Main Content

THINKWARE - F800 Dash Cam - Gray

Monitor your travels with this Full HD THINKWARE dash cam. It begins recording automatically when you start your vehicle, and its 140-degree viewing angle and high-resolution camera capture the action as you drive. This THINKWARE dash cam has a file lock feature to let you save important videos.
$299.99
Or
$50.00Per month See Disclaimer 1
suggested payments with 6-Month Financing
Protection Plan Options

Standard Protection Plans

Accidental Damage from Handling Plans

Item Added.View List

Add to List

    No lists found. Create one today.
    Add Item
    Our experts recommend

    Item you're currently viewing

    THINKWARE - F800 Dash Cam - Gray - Larger Front
    THINKWARE - F800 Dash Cam - Gray
    • Item you're currently viewing
    • $299.99
    Offer disclaimer
    plus
    Subtotal:

    Overview

    What's Included


    • Main dash cam unit
    • Mount with 3M tape (1ea)
    • Car charger
    • Adhesive cable holder
    • MicroSD memory card with adapter
    • Quick start guide & Warranty card

    Ratings & Reviews


    Overall Customer Rating:
    84% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (81 out of 97)

    Features


    Urban Forward Collision Warning System (FCWS/ uFCWS)

    System calculates the real-time distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you, while driving above 30 km/h in expressways, and issues a 3-level early warning to the driver.

    2.13MP Sony Exmor R STARVIS image sensor

    High quality image sensor records at 1080p video quality with excellent performance in any lighting conditions.

    140° viewing angle

    Provides expansive shooting coverage with minimal edge-to-edge distortion.

    Built-in G-sensor

    Begins recording automatically upon impact.

    Embedded GPS

    Saves your location and speed with each video file.

    Built-in Wi-Fi with mobile App

    Access Live View, recorded footage, and camera settings on-the-go using your iOS or Android smartphone.

    Super night vision recording

    Enhances sensitivity with excellent noise control for night-time video footage.

    Integrated thermal protection

    Super Capacitor eliminates the need for a battery as backup power, providing added safety during extreme weather conditions.

    Parking surveillance mode with time lapse (enabled with Thinkware Hardwiring Cable)

    Offers added security when you are away from your vehicle with Motion and Impact Detection, as well as the new Time Lapse Recording for prolonged coverage.

    16GB high performance MicroSD card

    Accepts memory cards up to 64GB. A high-performance Thinkware 16GB microSD UHS-I memory card is included.


    Customer rating

    Rating 4.1 out of 5 stars with 97 reviews

    84%
    would recommend to a friend

    Pros

    Cons

    Most relevant reviews

    See all customer reviews
    • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

      good, but room for improvement

      Posted
      Alan
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      one of the frequent complaints about this that I have seen is connectivity issues. trying to get it to connect to your smartphone is quite slow and clumsy, and if you do the wrong thing at the wrong time, it simply won't connect until you shut it off and turn it back on again. That's with the newest available firmware as well. The user guide is essentially non-existent. it tells you how to connect it, and a brief overview of the recording modes, and that's it... repeat the same in 9 other languages... as a result, my dashcam occasionally makes sounds and I have no idea what it's trying to tell me. upgrading the firmware according to their instructions requires you to use a computer. it appears it can actually be done using a smartphone... the download option IS in the app, but the instructions do not mention doing it this way so that's very unclear. It does come with a USB memory card reader in case you don't have one, just put your micro SD memory card in the end of it and connect it to your computer, and in case you already have a card reader on your computer, but it's the regular SD size, it also comes with an adapter card that you can put the micro SD in to make it fit a regular SD slot. Mounting it is incredibly easy with the adhesive pad, and it comes with a spare adhesive pad for future use. It also comes with 3 adhesive backed little hangers to help route the power cable. unfortunately, it's very unlikely you will be able to route it well with just those three. my car would require at least 3 more to do a reasonable job, and so far as I have seen, they do not sell more. Aiming it at the angle you want is also quite easy, just connect via your smartphone and view the live video and then adjust it as you like. viewing the videos on your smartphone shows a lot of video glitches when using the app. it appears to be an issue with the player accessing the memory card however because multiple views don't show the exact same glitches, and if you download the video to the app, rather than playing it off the memory card in the camera, the glitches go away. if you want to download the videos to your phone storage, you have to download them to the app, then export them. not really a big deal but it would be nice to just download them straight to the phone and not the app. The rear cam is not available yet, and they won't say when it will be other than they hope it will be out next month, nor have they answered the questions of how much it will cost. video quality is pretty good. I have never had a dashcam before so I don't have anything to compare it to, but it looks good to me. just make sure you enable the settings if you want speed or such to be on the video as well, they are turned off by default. When viewing one of the videos on my PC, I noticed that "gsensori" and a bunch of numbers and commas showed up on the bottom of the video. I thought they were GPS coordinates, but when I checked,. they are nowhere close the coordinates of where I am. Also, after a semi-colon, it says "CAR,0,0,0,0.0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0". no idea what that is supposed to mean. Every 30 frames or so more letters and numbers pop up for 4 or 5 frames and then promptly disappear before you could possibly read them without pausing. These additional numbers appear to be much closer to my GPS coordinates, but still not accurate. also, one of them should have been a negative, but is shown as a positive number. all in all, it would be great if there was some documentation to help explain what these numbers are, and why the "CAR" ones are all zeros. The numbers are treated like subtitles in my PC video player, so I'm not sure if all users would see them by default without turning on subtitles. I don't remember ever having set an options to have subtitles on by default, but it's possible, given how much I like some foreign films. the default memory card is 16GB and it appears that it could only fit less than one day's worth of recordings on that, however when I was connected with my phone earlier, it appeared that it had plenty of space free. this makes me wonder why I was unable to pull up video of 2 very near accidents I witnessed on my way to work the morning after I got it, but had plenty of video of my car sitting in the parking lot as something in the background moved and triggered a motion recording. speaking of motion recording (in parking mode), when I looked at my settings earlier, it was disabled... yet it was still doing it. possibly a bug in the firmware? Thinkware will only support Thinkware branded memory cards... and while they aren't super massively over priced, they are still more expensive than they should be. you can get cards with a superior rating for less. all in all the hardware is good and the improvements that are desperately needed are in documentation and software/firmware. The lack of communication from Thinkware on release dates of the main camera and the various accessories like the rear camera has been frustrating, and apparently there are 2 or 3 versions of this camera and it's unclear what the differences are for one of them (the F800 PRO?). the F800 AIR will be coming soon and will have cloud based features. it's unclear if it will piggyback on your cellphone for a data connection or if you will need a sim card and data plan for your dash cam with your cell provider of choice.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

      Pshhh....puts all other dashcams to shame!

      Posted
      Peejay
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      First of all anyone who has anything negative to say about this model, other than the minor issue of no screen, it's probably user error. I have used, returned, and threw away many dashcams in the last couple of years. Either they just didn't do the job right or failed after a few months. So I figured since this model had Rave reviews on Amazon and it was on sale at BB, I'd give it a shot, and boy can I say, this is what a dash cam should be. Yeah no screen, but the hotspot connection is quick and awesome plus it gives it internet access so it can warn you about red light cameras and if your driving way over the speed limit, if you want it to of course. And it talks to you so you always know what it is doing. Led indicators and knightrider style security led is a plus. I would highly recommend the hardwire kit, for fellow diyers out there, you can't splice the power cable it comes with because it doesn't have a 3rd wire. The power adapter it comes with is just power and ground from your cigarette lighter. The hard wire kit is 3 wire, a constant 12v, ING or ACC 12v and ground. Hence how it knows when to switch to parking mode and when to start continuous record. And it speaks and tells you as such when it switches. Parking time lapse is awesome and still detects motion during time lapse. Haven't had the lane departure or speed warnings go off but then again my music is always too loud so I probably didn't hear them anyways. The video quality is great however nighttime recording is freaking excellent. Haven't gotten a rear camera for it yet but I probably will. Oh and when you get in the car and start it, it will tell you how many incidents it recorded while parked both g sensor and motion, but even if zero, you still have the time lapse recording. Timestamp speedstamp and model overlay on video is exactly what you would expect from a dash cam. It's basically set it and forget it. One thing that I can say that is negative is that the mic quality sucks terribly, but having audio isn't really that important, if anything it would condemn yourself when presenting evidence. Comes with a 16gb microsd a USB micro sd reader, a mount plate plus 1 extra adhesive pad. 3 or 4 wire clips with adhesive backs that can be repositioned and the camera of course. Extensive feature set, very simple straightforward to use. Although the initial setup is a bit weird, you connect to it's wifi, talks you through the process, and then it automatically reads your hotspot info and you have to turn your Wi-Fi off and then hotspot on and it will connect. Make sure you deselect only allowed devices and once it connects add it to the allowed list and then turn on the only allowed devices feature of your hotspot. Haven't used the pc viewer yet but it looks awesome. Very pleased with this dashcam, yeah it's a bit pricey but it's worth every penny and then some. Solid product, no gimmicks, no bs, it does it's job, and it does it very well. Can't wait for the F900 to come out!

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

      High quality video, compact size

      Posted
      DooD
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

      After much research, I opted to purchase the ThinkWare F800 dash cam. Install was easy, and setup was a breeze, for the most part (more on this, below). The materials used on this unit have a premium look and feel. The device is pretty small, and sits nicely on the windshield right behind my rear view mirror which makes it less noticeable than other cams. Out of the box the unit comes with everything you need to get up and running, quickly. A quick start guide, 3M adhesive pads (for mounting), cigarette lighter power adapter, 16GB SD card and the unit itself. It took me about 45 minutes to install everything and get it powered up. I opted for the hardwired kit (TWA-SH). I think it could have been cheaper, but it was helpful in the sense that I didn't want yet another plug consuming a cigarette lighter port. It hooks up to the same wires your stereo uses, and keeps the device powered up when it should be. The other advantage to using this kit is that some vehicles don't power the cigarette lighter adapter when the key is off. You might think that's a good thing, but then you might not be able to take advantage of the parking recordings (someone messing with your vehicle, breaking in, etc). when the vehicle is off. My only real gripe with the unit are the Apps used to change settings, view recordings and see live video. With an iOS device (Apple), it's a breeze and there are ZERO issues. I can't say the same for Android, however. There are two apps on the Play Store to choose from, and one of them pretty much doesn't work at all. So, skip the headache and download Thinkware Cloud. Outside of the Apps being less than desirable, I still did have an issue on Android, which is kind of a big one.... connecting to the device. On Android, you need to go into your WiFi settings menu, choose the Thinkware network, connect using the default password (123456789) and then in theory, you should be able to change settings, view live and previously recorded video. This is NOT the case (on my Pixel 2 XL at least). After some research, I found that if I wanted to view live or recorded videos using the cloud App, I needed to put my device into Airplane Mode, turn WiFi back on, connect to the Thinkware network, and only then will I be able to achieve viewing of videos. This is super inconvenient, and I hope they find a fix for it soon. Again, this is NOT an issue on Apple, only on Android (and I don't believe it's all Android devices, just certain devices and carriers). I'd give this cam a full 5 stars if it wasn't for the issue/rant above about WiFi/App connectivity. Outside of this, I am very pleased with the price and quality of the device. So much so that I am considering adding the rear camera as well.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      Think twice before buying Thinkware F800

      Posted
      HonestReviews

      Purchased from Best Buy because it was a daily special. I'm coming from the Rexing V1. Long story short...been using Rexing V1 for about 6-7 months and all of sudden it stops saving the date/time etc, so each day it records over the previous days vids because the date resets. Anyways I hit up Rexing they sent me a new unit, customer service was great...so on to this. I got great deal on Bestbuy so I thought I'd upgrade to the Thinkware F800. It has GPS built in, safety features enabled, supposedly superior optics for night etc. I hardwire this because I'm thinking this is going to blow the V1 out of the water and no brainer this will be my primary dashcam. Come to find out...not so much...the app is utterly worthless...This dash cam doesn't have LCD display, so you can't see what settings you're changing etc, and HAVE to use the app. Wouldn't be a big deal if the app they MADE YOU USE wasn't the worst pile of crap app you've ever thought about using. I hooked up to Galaxy S8 and Apple iPad...it constantly freezes, glitches, closes etc. When you finally get into the app and think you made a change, you come back to find out your previous changes were never saved. It's unbelievably ridiculous how bad this app is. So then I look at the videos..."why do these look so grainy?" I asked myself...I look through some more in comparison to the V1 videos I have on my computer, the V1 looks noticeably better and far less grainy (Pics Below)...not only that, that audio is much clearer on the V1 compared to the F800. One additional annoyance with the F800 is the voice that constantly says "continuous recording will now start, connect your phone to wifi to Thinkware blah blah" and it's LOUD AS CRAP because the mic is right next to the speaker, so when you playback videos on your computer make sure to turn this horrendously loud voice prompts down each time you start to playback a video. Overall, I'm going back to my V1 and returning this to BestBuy...horrible would never recommend, not even to my worst enemy.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Thinkware Product Expert

        Hi There,
        We are sorry to hear about your experience with your F800 dash cam. For altering settings or reviewing footage you have two options. Either using our Thinkware Cloud App or using our PC Viewer Software on your PC or Mac. Our mobile application is not compatible with iPads or tablets. If you are having an issue with connectivity we recommend insuring that your Smart Networking Switch is off as this will reject the WiFi network since it has no real internet connection. All changes made in settings are applied automatically.When reviewing footage on the app itself as the footage is downloading while playing can appear grainy. When watching back fully downloaded footage or using our PC Viewer Software the image will not appear grainy as all of our cameras record in 1080p. We do offer the option to lower the volume or mute notifications which can be applied in System Settings. Please contact our support team as they would be more than happy to assist you in resolving any issues that may be occurring. Email: support@thinkware.com Phone: 1-(844)-865-9273. Kind Regards, Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

    • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

      Overall pleased with purchase

      Posted
      Mike

      Definitely hardwire it...it's worth it! Besides monitoring bad things that can happen to the vehicle and filing the incidents in well organized folders for review, the Parking mode is doing an awesome job of monitoring security of the front of my townhouse. I'd give it 5 stars, but I found the instruction operating manual to be of very little value. Like others have mentioned, wi-fi setup for an android phone doesn't work like the manual says for my Galaxy S7 phone using Verizon and will frustrated for a few hours. I had to figure out a workaround myself..which was to disable wi-fi, turn on the hotspot feature only that was connected to verizon...then the phone will display the folders, feed, and adjust dash cam settings properly. Other improvements that the user manual should incorporate in my opinion are what capabilities are gained and lost when you set dash cam settings to high, mid, low....some seem obvious, but others like what happens if you set parking mode motion setting to low? How many feet does that mean? The impact of changing settings isn't entirely clear. I hope this is useful feedback for Thinkware. - Speed camera warnings are extremely accurate...nice job! - Front Collision Waring System. ..Not sure how useful it is...time will tell. - Warning system when a car leaves in front of you at a red light. I like that..yes I was spaced out looking down at my cup holder and then I got a beep...sure enough it woke me up and got me moving. I'm looking forward to adding the rear cam and learning more about the new cloud update that is expected to be out soon. I wish there were more details about it along with an availability date. So, in conclusion, I think I bought the best Dashcam on the market...If I was reviewing another dashcam, I probably wouldn't be able to rate them any higher than the F800.

      I would recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Thinkware Product Expert

        Hi Mike,

        Your feedback is invaluable and definitely appreciated. We will forward your comments to our development team to be addressed in the future. In the mean time, please contact us directly if you have any questions. We can be contacted by email (support@thinkware.com) or phone (1-844-865-9273) if you have any other questions. Kind regards, Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      Thinkware needs to re-think this one

      Posted
      whodoyouknow
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

      I've used dashcams before. The software/app is not designed or built well for this unit. I've tried for several weeks now to make it work but to no avail. To connect the F800 to your phone's app, you have to follow certain steps, really unorthodox steps to connect initially. Then it may or may not connect the next time and only when your hotspot is on. And sometimes have to click through a splash screen on the app, which should not be necessary each time. Also, the app keeps crashing when you want to review files. You have to wait a long time to see live view. I am not able to save changes to settings within to the app, such as my time zone, so the files are not recording accurate time. Files should provide you GPS coordinates as it states it is connected to GPS and the internet. Otherwise whats the purpose of connecting to GPS, and why does it state connected to the internet? Still have no answer from them on that. Note, I'm using an iPhone 7 and the latest iOS software update. I've re-loaded the firmware several times and its no different. Thinkware tech support cannot offer any further solutions. Maybe the F800 Air (cloud upload capability) at year end might be better. But for $300 the app and interface is horrible. Too much playing around to get the app and the camera to try to work.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Thinkware Product Expert

        Hi there! We are sorry to hear about your experience with the F800. Your feedback is important to us and that's why we have urgently updated our app (released 08/23) to address the very issues that you've described here. With the newest update, we've corrected bugs and users will now be able to connect via built-in Wi-Fi rather in addition to hotspot to streamline the Wi-Fi set-up process. Please try the latest version of the mobile app and let us know if you have any questions by email (support@thinkware.com) or phone (1-844-865-9273) if you have any other questions. Kind regards, Thinkware Customer Support Thinkware_CA

    • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

      Nice dash cam but worrisome microSD options

      Posted
      JLTaser

      I've been using this dash cam for a little over a month and have not encountered any issues connecting to the F800's wifi on my iPhone. Night time recording quality is much better than my previous dash cam (Papago 520) and the main reason I opted for this one to replace the aging Papago. I thought I would miss having the physical display, but operating the dash cam from the iPhone is a much better experience than fumbling through buttons on the unit itself. I'm now also considering the rear cam add-on and upgrading to a larger microSD card. The one con I have with Thinkware is with the price and warranty period of their microSD offerings. Their dash cams were made to only work with their own microSD card (for the sake of some additional reliability features) and will be incompatible with the vast majority of 3rd-party cards. One 64 GB card for $90 may have been reasonable in the past, but is overpriced by today's standards. And even worse, their microSD cards only have a 6-month warranty when others typically offer lifetime. I don't mind paying for quality, but will be instantly off the Thinkware bandwagon if anything breaks. The dash cam itself is great--hence the 5-stars--but the short warranty period and pricey microSD selection means you are playing with expensive fire.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

      Impressive Dash Cam

      Posted
      JWM3
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      Purchased this a few days ago and finally had a chance to install it last night. The camera was actually smaller than I expected and tucks away nicely behind the rearview mirror. Positioning the camera was quick with the live view mode once I was able to get the unit to sync with my phone. The unit doesn't want to hold a WIFI signal which was a little frustrating but when connected to my WIFI hotspot everything works perfectly and the picture quality looks great on a my S8+. From there setting up the camera was effortless. I'm currently wired using the included power cable but plan on getting the hardwiring kit to up the camera to its full potential but for now it gets the job done. The cable is long enough to hit any of the power point in the car which is nice, and I was able to route it to one that doesn't get used. Overall I am really happy with the purchase I wish the rear camera was available so I could have completed the install all at once. Also I need to upgrade to a larger SD card because the 16GB on that’s included doesn’t last for my commute.

      I would recommend this to a friend



    Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.