Enjoy a safe, convenient shopping experience.Learn more

Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Model:
OLED55-H1
SKU:
6416810

Highly rated by customers for:

Your price for this item is $999.99
Save $300
The previous price was $1,299.99

Customer reviews

Rating 3.7 out of 5 stars with 817 reviews

Rating Filter

Pros mentioned filter

Cons mentioned filter

Expert reviews

Rating 4.2 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

See all expert reviews
67%would recommend to a friend
Page 1 Showing 1-20 of 817 reviews
  • Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Pros mentioned:
    Price
    Cons mentioned:
    Apps, Connections, Hdmi input

    Rated 3 out of 5 stars

    Good OLED quality, bugs made me go with other OLED

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.

    I purchased the 55" TV on the Best Buy Black Friday sale. The unit was packaged very well and came with all the correct items. (pictured so you can see how to repackage it in case you too want to return this). The initial menu setup was relatively easy and straight forward. I came from a 4k Vizio LED TV that was purchased a few years ago expecting some similarities in function and reliability. The SmartCast OS has comprehensive apps and is fairly responsive. Built-in AirPlay 2 and Googlecast features work well... but here's where the polish wore off and ultimately made me decide to go with a different [popular OLED TV also on sale]* I also bought on Black Friday Sale as a backup option to this Vizio. *(I'm omitting the specifics of the alternative OLED make/model to comply with BBY review guidelines, but it's obvious which South Korean company's OLED 10th generation unit I'm referring. Search for "Vizio oled vs"' in a VERY popular search engine and you'll see what I mean.) ... the downsides are below: There are definitely software bugs, I applied firmware upgrades, to 2 newer versions than were shipped. The latest I applied was 5.10.15.5-4 sometime around 12/1/2020. • Some picture profile settings don't persist (covered in published editorial reviews) • The TV was powered off and all CEC devices were off. At night, it just powered on by itself and displayed the 'Vizio' logo and shut off automatically. I presume it was applying a firmware update from 5.0.15.1-1 -> 5.10.15.5-4 plus the necessary reboot sequence causing the sudden wake up. Definitely could be disconcerting if in a bedroom where you're sleeping at night. • While watching a show using [red 'N' service] on [popular fruit company 4k box] (over HDMI input) for about 10 minutes, the TV popped up a notice overlaid at the top of the show saying no signal was detected and the TV will auto power off. It did power off 30 seconds later. I turned it back on, and the show was still playing uninterrupted. No sleep timer or power off option in the menus were set that should've caused this. Happened while on latest firmware version 5.10.15.5-4. • Temporary image retention was prevalent and was consistent with 3rd party editorial reviews. Saturated (bright) areas displayed for less than 20 seconds will show (especially against grey screens for minutes after). e.g. the app tiles on the Apple TV home menu show outlines after seconds of display - this is NOT the case on the same panel in the [other popular OLED TV]! • For those who use Logitech's Harmony (Hubs) for IR remotes. This Vizio OLED TV H1 DOES NOT SUPPORT DIRECT INPUT CONTROL or SEPARATE POWER BUTTON MODES. My old Vizio did support these and it became a huge hassle to properly control power on/off activities. If you want an activity to power on the Vizio and change it to HDMI4, you have to do a lot of kludgy things to get this to work. If you switch to another activity, the power on toggle will shut off the TV during a switch and you get into a loop where the TV state and Harmony activity state is out of sync. •• The [other popular OLED TV] DOES SUPPORT separate power ON and power OFF actions and direct input control. You can give a dedicated IR command to a specific HDMI input from Harmony (even though neither TV maker factory remotes have dedicated input buttons, only the [other popular OLED TV] still supports distinct input IR signals). I was like many other buyers looking at the OLED-H1, looking for that unicorn value of an OLED priced closer to typical high end LED TVs to upgrade mine. At the end of the day, this H1 delivered on picture quality (the temporary image retention is passable, but not necessary since the same panel used in [the other popular OLED TV] doesn't have this issue), but it ultimately lost because it couldn't do some of the basic things that hindered general usability. I after 4+ years using my previous Vizio, it shouldn't be a worse stability experience, but it was. I wanted to like this TV and save the money, but I was already unsure enough after reading reviewed that I bought the Geek Squad 5 year warranty to cover myself, but that put the price within ~$280 of the [another popular OLED TV]. I also realized that the 5 year warranty wouldn't cover the hassle of these problems and I may run into issues if they're intermittent. In the 5 days I had this TV, I experienced about 4 different bugs that I couldn't reproduce - even with 2 firmware version incremental updates. Now that prices returned to pre-Black Friday and Cyber Monday levels, that could put the [another popular OLED TV] out of reach again for people, but just know this Vizio H1 OLED was rushed too quickly to the market to compete for 2020 holiday and it shows.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Pros mentioned:
    Color, Design, Gaming
    Cons mentioned:
    Sound quality

    Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Not Worth the Hassle

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 4 months when reviewed.

    I held out for as long as I could in writing this review, as I generally love Vizio as a brand, but today is the breaking point. This TV is absolutely not worth the hassle. Unfortunately it is even more of a hassle to return, so I am stuck with it. I thought I got a great deal on this TV for Black Friday, and initially I was impressed with it. The colors are great, and when it works, it's an incredible TV for the price. The OLED screen is truly beautiful, and I love the fast refresh rate for gaming. But the bugs. My God, the bugs. There are so many you might as well call it an infestation. And none of them are consistent, which makes troubleshooting a near impossibility. Most of the time the TV will turn on, but about once a week, it flat out refuses. Luckily I have easy access to the power strip it's connected to, so that's a quick fix. As a matter of fact, most of the bugs are an easy fix. The audio that won't play? That's because the TV speakers randomly turn themselves off. Just hit the menu button, click on the audio option, and click left to turn them back on. Easy! But that's besides the point. I shouldn't have to do that every fifth time I turn the TV on. Is the audio on your Xbox all garbled with digital noise? Turn the TV off and back on. Easy! Again, shouldn't have do that on a regular basis. Connectivity with my AppleTV 4K unit is a joke. For brevity's sake I won't go into too many details, but, buyer beware, it's not the most pleasant experience. I regularly end up with a flickering mess of pixels and constant disconnect errors, which are usually fixed by, you guessed it, turning the TV off and back on. I'm genuinely grateful that the startup speed is quite fast, or else I would have rage thrown this thing out of my window many times by now. Randomly, the TV will go into energy saving mode, despite actively using it. This occurs during both Xbox and AppleTV use, so it's definitely an issue with the TV. I am hoping that firmware updates will fix these issues, but I've owned this TV for five months now, and these problems still persist. There was even another update today (4/13/21), and yet, problems still exist. When you shell out $1,000 for a TV, you shouldn't have this many issues. I'll close this out with a couple of other issues that are minor, but still annoying: Why is the sleep timer buried three menus deep, without a quick access option? I'd rely on the TV to shut off after inactivity, but it's a 50/50 chance that it'll happen. I miss the days of having a sleep timer button on the remote. And why is the TV volume no longer tied to the input setting of the TV? My previous Vizio TVs had independent volumes based on which input you were using. That's no longer the case. I use a headset with my Xbox, and have to turn down or mute the volume every time I switch over from my AppleTV. That's dumb. I can't say I'm ready to write Vizio off yet. This is the fourth Vizio I've owned since 2007, and the other three are still going strong. The very first one I bought nearly fourteen years ago is only now starting to die. That's a 75% hit rate, but I'm definitely wary to spend big money on a company with a C average. I'm not sure what's happened in Vizio's QA department, but they really need to step their game up.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIO
      Posted .

      Hello EVILLAMA, sorry to hear you are not having a smooth experience. I would love the opportunity to have our technical support team learn more about the issues you are experiencing. When you have a free moment, they’re available through text message, chat, or over the phone. Just go to support.VIZIO.com and click on ‘Contact Us’. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Pros mentioned:
    Color, Design, Picture
    Cons mentioned:
    Software

    Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, BUY THE WARRANTY

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 5 months when reviewed.

    I purchased this TV to function as my primary entertainment display, specifically for use with the next generation consoles. I purchased this set last November during the Black Friday sale at a discounted price and thought I was getting a great deal on an OLED. What I didn't understand was the money that I saved in upfront costs, I would unfortunately pay back in sanity. To start with, the form factor of the unit is excellent. It has an extremely thin profile and a nice solid stand. It looks great in our entertainment center. The picture quality is outstanding. The colors are vibrant and vivid while the blacks are unmistakable. I've watched several different types of media on it and they each looked incredible. Streaming services look very fluid and crisp while 4K blu-rays have uncompromised detail. It's truly the best picture I've ever owned. We've combined it with a Vizio soundbar and subwoofer for what I'm sure will be described as "the ultimate entertainment experience" or some marketing term like that. We have a PlayStation 5 and an Xbox Series X, and both of them look immaculate on the unit. As this set has HDMI 2.1 ports, I'm able to play on both consoles at 4K. This TV has settings to enable a variable refresh rate but I've experienced issues with it so I leave it disabled. Also, the PS5 at the moment does not support 4K at 120hz while the Xbox Series X does, but Vizio says they're going to send an update to fix that in the future. So lets get into the issues I've had with the TV so far. This TV has what I'm assuming is top of the line hardware, but the software has been buggy and generally frustrating. What I've learned from buying an OLED tv is that they are prone to burn-in, especially if you tend to watch or play the same thing frequently. To combat this, the tv will turn off the panel in 30 seconds if it seems like the image hasn't changed. While I appreciate this safety measure, it can be frustrating because my set has turned off during tv-shows, sporting events, and even video games. It has caused me to miss some crucial moments which was truly disappointing. I wish there was a way to disable it but I cannot find any solutions. Next let's talk about the bugs when it comes to externally connected devices. As mentioned earlier, I have two game systems connected to the TV. There are various threads on social media and reddit about their frustration in trying to use the TV with their devices. Personally, I have a TV that does not like to power on randomly. The TV will be working fine one day and then the next it will not respond to the remote or the SmartCast App. Various days this week I've had to manually unplug my TV, wait a minute or so, then plug it in to be able to use it. This can be infuriating to the point where I just won't want to use the TV. But there are days when I push past that and actually get to use the TV and neither of my consoles will send show up on the TV so I'll need to reset their video outputs and then establish them as 4K devices. Then sometimes the screen will just be black when you switch to an input with the device so you have to switch to another input, then BACK to your original one for an image to show up. If you search "Vizio OLED issues" or "Vizio OLED power issues" and read some of the comment threads, I guarantee you will be dissuaded from making this purchase. The only fix I have seen is some people who have gotten the set replaced or at least parts of the set replaced by Vizio. Don't be like me. I'm stuck with this TV because I didn't listen to the Best Buy associate who asked me if I wanted to buy the warranty. If I had, this TV would have been returned or exchanged long ago. This using this TV is a horrible game of it turning off in the middle of something important to save its pixels or not turning on because it is having power issues.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIO
      Posted .

      Hello ThatEscalatedQuickly, thank you for your feedback today. Have you been able to contact VIZIO technical support at this time? We definitely want to get more info about the issues you are having so we can assist with troubleshooting or service if needed. The Best Buy return, replacement, and repair policies are typically different than ours. We want to make sure to exhaust all troubleshooting and options for your specific issues so we can find a resolution for you. Please go to support.VIZIO.com and choose the ‘Contact Us’ option. This will get you in contact with a VIZIO agent who can help. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Great screen, rest is bad

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 month when reviewed.

    Screen is amazing, best I’ve seen. No surprise since it’s OLED. That’s where the good ends unfortunately. I’ve had so many issues with it. It will randomly not turn on so I have to unplug it from power and sometimes it’ll work. The power cord that came with it doesn’t have the straight edge on one side so I had to shove it in there to work. I did go back yesterday and they gave me a random Insignia cord but when I got home I realized it didn’t have the 90 degree bend so I still have to shove it in there since it’s pressing against the TV. Using same power strip as my previous TV which had no issue. It’s been the same with both power cords so it has to be something on the inside of the TV. AirPlay works but there is no volume. No volume from the TV, the actual device or even if headphones are connected. Looked through settings on device and TV with no luck. The remote is frustrating as there is no fast forward/rewind button. So to do that I have to press the right or left on the middle button and it only goes about 10-15 seconds at a time, and it’s slow when doing it. After holding it for several seconds it only moves maybe a minute. Maybe I should try a universal remote? I’m torn if I should return and exchange and try my luck with another or just get something else completely.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIOEntertainmentExpert
      Posted .

      Hello Ryan,

      Really sorry to hear you are having some issues, that is not the experience we want VIZIO customers to have. Regarding the power issue, can you give us some additional details about the issue you are experiencing? This is not typical so I would like to learn more so we can assist with troubleshooting/resolution. Please visit support.VIZIO.com and click on ‘Contact Us’. We’ve got agents ready to chat, text message, or speak with you on the phone. I know we have some troubleshooting steps that may help with the audio issues you described as well. VIZIO

  • Pros mentioned:
    Color, Picture, Price
    Cons mentioned:
    Hdmi input, Sound quality

    Rated 3 out of 5 stars

    Excellent picture, so-so sound, average value

    Posted .

    First impressions: the TV is carefully packaged for shipment and it comes with everything you need. I planned to replace a 45" TV I had mounted using a Rocketfish RF-HTVMM170C mount. I followed the instructions on the Quick Start Guide: "If you are wall-mounting the TV without the stand, follow the instructions that came with your wall mount..." DO NOT DO THIS! Read the instructions all the way through for TV stand mounting and you will see that the instructions assume the "discreet compartment covers" are not in place and thus will allow you to see where the power and accessory cables run through this channel. If you do not connect the power and and HDMI2+ cables before connecting your bracket, in some cases - as in the case of the RF-HTVMM170C - you will not be able to remove the "discreet compartment covers" and not be able to attach the power cord and any additional HDMI cables (only 1 is exposed)., meaning you will have to take down the TV, remove the bracket from the TV, remove the covers, attached the cables, replace the covers, and mount the TV again, all requiring a second person. Once you get in mounted and turned on, the set-up process can be a little annoying. If you fail to complete the process all the way through to the end for any reason, it will revert back to the very start when you return. Twice while trying to connect to the internet, it "froze" and provided a n error message telling me I had to "reboot" the TV and so I followed the instructions to do this. I managed to connect on the third attempt. As with most TVs, there is no built-in antenna of any type, so if you want only local channels, you must use an external antenna. After connecting the TV to set-top box for my satellite service and the internet and setting up other services such as Amazon Prime and Netflix, I could begin to experience the picture. There is no doubt that the OLED picture is wonderful. It almost has a 3D quality to the resolution. The colors are warm and realistic. The sharpness depends on the source, of course, but is very good. The contrast is excellent and I appreciate the 120Hz refresh rate for action movies. I did not find the viewing angles to be particularly wider than most sets I have seen in this range. The speakers are a disappointment - very tinny. This TV definitely deserves external speakers, a sound bar at a minimum. Only this way can you appreciate the sound processor. Others features include built-in Chromecast which saves you some money as well as Apple Airplay version 2. Also, I tried out the Alexa integration. Overall, for the money, I would rate this an average set (I am influenced by all the Black Friday deals at the moment). The picture is great, the set-up process was a frustration given my existing Rocketfish bracket, the sound was average, the processor is very good, the extra features are very good, but the documentation is weak and leads me to believe that the support may not be very good, should I need it. IT appears to be a high quality build so I expect not to have to.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIOEntertainmentExpert
      Posted .

      Hello Techsta,

      Sorry to hear you did not have a smooth set up experience. If in the future you have any questions or would like assistance with your TV please reach out to our award-winning technical support team. We can be reached by going to support.vizio.com and clicking 'contact us'. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 3 out of 5 stars

    It’s good but I’m aggravated

    |
    Posted .

    The tv quality is good and all but I have one issue with this tv. Their is a white line on the top of my panel and then their is multiple faint white lines on the left side of my tv. I don’t know if it was damaged by an employee or this is a bug on the tv. Please help support it’s very bothering

    Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIOEntertainmentExpert
      Posted .

      Hello,

      Can you give us some additional details about the issue you are experiencing? This is not typical so I would like to learn more so we can assist with troubleshooting/resolution. Please visit support.VIZIO.com and click on ‘Contact Us’. We’ve got agents ready to chat, text message, or speak with you on the phone. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Faulty Unit

    |
    Posted .

    I've had a great experience with Vizio in the past, and the ordering and delivery from Best Buy was smooth and quick. The tv looked great when it worked. But after only two days it will no longer turn on. I noticed the tv randomly turning on and off during installation but I assumed I was bumping the power button in the back. Happened again later after being mounted where the tv seemed to briefly turn off and then back on again, but I thought it had something to do with setting up CEC. On day 2 however, after working fine in the afternoon, it wouldn't turn back on in the evening. Tried different things, disconnect all input devices, but still nothing. Vizio tech support tried to help, but they couldn't figure it out. So I will be returning the TV. One thing I noticed after packing the tv up again is that the power cord that came with the unit doesn't match the shape on the back of the tv (non polarized vs polarized, respectively). Brought this up with Vizio tech support and they stated that this should be the cause. But I'm not sure about that. I've added pictures to show what I'm talking about. On another note, CEC commands seemed to be hit or miss on this unit when connected to an Apple TV and SONOS Amp. My previous TV (SONY) worked just fine with CEC, so I'm not sure what the issue was with the Vizio. But this is something that I expect they'll fix with a firmware update. Its a shame, the Vizio OLED looked really good.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIOEntertainmentExpert
      Posted .

      Hello,

      I am so sorry to hear you had a less than ideal experience with your TV. Thank you for your detailed review and thank you for giving our technical support team a chance to assist with troubleshooting this issue. This issue is not common, so I appreciate you bringing it to our attention. If you have exchanged this TV for another VIZIO and have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to us again by going to support.vizio.com and clicking 'contact us'. Thank you. VIZIO

  • Features

    Brightness
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Picture Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Sound Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Most Frustrating TV Ever Owned

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 year when reviewed.

    My review one year in with the tv. When the Tv works, it is definitely pretty. But other than that the tv is not worth the frustration or the money. I should have returned it. 1) When I first got it, when trying to play video games (using a disc) on Xbox or Playstation the screen would turn green or looked fragmented. After a month it started working. 2) Then the screen started turning black while watching anything whether native app or through an HDMI. Sometimes the sound would stay on. Sometimes the sound would stop too. The TV's power light was indicating on though. Nothing worked and the only remedy was to unplug the tv and plug it back in. I contacted support several times, was assured it was a firmware issue they were working on. But if the issue persisted into October to request the warranty. The issue persisted, I asked for a warranty. And was generally ignored when asking for one. In mid November the issue got so bad that it was blacking out every couple seconds. They forced an update, now it happens much less frequently. 3) Now that the black out issue is mostly resolved airplay stopped working. You can get visual but if you play any audio you get a white noise, static screech on every app but youtube (that works for some reason). I contacted vizio support. After about an hour and a half of not being able to solve the issue I was told they will forward the info gathered today to their software engineers, they may call back with other troubleshoots/fixes. (Airplay hasn't worked for about a month) I took Screenshots of videos I have taken of the issues through time. The two green images are from February and June of 2021. the black screen with the power light on is from November 2021.

    Features

    Brightness
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Picture Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Sound Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIO
      Posted .

      Hello Brian, in the event that an issue does happen, VIZIO strives to provide our customers with the award-winning service and support to ensure issues are handled as quickly and easily as possible. We appreciate that you reached out to us and gave us the opportunity to correct this unfortunate situation. Please do keep in contact with our support team if you continue to experience issues. We want to make sure to exhaust all troubleshooting and options to find the best resolution for you. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 2 out of 5 stars

    Overall pretty buggy TV.

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 2 months when reviewed.

    Not as bright as I’d like it. The display is and resolution is pretty good for next-gen consoles at 4K. The interface is pretty easy to navigate. You get most of the streaming apps and is nice you have direct bottoms to them on the remote. The tv itself is pretty buggy. Doesn’t pick up the inputs most of the time. Also sometimes it doesn’t turn on. Even when pressing the power button on the tv itself. Every once in a while I’ll have to unplug it and wait for everything to work. I’ve had it looked at 3 times with new parts installed and it still messes up. So glad I purchased the geek squad package. Overall the 4K resolution and display is fine. But it’s a pretty buggy and unresponsive tv. Would not recommend.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIO
      Posted .

      Hello Rhakeem, sorry to hear you are not having a smooth experience. I would love the opportunity to have our technical support team learn more about the issues you are experiencing. When you have a free moment, they’re available through text message, chat, or over the phone. Just go to support.VIZIO.com and click on ‘Contact Us’. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    My new tv

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 3 weeks when reviewed.

    So far pretty happy with the TV it does have a tendency to just cut off at times and then I have to cut it back on with the remote not sure what that’s about but other than that I like it.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Brightness
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Picture Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Sound Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Must have for Gaming and movies if your a nerd :)

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 month when reviewed.

    Very impressed with picture quality for my PS5 and watching movies. A must have for gaming and great price for an OLED

    Features

    Brightness
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Picture Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Sound Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Do not waste your money on this garbage TV!

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 2 weeks when reviewed.

    Where do I begin. This TV is incredibly buggy. I will never purchase another Vezio television again. So when watching this television the signal just stops working. This is if you’re using a Firestick, PlayStation 4 Pro, Playstation 5 and or Apple TV. I cannot switch the input to change it. A light comes in on the bottom left indicating the television is on but no signal. I have to unplug my TV and then it’s back to normal. I purchased this television on 5/12/21 on 5/27/21 the television does not work. Don’t let the store demo fool you. The TV resolution is darker than most. The picture quality you see on the floor demo is nowhere indicative to the actual picture quality. I cannot stress enough DO NOT PURCHASE THIS TV. I’ve never been disappointed with a television before until now. What a garbage TV: Worst television investment of my life. It really bothers me how terrible this television is. I will try to return the television today. This is utterly unacceptable.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIO
      Posted .

      Hello RealEstateGuy, sorry to hear that you're having trouble. That's not at all the experience we'd like for our customers. VIZIO is committed to making sure you have the best viewing experience possible. Based on your description of the problem, we’d really love for you to speak with our customer service team. They’ve got a few questions about the devices you have connected, and what kind of content you’re watching. If you haven't returned the TV yet, please reach out to our support team on support.VIZIO.com by clicking 'Contact Us'. We'd appreciate the chance to try and help you. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Do not buy this television

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 2 months when reviewed.

    I researched this TV and all the reviews gave it glowing reviews. That's it. Once you actually order it. It's an absolute nightmare. Full of bugs. 3 service tickets with Vizio. It does not matter what cable you use or which 2.1 port you use. The TV loses signal all the time. The TV will sometimes show a black screen and other times it will show a distorted signal. Vizio support will tell you this is a known issue and they hope one day to release firmware to fix it. The solution provided by Vizio has been to perform hard resets on the television when this happens. Its been an ongoing issue since I purchased the television in May.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIO
      Posted .

      Hello jeremiah, sorry to hear you are not having a smooth experience. I would love the opportunity to have our technical support team learn more about the issues you are experiencing. When you have a free moment, they’re available through text message, chat, or over the phone. Just go to support.VIZIO.com and click on ‘Contact Us’. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    OLED is king

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for less than 1 week when reviewed.

    Best tv for the price hands down the picture is absolutely stunning right now I only use for tv and movies so can’t comment on gaming but nothing beats oled for picture quality sure you can get a bigger tv but the picture sucks I upgraded from a 43 inch vizio I bought 3 years ago

    Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 1 out of 5 stars

    Do not purchase

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 7 months when reviewed.

    The tv does not support vrr with the Xbox series x even after promising this feature. Every time I turn on my Xbox and shut the tv off for the day I have to unplug the tv and plug it back in before it will turn on again. Also goes into strange color modes sometimes randomly. This is the worst tv I’ve owned. Not to mention the customer support sucks.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    1 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    2 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIO
      Posted .

      Hello Jake, VIZIO is committed to bringing you a pro gaming experience on your next generation console. With VIZIO & console developers frequently releasing new updates, features, and patches, we'd recommend you go to support.VIZIO.com & click on ' PS5 & Xbox Series X|S FAQs ' for the most up to date tips on how to get the most out of your console. VIZIO

  • Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Recommended

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 month when reviewed.

    Just amazing at the beginning little bit off With the internet And sometimes the volume mute himself Looks like everything is working well done now

    Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Picture
    Cons mentioned:
    Apps, Connections

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Amazing TV, SmartCast iOS app needs some work

    Posted .

    This is my first 4K tv as well as my first OLED TV and I am impressed with the picture quality. They physical setup was easy. The box is big, but they make it easy to unpack. The instructions suggest two people, but I was able to do it on my own. I opted to use the provided stand vs wall mount. I like the built-in cable management on the back and the base. When you power up the TV for the first time, it walks you through the setup and it was very easy. The first thing you are presented is when your TV is setup is the SmartCast home screen (see picture). SmartCast is easy to use and loaded with the most popular apps and all the ones I use on a regular basis. There doesn’t appear to be a way to download additional apps. The interface is intuitive and responsive. The built-in apps look and feel like they do on my AppleTV, unlike some other TV operating systems. If you need more apps you can use AirPlay or Chromecast, or you can just hook up your favorite streaming device. My AppleTV recognized that it was connected to a 4K TV and asked if I wanted to bump it up to 4K Dolby Vision. Unlike my other TV, turning on the AppleTV wakes up the TV to that input. Turning off the AppleTV also turns off the TV, which isn’t always what I want, so I have found I just switch inputs and let the AppleTV go to sleep on its own. The TV menus are intuitive. The quick picture settings are nice to have. Plus it adjusts the picture settings below it so you can see how each picture mode is configured. You also the ability to hide inputs you don’t use, which is a nice feature so you don’t have to scroll through so many. The remote is simple but useful. The app shortcut buttons work as expected, plus if the TV is off and you press on, it turns the TV on and goes directly to that app. I prefer a click to a swipe like with an AppleTV. You can actually use the Vizio remote seamlessly with the AppleTV. The build of the TV is nice. The bezel is really thin. Front of the base is actually metal and is pretty hefty. The cable management in the back is really nice. You can snake your cables all the way from the input on the TV down through the stand without them showing. The speakers are pretty good. They have some good bass to them and can get pretty loud without any distortion. The SmartCast iOS app isn’t great. It has a keyboard so you can type on your phone instead of using the remote. The problem is that it does not respond properly when using it within apps. Sometimes it doesn’t enter numbers, symbols or punctuation, like @ or . for instance, in an email address for your app login. Other times it only accepts numbers. The app also doesn’t have an input box where you can copy and paste passwords, which would be better than typing them out. I do like how the app has a virtual version of the remote, which I probably won’t use, but is a nice touch. I didn’t ding the TV any stars because of the app, but the app is a companion to the TV, so I would expect it to work better than it does. I really don’t have anything bad to say about the TV. I think it would have been nice if Vizio had used a proven TV OS instead of using their own, but I’m actually impressed with it considering it’s a home grown OS. I do have a gripe about the SmartCast iOS app, but that will hopefully improve over time. I would definitely recommend this TV, the picture is great.

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Pros mentioned:
    Gaming, Picture, Price
    Cons mentioned:
    Hdmi input

    Rated 5 out of 5 stars

    Stellar picture quality and great gaming

    Posted .

    I owned an LG 49Nano85UNA for several weeks, but several short comings of the display made me return and resume my search. On paper it had everything a next gen gamer would want... 1:4k@120, check 2:HDMI 2.1 support, check 3:HDR/Dolby vision support, check 4: Local dimming backlight to improve contrast and HDR performance, check. Yet it was the last part that was the reason for returning it. Using an IPS panel with a poorly implemented local dimming feature, HDR was unusable. So to my surprise when I hopped on Best Buy’s website I found that the 55” Vizio OLED was being sold at an astonishing $400 off. Which in my case put it just a couple hundred above what I had paid for the LG, so it was a no brainer. As a plasma enthusiast I have been looking for a display that would fill the void left by the long gone tech. At current asking price the Vizio OLED is one of the best deals in home theater and gaming displays. As the year ends and we’re introduced to the next generation of gaming hardware on both the PC and Console front, I was looking for the perfect companion to take advantage of the horse power. After several hours of torture test, I have not been disappointed. From the ray trace cityscape of Spider-man to the post apocalyptic wasteland of The last of us: Part 2 I have been blown away by the picture and performance. I am seeing details in games that weren’t as noticeable as before on my previous LG display. The one thing that should be mentioned is the use of the 4k@120 via HDMI 2.1. The Vizio supports this new gen of HDMI, but currently the PS5/Xbox series X aren’t supported or in the case of the Series X are having issues, Vizio will be releasing an update in the very near future that will allow use of these ports (HDMI 2&3). The display is mainly used for gaming and between the near instantaneous pixel response time, eliminating nearly all motion blur to the relatively low input lag (18-20ms) this set is a gamers dream. Once full VRR is implemented on the set input lag will likely be further improved. In the case of Sony, they’re working on the update for the PS5. I am primarily a gamer and my display seldom see use for movies, but the Vizio OLED has made me watch more films in the last few days than in the last decade. It is now my wife’s preferred display. From the inky black, the perfect motion and amazing HDR reproduction she’s now in love. Since Best Buy doesn’t currently offer editing reviews this is where I leave you. This has been my hands on review after a week of use, so look in the comments for updates if interested. Side note: constructing the stand is fairly straight forward, but be warned the thick plastic of the rear leg is very sharp. If not careful it can result in minor cuts.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    5 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Pros mentioned:
    Design, Picture

    Rated 4 out of 5 stars

    So Good, But Not Quite Perfect

    Posted .

    This is the first OLED TV that I’ve owned and I’m quite impressed with it so far. This TV replaced an older, smaller one in my living room and is mostly used for streaming shows, video watching on YouTube, and light gaming on my PS4 or Xbox One S. The picture quality on this thing is absolutely gorgeous. 55” is perfect for my apartment living room, the 4K resolution is stunning, and the OLED panel tops everything off with infinite contrast and perfect blacks. I’m still amazed that the screen is only 4mm thick. I personally think build quality is stellar. Out of the box, the TV is covered in plastic for protection. The stand is made of metal and Vizio did a nice job of concealing cables with removable plastic paneling on the back of the TV. Audio quality from the built in speakers is good, but I did pair my TV with a soundbar and I do think that’s the way to go for more volume, deeper bass, and an all around more immersive experience. App selection on this TV is definitely above average, but I noticed that HBO is not offered. Unsure if this is a Vizio thing or what. As someone who watches Lovecraft Country and Last Week Tonight, I found this to be a huge bummer. However, AirPlay did save the day as I am able to stream HBO content very easily. You can also cast if you’re not an Apple person. Something else that I noticed with this TV is that it does not have Bluetooth. This one really perplexes me, especially considering what this TV costs. My soundbar is Bluetooth enabled and this would be my preferred way of connecting it to the TV. Good news is that there are audio out ports, so connecting my soundbar was easy, just a bit inconvenient when I had stored the audio cable and struggled to find it. My last little gripe is that you have to create a Vizio account in order to integrate the TV with Homekit or Google/ Amazon smart assistants. I have some Alexa devices in my apartment so I do realize I’ve already given up most of my data and privacy, but I personally don’t really care to create another account with Vizio just to have Alexa turn on my TV. All in all, I really like this TV, despite the few qualms I’ve mentioned. It has a lot to offer and the few negatives that I’ve mentioned have work-arounds. If you’re looking for a name brand OLED TV that’s well built with gorgeous picture quality, I would still absolutely recommend this one!

    I would recommend this to a friend
  • Features

    Ease of Use
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Pros mentioned:
    Design, Picture, Price

    Rated 3 out of 5 stars

    Amazing picture... sometimes not

    |
    Posted .
    Owned for 1 week when reviewed.

    Got this tv for a great price and I really want to love it. The Dolby Vision provides a truly incredible viewing experience and HDR and HDR10 are almost as good but they all have an issue that I have seen a few people online talking about. Here is the issue. When there is a scene with a darker background and the foreground or any other part of the picture is brighter the screen will sometimes flicker from bright to dark. This only happens in certain scenes with certain lighting features but it ruins the whole viewing experience. I provided two screenshots taken from video moments not more than a few frames apart. You can see in the photos the lighting changes from lighter to darker. It's from the show on AppleTV called SEE. SEE is shown in Dobly Vision. I replicated the issue on the Vizio TV app and replicated it on my Apple TV (4K) device, which supports Dobly Vision and they both produce the flickering in the same scene (Episode 8 around the 40 minute mark) so it is obviously a processing issue within the Vizio TV. No matter what picture setting I change on the Vizio the flickering always happens. I've encountered this issue on many other shows and movies too so it's not just this show. In addition to the issue in Dolby Vision, HDR and HDR10 shows and movies will do the same thing when there is a similar lighting contract from dark to light. It doesn't do it in every scene that has a contrast, only a few but again it ruins the incredible viewing experience. HDR and HDR10 have additional issues. The first and most annoying, besides the flickering, in many scenes the foreground or subject looks great but the background or anything not in the immediate foreground has a very grainy film look. It's very noticeable and distracting. To confirm it wasn't how the shows or movies were filmed I checked the shows/movies and found the scenes that were grainy on the Vizio Oled and watched it on my much older Samsung 6 series. To my surprise the scenes are not grainy on the Samsung so again the Vizio Oled needs some serious updating to their processing. The other issue in HDR and HDR10 is the colors are way blown out in the reds. I can adjust them to make them look better but changing the color settings depending on what format the show or movie is in, is really not an option for me. I will be returning the TV soon. Sorry Best Buy but until Vizio can correct their processing issues this TV is more frustrating than satisfying. I would have given this TV 5 stars all the way around if not for the processing issues.

    Features

    Ease of Use
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Quality
    3 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    Value
    4 out of 5
     
     
     
     
     
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend
    • Brand response from VIZIOEntertainmentExpert
      Posted .

      Hello KMac,

      Can you give us some additional details about the issue you are experiencing? This is not typical so I would like to learn more so we can assist with troubleshooting/resolution. Please visit support.VIZIO.com and click on ‘Contact Us’. We’ve got agents ready to chat, text message, or speak with you on the phone. VIZIO

Shopping Assistant
Best Buy Home Expert helps a family measure an area in their home for a TV.

Consult with a Home Expert for free.