Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Night Owl - Extreme HD 8-Channel, 8-Camera Wired 1TB DVR Surveillance System - Black/White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 108 reviews

83%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 108 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Buyer beware

    Posted
    Steph
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First purchased in April of 2017. Everything was ok until one day in December of same year we came in and there was no picture coming from the camera's. The Night Owl DVR showed power was going to it but no video feed was coming through. We plugged a different computer into our monitor to make sure that was not the issue, it wasn't. We plugged the Night Owl DVR into a different computer (to double check) still nothing. Called Night Owl and they had me try unplugging and re-plugging in of all cords, nothing worked. They said they think it was our network. Now mind you it did work for 9 months on this network without a problem. As this is a business, I could not be without a security system. I ordered another night owl December 26th 2017. About 4 months later it started giving us issues, Called night owl again and they had me do the same thing as the first call. It did start working again after my 2 hr phone call but could not pull up wirelessly on phone. Decided that was not a big deal and let it go. Now we have had the second night owl for 1 yr and 2 months and it has stopped working yet again. Night Owl informed me it was out of warranty and they would be happy to upgrade me to a different system, at MY expense. I don't usually write bad reviews as I think they are mostly written out of anger but this time I wanted to make others aware. Unless you want to be on the phone every 6 months for 1 plus hours of hold time and no help on their device, I would look elsewhere. If they would have, in any of the 3 times I had a problem told me, Let me get you a new DVR to see if that works I wouldn't be so upset. Instead they pretty much told me, sorry your problem. The cameras seemed to work ok when the DVR was working, Night vision worked pretty well also. That was why I purchased the second one in the first place. It doesn't hold much on the 1 TB HDD without us having to buy an additional Hard drive for storage. We always had a problem pulling up camera feed either live or past from away from the office. As a business owner, I can assure you this product is not worth the frustration and hours of phone calls it required to have it operate properly. I should also share that I have a Night Owl X at home for our home security, that one is wireless. I can't have a camera more than 15ft away from receiver or it can not connect. Putting it outside your house is next to impossible. Live feed on my phone doesn't work 1/2 the time with this Night Owl X neither. I am usually a pretty easy going person but at this point I can guarantee I will by a whole new system and re-wire everything before I would spend another dime on a Night Owl. Please read this as a product review, not a Complaint forum!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Steph. We responded to this review previously when you posted it to another product page. In case you did not receive that response, we are happy to reiterate it for you now. We want to look into the issues you have described further, but will need to gather some more information from you. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with your 1) name, 2) best contact information, 3) best time of day to reach you, 4) a brief description of the issues you have with your Night Owl system and 5) your support ticket number with our technical support team. This email will put you in direct contact with our internal advanced support team who will be able to look into what occurred and consider additional remedies. Thank you again for this feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Cheap Cameras HORRIBLE APP!

    Posted
    JustoGabriel
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First, I had Night Owl for many years, they used to be cutting edge and great equipment, in the last 3 years I had 2 systems, this I am about to return, 2 cameras do not turn the IR at night anymore and one completely died, called Night Owl and I was told because I have a best Buy plan, I must use Best Buy... you know, for that I would only take 1 star, I am ok with it.... But here is the reason why you shoulD NOT buy this system...the APP, Android, IOS or PC... if you have the unit to record 24/7 it will record in blocks of 1hr, if you want to check your home at any block because something happened around 55 minutes after the hour (Lets say 12:40) you MUST watch all 40 minutes till the event, no Fast Forward, No Slides, NOPE, only regular...so if you want to see a 18 minute event, you must watch the whole hour.... so, Night Owl response is to set the device to record only when it detects movement.... first flaw...if the event starts outside the camera motion detect range, you will never know, then, again...lets say you did catch the full 18 event...guess what, if at 12 minutes a key part of the event, you must go back and watch all again, as I said before, no FF, no slide. Again, Night Owl response is "download the full video" really???? yeah... useless. I will use the Best Buy Program, and get my $$$ back and buy a Chinese cctv one that will have an app that is actually user friendly. Que the canned response "we apologize for the inconvenience, we will pass your suggestion to our developer", witch translates to "we sell enough, we dont care about one person"

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon. We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with your Night Owl system. There are many advanced features built into the DVR that allow for easy access and playback. We would be happy to walk you through them and highlight different options discussed in your product manual. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with your name, best contact phone number and the best time of day to reach you. One of our agents will promptly follow up with you. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Not bad

    Posted
    Joany
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    For months I've been looking for security cameras for our home but didn't want to spend 500 plus for some that I wasn't sure if they would meet my wants. But then I came across a black Friday deal for 200 bucks and figured eh what the heck I'd give them a try and i think they are really great for the price. The were kinda of a pain to hook up because of the wires but I wanted these because of that, I was of interference w the wireless ones. On top of that I love the idea that u can use ur phone or laptop to check the cameras anytime of the day or night which is great when were away from the house or even in bed not wanting to get up, definitely peace of mind. I would definitely recommend these to a friend wanting peace of mind. Also the night vision isn't bad at all eather I'm adding a picture so u can see that.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We appreciate your feedback regarding your system. Thank you for choosing Night Owl.

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Overall decent surveillance system

    Posted
    Rodz
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I already had a 4 camera system , but wanted to expand to 8.. It was almost impossible to find cameras that were compatible with the old system so I bought this one. Cameras do what they are supposed to to do. Good picture quality in both bright day time and low night time light. Even after testing all cables and cameras prior to installation, upon initial start up ,I had a camera that didnt work. After swapping cameras, I determined it was the cable and had to purchase and rerun a new one. Checked the non working one and there were no signs of damage to the insulation. or connectors. Cables do feel cheap. Lastly, I'm not sure why all 8 cameras can be configured in 2 rows of 4 on the monitor. The only option to view all cameras at once is 3 rows of 3 leaving a blacked out corner on the monitor and reducing the picture size. Once i completely firgue playback options, I will enjoy this system.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Thank you so much for the feedback and for being a repeat Night Owl customer. Our agents are here 24/7 to assist with setup issues and will happily walk you through the playback menu. We also have the full product manual on our support site at NightOwlSP.com. Thank you!

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Worst customer service, app is not good

    Posted
    dobi
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I used Ravo brand for years and its expensive but outstanding. I have 2 Samsung indoor wireless camera and outstanding app, but night owl app is not good at all. I thing my VGA port is not working. Called customer service but couldn't resolve this issue. System is less than 30 days old but paid $200.00 for installation so can't return it because I have to go through this installation process again. Tried 2 different VGA monitors and 5 different VGA cables but no results. Another issue s if someone comes by camera in all white clothing its not catching. Big mistake buying this camera. I bought this at Best Buy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon, we are very sorry for the issues you are currently experiencing. Please contact our advanced technical support team so they may further troubleshoot. You may contact them through email at techteam@nightowlsp.com, in the email please provide us with your name, phone number and a description of the issues. We look forward to assisting you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible

    Posted
    Rwolfe
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I had high hopes for this system and I got a good deal on this. Wasted money!!! you can barely see 10 feet with the IR night vision or you have to leave a light on outside so you can see. Day quality is good. User interface for the DVR is lacking and the app seems to all ways have issues or not detect the DVR which equals no remote viewing. Would return it but I bought it on Black Friday and waited for it to get warm to install and now I have surpassed the return window so now I'm stuck with a junk system

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon and thank you for providing this feedback. Without troubleshooting with you, we cannot address the issues with your Night Vision or remote viewing. These cameras provide up to 100 ft. of Night Vision, so not sure why you are only receiving 10. Additionally, we are not experiencing any issues with our remote viewing apps. Please call our technical support team at 1-866-390-1303 at your convenience so one of our agents can work with you to address these issues and ensure you are up and running. Thank you!

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Unable to view 2 NightOwl system same network

    Posted
    TonyC
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have 1st system bought at costco and work great. Everything just scan barcode and done. This is 2nd nightowl system and problem came! No way to get this work in mobile app or pc . I chat with Night owl support. NightOwl technician support remote my pc to set up for 2 hrs and GAVE UP. Another NightOwl technician said can't keep 2 NightOwl system work at same time, same network. But I buy another Lorex system and just scan bar code , all done great! Cause Lorex DVR fan so noisy at night. I can't keep Lorex. Now I go to return 2nd Nightowl too!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Hello Tony, we are very sorry for the issue you are experiencing when attempting to get your second Night Owl system connected to your PC. Please contact our advanced technical support team via email at techteam@nightowlsp.com, in the email provide us with your name, number and a brief description of the issue you are experiencing. We look forward to assisting you.

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great cameras for beginners

    Posted
    Satisfied
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    For the price, these cameras are perfect. The quality is not 4K but it is good. One can buy the 4 channel for $100 less but to buy extra cameras it is $100 each so it’s better just to buy the 8 and if you do not use all the cameras then o well. Installation is quite easy. Once in awhile, the cameras will detect motion but will not record that motion so that’s why I can not give these cameras a 5 star. Do your research on all types because one might work for some people but other might work better for you.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon and thank you for the review! Please call our technical support team at 1-866-390-1303 to troubleshoot the motion detection issue you are having with the system. One of our agents will be happy to help!

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    very happy

    Posted
    theladyofthehouse
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    i like that night owl has no extra fees. works with or with out internet, you have options. I choose wired to prevent hacking, someone gaining access to my home or just watching. (it can happen) You can always add a small wireless or motion sensor one for watching your DVR box or just hide it really good. I Have enough bills I don't need to pay for a cloud That I have no idea who is controlling it. Installed my self it wasn't hard just time consuming, well worth it.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon and thank you for the review! We couldn't agree more! A wired system is the most secure option in the market and we don't like burdening our customers with monthly fees.

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great performance for the amount of investment

    Posted
    mcsi
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Cameras take very clear pictures and have a longer range than stated on the package. The cameras will take pictures at night as well, but the cameras must be outside to do so. The quality of the night pictures depends on the amount of light from the moon, street lights, head lights, etc. Obviously, if you can't see what is in the dark, neither will the camera; if there is enough light for you to see the cameras will be able to do so as well.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed ☹️

    Posted
    FiberOpticTech
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Not working on arrival. Have to return. I have already received 2 harrassing emails from manufacturer to hurry up and get my receipt and non-functional equipment sent in and it's been less than a week since notifying them that after I installed all of my cameras, that the DVR will not connect to the internet. I install fiber-optic cable TV and internet for a living and the technical support was sub par.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon, we are very sorry for the experienced you have gone through so far with our technical support team. We do not intend to make any of our customers feel harassed by the emails we may send to request information to process a possible warranty claim, we appreciate your feedback on this matter. Regarding the Night Owl DVR not working on arrival and if you are still in possession of the device, please contact our advanced technical support team for additional assistance, you may reach us via email at techteam@nightowlsp.us. In your email please provide us with your name, number, the model number of your system and a brief description of the issue you are experiencing. Again, we are sorry for the experienced and we hope to hear from you soon so we may be able to provide you with additional assistance, thank you.

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Absolutely Awesome

    Posted
    Kane

    I opened up the box and checked that everything was there and went to work. Approximately 1 1/2 Hours later I had the first 4 of 6 cameras installed and was very pleased, my wire management has something to be desired but who cares it worked. the system is more than what I expected (quality wise) and that being tied in with an awesome Best buy price you can't go wrong buying this

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We are very glad to know everything is working for you. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Isn’t working

    Posted
    Chris
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The system is not working or staying on. I’ve had Nightowl system in the past so I’m familiar with the system and hardware. For some reason unknown the system isn’t setting up properly I only get the night owl screen and then it blacks out and doesn’t even show me the setup window just nothing after the night owl screen it goes dark and I get “no signal”. I will be returning it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We are sorry you are having issues with your Night Owl system, please make sure that you have plugged in the correct power adapter to the Night Owl DVR. The power adapters are labeled for each the DVR and the cameras since they use different voltage. Please do not hesitate to contact our technical support team for additional assistance. We look forward to assisting you.

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great 1st security system

    Posted
    Owleye
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My 1st security system. The set up was very quick and easy. The picture during the day is ok. At night you can make out figures unless standing directly in front of the camera. Mobile app is good for reviewing remotely but there's no fast forward or rewind on playback. You have to watch the entire recording

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Thank you for the review!

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Nice cameras!!!

    Posted
    CindyLouWho
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Finally, put cameras up and they are more than what I expected as in clarity and quality. The clarity is very clear and the HD is amazing even when you zoom in. The night vision mode still gives a clear picture also. I would rate these cameras more than 5 stars in my book. For the price I paid $249 on Black Friday they are well worth it!!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We are very glad to know everything is working for your, thank you so much for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great image, Okay user interface.

    Posted
    AsusDude
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I went with this 8 camera set up so i can cover all my bases at my auto shop. It was easy to install. The only hard part is the cable management. The user interface was a bit to learn. Its not as responsive as a computer and also it seems very sluggish at times when viewing playback video.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Thank you very much for your feedback. Thank you so much for choosing Night Owl.

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    They are ok .

    Posted
    Carly
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    They are ok ! They do the job. But I had a very difficult time to install them to the WiFi and get them working. I have one that went down and is now black n white. And after a month I still have a hard time viewing all my cameras on the mobile app.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon. This issue would need to be troubleshot by one of our technicians. Please call 1-866-390-1303 at your convenience and one of our agents will troubleshoot the issue you are having. Thank you!

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    It is easy set up

    Posted
    Patty
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had a challenging time using playback. Prefer the Swann cameras better. This is a camera set that works yet has no individual playback per camera. Swann has playback per camera making it all much easier to use in a hurry.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good budget camera system

    Posted
    Stoli
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Easy to setup and install the remote viewing and notifications are nice. It will store quality high def video for about 2.5 weeks. This is the second time I have installed this system. It’s a good system for the price and I would buy it again

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Hi Stoli. Thank you so much for the review and for the continued business.

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    best purchase for our concession stand

    Posted
    michpope
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    the visibility on these are incredable , we have these since people have been opening the doors to the stands setting the alarms off and leaving we have been able to identify 2 people using these as well as we have these over our cash registers.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We are glad to know everything is working for you. Thank you so much for choosing Night Owl.