Main Content

The BBC Natural History Collection 2: Featuring Life [10 Discs] [DVD]

Release Date:10/19/2010
Your price for this item is $109.99

Cardmember Offers

Frequently bought together

Item you're currently viewing

Thundercats: The Complete Series [DVD]
Thundercats: The Complete Series [DVD]
  • $37.99
    On Sale
    Reg. $61.99
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader [DVD] [2010]
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader [DVD] [2010]
  • $7.99
Ducktales Collection: 4-Pack [DVD]
Ducktales Collection: 4-Pack [DVD]
  • $17.99


This box set brings into a single collection five highly-acclaimed documentary miniseries from the BBC, each one woven around themes of nature. It begins with the 10-part program Life from 2009 (a follow-up to Planet Earth); narrated by Oprah Winfrey, it travels to the outermost frontiers of the natural world for 130 stories of fauna in action. As narrated by Tilda Swinton, the next program in the set, 2007's three-hour Galápagos, journeys to the titular islands - one of the most stunning natural laboratories on earth, where creation and extinction of species are more closely intertwined than anywhere else on the planet, for a immediate look at the phenomena that lie therein. The third miniseries in the package, 2008's Wild China, profiles the various species inhabiting a country that many regard as the most fascinating on Earth. The same year's Ganges jaunts over to India, for a look at how the river of the title has dramatically shaped the culture and wildlife of its parent country. Finally, 2008's Life in Cold Blood - hosted by preeminent naturalist David Attenborough - upends the primitive notion that cold-blooded life forms are somehow less complex and interesting than hot-blooded ones, with a cross-section of various cold-blooded species, and how they interact with the surrounding world.