great. Another neat feature is that you can change the door to open either way which is great in the case that you prefer to have it on one side of the laundry room. Overall, this is a great dryer at a great price from a trusted name.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good Machine, great price

    Posted
    IndianaJones
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I don't know if this is a CR best buy or not (if it ins't it should be), and I know that Samsung has had some issues with these machines in previous versions, but this one seems to be really good, especially considering the price. It doesn't clean as well as a machine with a center agitator, but it uses soo much less water than my old machine, and on a septic system that's pretty important. It does take a little bit of time to figure out which settings to use for different kinds of clothes. I skipped buying a Whirlpool set that was a little bit more money, from other reviews I've seen I think it was the better choice. No problems at all so far, having owned this for about a month now. The detergent dispenser seems a little bit flimsy, but so far so good.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great dryer, great value, jaunty tunes

    Posted
    JimH
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    We got this dryer as an open box at the store. It had some minor scratches and dings but seemed to be in perfect order, so the deal was awesome. We've brought it home and it has been great for us. It has a bunch of features, many of which I wouldn't even begin to know how to use. When you turn it on and when it's done drying, it plays a neat little tune that I've found myself being delighted by. Sometimes it's the little things in an experience that get you going. The trap is incredibly easy to clean and it does a pretty good job of drying. I had an especially wet load one day that didn't get fully dry on the normal setting with medium heat, which is why it lost a star, but other than that, we haven't had any problems with damp clothes.

    I would recommend this to a friend