Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

MISC ADJUSTMENT-MDSE - REAR BACKUP CAMERA INSTALL-Front_Large

Customer rating

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars with 323 reviews

92%
would recommend to a friend

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 323 Reviews
  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    saved me HOURS

    Posted
    josenieve
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I had purchased a "wireless" back up camera to install on my ancient Tacoma pickup. The installation manual that came with the unit was worthless, essentially no information. I went to the manufacturer web page, and it was some better, but the obvious errors in the illustrations. So having professional help was going to be crucial. Making the appointment was very easy, and I arrived as scheduled. There was a slight wait, less than 15 minutes, while the prior customer was finishing up. The technician was very courteous and listened to my desired goal, where I wanted the monitor mounted, etc. He pointed out that he would choose NOT to install this as a wireless unit (which I thought would have been simpler) but his experience was the picture on the monitor is degraded by lots of electrical interference in most of the installs that he had performed. I valued that advice and went with his recommendation. The fee was the same, so made no difference to me. The installation was quicker than estimated, the job was very professional, it has worked flawlessly, and I find it very nice to see out the back of my pickup, esp helpful with parking and parking lot maneuvering. I would never have gotten this done, pulling the dash, hooking into the electrical system, etc. What was I thinking?? I would try to talk anyone out of doing this install on your own; unless you're skilled at such events. I know that I would have spent 6-8 hours to do this, with a much less likely to have a satisfactory outcome. It does not matter if you bought the unit at Best Buy, although in retrospect, I could have used some guidance when picking the model to buy.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    not so geeky

    Posted
    cowboybebop

    bought this service package to get the backup camera for my 2012 honda odyssey ex installed because the review for my camera system suggests me to get it done at bestbuy. I called beforehand to confirm the make/model of the car and camera system type and specially asked if they had any prior experience of installing this system,and got positive answer. But when i got there on the appointment date with the parts and instructions, they claimed they couldn't do it because the instructions require drilling a hole at the back plat even thou the drill saw was provided and i gave them the OK because they don't want to be liable for any mistake. While i appreciate their honesty but at the end of the day they sent me home because they are not good enough to get the job done. That's not the end of the story. The technician couldn't even cancel my service, they said the order was filled, so i had to call myself, which i did, only to get bounced to geeky squad, and then to post purchase department, but nobody was answering my phone so i got hung up eventually. i had to stop by customer service and get it returned. what a waste of my time. i will just do it myself

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The back camera installation was sloppy at best

    Posted
    Maken
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was referred to the Fair Lakes Best Buy because they had 2 Master Installers. I had 2 things done. A remote start and back up camera installed. The remote start works so far but the installation of the back up camera was sloppy. The camera was not tighten down (I was able to move it with my finger) luckily it didn't fall off the wiring was done wrong in the front where my head unit sits and in the back because the wiring wasn't connected. One of my taillights was not reconnected so when I hit my brakes the right side would not illuminate. This experience made me regret paying for Total Tech Support. The week prior I had a great experience with Michael at the Manassas, VA location. I would not recommend this location for car install to anyone.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst scenario encountered

    Posted
    smonagle5

    I drove 35 minutes to the Victor, NY Best Buy to have a backup camera installed on my truck. I had called several days prior and set an appointment up. When I arrived, the service tech told me my appointment was scheduled for the day before and I was a no show. I explained that I had made the appointment for the time I was there. I had taken off of work and drove all the way out there. He then proceeded to tell me that he could not install the camera as he was still learning everything and hadn't done one before. He said I could come back tomorrow and they would do it. I wasn't going to waste my time or my gas coming back out to them. I installed it myself instead. Thanks for saving me the $100!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Didn't do the service

    Posted
    ChooseWisely
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Purchased a backup cam and purchased installation. The sales reo said this was the last one and was a popular seller for the last 6 months, so I grabbed it as these seemed to be a popular item. I was later called by the service tech who confirmed what I had bought, what was needed to be done and he asked if I could come in earlier than what had been scheduled. When I went to the store the installer said the mirror was a seperate installation chartge from the backup camera. I was surprosed by this as the irtem was a package. The service tech siad these were a new item and the sales rep may have been unaware to make seperate charges for camera installation and mirror installation even though they are sold in one package. He said I would need to be charged more for a mirror install. Finding out I was going to have to pay an addition $75 made me return the item and get my money back for the purchase.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    poorly managed service

    Posted
    hartsdale

    I bought the backup camera service for my BMW recently. On the day of scheduled installation, there was no one. After some time finding the technician, I was told that they could not do it for my car because it is a BMW. They only do American and Japanese cars. I had to return all the parts I bought. Good thing is that they said they would issue me a refund. However, after 2 week, I still do not see the refund in my account. I had to spend over several hours calling and getting transferred back and forth to talk to somebody who can track down the refund. Be aware of what you are getting into when you buy the geeksquad service online!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Hi hartsdale -

      I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to perform an install service on your car, and concerned to hear that you hadn’t received your refund 2-weeks after it was processed. If this is still something you need assistance with please email us your return details at online.communitites@bestbuy.com

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Overall it works like it should

    Posted
    Strato
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Great screen nice and big. When I had it installed by BB it took longer to schudule the installation. Saturday was the only day at this location that they could do it. I left the vehicle there. When I picked it up the radio did not work. They said I had to take it to a dealer to get it re programmed. The backup camera was not working, at first it did then it flickered. I called and scheduled another appt. on Saturday. Also I took it to the dealer and they said it did not need programming, it was not plugged in. They did make the installation right with a few twists that were acceptable. Scheduling this and coming back when I live 20 miles away was a real pain, not to mention I had to go to a dealer and find out the unit was not plugged in when Best Buy said it needed re programming $$$$. It works now .

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Unable to install tailgate cameras

    Posted
    Ford150

    Just an FYI for truck owners. They are unable to install a camera system that utilizes the tailgate handle or emblem. They claim they do not remove the tailgate or handle. Unfortunately, they told me this after I paid, made an appointment, returned later for the appointment, took possession of the vehicle and camera, and returned home while they were to perform the work. They called me about an hour later and let they could not perform the work. They did not apologize for the inconvenience.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Additional Cost added

    Posted
    Sundar

    I purchased this service online for installing back up camera which I purchased in a different shop. The work was very clean and I didn't find any issues with that. But the billing was dubious and not very clear. A material charge of 5$ was added which was mentioned in this site. But additionally a custom labor of 49.99$ was also added to my bill which left me confusing. I am not sure why they are collecting additional labor charge when we have already paid them for the installation service.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      GeekSquadSupport

      Hello Sundar,

      Thanks for your review. Pricing on car installations can be a bit tricky, as we can't account for any necessary additional charges without first inspecting the vehicle. Regardless, any additional costs should absolutely be communicated to you ahead of time and I sincerely hope that was the case.

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Outstanding installation & great customer support

    Posted
    Hockeybum
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The installer, James was knowledgeable, dedicated and determined to install my (supposed OEM) Otocam3 even though it was not plug n play as advertised by Advent. He found a way to make every single function work - GPS, Radio, Video, Bluetooth and also to integrate with the existing backup camera in place. It is his determination and years of experience that made this installation possible. Thank you James and Best Buy for outstanding Geek Squad work!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Good Job - Worked As It Should

    Posted
    JoeMac
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    As a part of the Christmas gift for my grandson's new audio system in his Toyota pickup, a back-up camera was included. The installer did an excellent job with the camera kit, gave it a good location and it was subtle, as though it was part of the original equipment. It worked first time, and since. My grandson is pleased with his new system and the backup camera is an added bonus as he often carries dog crates when he goes hunting, limiting his rear view visibility. Couldn't ask for a better installation job.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Auto Stereo Installers: Excellent Advice & Install

    Posted
    NormSF
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We had to replace the stereo in our 2005 Honda Accord, and were utterly confused. Advised by our mechanic to go to Best Buy, our initial visit was characterized by the installer immediately narrowing down our choices to a few compatible mfgrs. Then, he found a BB video further advising on quirks of installing units into the 2005 Accord! Though we got confused several times in ordering-purchasing all the components the two installers were very patient and polite. The install was finished in the promised time frame and the stereo and back-up camera have worked very well.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Monitor will need to be replaced

    Posted
    Bronc
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The Geek Squad Technican did a very good job installing the back up camera and monitor, and explaining its functioning to me. The screen is bright blue after the vehicle is put in Drive, so the monitor is turned off to eliminate the distraction. Also, the screen had several scratches on it when it was taken out of the box. Best Buy is in process of securing a replacement which will be swapped out when it arrives.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Easy way to Upgrade a 10 Year Old Truck

    Posted
    mihknotyu
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Before adding this backup camera I always felt like I was going back in time whenever I had to drive my suv. Something as simple as adding a backup camera and radio system with bluetooth makes all the difference. Now it feels like I have a modern vehicle and to be honest, upgrading the radio and adding the camera is a lot cheaper than having to upgrade the entire vehicle.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    You may have to go back

    Posted
    hdofu

    Make sure you remember to check everything before leaving especially the headlights and dash panel. Tech left that unplugged noticed it that night and had to go back the next day and get it fixed, the mechanics initially were a bit reluctant to look without an appointment, but I explained the situation and they fixed it and now the product is working perfectly. So glad to have a better view in my suv.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Camera Clear View

    Posted
    joestpaul
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The camera had a clear view but the way it was installed I couldn't judge how far to back up to a specific spot safely. I camera was attached to the license plate screws but the camera wouldn't tilt down far enough to get a exact spot view. because the camera was touching the license place as close as it could be in the down position. The price was right but my 2007 Pontiac Torrent the camera just didn't seem to be able to be positioned low enough.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Call Before Ordering!

    Posted
    Upset

    I have a Jeep Wrangler and was looking to have a backup camera installed to the factory navigation system. I've been refused from a few Best Buys stores saying they do not provide this service, despite no alerts to the contrary for the online product information. I have one last shot with another store before I will ask for a refund. It has been expectionally frustrating finding this out AFTER purchase. Call first to make sure your vehicle is compliant with their restrictions before placing the order!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible

    Posted
    Oliveman15
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Had 2 appointments to get this camera installed. 1st time waited 3 hours and installer couldn't get to it, 2nd appt. Waited 2 1/2 hours for installing tech to tell us the camera, which we purchased from Best Buy,was defective. I am very upset that as senior citizens trying to increase our safety that @ 87 and 79 we were treated as though we were at fault!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Panasonic Radio w backup camera

    Posted
    doubler8
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This was a great purchase for us. controls are easy to use. The blue tooth microphone is crystal clear. We were able to save money by buying a model that didn't have carplay, but still had blue tooth technology. The car play isn't necessary. We are still able to answer our phone through the radio and play music through the phone via bluetooth. The backup camera is sold separately, but worth the expense. Picture is clear.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Above & Beyond!

    Posted
    cajjruss
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Setup appointment online a few weeks in advance. When I checked-in, C.J. was ready and began installing the rear back-up camera for my car. I came back to pickup the car. C.J. shared that the camera wouldn't fit. He helped me find another camera and installed at that time rather than forcing me to setup another appointment. C.J. went above & beyond to provide OUTSTANDING customer service!!!

    I would recommend this to a friend