Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Frigidaire - 350 Sq. Ft. Portable Air Conditioner - White-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.1 out of 5 stars with 427 reviews

82%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 427 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Absolutely horrible experience

    Posted
    Ingry

    We decided to get a portable unit instead of a window unit so that it would be easier to take off during the winter. Our last window unit ended up with mold inside it that we were unable to remove due to the snow freezing and melting on the window unit. So we ended up buying this Frigidaire portable unit in order to keep it out of the elements. It was an oversized fan and dehumidifier! It did not cool my small room. We set it at 64, it has never reached under 75. I used a digital thermometer to take temperature readings in my room. Even the air coming out of the ac was in the 70’s. It only works at keeping the room acceptable when it’s cool outside. Now when we hit 80+ it’s muggy and warm in the room. This machine struggles constantly. I told my husband to take it back. He said give it a chance. Well now we are stuck with a heavy 300.00 fan. It is a waste of time, and money. I certainly will not buy Frigidaire in the future, if they can’t provide a product that works as they promise it should. Also do note that it leaves a musky like smell, like old water in basement type smell. We are constantly removing the water this unit produces throughout the day. You are better off with another brand unit that actually works or stay with a window ac unit. Stay away from this dreadful product. My kids lg window unit which is 2000 btu less then this unit cools quickly a room in similar size as mine. It gets cold in that room. Frigidaire is not the brand it used to be, very disappointed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      I hate to hear that you're disappointed with your A/C, Ingry. I recommend setting the unit to a more colder temperature and faster fan speed. I also recommend placing the unit in the most shaded part of the room for a better cooling performance. I hope this information is helpful. Please don't hesitate to contact us at 1-888-203-1389; Monday through Friday from 8am to 8pm and Saturday from 9am to 6pm EST should you need additional assistance. Thank you, Courtney Frigidaire

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Yeah... don't do it.

    Posted
    Renee

    This really is a glorified and overpriced fan. I saw the good reviews, and saw the bad reviews, but was really desperate for an AC (portable because my apartment has weird windows) so I bought it anyway. I set the unit to 60oC, it's been two hours and it's still the slightest bit chiller. I could have blowed a fan over a bowl of ice and I probably would have achieved better results. I drove 1 hour away to get the AC because literally everywhere near me was sold out. More disappointed than upset; I don't mind spending the money $320 total if it just worked properly. Will be returning as soon as I can. See you soon Watertown store! More cons: - awkward and agitating window installation that isn't practical for all window types - weird smell as air blows - exhaust hose gets REALLY hot and is made of plastic which somehow makes me nervous - exhaust hose isn't too malleable and falls out of place really easily if you don't set up the window installation

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      I can imagine your concern, Renee! Please be sure you have the appliance properly vented outside. Once installed properly, be sure to use the cool mode with a high fan speed for the best cooling performance. It may take a few hours to cool the room down if the room temperature is high. Air exiting the appliance is generally 17-20 degrees less than the intake air. It is normal for the exhaust hose to get warm because the warm air that is being exhausted from the appliance is going through it. It was designed to withstand the temperature. If you still have trouble, please contact us directly at 1-888-203-1389 M-F from 8a-8p EST. ~ Brandi Frigidaire

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Don't Buy This Product!

    Posted
    Runnarsaurus

    This is an expensive fan, not an air cooling unit. It's difficult to install, as it required to to cut plastic - THICK plastic that I would need a saw to get through - in order to install it to your window. If you live in an apartment, it is unlikely that you have this in your apartment. It is incredibly difficult to attach to the window and the instructions are not great. It blows air, but even when set at 60 degrees, its really just air. Its not cold, air conditioned air and its certainly not cooling down my living room. It's simply blowing the air around in front of the machine. I almost feel like it would be better to have the machine off and have the doors and windows open than attempt to cool a room with this. Extremely disappointed with the quality of this machine. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      I am sorry to hear you are having trouble, Runnarsaurus. It is important to make sure the appliance is properly vented outside or it won't cool the room. Once installed properly, be sure to use the cool mode with a high fan speed for the best cooling performance. It may take a few hours to cool the room down if the room temperature is high. Air exiting the appliance is generally 17-20 degrees less than the intake air. If you still have trouble, please contact us directly at 1-888-203-1389 M-F from 8a-8p EST. ~ Brandi Frigidaire

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    A bit lacking

    Posted
    whatdoyoumean
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This was bought to cool a 180 Sq feet bedroom. First, it's pretty compact and relatively simple to setup. It has a nice stylish look and it's not super bulky for a mobile air conditioner. It has a few things that aren't so good. The tube is definitely a bit too short. It barely reaches my window and I have to keep it right under the window so that the tube can reach. The remote kind of works but half the time it doesn't. I have to press the button several times to get it to work sometimes. My biggest problem with this is that it has a hard time keeping the room cold even when it's rated for a room bigger than what I'm using it in. It's also on the loud side, although it's not ear piercingly loud, but I have to talk loud over the unit when it's on. Overall it's not a bad unit, but I would probably look at better units if I was using it more frequently and if I want something that can cool down a room the size of what it's rated for.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      We appreciate your feedback, whatdoyoumean. To improve cooling performance, make sure you have the appliance properly vented outside, the filter is clean, you are using the cool mode and a high fan speed. Once the room is cooled down, turning it to the low fan speed should quiet it down some. If you continue to have trouble with the remote, please give us a call and we can send a new one. We can be reached at 1-888-203-1389 M-F from 8a-8p EST. ~ Brandi Frigidaire

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Defective E5 error

    Posted
    Moviewatcher

    Bought this last year and did not use it until recently. Didn't even get 5-minutes use out of it when the E5 error message was displayed - contact service technician. This Frigidaire was defective and trying to contact customer service and their horrible automated phone number a waste of being on hold for 20+ minutes. Tried going to a repair technician and he referred to the customer service number as this portable unit can not be repaired, just replaced. Before the E5 error message, it was a real headache trying to connect the exhaust hose as it doesn't fit well into the adaptors. Had to duct tape them. Lousy design. Really glad that I bought this item with the Best Buy ESA. Went to the local store they were able to find a similar replacement, different brand.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Cool as a cucumber.

    Posted
    Corellus

    There have been some low rated reviews for this product and that's unfortunate. I found this unit (ordered for delivery to my local Best Buy) to perform to expectations - which was keeping my 14x12 apartment living room from getting into the high 90's during the hot weather days. In my case the hose was plenty long enough and the connection to my horizontal sliding window with the provided parts was simple enough. I can install and remove the whole connection from my window in less than a minute (no permanent fixments necessary in my case). I have it run on AUTO which means it switches between actual cooling and just running the fan to keep the temperature stable. Some people have said the unit was quite noisy, but even on high, I found it quieter than my simple box fan and easily able to hold a normal conversation when it's running.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Easy install portable AC unit

    Posted
    Tigger
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I left Fl for Ma to get away from the heat, just in time for a heat wave there. This new portable room AC unit was a life saver. It was easy to install and I liked that it didn’t take up the entire window like older units can. The remote was control came in handy at night as the temperature came down too. Two things I wish were different though. The electric cord could be longer. They don’t recommend using an extension cord and the length of its cord really limits where you place it in a room. Also, the hose that vents the unit to the outside through the window is restrictively short. All in all, though, for the price, this was a good purchase for my needs - cooling the bedroom I used. I was more than pleased with it and glad I could leave it there for my family to use after I left.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    I mean... it works...

    Posted
    Samantha

    At this moment, it’s set to 60 degrees, on cool, and on high. It’s 82 in my bedroom. This was supposed to perform better than my unit that I bought last year that burnt out, but so far it’s not. At no point has my bedroom felt cool unless the temperature outside was already fairly nice. It’s not. I’ve tried turning it off for an hour, I’ve tried unplugging and plugging it back in. It’s honestly a really big disappointment. I should have gotten another insignia, but they didn’t have any in the store and we’ve been experiencing heat adviseries and I wasn’t excited at the thought of being in and leaving my dog in +100 degree weather during that. My advice: try something else.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      I'm sorry to hear about your cooling experience, Samantha. I recommend making sure that the A/C is the correct size for the area that you're cooling. I also recommend making sure that the unit is set to COOL and not on ECON or FAN ONLY. I hope this information is helpful. Please feel free to reconnect with us directly at 1-888-203-1389; Monday through Friday from 8am to 8pm and Saturday from 9am to 6pm EST should you have any other questions. -Courtney Frigidaire

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Nice for a small room

    Posted
    BatFan
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Great for a small room. It will bring down the temp on a very hot day (90s +), but will not be able to cool below 75-76. On a warm day, it will drop the temp considerably more. With the fan on low it's fairly quite, about what you'd expect for a portable A/C. With the fan on higher settings, you'll have to turn a TV louder to be able to hear the dialog. Overall, it performs as you'd expect. Installation was a pain, because it can only be installed with the vent on the right side of the window. The curved plastic from that goes from the hose to the opening in the plastic piece that fits in the window was too short to fit in our window, due the the windowsill. Also, the adjustable piece that fit in the window, had to be cut with a hacksaw to fit. Be prepared, the venting hose, disconnects too easily from the unit and window, both.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Unimpressed

    Posted
    Cory

    These high reviews surprise me. I was tired of how unsightly my window unit was in my window and thought that a standing unit would look more attractive in my home. It does. However, I'm not impressed with the cooling ability for the price. I had a 45$ window unit do a better job. I'm using it to cool a 10X12 room and it isn't cold enough. For 315 dollars I think you'd be better off by a high BTU window unit. The hose is awkward too. It is made of plastic instead of a material which means it's not maleable. Also, the unit is large. Be aware that you can't have a night stand or anything next to the window because there won't be enough room. Considering the price, the size and the cooling ability I'd look elsewhere.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your air conditioner. However, we do regret that you have not been satisfied with your purchase. Please make sure that are not drapery, blinds, or furniture affecting the airflow from the air conditioner. If needed, please reach out to our team by calling 1-888-203-1389 Mon - Fri, 8am - 8pm (EST) Sat, 9am - 6pm (EST) 1 (800) 374-4432 (EST) Kindly, Anna Frigidaire

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Instructions vauge and not nearly enough foam

    Posted
    Mattlincoln
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Gook me about 1 hour to set this thing up. I had to wait two hours to turn it on because i had to transport it on its side. Opened it up looked pretty sleek like another reviewer said it isnt really for side to side sliding windows. Fridgidaire didnt supply nearly enough foam to go around to fill the gaps luckily I'm a framing carpenter so i used window tape to form a really good seal. The instructions were very vauge i hoestly read through them 3 times ti see if i was doing it right because thi fit wasnt good then gave up and made it work i cant say if its loud or cold enough or not. But i am a little disappointed it sticks out away from the wall a ways. For the 321 with tax it better make me wish i have long undies on tho or it will go back tomorrow or go in the job trailer were any bit of cold will help on lunch

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Thank you for sharing your A/C experience, Mattlincoln. Please take a moment to contact us directly at 1-888-203-1389; Monday through Friday from 8am to 8pm and Saturday from 9am to 6pm EST. We would like to review your account and see what assistance might be available. Thank you, Courtney Frigidaire

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Not very good

    Posted
    Cher
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Difficult to set up the window exhaust. You will need a good saw. It says to cut the hard plastic to fit in your window. Ha! The exhaust hose from the back of the unit will not stay in the window slot. It has little tabs that should pop out and hold it but nope, won’t stay. Doesn’t do much to cool a room. Our much smaller air conditioner 5,000 btu does better to cool our living room than it ever did. It does work better as a dehumidifier on the air conditioner mode. It has a drain on the back with a hose you can attach. Supplied hose is only about 18 inches long. Well, we put the hose in a 5 gallon bucket and had to empty the bucket every couple hours or it would overflow.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      FrigidaireSupport

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Cher.  We strive to provide our consumers with quality products and your feedback will certainly help us to improve to meet you and other consumers’ needs. We will be sure to make the proper channel aware of your feedback. ~Courtney Frigidaire

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Love this unit

    Posted
    Joseph
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This is a great unit for our 2nd story bedroom. The fan works great but it is on the louder side. Since I sleep better with some white noise in the background, it works very well for us. Even running it daily in the summer time, I only needed to empty the condensation every few weeks. At the end of the summer, we took it apart and cleaned it well before putting it in storage. I am very happy with this purchase. It really does well in a bedroom, but when I have tried to use it to cool the entire 2 bedrooms/bath/hall upstairs it falls a little short of getting the rooms as cold as I like. Stick with the 350 sq ft and you will have cold spaces, bigger and you will have cool spaces.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    In an RV In the Desert

    Posted
    Netmeetme

    Living in an RV in the desert and this is just what we needed. Our temps outside were between 100 and 107. Our 2 onboard units were only cooling us to 92 degrees. Bought this one to help and it sure did. We Set it up behind the driver's seat to vent out the window. Using insulation board in the window. We did not plug it inside. We did not have a 110 available on our pole so we had a 30 amp that we plugged a 30 to 110 then ran a cord through the hole for the vent to plug it. It did not take long to get the RV a cool 84 with 105 outside. In the desert with no humidity, 84 is comfortable. 9/10/18 1130am unit set at 76-- inside temp is at 74 outside is 98... on high the unit is QUIET... Extremely happy.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Great product!

    Posted
    Lindsey

    I'm surprised to see any negative reviews about this product. My husband and I just set ours up yesterday and so far we love it! The house we rent does not have central a/c so we decided to buy this little number and try it out in our bedroom. Not only does it cool down our 280 sq ft room, but it also cools down the rest of the upstairs as well! Our bedroom is actually cold at this point and the rest of the upstairs is cool and comfortable. The set up was super quick and easy too and cooled our room within minutes. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to cool down a large bedroom or two!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Best Purchase EVER!!

    Posted
    RubysMomma
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    OMG....I absolutely LOVE this AC unit. I live in a one bedroom condo with high ceilings. The cost of AC in the summer in DC can break the bank!! Not to mention, my unit AC has had to have maintenance multiple times over the years. This portiable AC unit literally cools down the entire condo. I am one of needs it freezing when I sleep and this delivers!! I rate this purchase right up there with my SUV (snow/hauling things), and my rescue dog, as the best things I ever decided to get!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    It's been doing an excellent job.

    Posted
    Tony488
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Since we purchased it at the start of the summer, the Frigidaire portable A/C has done an excellent job. We got it because our central air in our good-sized bedroom/study was not adequate given the 2 large skylights and windows all around. The unit has made the room comfortable at a reasonable setting (73-74 on low), and we only lower the temp or increase the fan speed when the outside temps get much hotter. The exhaust fan hook up went well as I improvised it to work in an sliding door by adding a piece of white melamine material to the window adapter that was provided.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Efficient Air Conditioner

    Posted
    Celeste
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    This air conditioner does a great job. However I was surprised at how much space it takes up. That’s because the exhaust hose is positioned out the window and instructions say not to have bends in the hose. If the exhaust hose was higher on the unit it would have been more flush with the window - more of a straight shot - and taken much less room space.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Ok for low-end portable

    Posted
    DoctorB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    But it doesn't really cool 350sqft. When it's in the high 80s outside it gets my 250sqft bedroom (with extremely opaque shades) down to 75-76 and when it's in the mid 90s it will get it down to maybe 78. Lowest temp I've seen in that room so far is 68 when it was mid 70s outside. Running it next to a big floor fan helps. Probably should have gotten one size bigger but the electrical system in this crumbling old tenement building is really sketchy and even this low-end unit is potentially a risk? It's better than having no AC at all though, so ok...

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    It Cools

    Posted
    Anna

    I bought this item when my AC went out. Set up is very easy. Cools a small room to a comfortable level relatively quickly. I gave it 4 stars because it is not portable. To move after it is hooked up to the window, it requires disassembling the window piece. And it is heavy, if you have to pick it up to move it upstairs, speaking from a female perspective. Also, temperature wise I don’t think it goes below 75. And, I have mine draining in a bucket which can be annoying to remember to throw out. Other than those 2 things, it does its job. Better than nothing.

    I would recommend this to a friend