Insignia™ - Wi-Fi Smart Plug - White

Only @ Best Buy
Only at Best Buy
Automate your home with this Insignia Wi-Fi smart plug. It controls most electrical devices, including lights, air conditioners and kitchen appliances, and its Insignia Connect app sets up to 10 timers, including daily and weekly schedules. This Insignia Wi-Fi smart plug links to your home's Wi-Fi network and is accessible from any location through an iOS or Android device.

Home Automation, Security and Networking Buying Guide
$24.99

PROTECT YOUR PRODUCT

Learn about Replacement Plans

Protection Plan Options
Cardmember Offers

Complete Your Purchase

Item you're currently viewing

Insignia™ - Wi-Fi Smart Plug - White - Larger Front
  • Insignia™ - Wi-Fi Smart Plug - White
  • $24.99
plus

Overview

What's Included

  • Insignia Wi-Fi Smart Plug
  • Owner's manual

Ratings & Reviews

Overall Customer Rating:
Rating 3.8 out of 5 stars.
3.8
76% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (489 out of 649)

Product Features

Insignia Connect app

Control, monitor and schedule your indoor electronics using your smartphone. Works with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant.

Control the power

Your Wi-Fi Smart Plug can be used to control the power of most lights, fans, portable heaters, coffee makers and home audio systems.

Use your voice control

Pair with the Google Assistant or Amazon Alexa and turn your lights, your appliances, or a whole room on or off with the power of your voice.

Access anywhere

Stay connected, no matter where you are. Control, monitor and schedule your Wi-Fi Smart Plug from anywhere using the Insignia Connect app.

Easy to use and install

Connect your mobile device to a Wi-Fi network, download and open the free Insignia Connect app, log in or sign up for an Insignia or Best Buy account, and plug the Smart Plug into an outlet.

Compatible with Android, iOS

The free Insignia Connect app lets you run them from any Android ( 6.0.1 and higher ) or iOS ( iOS 10 and higher ) smartphone.

Overall Customer Rating

76%of customers recommend this product.

pros

cons

Most Helpful ReviewsSee all customer reviews

      • Brand Response

        InsigniaCustomerSupport

        July 18, 2017

        Hi, we want to thank you for your review and insights on the product.
        After seeing the struggles you have encountered with this device, we would like to share some alternate solutions to these issues you're reporting. First off, ​If the plug disconnects from your WiFi network (green LED light on the plug flashes On/off) it is most likely due to a weak WiFi signal.
        Note that the WiFi signal of the plug does not depend on how close your phone is to the plug, rather how close your WiFi router is to the plug and how many walls are in the path. You can see the WiFi signal as sensed by the Smart Plug in the Insignia Connect app. If it has 1 or more green bars constantly, it should not disconnect. Also, for best results, connect your smart plug to your 2.4Ghz WiFi network. 5Ghz WiFi signals are known to have a shorter range and as a result, they do not penetrate walls as well.
        If you need any additional assistance, feel free to contact our support team at https://www.insigniaproducts.com/contact-us and we will be more than happy to troubleshoot with you.
        Regards, Daniel T. - Insignia Support BBY-ExBrand_Insignia

      • Brand Response

        InsigniaCustomerSupport

        October 31, 2016

        Hello! We want to thank you for the time you took to write your feedback; we'd like to inform that some of the issues you have reported regarding connectivity and stability of the app, have been addressed in the Android version 1.0.0.391 which was just posted. We are aware of the sometimes long delay between the button action on the app and the response from the device and will be releasing new update addressing this shortly.
        In addition to this, the smart plug does use a WiFi module that is compatible with B/G/N routers and has been tested with various types and brands of routers on the market; however, If your router is set to N-only mode, the device will not work appropriately. As to your comments about the Web browser interface, this merely provides a view of connectivity status and WiFi signal strength. We do not allow connectivity setup of the app via the web interface for security reasons and to keep all actions driven via the app. Our team is currently working on other enhancements and features that will provide additional interaction with many other devices. We kindly ask you that you look for updates coming via the app store or Google play store. Regards, Daniel T. - Insignia Support BBY-ExBrand_Insignia

          • Brand Response

            InsigniaCustomerSupport

            January 9, 2017

            Hello, we definitely want to thank you for the review you have posted as well as your valuable feedback. We understand your frustration and would like to apologize for the issues you encountered with the Smart plug you purchased; the issues you experienced were due to the fact that we unfortunately experienced some issues with our application's servers. Thanks to the reports our customers gave us, our engineers quickly resolved the situation. If you continue having issues please contact us at https://www.insigniaproducts.com/contact-us and one of our representatives will happily help you. Daniel T. - Insignia Support BBY-ExBrand_Insignia

            Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.