Main Content

Night Owl - 4-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wireless 1080p NVR Surveillance System

Monitor your home and property with this wireless four-channel Night Owl video security system. Its four Full HD cameras with 100-foot night vision range have built-in two-way audio for real-time communication. The Wi-Fi-enabled NVR unit of this Night Owl video security system has 1TB of storage to secure vital footage.

Choosing a Home Security Solution
$499.99
Or
$41.67Per month See Disclaimer 1
suggested payments with 12-Month Financing

Protect your product

Learn about Replacement Plans
Protection Plan Options

Item Added.View List

Add to List

    No lists found. Create one today.
    Add Item

    Overview

    What's Included


    • 1x 4 Channel 1080p HD NVR with pre-installed 1TB Hard Drive
    • 4x 1080p Indoor/Outdoor Wireless Infrared IP Cameras
    • 12x Mounting Hardware and Screws
    • 1x 6 ft. HDMI Cable
    • 1x RJ-45 Cable (Ethernet)
    • 1x 9 ft. Wi-Fi Extender Antenna
    • 4x Camera Antennas
    • 1x NVR Power Adapter, 2x NVR Antennas, 1x USB Mouse, 4x 9 ft. Camera Power Adapters, 1x Support Material Packet
    • 3 x Night Owl Security Stickers

    Ratings & Reviews


    Overall Customer Rating:
    77% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (62 out of 81)

    Features


    Notifications keep you informed

    Receive movement-detection notifications that contain recorded footage.

    Monitor your property with four cameras

    Includes four 1080p cameras for recording high-resolution video for widescreen viewing.

    View and record from up to four channels

    Compatible with most Night Owl cameras (sold separately).

    Set and forget with hard drive storage

    Record continuously from four channels on pre-installed 1TB hard drive. For extra capacity, connect an external hard drive to the eSATA port.

    Capture everything in HD

    Vivid 1080p resolution allows you to see small details on your screen.

    Powerful night vision up to 100'

    Allows you to monitor your home or business even in dim lighting, automatically switching the picture to black-and-white in low-light conditions.

    Viewing angle up to 100°

    Expertly captures a wide angle of your property for exceptional security at all times.

    Live viewing and real-time playback

    Easy setup for widescreen, real-time video playback on displays up to 1080p with high-speed Internet or smartphone connectivity.

    Remote viewing with the free Night Owl X app

    Surveillance is in the palm of your hand with live viewing on any 3G-/4G enabled smartphone or tablet. App download required.

    Two-way audio via a built-in microphone and speaker

    Makes it easy to hear and speak with guests before opening the door.

    Secure wireless network with 300' wireless range

    Provides uninterrupted video transmission.


    Customer rating

    Rating 4 out of 5 stars with 81 reviews

    77%
    would recommend to a friend

    Pros

    Cons

    Most relevant reviews

    See all customer reviews
    • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

      Clear video but app for phone is below standards

      Posted
      Kelli2me
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      I am pleased with the cameras, they record very clear pictures and the night vision recordings are impressive. The cameras with the recording station has significant memory that it will store a full year, 365, 24/7 before it will rerecord over itself. I would have preferred that the cameras would swivel to allow it to be angled just where you want it to be, but that's not a deal breaker. The free app available for download on your phone so you can be notified of movements in view of the cameras is the biggest downfall of this system. It could even have to do with the recording station main box. I am constantly losing connection on various cameras so I cannot always see what is going on. I haven't checked to see if it's recorded at the system and if the problem is just the app. There is a delay. Originally it started at 5 seconds, but now when I awake in the morning, 2 of my cameras still appear in the dark from the night before, while the other 2 are actually live. So I can't really say what the delay time is. When you click into the camera location on the app, it eventually updates it to live again. But you ask yourself What if something happened during that time? Would you have record of it? I do like that when the cameras do catch movement and record it, you can call it up on the app and view each one. But again, there are cameras that would have had to record first before my other ones would record due to the set up and those ones do not have any recordings during that time. Hmmm, after writing this, I think I am going to go change my rating to a lower number. For the amount that I paid for this system, you should have a more reliable service. My purpose for the cameras is for peace of mind that if someone is on my property uninvited and takes or damages something, I want to know who it is and when it happened and have something to turn over to authorities. There are way too many thefts and burglaries in my area now.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        Good Afternoon and thank you for this very detailed feedback. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with your contact info and a brief description of the issue. One of our tech support leads will reach out to your for advanced troubleshooting to find a resolution. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!

    • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

      more con's than pro's

      Posted
      bobby

      Pro's = #1. Customer Service is Good #2. Wireless, But not 100% wireless, and there are con's to the wireless signal. Con's = #1. wireless has limited range, and when 2 out of the 4 signal bars which =50% signal the picture is grainy, and the motion frames per second is horrible which equals to parts of movement skipping/not being able to see all motion. #2. Not completely wireless, you have to plug each camera into a wall outlet via there 6-9 feet ac plug. #3. The App to view cameras remotely is horrible only has 1.9 star rating, app shows video's in 8-12 frames per second. app crashes allot, you have to close app, and re-open frequently to view live view. In addition you can't fast forward, or rewind while watching the recorded videos in app #4. no cloud service so if dvr is damaged or stolen, all recorded video is gone for good #5. camera covers only 100 degree angle, so it doesn't cover allot of area, for example I would need two cameras to cover my entire living room, any other room I would also need 2 cameras to cover the entire room. #6. mounting base if installed on any ceiling has somewhat good angle as far as aiming camera up, down, left or right, however if you mount camera directly on a wall aiming camera up or down is easy however aiming it left or right is not possible based on the design. #7. zooming in on images/video on app looks ok, however zooming in on video/images while viewing from dvr to tv is horrible #8. recordings are in military time, and can't be changed. #9. Each camera has a 1 inch wide reset button attached to the end of the cable, so if you plan to make a hole on your wall or ceiling you have to make about 1-1/4 inch hole to run the cable/reset button behind the wall. #10. navigating through dvr recorded video's is not user friendly. As you can see there are more con's than Pro's. so in my honest opinion I would say go with a wired system and try to make running all those wire's throughout your house somehow work, and what ever other system you consider if remote monitoring is important then 1st go to app store and read the reviews on that systems app. I would also go with a 5mp system it gives better resolution than 1080p.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        Thank you so much for taking the time to review this product. We would like the opportunity to discuss some of these issues with you, in more detail, to come to a resolution. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com, at your convenience, with your 1) name, 2) contact phone, 3) time of day to reach you and 4) the issues you listed in this review. One of our advanced agents will work with you directly to address them. Thank you so much for choosing Night Owl, and we look forward to hearing from you.

    • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

      Tech support is no support

      Posted
      Hurricane

      Out of the box everything set up fast, easy, worked. User interfaces a bit clunky but offer a lot of customization to address picture quality and bandwidth used. Wireless range through walls is about 30 to 50 feet but that was ok. After a day though, motion detection notifications to our phone stopped ( the most important thing we need it to do). average wait time to reach someone A half hour. The people who answer the tech support lines are polite but on the phone you can tell they have to read the manual like its the first time they heard of the product just like us buyers, and can offer little advice beyond unplug it and plug back in, uninstall software then reinstall. They constantly have to put you on hold while they try to find someone who knows something about the product. I went through several level one techs and have about 3 hours Between calls, listening to elevator music, etc. was promised a level two tech would call, followed up a few times to find out when they would call, but, I font think they exist. So where we are is we got a nice wireless camera system that's easy to set up easy to use takes great video but can't be depended on to notify us if someone tries to break in. If we can't get help it will have to go back to Best Buy.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        Good Afternoon. I am so sorry to hear you have had difficulty addressing your product related concerns with our support staff and finding a resolution to your issues. Please email your best contact info and name to techteam@nightowlsp.com. I will ensure we arrange for a callback at your convenience and get this swiftly handled. Again, we sincerely apologize for the experience you have had. Look forward to hearing from you.

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      I would not advise buying this system.

      Posted
      Charlie
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      Purchased this system on 7/27/17 to install at my elderly mother's home. Finally had time to install on 8/15/17. The install of the 4 wireless cameras and NVR only took about 1 1/2 hours to complete. All four cameras functioned when system was powered up. after going through initial set up we lost cameras 3 and 4 signal. Spent 3 hours on the phone with tech support and reset cameras 10 times to no avail. Finally camera 3 seen by the NVR but still no 4th camera. Tech support has had me switch power plugs to be sure source is not the issue. No signal found still after this. The 3 functioning cameras sometimes have poor connections and lose video feed even though they are all within 25 feet of the NVR as it is a ranch home and they are installed on the first floor. The fourth camera is on the outside within 70 feet of the NVR so should be well within the claimed 300 feet of wireless range. Also the remote connect functions sometimes - sometimes if we're lucky we get connected to the3 working cameras, sometimes only 1 or 2 others no connections at all. I called the store we purchased it from to see if I could return for the Arlo system I was debating between with the NightOwl. I was told since it is beyond their 14 day no question policy I can not return now looks like it will be on to dealing with NightOwl and their tech team which I have been doing for days and still not able to resolve the issues. I would not suggest buying this wireless system from my experience and if you do be sure to install right away so if there is an issue you can return to Best Buy right away. Poor store return policy and we may need to find a new electronics store to deal with. Spent $500+ for something that does not function correctly. It is a shame Circuit City went out of business.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        Hi Charlie. We are sorry to hear you are having an issue with your Night Owl system. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with the following: your name, contact phone number, brief description of the issue and the best time of day to reach you. One of our technical leads will follow up with you after researching your tech support call so we can get this resolved.

    • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

      Terrible choice for home serveilance security

      Posted
      leeuw

      I brought the Night Owl wireless 4 camera WNVR201-44P at Best Buy 11 months ago 9/29/17, since then I've had to replace 2 cameras and have had many connectivity issues that required many ladder climbs to removed already mounted cams to restore or replace the cam under warranty which will soon expire, the phone apps for android , ipad , iPhone has gotten to be very spotty and play back on app misses a lot of hits that require you to go to the NVR and have a monitor or PC to view, customer service Is terrible. This system may be wireless but you still have a power cord to connect for each camera and for the 2 cameras I had to replace because they stop functioning it's simply not worth the trouble or money, I think far less of Best Buy now as my store of choice because they continue to sell this product, I just kissed $499. down the toilet.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        We are terribly sorry for the experience you've had so far. Please contact our advanced technical support team so they may assist you troubleshooting the issue you are experiencing. Please email us at techteam@nightowlsp.com. We look forward to assisting you.

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      Warranty vs Security

      Posted
      Paperless

      The box makes it look straightforward. But try downloading software. You'll need receipts from the retailer. (So if this is a gift you'll have to ask the gifter. Imagine that) The registration process is nearly impossible. I have a brand new system which I can't use and can't get technical support because I don't have a receipt!!!! In my chat, I questioned the purpose of a security system which I can't use because I don't have a receipt! The answer: the warranty is to protect me. If you need security, get a system that you can simply plug in and use. Night Owl is more interested in protecting themselves and their product, not you!!!!!! Stay away!!!!

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        We are very sorry for the confusion. The only time we may request a Proof of purchase or receipt is when we are attempting to process a warranty. However, we would like to assist you with any issue you may be experiencing with your Night Owl system. Please contact our advanced technical support team by email at techteam@nightowlsp.com. In the email, please provide your name, number, any reference case number you may have and also a brief description of the issue you are currently experiencing. Again, we are very sorry for the confusion. We truly look forward to assisting you.

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      Very Disappointed

      Posted
      SallyDisappointed

      Range on cameras are less then 15 feet away from DVR box outside.... Customer support is out of the country and hard to understand. No call back; no support. Spent extra $ to run wireless to save time on install, spent more time trying to get them to work; Almost a month. Box says 300' through obstructions; customer support says not possible without buying extra antennas. Im skeptical "because Long Range" Antenna provided dose not help even 15 feet away even with the with dvr box sitting in the window next to the outdoor camera... Now I have holes in my house from installing cameras and running power cables to connect them.... wasted time. Note: Streaming video to phone from dvr box does not work unless box is hardwired router with Ethernet cable .....

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        Sorry to hear you are having difficulty with getting your Wireless NVR setup and properly configured. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com and one of our agents will arrange for an advanced tech support callback to walk you through setup. Thank you!

    • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

      Nothing But Trouble, No Customer Support

      Posted
      WilliamH
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      I started having trouble after 1 month. It would not let me sign in and a few minutes later, it would let me. This went on for a month and then locked me out permanently. On Thanksgiving Day I had my son try to resolve the problem through customer service. He was on the phone for over 2 hours and much of that was on hold. He asked for a replacement box since this one has obvious software problems and was ignored. He eventually got frustrated with customer support and hung up. The signal is only ok at best. I would never recommend this brand to anyone.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        Night Owl

        Hi William. If you are still experiencing issues with your system, please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with the following: 1) your name, 2) contact phone #, 3) best time of day to reach you, 4) your model number and 5) a brief description of what is occurring. One of our advanced agents will then reach out to provide more troubleshooting. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!




    Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.