Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Hoover - WindTunnel 2 Rewind Upright Vacuum - Blue-Front_Standard

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 2024 reviews

94%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.8 out of 5 stars with 1 review

Pros

Cons

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 34 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Already Broken after 13 Months

    Posted
    GeorgeP
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We purchased this vacuum in late April 2015, the cord no longer rewinds and the unit will not turn off at the switch, we need to plug and unplug it to turn it off. We moved into a new home that had homes being developed around us so we had dust being tracked on our floors. When we initially used the vacuum it picked up the fine dust but that only lasted a couple of months, it no longer picks up everything on the floor. To start off, this is an awful design, the holes in the canister stops up. I have had to unscrew the entire canister to clean it out which is not an easy feat. We are 65 years old and do not have pets or high traffic so this should have lasted longer than it did. Our last Hoover lasted 22 years with an occasional belt change. Save you money and get a Sharp!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not good

    Posted
    Sabbernie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    So, I bought this vacuum for our beach place. We don't go there all that often but we vacuum each we go. We replaced an older Riccar vac and noticed immediately that this one didn't have the same suction as the old unit. I probably should have returned it immediately but there is just something odd to me about returning a vacuum cleaner. This weekend, I reached my limit with it. I was vacuuming the sofa and it clearly wasn't picking much up. The canister was empty and I checked the hose for obstructions. This machine just doesn't clean very well. There are other things that are annoying too. The self winding cord works but the cord isn't as long as my old vac so keep unplugging and finding another outlet. The on/off swithch is in an inconvenient place (sounds like a little thing but it gets annoying) This unit wasn't a lot of money but it is a real shame that Hoover would put their name on such a poor product.. I'll be buying something else before my next trip to the beach...

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Poorly Made

    Posted
    PMHAN
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    While the suction power is great on this vacuum, that doesn't overcome the many shortfalls this vacuum has. The dirt chamber requires you to basically dig out the pet hair/dust/dirt with your hand. The bottom hinge of the dirt chamber broke on my first use and I am having to make due with it. However, by far the most frustrating thing is the process involved in reassembling the dirt chamber/filter parts after you clean it. The design of where it screws together is horrible. I expected MUCH more from Hoover. I do not recommend this particular vacuum, it is without a doubt the worst I have ever owned.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst vacuum

    Posted
    debb50
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Worst vacuum I ever purchased. I will never buy a Hoover again. I always trusted Eureka and should have bought that brand in the first place. The Hoover had a leakage issue right out of the box. I googled to see why a brand new vacuum had no suction and a high pitch whistling sound on top of the loud motor noise. The answer I received was that there was an air leak somewhere on the body or hose of the vacuum. They gave serval ways to test the machine to find the leak. Why would I even try, the vacuum was brand new! Back in the box and back to Best Buy. My new Eureka works great!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    The worst vacuum cleaner I ever had

    Posted
    Nick1123
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I purchased this vacuum cleaner just 5 months ago. I used it just once a week to vacuum my small apartment . The brush stopped turning. I figured to give a call the Hoover customer service to discuss their 2 years warranty. Guess what they carried less that their product is a garbage . They don't fix it!!! Don't waist your money. I should've gotten the shark vacuum as my sister suggested. I guess I have to through this one away and get the sharks vacuum. I would put 0 stars for this vacuum if I could.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi Nick1123, have you checked your belt? It may be stretched or broken. This can cause the brushroll to stop spinning on this model. If the belt is broken and you still need help after checking, email me at Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. We'll make this right.

      -Ian
      Hoover Customer CareHoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    broken out of box

    Posted
    mister
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Height adjust was not functional. Called Hoover and gave me the run around and made me cut my cord And send them pictures!!! In order to get a replacement, after that I told them to give Me a refund and that there customer service was a sorry operation. After hours on phone they agreed to refund (oh yea I got irate) I told them I didn't want a new one cause I never wanted to deal with there sub par service again. still waiting on refund check!!!!!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Incredibly noisy, does not clean well

    Posted
    jamie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have never heard such a noisy vacuum cleaner (or anything this noise other than a jet engine, maybe). It is ridiculously loud. The worse part is that it does not clean hard floors at all. It is useless for what I bought it, and extremely annoying. A complete waste of money. And because we did not try it early enough, we can no longer return it.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    This is a horrible vacuum - do not buy

    Posted
    Rogerthat
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Whoever is responsible for this product should be ashamed of themselves. This is an example of the bare minimum -- the roller brush does not have an "off". so if you use the hose feature, you have to make sure the vacuum is not destroying the carpet. It is so obvious this is the cheapest way they could make this vacuum -- even the on/off switch is located on the main body section, not hear the handle. We are going to return ours.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Never worked

    Posted
    LTom
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This is the second one of these I have bought. The first one was wonderful, just wore out. This one did not work the first time out of the box. Working with Hoover has been a nightmare. I have now taken it to a service center and they too say Hoover is tough to deal with. Don't buy this!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Worst ever

    Posted
    Chuck

    If you like touching the dirt you just picked up this is the vacuum for you. After vacuuming a small area you have to put your hand inside the container to get the dirt out. I can't get my hand inside so I have to tap it on the ground to get everything out. Now everything is all over the ground again. Worst vacuum ever.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Terrible vacuum

    Posted
    journeyman100

    I've had this vacuum perhaps six months and already it needs repairs. The motor runs for about only 10 minutes, gets extremely hot, and then the vacuum just quits. Don't waste your money on this vacuum. This is my second Hoover in about 2 1/2 years. I'm done with Hoover. Very poor quality!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi journeyman100! If your cleaner is shutting off, there may be a possible clog or dirty filter your not aware of. Remove dirt cup. Open dirt cup lid by pushing up on the lip underneath the Hoover emblem. Inside you will find a foam filter. If dirty rinse under warm running water and let air dry for 24 hrs. Remove both ends of the hose, run a broomstick handle through the hose to knock out any possible clogs. Hope this helps!

      -Giselle
      Hoover Customer CareHoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a good vac

    Posted
    Sabbernie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this vac for our 2nd home. Not a rental and used maybe 50 nights a year so light duty for a vac. The suction was not as good as the very old vac we replaced and the cord is quite short. Ended up getting a Shark to replace this which works fine...

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Definitely not worth the money

    Posted
    Nick
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I am very disappointed about this vacuum cleaner. It is very heavy, very difficult to manouver, difficult to empty, difficult to reach crevices, does not have a good suction and it is extremely noisy. I recently replaced it by a canister vacuum and am very pleased by the new one which was more expensive but worth the difference.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    one star

    Posted
    Debb
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Belt broke after second use. Fear I bought a lemon so I will return today after a 60 mile drive. Not a happy camper. Feared something else would go wrong after 30 days and don't want to pay shipping out of state. Had hoovers for over 40 years . Today I will try a Shark for the first time. Hope this turns out better!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not a good purchase

    Posted
    Dissatisfiedcustomer
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought this product about 8 months ago and it worked well and then 6 months later I started having issues such as turning off on its own and not turning back on until days later and not picking up it gets clogged really easily and I do not own any pets. Shuffles dirt around. My last Hoover purchase ever

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi Dissatisfiedcustomer! Your WindTunnel 2 is equipped with a thermal protector that will shut it down if it's overheated. This is caused by a blockage in the vacuum's air path usually a clog. Take a look at this brief video for locating and removing clogs http://bit.ly/1NIXEzR. Complete these steps and your WindTunnel 2 should be running like new! ~Kenya, Hoover Customer Care Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great at vacuuming, but bad design flaw

    Posted
    Wisconisnite
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase

    I am not sure if it a design flaw or a bad belt, but I had to put the belt back on 7 times in 3 weeks of using this vacuum. The vacuum was great at picking up dirt, but Hoover needs to work on the belt issue. Looking into this model more, I found many other people had the same issues with the belt.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    BAD PRODUCT

    Posted
    AMJ14
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I don't know if I just got a defective one or if they just suck. Ive had it for about 3 weeks and all of a sudden it stopped working. I am glad i got GSP and hopefully Im able to get a gift card rather than a same one. Do yourself a favor and don't buy the cheapest one you find

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      HooverUSA

      Hi AMJ14! Your WindTunnel 2 Rewind Upright Vacuum should last longer than this. If the unit shut off during use this means it overheated from a blockage of airflow to the motor. The unit will reset after being unplugged for 30-60 minutes. In the meantime, make sure to clean out the filters and hose for any blockages. Please keep in mind this model carries a two year warranty that covers for any manufacturing defects. If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you! -Karissa, Hoover Customer Care Hoover

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Stopped working after 1 month

    Posted
    kurisu
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    After 45 days of using this, the suction became weak and unusable. I cleaned the filter and everything but it did not solved the problem. It also produced a burnt smell. I did not buy a geek squad warranty so now I need to contact the manufacturer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not for hardwood floors

    Posted
    Matt
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    It has a hardwood floor setting but it doesn't do a bit of good. Instead of sucking up the dirt and debris, it just kicks it backwards. Wish I had returned it when I had the chance.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointing product

    Posted
    nick21
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    When initially purchased the Hoover was weak with respect to how it work, and after six months it did not work at all. Very, very poor product and disappointing given a Hoover.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend