Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

KitchenAid - 24" Top Control Built-In Dishwasher with Stainless Steel Tub - Stainless steel-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars with 382 reviews

95%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 382 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    BEWARE OF PURCHASING ANYTHING KITCHENAID WHIRLPOOL

    Posted
    Mike

    We purchased a brand new Kitchenaid dishwasher in a brand new home. The dishwasher never worked, we had 3 service calls, they replaced motor and the power board, and now they won't replace the unit. Here's how it played out... We closed on a brand new house early January 2018 with all new Kitchenaid appliances (Refrigerator, Range, Range Hood, Microwave, Dishwasher). This dishwasher never worked, it would not circulate or dissolve the soap, nor would it dry at all (it is supposed to have heated dry, and yes, we filled the Rinse Aid with their suggested brand before ever running it). Whirlpool/Kitchenaid sent a service tech three separate times to work on it. The motor was replaced, and the power board was replaced, but it still doesn't circulate or dissolve the soap, nor does it dry at all, same exact issues as stated above (see the attached photos for proof). After one month of going through this process, we spoke with customer service and requested a replacement. Then had to wait another 2-3 business days for someone to hopefully approve the replacement. Robin (refused to give her last name because she obviously knew they were in the wrong) from Whirlpool/Kitchenaid finally got back to us and determined that they would NOT replace the dishwasher. At this point, we have NEVER been able to use this dishwasher. We also found out through this painful process that this particular model has been discontinued, and Whirlpool/Kitchenaid also has a "service flash" on this unit (something related to a defect with the upper rack system), which was told by their direct tech line to the onsite service tech. This unit, ours in particular, is obviously a "lemon" and needs to be replaced. We are shocked and distraught that Whirlpool/Kitchenaid would not back their own product, especially with the "Kitchenaid" brand which is supposed to be their higher end brand. It is appalling how this company operates and conducts business, and how they've treated us as true Kitchenaid customers. Please keep in mind that this is a brand new house with all brand new appliances, and the builder wanted to install FRIDGEDAIRE PROFESSIONAL SERIES appliances, but we specifically requested and paid for KITCHENAID, which is turning out to be the biggest mistake we could have made. All we wanted was a working dishwasher, which we never got, now we have to go out and purchase ANOTHER one on our own, because Whirlpool/Kitchenaid will not back their own products, which is a total disgrace. We cannot understand for the life of us how ANY company could leave their customer with a brand new non-functioning dishwasher!!! BASED ON OUR PERSONAL EXPERIENCE WITH THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE (OR BLATANT LACK THEREOF), WE CANNOT RECOMMEND ANY KITCHENAID OR WHIRLPOOL PRODUCTS TO ANYONE FOR ANY REASON.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good set of higher end features for the price

    Posted
    SpartanAltoGB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I purchased this dishwasher on Black Friday for $500, and for that price, I am quite happy. It's very quiet, especially compared to some $300 low-end dishwashers I've used in the past, though probably not as quiet as a $1200 Bosch. Basically, unless you are in a 300 sqft apartment, you won't hear this running from another room. The top rack is adjustable, so you can lower it if you have tall cups, or raise it if you have tall platters in the bottom rack. It also has a single light in the top right corner of the face that indicates when it is running and when it is done, so that you don't have to guess when it is finished or walk over to it to listen. I will say, in order to get the most out of this dishwasher, you will need to use higher end dishwashing detergent. I refuse to pre-wash my dishes, because that defeats the purpose of a dishwasher, so having dishes come out clean without pre-washing is very important to me. The off-brand liquid stuff we used to use did not get the dishes consistently clean, so before I gave this 2 stars, I decided to try Cascade Platinum packs, and now the dishes come out consistently clean. I will try to back down to the slightly cheaper Cascade Complete packs when the Platinum packs I have run out. I will warn that you must be careful putting the handle on when installing. One side slipped while I was reaching for a tool, and it left a HUGE GOUGE in the stainless steel surface that I now have to cover up with a big Dirty/Clean magnet. Basically, if you don't keep FULL FORWARD pressure on the handle until it is fully secured, it will slip and scratch the surface. This could have been designed way better to prevent this from happening by simply having a lip to allow the handle to "hang" there, or having the instructions tell you to put the handle on before standing the upright! Without this error on the part of the manufacturer, this dishwasher would be 5 stars all day long. Unfortunately, that gouge is now a giant eyesore that I have to live with.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Does Not Dry - Water Everywhere

    Posted
    ConsumerJL
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    After extensive research, we purchased this dishwasher in hopes of having an excellent experience based on consumer reviews, however our experience has left us questioning the quality of this dishwasher. We have had the dishwasher since January 19th of this year and not once has this dishwasher dried properly. Since it remains wet inside, the dishwasher has developed a moldy/musty smell which is very strong once you open the door and this dishwasher has only been in use for three weeks. We have condensation and water droplets ranging from a bead of water to approximately an inch in diameter coating every stainless steel wall, inside door, and bottom of the dishwasher. This foul smell is due to the residual water remaining in the dishwasher. This stagnant water will lead to bacteria growth and will possibly leave us with contaminated dishes after a cleaning cycle has been performed. We have used the pods and rinse aid recommended by Kitchenaid. Our experience with this dishwasher is that regardless of the cycle which we select combined with using the heat dry or extended heat dry options we are left with wet dishes and the entire interior of the dishwasher remains wet too. Water is not leaking nor is it pooling at the bottom, so it does not appear to be a drainage issue. We have not interrupted the cycle at any time by pausing or canceling the cycle. We have not opened the dishwasher door at any time during the cycle nor have done so immediately after the cycle is completed. Typically, we run a dishwasher cycle between 7:00pm - 10:00pm and do not open the door until the next morning or evening. We are questioning whether this a heating element issue and if a replacement would resolve our current issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent dishwasher - subpar installation

    Posted
    JanM
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This dishwasher replaces a 15 year old Kitchenaid dishwasher. It's quieter than my previous one - I can barely hear it running. The dishes come out spotless (use the rinse aid as directed). Glad I decided on this model. This dishwasher came with free installation. The old saying is true "you get what you pay for." The installation team had difficulty installing the new dishwasher. Since my house was built in 1909, my prior dishwasher was installed on a platform to level the flooring with the cabinets. The installation team insisted that the platform had water damage and was uneven. They also asked if I measured the old dishwasher and the new dishwasher (they're the same size). They did finally install the dishwasher but it wasn't level - the right side was lower than the left. I hired a handyman (familiar with old homes) to fix the flooring/platform since the installation team insisted it that was the problem. The handyman disagreed with their assessment of the flooring/platform. It was dry, level and no visible damage. He was able to install the dishwasher level. He also made sure the vent on the left side wasn't blocked partially like the installation team had it. Best Buy's "free" installation is costing me the cost of hiring a handyman. (the reason "Value" is average) One last thing - the installation team when gathering up their tools also gathered up my screwdriver. A fact that I didn't discover until hours later.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    PIECE OF JUNK, DOES NOT WASH OR DRY

    Posted
    Laduree

    The dishwasher does not clean/wash, does not dry, and does not perform at all. The instructions said for best results use pods. It does not discourage from using gel or powered detergent. The dishwasher takes over 3 1/2 hours for normal cycle. It takes longer because, according to the manual, it uses less energy. However who has over 3 hours to wait for clean dishes when these days everything is done in nano seconds with an app. This is a piece of junk disguised with nice design, shiny sterling silver and handle. But truly a hunk of metal with options that you don’t need such as delayed washing for 2,4, 6 hours. I would just prefer a simple dishwasher that does what it’s supposed to do: wash and dry dishes. I am sorry to say the “Made in America” label is a sticker that’s slapped on a product and charges more for a non performing appliance. I hope I can return this product, although the previous reviewer Mike wrote that Kitchen Aid does not stand by its products. Very disappointing that Best Buy doesnt know that this item has been discontinued due to malfunction and still offers it to customers.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Laduree, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. If you have not had your issue resolved, please email us at NAR_Customer_Solutions@kitchenaid.com at your earliest convenience with your username (Laduree), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, KitchenAid Social Care KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Okay

    Posted
    Tuck
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I have the KDTE104ESS2 (which is no longer on the website- but is nearly identical to this model- I’m guessing mine was last years model) I purchased it from, and had BestBuy install it in December of 2016. For a 16 month old product, and one in this price point, and for having a stainless steel tub and Nylon racks; it’s racks should not be rusting in several places already! Customer Service is sending me replacements but it still shouldn’t be falling apart this fast. Especially considering since I use the recommended detergent pods and rinse aid. It does a good job cleaning dishes and pans - there’s the occasional pot or dish that you have to run through twice - , however it takes a very long time- but I suppose that complaint is with Energy Star. I do not understand how it is using ‘less rescources’- Sure it may only use 2 gallons of water per hour- BUT a cleaning cycle takes 2.5 hours! Wouldn’t it be better to use 5 gallons of water per hour and only run for 1 hour? On paper the Gallons per hour look better but this whole claim of being ‘More Efficient and Using Less Rescources’ is load of bull. It has to be using more electricity than our old unit.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Gets dishes clean, super quiet

    Posted
    MrClean
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    We’ve had this dishwasher about three weeks at this point, and so far, it is excellent in every respect. Most notably, it does its job well: dishes come out crystal clean. The prior dishwasher left glasses hazy, but we chalked it up to water quality. We were wrong. The KitchenAid leaves glasses like new. Other considerations:The exterior truly is fingerprint-proof, which was a deciding factor between it and a less expensive KitchenAid. The interior is spacious and well-designed. It’s very quiet when in operation. It’s so quiet that we don’t even hear it when it’s running. In contrast, we would only run the prior dishwasher overnight because it made too much noise if we were watching television. Only one minor issue. The controls weren’t very responsive the first day that we had it. For the next load, they worked exactly as expected even though we did nothing different. Not sure how to explain that. Overall, we’ve been so pleased that I’ve already started dreaming about replacing our other appliances with KitchenAids.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent

    Posted
    Debby
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I LOVE this dishwasher! We bought it to replace a 14 year old KitchenAid. I read reviews from all others for weeks and narrowed it down to Bosch and this one. When we went in it was all hands down the best buy! I was a little afraid of the new no heat dry but it is perfect. I have also tried the heated dry. No difference I can see. It is so quiet that I have to lean into to hear it. We have an open floor plan with great room, dining and kitchen. You can feel safe turning it on after any dinner with friends or family. I am using a rinse agent which may or may not help with dry. My China plates come out shiny and squeaky clean. I am over the Moon on this one. Yes, I would definitely recommend it and Best Buy for their service and knowledge of products.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Looks great works great

    Posted
    Chino
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I did a fair amount of research before purchasing this dishwasher. There are many upsides, such as, good looking with a modern bar to open with small red accents. Looks good. The dishes come out sparkling! Our previous dishwasher was a whirlpool that left the dishes soaking wet and not very clean. The only downside is the bottom rack does not have a lot of room... that being said it’s because of the silverware container taking up extra room, buuuut I actually really like the silverware container soooo it ends up being a wash for the lost space.. all in all great product, there is a model that’s a couple hundred dollars more that is a little more quite.. this one is not loud by any means and we usually run it when we go to bed, but if money is not a concern you might want the upgrade.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Warranty process is awful

    Posted
    Gina
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I bought the dishwasher in November. It quit in March. I bought the dishwasher from Best Buy just for the extended warranty, However, apparently with Kitchen Aid, you cannot go through best buy in the first year. So, it took 12 days to get someone to come out. Now they say another 10 days to come back out again. This is the last time I buy my appliance from Best buy as they never told me that I can't even use the extended warranty for a year. I for sure will not be buying another kitchen aid. I mean the whole point of buying a new dishwasher is so that you can use it without waiting for a repair man. I could have had a guy out here in a day to fix the thing.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Hello Gina. We're terribly sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to discuss this further with you. Please email us at NAR_Customer_Solutions@KitchenAid.com at your earliest convenience with the subject (Warranty process is awful), your name, address, a phone number and best time to reach you along with your model and serial number.
      Thank you
      Social Care Team KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    So Quiet!

    Posted
    SooperMom
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    I purchased this dishwasher for my newly constructed home. Because I have an open-concept kitchen/dining room/great room, I needed a super quiet dishwasher. I debated between this unit and a similarly priced Bosch unit, but in the end chose this one because the handle matched my cabinetry hardware. After using it for 4 months, I still can't believe how quiet it is, and it does a good job cleaning my glasses and dishes. The reason I give it 4 rather than 5 stars is that the finish is susceptible to water stains, and it doesn't thoroughly dry the glasses and utensils. The dryness factor can be resolved by putting it through an additional drying cycle, but I haven't found a solution for the water stains. Luckily, my dishwasher is on the back side of my island, so it's not highly visible.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Good basic dishwasher

    Posted
    Ruth
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This dishwasher is currently in a second home so I have run it only once. I am pleased with the performance. I had read in reviews that some were unhappy about the dishes not getting dry, but I didn’t have this issue. It has a drying element in it and I think there is an option for extra drying if desired. I’m not at this home much right now, so I leave it open when not in use to avoid moisture inside leading to odors as one reviewer reported problems with this. Leaving open when not in use avoids this problem. This dishwasher is in a small cabin so I wanted a quiet machine so that it wasn’t a terrible noisy distraction when in use and it was very quiet, so I’m pleased about that. Overall I am very satisfied thus far and would recommend this machine to other buyers.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Quiet dishwasher

    Posted
    Mike
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This Kitchen Aid dishwasher is a great quiet dishwasher. It has a bottle wash on the top rack. The settings are very easy. You just use pro wash setting and press start. The racks have a lot of room and are easy to slide in and out. You can take the silverware rack out after the load is finished. The dishes come out super shinny and clean. The dishwasher is super quiet compared to our previous kenmore dishwasher. This dishwasher has couple of spray nozzles on the top rack that you can put a bottle and large glass or cup over them to use for cleaning. This is for their bottle wash option. It works great.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed with Kitchen aid and Best Buy

    Posted
    Ljiljana

    I both Kitchen Aid dishwasher 30 days ago and since then it didn't work well. Dishes are not dry and the circle is too long, It takes 3 hr to finish. After every wash I find detergent on the bottom. Best Buy have 14 days return policy and I am not planning to shop there anymore. I was not aware of such policy, so I waited for 20 days to call and now I can not return dishwasher, I am stuck with a dishwasher that does not work well. I call customer service at Kitchen Aid I waited for 10 min for them to answer. I would never recommend this machine to anyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Ljiljana, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. If you have not had your issue resolved, please email us at NAR_Customer_Solutions@kitchenaid.com at your earliest convenience with your username (Ljiljana), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, KitchenAid Social Care KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Dishwasher is fine- not happy with extra fees!

    Posted
    Linda
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    I don’t think the dishwasher is installed correctly- I can put my whole hand in at the top of dishwasher and counter. Installer said he couldn’t raise it anymore cause it would not line up at the bottom. I also called regarding the removal of my old dishwasher- he would not take it because the was mouse droppings on it- and was told that it showed it was taken by the installer and it wasn’t. I have not received a response yet. I need to make sure the $20 removal fee will be taken off my account!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    After initial repairs works very well

    Posted
    reviewer1
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Here is an update 6 months after my initial review. The machine was not cleaning dishes and I had to call KitchenAid and they put me in contact with a local repair company. They came and had to order some parts for it. The spry arm was clogged up and another part was broken or broke when they tried to fix the first one. They had to order parts. After the repairs, it has been working very well. It is quite, but you definitely hear it working. It cleans and dries very well. If it was like this from the beginning, I would have recommended to a friend, but I feel food getting stuck inside a dishwasher part is definitely a design issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Dishwasher and AMAZING staff

    Posted
    Ashley
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    our dishwasher started leaking and we suddenly had to purchase a new one. We went to Best Buy in Marina, Ca, and we ALWAYS have an amazing experience with the staff. We werent sure what to even look for in a dishwasher but Justin C. and his manager Kyle helped us tremendously, down to putting a speaker in the dishwasher to see how quiet they were, which we NEVER would have thought of. The staff is always so helpful and it makes it always makes purchases more easier when you have people who go above and beyond to help. We lover our new dishwasher and would highly recommend purchasing it and working with Best Buy, especially the Marina team. Thank you guys for all you do!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Performance and good looks!

    Posted
    MiamiBroker
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This unit is a definitely a looker! With the iconic round KitchenAid handle with red ends, and the stainless steel tub inside, it shows the "top" in top appliance. Ease of use is also why I like this unit. Hidden top controls are easy to understand and work with. I do pre-wash my dishes lightly but they come out perfectly clean. Price is a bit on the upside but there is great satisfaction in owning this dishwasher. Has same functionality as other higher priced models from same manufacturer.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Lots of Room inside

    Posted
    Han23456
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    This is a great dishwasher. I will say I did choose this brand because my dishes fit inside and some of the other brands were too small and would not hold my dinner plates. Yes, I DID take my dinner plate to Best Buy to make sure my plates fit in the dishwasher. I would recommend that to anyone who is purchasing a dishwasher. Our sales person Larry was incredible, and the Geek Squad team who installed our dishwasher gets high marks for superior customer service.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Fantastic Dishwasher

    Posted
    Pretoriagirl
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Member

    My last kitchenmaid lasted 19 years and this new one exceeded my expectations. Follow the guidelines - & there are few as I hate complicated machines- & your dishes will sparkle like new. It's a simple user friendly machine anyone can use - even my husband !! If you are lucky Anthony will be your installer from the San Rafael branch, he is EXCELLENT- request him as your installer. It's a very quiet dishwasher which is very important to me as well. The short wash setting does a great wash & I use that most of the time.This is my new best friend !!! Sad but true after not having a dishwasher for a month.

    I would recommend this to a friend