Ring - Spotlight Cam Wired - Black

Keep an eye on your property, even when you’re not at home. Ring Spotlight Cam Wired connects to your Wi-Fi and streams live HD video and audio. Using the Ring app, you’ll be able to talk and listen to anyone around, control the spotlights and alarm, and more.
$199.99

Protect your product

Learn about Replacement Plans
Protection Plan Options
Color:
Black
  • Black
  • White
Special Offers
Frequently bought together

Overview

Ratings & Reviews


Overall Customer Rating:
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (76 out of 84)

Features


Optional premium services

Includes live streaming for all cameras. Choose Ring Protect plans starting at $3 per month per camera or Ring Protect Plus to cover unlimited Ring Cameras for a flat rate of $10 per month.

Download the free Ring app

See, hear and speak to people or pets. The app works with any iOS or Android device, and lets you use Live View for on-demand 1080HD video and 2-way audio.

Custom motion sensors and infrared night vision

Get instant alerts when motion is detected, day or night. Plus, you can create and customize your own motion zones.

Spotlights and siren alarm

Take control in any situation. Manage the LED spotlights and 110-decibel alarm manually with the app.

Simple plug-and-play setup

Get set up quickly. Ring Spotlight Cam Wired plugs into standard power outlets and includes everything you need for installation.

Lifetime purchase protection

Ring replaces stolen cameras, so you’ll always be covered. You also receive a 30-day trial of Ring Video recording so you can save, share and review your footage.

Stay on top of local crime

Ring Neighborhoods lets you receive real-time crime alerts from your neighbors, so you can all work together to make your community a safer place.


Customer rating

4.4
91%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

  • Unlike the door bell and the floodlight, the spotlight is very unreliable for connections making it mostly a nuisance.Tony
    See all reviews that mention spotlights as a con
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Decent camera, easy setup. Motion alerts delayed

    Posted
    Gregg
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Minus 1 star for random delays on motion alerts, despite the delayed alert when motion is sensed, the cloud recording generally captures whatever event caused the motion, so it's not a communication issue with wifi or the internet. I use Ubiquiti Unify wifi access points, and my upload/download speeds are above the recommended speed by the manufacturer. Wifi signal strength is also very good to each device (appx 80% at minimum). So far I have 3 of these battery cameras, two of which are charged by the accessory solar panel (see separate review), making them virtually maintenance free. One battery only camera has two batteries in it, and I have other spare batteries fully charged, which I will "rotate" when a battery reaches a low level. Camera seems to use the "right side" battery first, then guessing it switches to the "left side" when the other is depleted, but I plan to swap it before that happens. Live view is enabled on all devices and doesn't seem to impact battery life very much. App review: Android app is able to fully report health status, Windows 10 app doesn't report battery status (not sure if it will report low battery or not, haven't encountered any low batteries yet), and the Mac app only reports the battery in the "right" slot, will alert on a low battery if even a fresh battery is in the left slot. Even though the battery spotlight cams have lights and sirens on them, the lights and siren can only be activated from the Android app, Windows and Mac app don't have that option, but do have the option for lights/siren on the "wired" spotlight cam, which is the same as the battery spotlight cam, except it plugs directly into an A/C outlet, and has motion zones that can be customized based on areas the camera is able to see. Android, Windows, and Mac apps all can use two-way talk on either camera type, please note that a microphone is needed on the Windows or Mac. Hope the manufacturer updates the Mac and Windows apps to be consistent with Android. I can't comment on the iOS app since I don't own a device that uses that platform.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Not infrared activated motion

    Posted
    JoJo
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have the first generation ring doorbell that is "infrared" activated motion which I love! It doesn't go off for rain, snow or leaves blowing on trees. It only activates motion alerts with heat motion such as people, animals and vehicles. It is very accurate. I love it! I purchased this new spotlight cam to put on my shed outback thinking it was infrared as well but it is not! It triggers motion from pixel disruption.. meaning anything that moves this thing is going off. Light snow, rain, shadows from trees, leaves blowing around. This thing was going off every hour all night long for just some light snow. Very disappointing. After giving it a month I will be returning it. I am bummed out because it does have a great field of view, the led lights work great! Lights up a large area but not worth all the false motion alerts I'm getting to my phone even on the lightest settings. I did call customer support , which they are very pleasant to work with but we could not come up with a fix as its not infrared. I really hope they can bring back the infrared and use it in these new spotlight and floodlight cams giving customers a choice between the two different motion activated sensors. "Pixel or Infrared", to fit everyones unique needs.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Great idea - bad product

    Posted
    Marlow29
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased the spotlight cam hoping it would make up for the terrible doorbell cam, however, they have both proved to be worthless. After hours on the phone with ring support they finally decided i should not have followed the instructions in the video or in the manual. The optimal height is not 9 feet even though their instructions suggest otherwise. So here i am in 20 degree weather running tests trying to get it to work properly and they finally decide it is too high and that 5-7 feet is the proper height. I'm sorry but i the instructions had said that to begin with, you might not be reading this negative review. They clearly state 9' as the optimal height then act surprised that your device isn't 5-7 feet off the ground. Really? Installation is easy, but un-installation is a different story. Those screws that stripped when mounting it? Now you have to unscrew those stripped screws you were lucky to get in the first place. Also, get ready to fill all those holes you made when mounting and running the wires. SOOOOO frustrating. Every single Ring support person i've talked to has been nice and helpful, but unfortunately they all give conflicting information. As far as the doorbell which is a different product. It still picks up cars that are 80 feet away but not cars that are 8 feet away. One person will tell me to run the sensitivity up and the other person tells me to turn it down. Bottom line, neither of these products perform the basic advertised functions.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Marlow29,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor and inconvenient Ring experience, this is not the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I greatly appreciate all the time and energy that you have invested in trying to get your Ring devices to work and I would like to step in and personally ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, I do see that you mentioned already being in contact with our Customer Support team, however, I would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly so that I can personally assess these issues and from there provide you with the best possible resolution. It is imperative to me that we get your Ring devices both up and running consistently to your expectations and I would like to see to it that we do this for you ASAP. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on drastically improving your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good product but not perfect

    Posted
    timmaliyil
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have a coupe of floodlight cams, and I'm a fan of the company. Thus I was excited about this product as it serves as a good replacement for an older Ring stick-up cam. First I bought the battery version, but it wouldn't work out for me. You have to take out the battery every so often to charge it via a USB charger which wouldn't work. I wanted something that we could install and forget about. I bought the wired one, but I had to exchange the first unit as the process of installing the camera involves twisting the unit into the power source, and that ended up breaking some small and sensitive pins. The new unit I purchased afterwards is working fine for the past month, and it's working per expectations. Just be wary about the above issues I faced.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good camera to have

    Posted
    Julie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I needed to replace my outdoor camera and decided to go with a #Ring camera with spotlight to complement the Ring doorbell in front. I am pretty happy with this purchase. As there has been a lot of construction and people in the lot adjacent to mine, having the camera has been a bit of a security blanket to watch the workers live or review past activity. What I do not like however is that I can watch and record live via the phone app but not online. It would be helpful to be able to run live continuously on my extra desktop rather than on my phone which tends to time out. Other than that the camera has worked well. Just a few minor hiccups but overall very good.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Horrible

    Posted
    Me83
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I tried everything i could think of to make this thing work. It always had poor wifi signal and it constantly go offline. It was only 15ft away from my wifi router and it would still go offline. Bought and expensive wifi extender and it would still go offline. Placed the wifi exterder half way like they suggest and still poor signal and still go offline. I have the ring doorbell and no problem at all. This ring spotlight cameras are worthless. Ring needs to fix that problem. Don’t buy it. Save yourself a headache. Spent almost 1 hr with ring customer service with no solution. I am returning it asap.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Me83,

      Oh no, this is not the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. I do, however, greatly appreciate all the time and energy that you have invested in trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to step in and make sure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate the chance to improve your experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Best all around camera

    Posted
    Taylor
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Does it all. Quality built. Quality picture. Easy to install and set up. Motion detects even cats. I don’t care for the light but they don’t make one without the light, not a big deal it works fine just not needed. The price for monthly/yearly subscription is the most reasonable among silmilar brands. You can disassemble the mount to remove the cord, making it easier to route it through the wall. App for the camera is decent and I’m so glad that you can choose a different alert tone for notifications.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    great camera

    Posted
    tony
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I already have the ring doorbell for the front door so I recently purchased the spotlight cam for the back of the house. Really easy to hook up, basically screwing a couple holes to the outside of the house, drill bit included in the box.It works perfectly. Alarm louder that I expected, nice clear video and flood lights are very bright. To me it's a great camera for the cost. works well with my smart phone, no delays from the time I get an alert to the time I connect to my smart phone to view video. I definitely recommend.

    I would recommend this to a friend




Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.