Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

KitchenAid - 23.8 Cu. Ft. French Door Counter-Depth Refrigerator - PrintShield stainless-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.1 out of 5 stars with 381 reviews

80%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 381 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    I really wanted to love this fridge but.... :-(

    Posted
    Marie527
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    First off, this fridge is beautiful. LOVE the platinum interior. Soft close drawers are great, slide out shelf/tray is super convenient. The plastic components (door bins, drawers, etc.) feel to be of a nicer plastic than other manufacturers - not brittle. The fingerprint stainless finish is awesome. I hope more manufacturers get on board with this easy to keep clean finish. HOWEVER....... 1) The ice maker is slow. If we didn't already have a separate countertop ice maker I would have bought one after a week with this fridge. You would think the cute little baby cubes (fit great in your water bottle) would freeze fast but nope. Our house uses a ton of ice but I don't think this unit could even keep up with a single person. 2) Freezer bins are very clunky sliding in and out. Unfortunately they're all plastic instead of wire. Son left a beer in there which of course exploded and there is no way to completely remove the drawers to clean under them. And no way for a normal human to reach completely back under them to clean either. 3) Water dispenser in door. I would have preferred no dispenser at all. This one is a bit confusing - two separate levers (one for water, the other for ice.) TBH I think the 'favorite fill' and other water settings are pretty useless but maybe somebody out there loves this feature? Lettering for 'water' rubbed off w/in the first three weeks. 4) DEAL BREAKER - I was willing to tolerate all of the above, but the unit continues to have problems freezing up behind the fridge housing and then it stops cooling. My Geek Squad repairman is great guy - but frankly I'm tired of seeing him. I have owned this fridge six months and am now scheduling my FOURTH appointment for the same problem. I am giving this unit 2 stars instead of 1 because I think the humidity here may have something to do with this unit failing. Even with keeping Energy Star setting turned off (a must in Hawaii), I just keep having the same problem over and over. And of course my last problem happened on Thanksgiving day when I had a ton of leftovers that needed to be refrigerated. I strongly suggest that anyone wanting to give this unit a try be sure and purchase a repair plan as 'insurance'. You're going to need it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Unreliable - Do Not Purchase

    Posted
    Greg
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Within two weeks of purchase, the ice maker leaked water in and outside the refrigerator. I visited Best Buy at 17 days after purchase and was told I could not exchange it for a version with the icemaker in the freezer because I was two days past my 15-day exchange period. Within a couple months the icemaker completely failed. Service has been out twice, and it is still not repaired. The entire door must now be replaced to fix the icemaker. I was told it could be a couple months before a new door is available. As an electrical engineer, I saw the cause of the original failure (wires for a heating element were held up by tape, which failed, causing the ice tray’s motion to break these now unrestrained wires). I also observed the attempted repair, which was unsuccessful because there was no practical way to replace the bad part. I lost confidence in the product. I am also tired of losing time for work every time there is a service call. I will not be willing to replace the door when the icemaker fails outside of the warrantee period. (How long will complete doors even be available as a repair part?) I again contacted Best Buy and Kitchenaid politely asking to exchange the refrigerator for a Kitchenaid model with the icemaker in the freezer. They refused. Bottom line. As an engineer I was skeptical of the complexity of the icemaker in the door of the refrigerator section, and my fears appear to be justified with this Kitchenaid model. Do not expect support from Kitchenaid or Best Buy beyond what is their written policy. Expect icemaker failures. I included a photo pointing out where the defective part plugs in, and where the wires were taped to the inside of the refidgerator. I can't help but wonder if other parts of the refidgerator are built in a similar manner.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Greg, we sincerely apologize for the concerns with your KitchenAid® Refrigerator and would like to look further into this for you. Please feel free to reach out to us directly 1-800-422-1230, via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KitchenAid/ or Twitter @KitchenAidCare. We look forward to speaking with you. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Pretty - but doesn't work and 4K!

    Posted
    KimberM22
    • My Best Buy® Member

    We bought in Jan 2018 while on backorder - known issue was getting resolved. No updates till April and then the manager offered us lower end model till the new one comes in. Literally 2 days after we received the lower end model Best Buy called and said our Fridge was in. (thought that was odd but in the moment was happy to get the fridge I wanted). To this point KA were known to be built well. 27 January 2019 (while on manufacturer warranty) Fridge stopped working. (freezer works) Called Whirlpool for repair - below are our 5 appts. And still no refund or new fridge. every time we call we are told they are waiting on technician paperwork, however the technician confirms he's submitted it. Now I'm unsure who to believe. I think they are running the clock out so then our Best Buy warranty will then have to cover. 9 FEB first appt Tech confirmed not working 14 FEB replaced electronic component - doesn't help 09 March confirmed still not working - this day the technician discovers from the serial no. that this fridge didn't come from the new batch of fridges that had the issue fixed, we got something from a warehouse (old bad ones) explains why we got 2 days later after BB mgr offered us lower end model till it came in. 20 March replaced compressor and not working 24 hours later - called again. Today 25 confirmed still not working. Whirlpool said they would approve replacement but must have the above from the Technician. Our manufacture warranty runs out in April. Still unsure why this fridge is still advertised, Costs a lot and too many issues. When it worked, I liked it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Hello KimberM22, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the concerns with your Refrigerator and would like to look further into this for you. Please feel free to reach out to us directly 1-800-422-1230, via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KitchenAid or Twitter @KitchenAidCare. We look forward to speaking with you. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great Refrigerator

    Posted
    Topculinary
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    We've had this refrigerator for about a month and so far are very happy with it. It is very quiet in general, but you can briefly hear the water fill the ice tray for about 10 seconds if it is very quiet in the room. The refrigerator capacity is very large and can fit a lot of large size containers. My only criticism would be that it does not have enough space for tall bottles and you can't adjust the shelves height. The drawers are amazing, they glide smoothly and close gently. The freezer has a large capacity and very sturdy drawers. The sliding trays are very helpful to keep things organized. The water and ice dispensers work very well. We all like the small ice cubes but they tend to come flying off sometimes at the end of filling our glasses. This is our first French door refrigerator, we're a little disappointed that the doors, especially the left one, tend to slam if you are not careful when closing them. It takes some getting used to. One has to consciously close both doors slowly. Not sure if this is a design flaw or all French door refrigerators have a similar problem with door closure. The interior silver is very trendy. The lighting is bright so you can easily see everything inside. The outside appearance is beautiful and the counter depth makes it look almost like a built-in refrigerator. Very happy with our new fridge!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    A total lemon!

    Posted
    Cappy
    • My Best Buy® Member

    We purchased this in April 2017. A couple of months after we got it a huge component in the fridge iced over leaving us without a fridge for almost 3 weeks. The tech that came told us this was a common problem with this fridge so why he would not have the part on his truck is beyond me as we had to wait over a week for the part to come The temp would not get below 42-45 in the fridge and we lost most of the food in our fridge. Fast forward to December....same problem. Waiting on tech to arrive today. Hopefully, he will have the part when he arrives and to add insult to injury, the ice maker has not worked in over 3 weeks so hopefully, he can fix that too while he is here. Not dumping on the tech or tech company as this is a manufacturer's defect. We have asked Whirlpool for the fridge to be replaced with a new one as this one seems to be a lemon. This is the 2nd time we've lost most of our refrigerated food. Funny thing is our basement fridge is an old school Whirlpool and it is probably 30 years old and we have never had a problem with it. Hopefully the tech will confirm with Whirlpool that they just need to replace it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Product is defective-Customer Service Horrible

    Posted
    Chasmolian
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Stay far away from purchasing this product! I don't often write reviews that are this negative. We have had this refrigerator for 3 weeks and cannot get the water to dispense correctly. We called whirlpool (On the call que for over 42 minutes and finally get a technician set up to come out). The technician comes out and looks at the refrigerator and says "It must be a bad filter you will have to get another and then call to complain to get them to send a replacement"! Really????? So rather than spend another 45 minutes on the phone we just order a new filter to see if this is the issue. We get the filter and we still have the same problem with the new filter, old filter and no filter! THe water will run for a minute and stop. Once we put a the filter in and out, water will flow again for a minute. Ice works fine so we know it it not the water line. So now we have spent another 1 hour and 5 minutes on hold and passed between 3 customer service people. Hanging up and getting ahold of Best Buy to return the refrigerator! DON'T BUY THIS REFRIGERATOR or from WHIRLPOOL/Kitchen Aid! Customer service is HORRIBLE!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    NOTHING IS EASY!

    Posted
    Alcapp
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    This is a beautiful appliance that I have not been able to fully appreciate since I'm reaching 8 months on my kitchen remodel. Today I decided to set it up with the handles, filters, bins, etc. The water filter was simple, so yay for that. The bins were ridiculously labor intensive; the bin support things were next to impossible to get in place - one side worked, but the other would not go into place. It took me about two hours to get this to work. I cannot remove the removable ice deal because there's a tiny ice cube stuck on the top corner of the bin which is precluding me from lifting it up so I can pull it out. Finally, the air filter. I didn't have a foam piece to discard like the directions said I'd have. No big deal. I snapped the filter into place, but I can't get the cover to go on. If I take the filter out, it goes back into place. Filter in, NO GO. There is a hard dark foam piece stuck to the inside of the cover, and I can't tell if that's supposed a part of it , or if that's the foam piece the directions mentioned. It's secured to the lid, so I think it's supposed to be there. I'm and educated woman who's really good at problem solving, but for the life of me, I can't get things to work properly in this fridge. For what it cost, I feel I shouldn't have to battle with this appliance.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Beautiful & Poorly Functioning

    Posted
    mdperez

    I paid $3779.99 for this beautiful fridge, and had my kitchen cabinets built in around this appliance, as well as a wine fridge and microwave, all from Kitchen Aid. Within 5 months, the ice maker did not work. Two weeks later, the Control board and evaporator cover had to be replaced because it was frozen solid and unit was not cooling. The new control board took over a month to come in. Two weeks after the control board was replaced, the unit stopped cooling. This time, it's the compressor. Word of caution, if you choose to proceed with purchase, be prepared to buy an extended warranty and have your food spoil a few times. Whirlpool will NOT replace it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Works

    Posted
    HamSandwich
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    My wife wanted this fridge because it looked pretty. Counter depth makes it seem small as there is little depth. I like that it is wide so everything is easier to get to. There are a lot of configuration and doohickeys that I have not gotten around to exploring after only 1 week of use. Lots of door storage. In door ice maker and water dispenser are good. The lock feature for the external dispenser will probably turn out to be useful with my small children. The ice bin is small and slow to make new ice. If you have ice eaters then you will likely be turning on the "max ice" feature often. If guests come over the ice will be out by the end of the night. It does produce a audible humming/buzzing sort of sound. Not loud, but always there and noticeable. It would drive me crazy if my room was nearby or if I lived in a loft. I did see something about turning off an energy saving feature to reduce noise, but have not tried anything. If I had chosen, I would get the a full size or something with a bigger ice maker.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't Buy

    Posted
    KitchenAidisAWFUL
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Bought this from another retailer. Delivered on end of June. Three weeks later water and ice not working, inside of fridge was measured at 65 deg. Contacted warranty service who came out 1 week later and said they need to order an evaporator cover, which is on backorder with NO timetable. Asked KitchenAid to replace it since it's defective and they said NO, it would have to break 3 times in a month for them to replace it. So it's been since mid July and I have no working fridge and No idea if/when it will be fixed or replaced. I have 3 small kids and have been keeping food in a cooler filled with ice. Hasn't been easy. Bought this because it's American made and wish the company would stand behind its product. Maybe I got a lemon, but i suggest not to buy it, or any other KitchenAid product for that matter!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Hello KitchenAidisAWFUL, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the concerns with your Refrigerator and would like to look further into this for you. Please feel free to reach out to us directly 1-800-422-1230, via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KitchenAid or Twitter @KitchenAidCare. We look forward to speaking with you. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    good design, but poor construction and NOISY

    Posted
    frustrated

    This Refrigerator is designed well, but constructed poorly. As others have mentioned, there is spray foam coming out of every possible place.The doors are wildly uneven, and the KitchenAid Repairman has said they are not adjustable, even though the manual says they are. And most frustratingly, it is LOUD. There is a high pitched whine coming from the control panel, and the normal running volume is high. The fact that KitchenAid representatives tell people to check a youtube video to hear how a refrigerator sounds, and even puts that suggestion in the manual, tells you that they are not meeting customer expectation in terms of the noise their products make. (Hint: improve your fridge; your customers already know what a fridge should sound like.) There are much quieter brands on the market. For the price, the refrigerator should be much better.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Junk that looks good

    Posted
    Nicekitchen

    I purchased this fridge from Best Buy in June of 2017. While it looks sharp, I have had too many problems to ignore. The cooling unit started to fail, making a loud noise and slowly bringing the temperature in the fridge up over a weeks time, 6 months after it was installed. Kitchen aid fixed it under warranty but we had to wait 3 weeks for their authorized contract repair man. The water filter sporadically leaks and has now warped the hardwood floor boards it sits on. The door handles constantly loosen up and are very difficult to retighten due to their design. Now it is just out of the 1 year warranty and the cooling unit they replaced 6 months ago is loosing power and can’t keep the actual temperature below 40 degrees. I will likely junk this expensive fridge after only 1 year of owner ship due to my frustration. Buy any other brand, please.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Nicekitchen, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. If you have not had your issue resolved, please email us at NAR_Customer_Solutions@kitchenaid.com at your earliest convenience with your username (Nicekitchen), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, KitchenAid Social Care KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Inspect your product!

    Posted
    MrTruck
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Member

    The first unit that was delivered had doors that were so uneven the delivery crew couldn't adjust them to look even marginally even. Two weeks later (a Best Buy absolute F-up story of its own!) the second unit was delivered. This second unit had doors that were kinda/sorta even but the handles on the two fridge doors were noticeably uneven! Recall, at the time of my writing this review, this refrigerator costs nearly $4000. This is NOT what one would expect from a 4k unit. By this time, I've been without a proper refrigerator for an entire month. I threw up my hands, thanked the delivery crew and signed off on the BOL. If you're buying one of these units, you REALLY need to do a thorough inspection on delivery. Best Buy looks to be buying the 2nds and factory rejects from KitchenAid. Overall, A comically bad experience with BB. I'll probably be again using Lowes and HD for appliance purchases.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Do NOT Buy! Horrible product and no relief

    Posted
    Gena
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    We fell in LOVE with this fridge while shopping for our new home. I read all the reviews, as you are now and decided to ignore them. I was a moron. Within 3 weeks the ice maker stopped working. It's summer. It's Texas. I like cold drinks. This was $4K!!! After 3 technician visits (waiting up to 2 weeks to even GET an appt), we are now awaiting a new door for 6-8 more weeks. (I see this scenario happened to another reviewer.) PLEASE don't get distracted with the awesome interior. It's NOT worth it!!! Other than a kitchen aid mixer/attachments, I'm done with Kitchen Aid products. Customer service is polite, but they refuse to bring a new fridge, give money back, exchange for another product etc - it's just horrible. I expect more out of a BILLION dollar company.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Hello Gena, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the concerns with your Refrigerator and would like to look further into this for you. Please feel free to reach out to us directly 1-800-422-1230, via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KitchenAid or Twitter @KitchenAidCare. We look forward to speaking with you. KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Nightmare Do not purchase

    Posted
    gahankins25

    Buy the Best Buy extended warranty you will need it. Still under manufacturer 1 year warranty and they are going to be replacing the evaporator cover for second time. Froze up again and leaks all over the floor. Just found out it also needs main control board replaced because the one installed at factory was made before this model produced. They installed an old control board in $4000 fridge! Of course manufacturer will not replace. They claim you must have same problem 3 times within a few months time for lemon, or it has to be deemed un-repairable. I paid the money for a product I thought was reputable but they really are no better than any other company. Don’t forget to calculate lost wages into cost of this for sitting at home for half a day to wait for technicians...multiple times in my case.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      gahankins25, thank you for your review. We would like to inquire about your review with you. Please email us at NAR_Customer_Solutions@kitchenaid.com at your earliest convenience with your username (gahankins25), a copy of the review, your name, address, a phone number, model and serial number, and date and purchase. Also please let us know if you have any extended service plan. We look forward to your reply. Thank you, KitchenAid Social Care KitchenAidBrand

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Good but...

    Posted
    SmallPaul
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Love almost everything about this refrigerator with the exception of the so-called spill proof shelves. They are not spill proof in any way. Less than a week after it arrived, 1 of our kids spilled a cup of milk inside on one of the upper shelves. The spill proceeded to drain down throughout the interior and nearly everything had to be removed to clean it up. This is/was almost a deal breaker and we almost returned it. How something like this was overlooked and allowed to enter the market at this price point from a reputable manufacturer like KitchenAid is beyond me. Ultimately we decided the other features and pain of returning to select something else outweighed this design flaw and kept it. We have adjusted a little in how we store things in the unit to minimize the potential exposure to this design flaw. The only other thing that is disappointing is that it should be more energy efficient, otherwise we are happy. It is definitely the most spacious and functional counter-depth refrigerator you can find, not to mention very attractive.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Worst Ice Maker by Kitchenaid

    Posted
    JAG55
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    If you are looking a counter depth Kitchenaid/Whirpool refrigertator with an ice maker stay away from this model. The refrigerator is great looking, spacious, the wood trim makes this product stand out and it's cold. The ice maker is another story, it is petite in capacity maker compared to the three Kitchenaid's we've owned. Second, it only produces about 1/3 of it's capacity. At best we can get two 12 ounce glasses worth in one day. If you have more than two people using ice, forget about relying on this ice maker. Go buy a bag of ice. Third, it takes 24 hours to make ice. We have had KItchenaid service techs look at it twice, stating the ice maker is working perfect and this all we are going to get out of it. It's a shame to spend $4,000 and not have a reliable ice maker in a good refrigerator.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Fridge Not Good

    Posted
    Disappointig
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Spent $10k on new appliances for my kitchen with the fridge being the most expensive item, Read some of the negative reviews on this fridge and assumed that Kitchenaid would have the fixed the problems by now.. We really needed a counter depth fridge for our new kitchen and we liked the matching with the other appliances, The ice-maker makes ice occasionally and the water filter door will not close. This fridge looks solid on the outside and has great looking design. I'm just disappointed in the fact that the internals don't work. ( ice-maker and flimsy water filter door ) Also some of the internal stuff feels really cheap...perhaps give the consumer an optionsto "buy up" and upgrade some of the interior components ? In any case I have $10K tied up in Kitchenaid of which the rest gets installed in the next two weeks as part of my kitchen remodel.I hope either Best Buy or Kitchenaid will step up and make this problem go away for me.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Buzz/hum and whirlpool/kitchen aid refuse to fix

    Posted
    Nugent1021
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus Member

    Nice looking and works. Has a continuous buzz or humming from the compressor rubbing or a bad fan, but because it “works” they appear to not think noise is an issue. The kitchenaid repair person had the nerve to say that if it’s noisier when it’s working harder then don’t open it unless you have to. Better get the Best Buy no hassle warranty. Even the Best Buy guy said he agreed it was noisier than it probably should be. This was 30 days after install. I didn’t buy their warranty. Kitchenaid customer service tried to tell me it was a bad install and the refrigerator has to be perfectly leveled or it will be ruined. Kitchenaid basically doesn’t wasn’t to deal with it until something is just completely not working, so I spent $3900 on a buzzing fridge that will probably end up in the garage. Our friends bought a Frigidaire for half this price and it’s silent. Go figure.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Can't be repaired after only 17 months of use

    Posted
    Disappointed
    • My Best Buy® Member

    Do not buy from Kitchenaid. We bought this refrigerator and it was defective from the beginning. We had several service calls within 17 months for the same problem, blocked drain. Freezer ice froze into a solid block of ice in less than 24 hours, water stopped working on the door several times and water leaked into the refrigerator. Finally after 17 months the warranty repair person said it was unfixable. Of course, after 17 months we also only got 75% of the cost of the refrigerator so we lost $1500 on a refrigerator that didn't work right from the beginning. When I called Kitchenaid to complain - they said they could do nothing. So poor quality and poor service from the manufacture. Don't buy a Kitchenaid

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      KitchenAidTeam

      Disappointed, thank you for your review.

      We’re truly sorry for the concerns you have with your Refrigerator. We’d be more than willing to discuss your review with you further. To do so, please respond back to this email address, nar_customer_solutions@kitchenaid.com, with your name, phone number, street address, the model & serial number of your Refrigerator, the date of purchase, and a copy of your review.

      We look forward to hearing from you.
      Thank you,
      KitchenAid® Social Care Team KitchenAidBrand