Skip to content
Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Model:
TW-F50
SKU:
5371600
Your price for this item is $99.99

Customer reviews

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 334 reviews

Rating Filter

Rating by feature

  • Value

    Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars

  • Quality

    Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars

  • Ease of Use

    Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars

88%
would recommend
to a friend
The vast majority of our reviews come from verified purchases. Reviews from customers may include My Best Buy members, employees, and Tech Insider Network members (as tagged). Select reviewers may receive discounted products or points for an honest, helpful review.
Applied Filters:
Page 1 Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews
  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Nice compact, bad quality

    |
    |
    Posted .

    Absolutely best form factor ever! 100% hidden behind rear view mirror. That's only good about it. Video quality is very poor for this price. No focus, bad light adjustment and absolutely impossible to read license plates on video so it's absolutely useless in case of hit and run or whatever happened. Audio quality is bad also, does not adjust level to loud music or to quiet sound. Settings are possible through PC software so at least you can make voice commands quiet but that's all you can really do. Video length is 1min and you can't change it. Emergency button records only 10 seconds before and 1min after you press button so you actually have a chance to loose event if it takes longer than a minute or happened more then 10sec before you pressed button. Also I had it stuck on greeting message playback cycling endlessly untill you unplug it and it drains battery to finally shut up. Had it happened twice during week. I had hi hopes on this device but unfortunately it goes back to store((

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with our F50. Please note, you can change more than the volume on the PC Viewer software. For more information how how to change settings on the F50 please contact our support team! All of our cameras in 1 mim segments and we purposely chose to do this. The 1 min clips in conjunction with the cameras super capacitor allows the camera to finish writing the video in the event of an accident and the power is cut off. If you have longer recording segments and the vehicle loses power the camera will not be able to finish writing the longer video clip causing the video file to be corrupted. Hold the manual record button down for 5 seconds to format the micro SD card, this will resolve your issue with the greeting message. If you have any more questions or concerns let us know and we would be happy to help!

      Email - support@thinkware.com
      Phone - 1 (866) 865 9273

      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    No Screen Means More Problems

    |
    |
    Posted .

    I purchased this camera for a family member. Before that, I had enjoyed my personal dash cam, and had been purchasing them a lot for other loved ones'. I thought this camera was going to be good for this person because his vehicle had a built in SD card reader, and the person doesn't like screens obstructing his vision while driving. Unfortunately, the MicroSD and subsequent adaptor that are included were not properly formatted. If I weren't installing this for him, the dash cam could have been useless in a crash. I will follow up after I investigate the problems. If I cant format this for his car, then I will definitely remove all the stars I can.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with the microSD card and SD card reader for the F50 model. Please note that we strongly recommend formatting the Thinkware card prior to initially using the dash cam.

      If you require any assistance with installing the unit in the vehicle, please feel free to contact us directly by phone (1-844-865-9273) or email (support@thinkware.com).

      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Grainy video

    |
    |
    Posted .

    Good: The unit is small, does not have the LCD display and is simple to use. Sound can be turned off. Bad: Video is grainy, signs cannot be made out, low quality video. Not useful if you are looking for clarity and detail. PC App is not the best or most intuitive to use. Would not purchase again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      The video quality should not be as poor as you describe it! Please contact our support team and send them a video clip so we can diagnose your issue. Email: support@thinkware.com
      Phone: 1 (844) 865-9273.
      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support. Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Started out great

    |
    |
    Posted .

    Easy to install and having the ability to just pop out the card for viewing is great. The power cord was defective though so it constantly powers on and off (or doesn't bother to start up at all). Had to buy a new cord for $30 bucks...

    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hello Eric,

      All of the Dash Cam's accessories do have a 1 Year Warranty. If you have any issues at all do not hesitate to contact us at support@thinkware.com, or 1-844-865-9273 Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Not too Impressed

    |
    |
    Posted .

    I have the F550, and it's given me problems with WIFI connectivity, and requires a firmware update which is complicated. I bought this one thinking it would be easier to use, but very limited functions and no GPS onboard.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with the F550 thus far. For assistance with your dash cam, please contact our CS department by email (support@thinkware.com) or phone (1-844-865-9273).

      Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Not inpressed

    |
    |
    Posted .

    It chirps when you plug it in and keeps chirping. It's annoying because you can't listen to your music or talk to anyone with the chirping.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with the F50. Please note that you may turn off the greeting and other alerts by disabling the volume in the dash cam settings. If you require any assistance with this process, please contact us directly by email (support@thinkware.com) or phone (1-844-865-9273).

      Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    ok dashcam

    |
    |
    Posted .

    This is an inexpensive dash cam with NO screen, that is why I'm giving it 2 stars, you can't watch anything.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      We do offer dash cams with an LCD screen. Please note that it is personal preference as some people would like to have a smaller, more discrete dam cam.

      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support. Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    No

    |
    |
    Posted .

    Doesn't have wifi had to return there is no way to connect it to your phone

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi Melissa! If you are looking for a dash cam with Wi-Fi, we recommend the F750 or X350 models, both of which are also available at Best Buy. Please let us know if you have other features you are also looking for. We can be contacted directly by phone (1-844-865-9273) or email (support@thinkware.com). Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Avoid for red-light camera detection!

    Posted .

    This item itself isn't horrible. The included SDHD card could be bigger, but outside of that the product is compact and serves its purpose. This is where my good review comes to an end. Along with this product, I also purchased the GPS sensor to inform me of where red-light cameras would be before I got to them. While it does do this, it unfortunately is never updated. My county loves to move the cameras around when people get use to where they are and they can't make any money on them anymore. As such, it's critical that the information for the whereabouts of these cameras is updated regularly. Sadly, ThinkWare doesn't update this information. I even emailed them a few times requesting that they update this information. Not once did they ever email me back, and my camera gives me false positives for cameras, and it also fails to alert me about where some cameras even are. So with that, I'd avoid this one. The extra GPS sensor to detect the lights cost me another $30, and it doesn't serve its purpose. I will be buying elsewhere in the future to satisfy my needs.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi Brian,

      We are sorry to hear that you are having a negative experience with the red light camera alerts in your area. We update our speed camera data every 6 months. Please double check that your speed camera data is up to date. If you have any issues updating the speed cam data or have any questions please contact our support team!

      Phone : 1-844-865-9273 (TNK-WARE)
      E-mail : support@thinkware.com

      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support. Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Not good for hot weather

    Posted .

    Living in south Florida we deal with the heat year round, and unfortunately this camera can not resist the heat- i had it for almost a year and always had an issue when it would get to hot outside the camera will start to malfunction--- for ex: turning on and off and constantly repeating " continuous recording will now start" 8 gb memory card will last for about 1 hour and to replay to would have to connect to a computer- not convenient if you have a crash and have to show proof- good for small things but not dependable

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi Beatriz,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience thus far with your F50. Please note that when the camera restarts frequently it is typically the micro SD card that is causing this! Please contact our support team and they will resolve your issue for you.

      Phone : 1-844-865-9273 (TNK-WARE)
      E-mail : support@thinkware.com

      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support. Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Troublesome

    Posted .

    PROS: I like that the camera is small and hardly noticeable. Picture quality is good. Easy to record. CONS: No quick view. Once the adhesive mount is installed, there is no right or left adjustment. Your only hope is that the camera is not pointed to far up or too far down. Also, with no quick view, you must unplug the power cord, remove the camera from the mounting plate, remove the card, insert the card into the adapter, insert the adapter into the PC . . . whew, you get my point.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Video quality could be way better!

    Posted .

    I bought this dash cam because I liked the looks and it had good reviews. After having it for over 6 months the only thing I like is that it conceals very nice and is easy to set up. The biggest con to me is that the picture quality is less than desirable. If you are moving you will not have a clear picture and will never make out a license plate no matter how close you get. I have two other dash cams that were about the same price and they have a much better video quality.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with the F50 video quality. In this case, can you please send a couple video files to our customer support email (support@thinkware.com) so that we can investigate the issue further?

      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

  • Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Very poor info from manual book

    Posted .

    Manual book came with the camera look thick but do not expect manual book will tell you how to use this cam , you have to go online and search infomation for how to set it up and how to use it yourself and no matter how i set it , i still can't record longer than 1 minute , very upset when i have to remove adhesive mount from windshield to returns this cam to Bestbuy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from Thinkware Product Expert
      Posted .

      Hi there,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with the F50 dash cam. Please note that the comprehensive manual is available on our product website (Thinkware.com). In regards to the dash cam recording in 1 minute increments, this method acts as a safety measure that seeks to eliminate the risk of all video files becoming corrupted in the event that the unit is damaged. However, we do appreciate the honest feedback and will forward your inquiry to our development team for reference.

      Kind regards,

      Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA