Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Honeywell - 550 Sq. Ft. Portable Air Conditioner - Blue/White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 505 reviews

83%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 505 Reviews
  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Not impressed

    Posted
    Dansingqt
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    The air only blows strong out of the sides of vent leaving the center of room where we can physically still feel warmth. Since it oddly blows more from sides, one would think that air would circle toward center and have some type of circulation to keep entire room at even temperature. My room is not very big and I've had other Honeywell portable air conditioners with less BTU'S keep it cooler. When you entered room you could feel the difference from the outside heat. But they never last more than two years. This is my 4th Honeywell so I decided to buy for a larger room this time (even tho it's for the same room) Sadly, it's performance is not even close to the others with less BTU's. When you walk into room now you only can feel coolness if you walk by sides of unit. You can stand right in front of vent and barely feel the air. Walk a few steps away from center of unit and you can't feel anything and literally start sweating from the heat pockets you can still feel the most of the room. The opening lid has a section in the center that apparently redirects the air thru this passage and you have to practically close this lid to feel air come out evenly from entire vent but then that also limits the air flow even if unit is on high. Even with this redirection of air flow in center you can still only feel it from sides more. What a waste of this big vent opening...and I miss the swing feature my other units had. This Unit barely keeps the room at 82degrees and must run constantly on high with heat pockets thru out the room. My other units kept my room at 72degrees evenly in energy saver mode....and on low!!! Either I got a lemon or its just poorly designed with the lid"s redirection of air flow. I liked the others better when the air blew evenly from the entire vent opening. I have had to use my ceiling fan (wasting more energy) just so the air from the unit could circulate to keep center of room cool too..I have also had to rearrange my furniture to relocate where I normally kept unit in corner. Now I have to angle the unit and move it closer toward center of the room as far as vent pipe can allow without jeopardizing that flow...just so the ceiling fan can catch the air from sides of unit better. Now an eye sore in my room with a hose that is inconveniently located but finally dropped a few degrees but still has heat pockets in room without ceiling fan. So basically the Air is not reaching/covering the footage that it should cover. And since my room is smaller than the square footage this unit is supposed to be for, I'm not impressed at all. supposedly was the best between the only two models Best Buy sold in the stores in my city according to salesman!!!! I would've returned it if only I had the cash to buy one at home depot. But I guess it's better than not having a unit at all this summer. I just wish I didn't have to pay $600 for the biggest yet crappiest Honeywell unit I've ever owned. That's double than I've ever paid. Ha! that's also the price of having credit at Best buy and my only affordable choice in this case since my last Honeywell compressor died in middle of heatwave here in Nevada... oh yes...tried taking lid off but because of the vent facing up the air just blows up and does not travel opposed to vent facing forward with air blowing out toward rest of the room...others blew air out and down especially when unit Sat on corner table. If I put this unit on table air would just keep ceiling in that corner cooled....so bummed I wasn't prepared for my 3rd Honeywell to fail me and wishing Best Buy had other choices or I would've tried another brand rather than get a 4th Honeywell product. I even bought coverage this time too but they can't fix the design of the unit one salesman told me after I told all of this to him.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best portable Air Conditioner on the Market

    Posted
    TJM271
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This Honeywell portable air conditioner is a solid unit. Was super easy to install, maybe took 15 minutes and that was because of the terrible design (imho) of the window seal. The problem was that it doesn’t fit windows of a certain size, without having the opening of a seal overlapping the other. The window seal was installed in a very common 36” inch wide window, so it should have been designed to fit such a window size that is so common. If you have a hacksaw, it’s easily cut since it’s a pvc type plastic, however I would rather that they included another shorter piece of plastic seal that could be used instead of the one they included. Now with that said, this is a minor flaw imo and I still rate the quality as 5 Stars as the unit is super quiet, even running on high and is sturdy compared to other portable Air Conditioners I looked at. Make sure when looking at BTUs you are paying attention to DOE (Dept Of Energy) BTUs vs other standard, especially if buying in USA. BTUs for this model, based on DOE are 6,500 vs 12,000 using other standard rating. This makes a huge difference when determining how much it will cool down a room or area. I originally bought the Honeywell model for 450 sq feet and it was not strong enough (btu wise) to keep the room as cool as I like it. So in my opinion, pay the extra $$$s and buy this model which is for rooms up to 550 sq ft. Since I exchanged the previous model and upgraded to this current one, my room has maintained 69 degrees on a 95 degree day outside. My room is approximately 390 sq ft that I’m cooling to give everyone an idea. Last item to mention, make sure the unit stands upright for at least 60 minutes after transporting ... which most likely the product was transported on its side while driving or shipping. It takes time for the coolant to properly settle and if not given at least 60 minutes, you may run into issues with no cool air and feel it’s broken. Overall, a great product that I’m glad I purchased. Now hopefully it will continue to operate as good as it has since I set it up.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you're satisfied with the performance of our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. If you haven’t already, remember to go to HoneywellHomeComfort.com/product-registration to register your product and warranty with us. Thanks again! JMATEK

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Skip the hassle

    Posted
    JCoCo

    In the midst of a killer heat wave here in Long Beach, I did my research and bought the best portable AC that was available in my area. I brought it home to my house/sweatbox, excited to get things cooled down. Installation was NOT a breeze. The exhaust tube that connects the unit to the window is supposed to twist together but after 20 minutes of wrestling with them they continued to fall off (both ends). A few times they did screw in but fell out whenever moved slightly. SUPER FRUSTRATING! All this time it's 96 degrees in my house. The panel that fits into the window leaves quite a bit of space around it to get the cold air out and hot air in. The engineering leaves a lot to be desires, but I was finally able to fit the tube together and get the AC going. However, after an hour of being on full blast, with all windows closed, the temperature in my house only went down from 96 to 94. After another hour, we got to 92. When you are melting inside your own house, you don't want to wait two hours for four weak degrees of relief. The room I was using it in is actually smaller than the unit claims to cover, and all the doors were closed, and yet it achieves barely more than a fan would. To top it off, when someone walks by or the wind blows, the exhaust tubes tend to fall out of their sockets, starting the installation process all over again. I plan to return this to Best Buy (if I can wrangle the 80lbs behemoth back into my car). Thank goodness for Best Buy's "generous" return policy of 15 days (!), pushing expensive service plans on customers instead of offering a reasonable return period like Target has (90 days). Best Buy staff assured me that I could return it if I was not satisfied. Let's hope that's true, will update. Many reviewers seem to feel that AC window units are much better - maybe that's the way to go. Stay cool! :)

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Double the waste of money

    Posted
    SweatyGuy

    I originally bought the Insignia 450 sq ft portable air conditioner because it was highly rated and only $250. It worked like a charm, instant cold air and I actually had to turn it off throughout the night. Then it started leaking out of the bottom a few days later, turns out a manufacturing error... I lugged it into the nearest Best Buy and asked for a return which I was told no since it was over 14 or 15 days, whichever. They gave me store credit since the store only carries that brand online. That left me with the option of paying $400 or $500 for the Honeywell air conditioners. I'm a pessimist, so I paid the extra and went for the $500 model doubling my price for the geek squad 2 year warranty as well. I got this model home, and it was similar installation so it was easy. Turned the model on and adjusted the settings to cold on high. It felt slightly colder than a fan did. I adjusted all the way down to 60 degrees and there was no change... Left it on all night and it went from 85 degrees to 79 degrees in 8 hours. It was 72 degrees outside that morning. The best buy staff assured me that Honeywell was the best brand and they would be amazing but they cheaper Insignia proved way better. Did I mention my room is maybe 200 sq ft? I will be attempting to return this air conditioner and attempt to find a model that blows cold air AND doesn't have manufacturing errors... Did I also mention the box says "550 sq ft" and the item number online says "450 sq ft". Maybe I paid an extra $100 for 0 sq ft. Good luck everyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi there, This is not what you'd expect with our Portable Air Conditioners and we would like to check into this on our end. Will you connect with us at 1-800-474-2147 (between 8:30 am - 5:30 pm EST Monday - Friday) or via email at usinfo@jmatek.com with your units full model number and purchase date? We look forward to hearing from you so we can help make this right. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Not as easy as it looks

    Posted
    GadgetLover
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    My wife and I were looking to replace a window unit we had that had broken down. I was thinking more along the lines of an 8,000 BTU window unit for around $250.00-$300.00. We then saw this model, and having lived in Europe for a while, I knew these types of units were widely used. While not overjoyed at the price (over $500.00 by the time we were done) I figured it was a good investment as we could leave it in the room and use the dehumidifier if needed. What should have been as easy set up was very taxing and time consuming, in part due to the incomprehensible instructions. Installing the hose into the unit was a chore, but at least secure. However, installing the window vent and metal sealer strip in the window was a 20 minute process that left both my son and myself in a dripping sweat. Will say, however, once installed (sort of, as the window strip keeps shifting) it cooled nicely, but wish there were a way of directionally directing the airflow other than moving the whole unit. It's a good looking unit, reminding me of Rosie the Robot on the Jetson's and it's footprint is ideal for a smallish sized room. While it cools well, it doesn't feel like 12,000 BTU's, but then again, I'm not quite sure what 12,000 BTU's is supposed to feel like. If you can get past the truly baffling directions, and needlessly difficult vent installation, I think you'll be happy with it. Oh, the remote that comes with it is virtually useless; info totally unreadable, and be very careful about how you use the dehumidifier. Very poorly designed and virtually useless if used with a "Shallow pan, not included" of course.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    A bulky but relatively attractive cooling machine.

    Posted
    Nate
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I was very reluctant to purchase a portable A/C unit, but times are hot and my horizontal-slider windows prevent me from installing a traditional window unit (I'm a renter). It's big. It's heavy. Those were my first observations. After unboxing it, however, I found the industrial design to be fairly attractive. I'd say this thing looks about as good as any portable A/C can look. It's got a nice gloss white finish and gentle curve to the exterior, room-facing surface. The large hose running to the window is - of course - an eye sore, but it's a necessary compromise in the name of comfortable living. Let's be clear: this unit is cooling my 150 sq ft bedroom without a problem. I have not tested it in a larger space. Keep that in mind. I'm pleased to report, however, that this unit was able to drop the temp in our bedroom one night to 69 degrees when it was 98 degrees outside at midnight. After that, I knew it was a keeper. So, why four stars? I think, given the price, they could have made an effort to include a more visually pleasing hose (perhaps wrapping it in a cloth of some sort). Also, it's noisy. Just be aware. It gargles and clicks all night long. I don't have a problem sleeping through that noise, but some people might. And finally, given the price, I would have liked Wi-Fi functionality so that I could remotely turn on and off the A/C (e.g. on my way home from work). I'll be keeping it and look forward to the day when I own a house and install this unit in a garage or studio of some sort.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Nate, Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're happy to hear that this Portable Air Conditioner is working great to keep your bedroom cool this summer. Your feedback about the design of the exhaust hose, noise level of the unit, and Wi-Fi compatibility are very important to us as we continue to develop our products. Thanks again! JMATEK

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Clean product, easy setup, works well enough.

    Posted
    James
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I got this unit to cool an approximately 12'X9' room with a 10' ceiling and one large window (about 6'X8'). The unit was really easy to set up which is really just attaching a hose from the back of the unit into the bottom of the window. They get a simple two plastic pieces, one fits into the other and slides to fit the window width. I unfortunately had a window that was too big for just the one plastic piece, but too large for the second as the inner piece blocked the hole that the vent attaches into. I was forced not to use the 2nd tube and just used the box Styrofoam to plug the remaining space in the open window. Bit of a design flaw, you could cut the plastic to make it fit, but I wanted to avoid that in-case I returned it. The unit remote is nice, but doesn't auto sync when you change setting on the unit itself without using the remote. It seems to have a hard time keeping the temperature below 80 on hot days in the 90's+, though this room has high ceilings and a huge window so maybe 14k BTU would have been better. The unit seems to work a little better when the temperature is set lower than you actually want so. That seems pretty par for the course with air conditioners. It works though and its got a pretty low hum while running. I have it right next to the couch and it doesn't bother me while watching TV. Great unit, maybe get the bigger model if you have strange rooms like I have.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Design Flaw

    Posted
    KLSUWizard
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    I bought this unit to replace a 8000 BTU window unit that was barely cooling the room, so I thought moving to a 12000 BTU would improve the overall cooling. The room is upstairs (bonus room), but well insulated, and about 330 square feet of a single room. I carefully followed the installation instructions. The net result is that it did not cool as well as the 8000 BTU window unit. It my opinion, it appears to suffer from a design flaw on the way the compressor is cooled. There is an exhaust port to the outside, but there is no intake port except from the room you are trying to cool. This appears to cause a slight vacuum on the room, causing air to be pulled in from other sources, like the threshold of the doors in the room. The problem is that the outside temperature here in the spring can be 80 to 90 F (and summer is higher), with high humidity and when the temperature was set on 68 on the unit, it never got below 76 - 78, even at night, as indicated on the unit. The unit air output temperature was measured at 53 to 55 F, so that does not appear to be an issue. Overall, I am disappointed in the overall performance, and I am returning the unit.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Quick, and cool

    Posted
    FuturamaLover
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Bought this unit prior to hurricane Irma making it's way through. With it's low watt usage, it was a GREAT fit for my bedroom, and generator. My generator was running 2 refrigerators, a few lamps, and this AC unit. The Honeywell unit used so little power, I've decided it's cheaper to run it in my bedroom and keep the rest of the house a bit warmer. While some people complain about the noise, mine it almost TOO quiet. I have to have some sort of white noise to sleep, and a cold room. This unit provides both. The noise isn't a nuisance, but JUST right. The dehumidifier is amazing, and is large enough to be able run for 24 hours without needing to be emptied. I'm tempted to buy more for the front of the house that gets warmest in the summer heat. To give a comparison, we have a top of the line Trane 21 SEER ac unit in our house that keeps it nice and cool. Adding this unit to the bedroom, I can get the temp to a nice 60 degrees, wicked fast. Our power never went out during the hurricane thank goodness, but a co-workers power did. He borrowed the unit and was amazed and bought his own.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Thank you for the positive review and thank you for being a Honeywell Customer. JMATEK

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Portable air conditioner, works as described.

    Posted
    BBBB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It uses 900 watts of electricity when running, 8.1 amps. I have only used the air conditioner feature (not the dehumidifier function). This was the only unit the store had at the time, and it had apparently been purchased and returned by someone else because this had the "inspected by Best Buy" tape on the box, though it seems to work fine and appeared to be in brand new condition. NOTE: Depending on the width of your window, you might have to cut a piece of plastic from the end of the included window spacer kit so that it fits. The window spacer kit for the vent is supposed to fit window openings measuring from 26.6 inches up to 52 inches. I used it in a window with a 36-inch opening, and I had to cut a couple inches off of one of the two plastic spacers because one spacer overlapped and blocked a couple inches of the vent opening, preventing proper connection of the vent hose. I wondered if that's why the other person returned it because they didn't have a hacksaw like I did to cut through the plastic to make it fit a standard 36-inch window.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Thank you for your rating and being a Honeywell customer. Happy Holidays, JMATEK

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent AC !! Surprised to see Negative Reviews

    Posted
    NJStealth
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    So I tried purchasing a portable air conditioner from Walmart and it was a 300 dollar fan. I was very discouraged and thought all portables were going to be this way. I purchased this unit and they matched Amazons price online very easily with great Best Buy support and picked this up from the store. People in the store put it in my car were very professional and was thrilled about service. Now back to the AC. I am very impressed with the quality and how cool this AC is. I like to be freezing and I am very picky when it comes to air and my central air doesnt cool my office good enough as I am always sweating from working but this unit makes me so cold that I often put it in sleep mode cause I am too cold!!!! In 90 degree weather I have maintained 73 degrees in my office and this machines evaporation feature is fantastic I have no leaks no water tray to empty . I couldnt be any happier. I may buy another one for the bedroom this unit is in a 500 SQ FT office and its freezing in here!! Thank you Best Buy and Thank you Honeywell!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! We're glad to hear you're loving the performance of this Portable Air Conditioner and that it's keeping you cool and comfortable this summer. JMATEK

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not cold enough!

    Posted
    mgrmn
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    It worked ehhh the first 7-8 months where it would reach 60-65 degrees but thats only if the weather outside is below 70s. Now its summer where tempratures are above 90s and this air conditioner doesn't go below 75 degrees in a small 10x15 sq ft. Bedroom. I feel the internal thermometer is not sensing the true temperature of the room. So the compressor never kicks in where you have it set to. I'm going to try and see if i can exchange for a higher btu model. I suggest you do too. I also don't like the way the vent only directs the air upwards rather than shoot straight horizontal like my old one did. I often like to feel the blown compressed air being shot straight at me next to my bed. It is quieter than my previous and only one exhaust duct rather than two, I give it that! But if i must go back to a two duct system (one intake and one exhaust) to get colder results, then I rather go back to that. I need my 60-65!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. This isn't what you'd expect and we would like to check into this on our end for you. Will you send us a note at usinfo@jmatek.com with your units full model number and the purchase date? Or you can give us a call at 1-800-474-2147, between 8:30 am - 5:30 pm EST. We are here to help and look forward to hearing from you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good Portable unit for bedroom

    Posted
    Katie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I got the Honeywell 3 in 1 portable to supplement the AC in my older home's master BR. Only used the AC feature so far which works very well. I was not immediately aware the hose that connects to the back of the unit would require as much real estate. It requires about 1.5 feet from the window and to angle it properly the AC unit + hose is approx 2 feet into the room. The box and internet pic doesn't show you the hose. The window to hose connection plate is not well designed compared to the quality and cost of the unit. It did not make an air-tight seal when I close the window so I needed to supplement with my own foam tape seal. Perhaps my older home windows might be the reason. It cools my 14x12 bedroom quickly and is spec'd to handle a much larger space. I run it off and on during the night using the timer setting. Wish the remote would light up to make it easier to see the buttons and remote in the middle of the night.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Great as long as summer is mild

    Posted
    Jomima

    If your average summer day is no hotter than 87 degrees at its peak and you’re cooling the average apartment master bedroom, this is a great option for you. It can cool the room as low as 59 degrees. It typically cools the room from around 82 degrees down to 59 degrees in about 10-15 minutes. Recently we had a rare temperature spike to between 88-90 degrees and this unit simply choked on it. It couldn’t get below 66 degrees and on the hottest days it held at 72 degrees even though we specified 60 degrees as our preferred zone. My husband did biweekly cleaning and draining of the unit and even after being freshly cleaned a second time in the same week (just to be sure it wasn’t abnormal dust buildup) on a particularly hot day the temperature still wouldn’t budge from 72. It just doesn’t seem able to handle higher temperatures. So bear that in mind when considering a purchase.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    I paid how much for this?

    Posted
    NotDoctorFreeze
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I gave this A/C 2 stars simply because it hasn't been hot enough where I live to run it more than 5 or 6 days in the several months I own it. I've owned a Continental Electric portable A/C (yeah, I never heard of it before either) for years and NEVER had to drain it. I ran this in dry mode by mistake and needed to drain it in about 2 hours. Of course, when you schedule it to start 1 hour before you come home and, when you arrive, you're met with a message to empty it and it's 90 degrees in your apartment, well, you get the picture. There were no reviews available for this model but other Honeywell A/C's were rated fairly well. What helps make this machine a true nightmare is the hose connections on both ends of the hose. I have duct tape on the part that "fits" in the window. It came in 2 parts but the parts do not fit together well. My windows width is 32" and I will need to get part of the hole cut in the board that fits in the window to be able to fit the connector into it. The other connector in back of of the machine could also be better designed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Definitely Cools!

    Posted
    cwnco
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I bought this and put into my master bedroom. Let me tell you that this thing really cools down rooms!! Being the master bedroom, you're not only cooling the largest bedroom, but also the master bathroom, and closets. Well it got the temp down really great during the July heat! My condo hardly has any insulation in the attic, so I needed help cooling down a lot! I put this on 72, thinking I would be lucky to get it down to 74 - 75. Nope! It got down to 72!! And so I had to try it at 70, and it got there too! I was also amazed at my electric bill. I was thinking oh crud I am going to have a huge electric bill. Not! My bill was at the typical rate as in the spring! And it never got close to my highest bills I've had since living here! I was totally amazed! It runs quiet too! No need of yelling to hear myself think ha ha! It made a huge difference than what I was dealing with before I got it. I was so grateful that I decided to buy it!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not happy

    Posted
    ToohotinMI
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    DOES NOT COOL WELL for the area its advertised for. Cold air doesn't happen. Cool air at best. Not even close to what I had hoped for. Also, the pan for collecting water is tiny. We hook up the hose and it doesn't drain from the hose and still goes to the pan on the very bottom which is a pain in the rear to change when this is on high carpet. A smaller window shaker truly does a better job than this and I am upset with myself that i bought this. Perhaps this would be okay as a supplemental source of cooling, but not as a primary. Also, assembling the hose is a real pain and keeping it assembled while connecting to the window is just as much of a pain. Good price at least, bad idea if you want cold air.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi, We're sorry to hear about your experience with our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner. The cooling efficiencies of these units are affected by environmental factors, and there are ways that we can increase the efficiency of Portable ACs. Please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 AM and 5:30 PM Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can help provide a solution for your room conditions. Our Portable Acs are covered by a one year warranty so you might be eligible for an exchange/warranty replacement if the unit was purchased new. We look forward to making this right for you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Did not drain correctly from the start

    Posted
    Chuck
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Out of the box the plastic housing for exhaust did not line up The first time I used the dehumidifier (my second week of ownership) it would not drain out the upper drain for continuous draining. When I called the company they acknowledged they were having problems with that drain and have asked me to submit all kinds of pictures to see what they will do. I tried to return to Best Buy but it had been 21 days so they told me I had to deal w the company as their return policy is 14 days :( I have been going back and forth with the company, hoping to have it resolved soon,

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Delivered in a broken box

    Posted
    bob1500
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Somehow this AC was a repackaged item. I did not order an open box. When I opened it you can tell it was repackaged. The plastic was not on properly, the Styrofoam was all broken and there were missing pieces like the remote and the window mount. The delivery kept getting delayed. This was impossible. Best buy was nice about it setup a pickup for this and sent out another one. They are sending me a gift card, but it wasn't much. Again the 2nd delivery kept getting delayed. This new one was damaged as well (broken power cord )when it finally came. and I'm waiting for them to pick it up. If I can get a working one I could then decide if I can recommend it or not

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      JMATEK

      Hi Bob, We're very sorry to hear about your experience with the shipping and handling of our Honeywell Portable Air Conditioner. Unfortunately, these units can get damaged during transit, and we're sorry that both of your first units were delivered broken and unusable. We're happy that you're working with Best Buy to get another replacement unit. If you have any questions for us, please give us a call at 1-800-474-2147 between 8:30 am and 5:30 pm EST Monday through Friday or send us an email at usinfo@jmatek.com so we can assist. Thank you. JMATEK

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Got what I paid for.

    Posted
    CRBieker
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    A/C works great as long as you are realistic about the space you are trying to cool. So many factors play into how well your home will cool down from one source. Wish Inwould have gotten the 14,000btu version for a bit more but the 12,000btu is no slouch. It would be better to have too much cooling power and bring down the fan speed than have too little and have it run non-stop. As commenters have said in previous posts, constructing the hose is not the easiest but more specifically the plastic "nozzle" that attaches to the window piece is the main culprit of frustration. If you use a small blunt object to help snap the two sides together it's not too bad. Just be aware the little plastic posts are easy to break off with improper force.

    I would recommend this to a friend