Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

GoPole - Evo 24" Floating Extension Pole - Clear-Angle_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.3 out of 5 stars with 682 reviews

89%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 682 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Broke first time I used it

    Posted
    LIZA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Bought this item for a trip. This item has clear poles that are glued together. The first time we used it, the pole collapsed where it was glued and were no longer connected. I attempted to take this item back to Best Buy after our trip but it was a few days outside of the 15 day return policy and they said there is nothing they can do. I couldn't even exchange it and was told to contact the manufacturer to make a warranty claim. The manufacturer has no number, you can only communicate with them through email. I do not trust a company where I cannot call and talk to a live person. I called Best Buy customer service to leave a complaint because I bought a product in their store that broke the first time I used it and they refused to even allow me to exchange it. The customer service person I talked to was very nice and apologized and said she would try to get the item refunded for me and it would take a few days. Its been a month and the refund never showed up. I would not recommend this product because it is cheaply made and with Best Buys extremely short return time, if it breaks outside of the 15 day return time, they will not help you or do anything about it. Disappointed in this product and as a consumer will think twice before purchasing anything from Best Buy again because of how I was treated.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GoPole - Customer Support

      Sorry for the issues with your GoPole Evo. If you follow the link below and fill out a warranty claim form, a representative from our warranty department will further assist you.

      https://www.gopole.com/warranty

      - Justin gopole

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    So Far So Good

    Posted
    KiteMedia
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I bought the GoPole Evo over a couple other floating extendable GoPro mounts. I do a lot of paddle boarding and wanted something that could act as a good hand grip, float reliably and extend to get good landscape shots. I've used it a few times out on the water and it has met all of those needs. My only complaint is that it feels a little flimsy at the point where it extends. There's a little bit of a rattle like it's not tightened up, even though it is completely tight. Not a big deal. You can hear a little rattle in the audio occasionally, but that's to be expected with a GoPro anyway. Overall I'm really pleased with the purchase and would recommend it if you need an extendable floating pole for GoPro.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not worth it

    Posted
    SnorkelsRus
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I read reviews online of several sticks and found one on Bestbuy.com that said it was in stock at our local BB. I went to BB to buy it on my way to the airport, my last stick rusted in the water. The one i wanted was not at my local BB so I had to pick this one, it was 15$ more but it seemed about the same. I opened the package on my way to the airport. The stick does not hold the goPro. The spacing on the brackets is not close enough to hold the goPro in place. It just flops all over the place. I have several goPro stands and all did not fit. I can't believe that three different stands are all too big. I wish I could take it back but I bought it and threw it in suitcase on the way to the airport.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good for pole for gopros

    Posted
    Enzo
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Its a great pole for when venturing into the pool, beach, river anything with water lol. I would have rated higher but this is based on my experience. The pole is clear which is a plus but when I bought mines it had some yellow stains on the clear pole. at the time when buying it all of them had it so I went ahead because its a go pro product. The pole fills with water guess no biggie just annoying cause if you are not careful it doesn't really float no longer lol. But being real on my review it was still worth the purchase. It did its job even though at times I was worried about the water being too within the pole. Just pump it back out lol.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Lightweight

    Posted
    tthhtt
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Right out the box I noticed a few things. I first noticed some glue residue on the black mount. There were glue goop on random places on the pole itself. There seems to be some on the inner tube as well. Even if it is supposed to be there, I find it unsightly. The pole itself it decent. It is lightweight and feels good to hold. If your GoPro starts to shift towards, you need to tighten your screw on the mount. I got this pole when it was on sale so I am still on the fence on whether to keep or return it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    great stick for better go pro selfies

    Posted
    Ch692115
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    plastic feels light but is sturdy. clear pole I think makes for better selfies. love the remote holder which makes taking pics and video much more convenient. minus one star due to the device that tightens/loosens to adjust pole length is not so easy because it has a rubber seal to keep air tight so water does not go into the hollow pole to keep it afloat. like the tightener screw to attach the GoPro compared to the OEM screw but my screw has a slight defect that I figured out I must always start screw at a certain angle for it to go in correct/smooth

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    GREAT IDEA!!!

    Posted
    lazywhiteboy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This floating pole for your GoPro is a MUST HAVE, if you are enjoying ANY water activities. We were floating down the river and it was a very good thing that I bought this floating pole for my GoPro! There were a couple of us ahead of us in the river and I was trying to get this cool shot and sure enough (just as my wife said "don't drop the camera"),.....I dropped the camera! But, each group had walkie talkies, so I keyed my friends up ahead of us to keep an eye out for my FLOATING CAMERA and sure enough, they were kind of waiting for it to come to them and BAM... THEY CAUGHT MY GOPRO! THANKS FOR THE AWESOME ACCESSORY!!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Gabs
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Well, we bought this pole to use it at the beach. I was specifically looking for one that would float just in case, you never know, especially because we like to spend most of our time in the ocean. Well, the second day we used it, it broke (we didn't drop it or anything like that). The extension came off and it wouldn't stay put, so I didn't feel comfortable using it anymore. The whole purpose for buying it (floating) was now null. My husband was so mad. The only reason I'm giving it 2 stars is because it worked the first day, but I wouldn't recommend it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GoPole - Customer Support

      Sorry for the issues with your GoPole Evo, if you follow the link below and contact us, one of our representatives will further assist you.

      https://www.gopole.com/contact

      Thanks! gopole

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Decent pole

    Posted
    wickedbusa
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have this pole along with the authentic GoPro pole. This pole is good if you're using your GoPro in water as it floats. It has a handy strap so in case you lose your grip, you don't lose your camera. It is a little big if you're just walking around since it doesn't fold down like an authentic GoPro pole. I do find that the thumbscrew on this pole is a little harder to thread through than the authentic. When extending the pole, the pole sometimes gets stuck and you have to wiggle it around quite a bit before it loosens up for adjustment.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    I returned this item before using

    Posted
    Agor75
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this for vacation to use as a selfie stick etc. On your first day of vacation we saw someone with the GoPro brand extension armthat folds into 3 sections and has a tripod, it looked fantastic so we went to Best Buy and purchased that, returning this one when we got home without even using it. The flexibility of the adjustable points in the arm is wonderful and made much more sense then just a straight pole. This one is bulky and was a pain to pack/carry around, not compact at all.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Works great for our needs.

    Posted
    Soundguy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this to take to Mexico for our latest vacation. It Worked great. The clear tube will fill up with water. This does not affect its ability to float. I checked this to be sure. The water was easy to drain. Just turn it up side down unscrew the telescopic collar extend it and close it, and you're done. Feels like it's going to last. I would,also,reccomeng a small hand sized floating one too. Selfie sticks were not allowed on several excusions. But the small ones aren't considered selfie sticks for zip lines etc.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Looks good but does not function well

    Posted
    corpomonkey
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    It's a basic Extension pole. I used it during snorkel dives in Cancun and it does the job of extending the reach. Once I got out of the water and retracted the pole, the water got inside of the clear pole. It will take days for it to dry. Also, the wrist strap will separate from the pole because while you're in the water, the screw that attaches the wrist strap to the pole will begin to unscrew and if you're not holding on to it, it will eventually float away from you. It's definitely not worth more than $20.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Top Notch!

    Posted
    GithA
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I purchased this pole due to its all in one capabilities. The pole extends simply from 24" to 48" just by unscrewing the locking seal and pulling outward. The pole is perfect for shots on the GoPro as its clear nature doesn't cause it to stick out like the metallic or chrome styes. The pole also floats very well and has a strap for added protection. With two years of ownership I can say this is one of my best GoPro accessory purchases and I enjoyed it so much my brother bought one also for his GoPro Session.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Accessory!!!!

    Posted
    Benson
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The GoPole floating extension pole is awesome! We do a lot of filming with a GoPro with activities that involve water...wake boarding, surfing, skiing, tubing, paddle boarding, jet skiing, jumping from bridges, etc...our previous extension pole did not float and we did not have a floater on the camera so the camera is at the bottom of the lake. Now we have a floater on the camera and the floating extension pole so we are sure not to lose our videos! It is easy to use and looks professional! Love the product!!!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best Everyday GoPro Accessory

    Posted
    useurnoodle
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Before I bought this item I was snorkeling in Maui and found a turtle! I got some decent footage of it, but it would have been better with a longer floating handle. I looked at other reviews and this one was really rated the best for waterproof floating extension pole. The grip feels really good in your hands. The quality of every part of this item is superb. Get yourself one of you are serious about using your GoPro on the water! You won't regret it!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great add on

    Posted
    Casemonster
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I recommend this for anyone why want to use their GoPro in a body of water! This game is some awesome shots in the ocean and I use it sometimes when I go fishing. The seal can spin if it gets caught by the cap so go slow when making adjustments or you’ll lose the water tight seal and then you won’t be able to lock/adjust or float!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    POOR construction!

    Posted
    oldloudmouth
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    My experience with this piece of equipment is that: 1. The rubber washer inside the adjustment screw-clamp about mid-shaft does not stay in place and continually moved around. This made the extension of the pole practically impossible, so much so, that as I was pulling hard trying to extend it, it came APART?! 2. The tightener on the end of the pole that tightens the camera to the pole never became tight enough to keep the camera from moving?? Never again.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GoPole - Customer Support

      Sorry for the issues with your GoPole Evo. If you follow the link below and fill out a warranty claim, one of our representatives will further assist you.

      https://www.gopole.com/warranty

      Thanks! gopole

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Pricey but good

    Posted
    Selfiecrazy
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My husband did NOT want to pay $50 for a plastic tube. I talked him into it. He agreed that in the middle of the ocean, the peace of mind that your gopro wouldn't sink to the bottom of the ocean was worth the premium. This thing worked great, is compact to travel with, and works as advertised. Only downfall is that it lets in a bit of moisture to the sliding action part. Not fun to think about with sea water. A quick disassembly each night allowed it to air out to factory dry.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Floats Inverted

    Posted
    jack
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Works as described. Really floats but inverted. Good for videos because has a good reach and is comfortable to hold. Not so good for stills unless you have a Bluetooth remote. You will find yourself constantly reaching up for the shutter button which is even more difficult in the water. Invest in a floating stick with built-in waterproof Bluetooth remote.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    2nd one

    Posted
    Truth
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First one got water leaking into the top half from the black piece while snorkeling in the Keys. I returned it and the service was amazing. I didn't have my receipt but since I purchased with a card, they were able to search for it in their computer and I was able to exchange for another one. My friend tried out the second one and no complaints of water leaking back in. I read reviews about this stick and it was highly recommended. I believe I just had a bad pole.

    I would recommend this to a friend