Skip to content
Main Content

2-Step Verification

What is it?

2-Step Verification is an optional feature that adds an extra layer of security to your BestBuy.com account. In addition to your password, it helps verify that it’s really you signing in.

Why do I need it?

Unfortunately, password theft happens. With 2-Step Verification, even if someone has your password, they can’t get into your account.

How does it work?

When you sign in to your BestBuy.com account, you’ll be asked for a security code. You can have the code sent to you via text or you can have it generated from an authenticator app that you download.

When you sign in to your BestBuy.com account, you’ll need to enter:

  1. Your email address
  2. Your password
  3. A security code
How do I set it up?

We’ll guide you through it. To start, you’ll choose the way you want to get security codes: by text or mobile app (e.g., Google Authenticator, Duo Mobile, or Authy). Set up 2-Step Verification now.

Do I have to enter a security code on devices that I trust – like my phone or personal laptop?

Not if you don’t want to. When you sign in, you can let us know that you trust that device with that browser. From then on, we won’t ask for a security code when you sign in on that device using that browser. One thing to note: If you delete cookies or make other changes in your browser, we won’t recognize you – and you’ll need to enter a security code.

How do I remove devices from my trusted list?

You can remove devices from your trusted list in your Account Settings.

What if I want to sign in, but I can’t get a security code?

When you set up 2-Step Verification, we’ll give you some backup codes. Copy these backup codes and keep them in a safe place. You can use each backup code one time to access your account. If you use all your backup codes, we’ll generate new ones for you.

What if I lose my backup codes and I can’t get in to my account?

Don’t panic. Call us at 1-888-BEST BUY (1-888-237-8289) and we’ll help.

Can I turn off 2-Step Verification?

Yes. It’s an optional feature that you can set up or disable at any time. Go into your Account Settings and tap “Disable” to turn it off.

Question mark

Help Center.

Find answers to commonly asked questions about orders, product information, returns and more.

Chat bubble

Community forums.

Looking for an answer? Browse articles or search the community.