Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel-Front_Standard

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel

Model: 8VR1P6-0EN0/88LP000CH000SKU: 5095900

Customer rating

Rating 4.3 out of 5 stars with 4347 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.9 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews

Pros

Cons

  • Here's a few highlights: -physical hardware install is simple - but there's major issues in the software -RING Pro wouldn't connect well to my network even though it saw a strong WiFi signal -RING Pro wouldn't ring my physical doorbell --twice it rang the doorbell with a few second delay -APP won't connect to RING Pro -errors every time I tried to use live view -APP wouldn't let me "delete" the RING Pro so that I could try to reconnect it.DKFCP
    See all reviews that mention delay as a con

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 4,347 Reviews
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Video Doorbell to Enhance Security

    Posted
    RobDroid
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I installed the Ring Video Doorbell Pro about three weeks ago (as of the date of this review). I would say that it is a great product to enhance security at your home and to interact with those who come to your house whether or not you are at home. I will talk about two aspects of this video doorbell product in this review. First is the installation process. Before you even purchase the Ring Video Doorbell Pro, you need to do some homework on your existing doorbell hardware. The Ring Video Doorbell Pro is powered by the electric current coming from your existing doorbell's transformer, and that transformer must be supplying between 16 VAC and 24 VAC. If your existing doorbell is battery powered, then you can look into something like the Ring Video Doorbell 2, which is also battery powered. If your existing doorbell transformer does not meet the voltage requirements, then you could look into changing out the transformer for one that does meet these requirements. The other requirement is that your 802.11 b/g/n WiFi signal must be good enough outside of your door to allow the doorbell to communicate with your WiFi access point. If there isn't enough power or enough WiFi signal, then the Ring Video Doorbell will not work until you address those issues. The first step in installing the Ring Video Doorbell is to turn off power to your doorbell at the breaker box. The second step is to connect their Ring Pro Power Kit to your existing doorbell transformer and chime. This is not difficult at all, and there are articles on Ring's website as well as YouTube videos that document this process. The third step is removing your current doorbell and connecting the Ring Video Doorbell Pro to your doorbell wiring. This is also easy enough to do. The problems with installation occur if the surface you have to install on is not typical of what Ring shows in their installation videos. In Ring's documentation, they always show a flat, wide surface, whether that is wood, brick, or stucco. However, in my neighborhood, the doorbells were installed on the door's trim, which has decorative tiers. So, in my case, I had to build up a backing to create a flat surface on which to install the doorbell. I cut to fit a paint stir stick and sanded it for proper depth in order to create this backing (See attached picture). After verifying that the doorbell worked for a few days, I used some almond colored silicone caulking to seal and hide the backing. Once the doorbell hardware is installed, restore power to the doorbell, and proceed to configure the doorbell with the Ring mobile app. However, this is where I experienced my second installation issue. In Ring's documentation, it says that once your restore power to your doorbell, the Ring Video Doorbell Pro will begin speaking to you in a few minutes. Well, once power was restored, I waited and waited. The doorbell did nothing; no speaking; no light circling around the button. I began to worry that either there wasn't enough power getting to the doorbell from my transformer or that I had a defective unit. I went inside to begin researching what my options were. As I started reading on my tablet about some other ways to power the doorbell, I suddenly heard some talking outside my front door. When I went out, the Ring Video Doorbell Pro was speaking, and there was a light circling around the button. This was about 10 minutes after having restored power. So, when Ring says wait a few minutes, they mean wait several minutes. So, I was then able to start the doorbell configuration process. When the doorbell started looking for WiFi networks to join, my SSID was not listed among the others, but I was able to manually enter the SSID name and password. The Ring Video Doorbell Pro immediately connected to my WiFi network with no problems at that point. I have the Netgear Orbi WiFi mesh system, and I do have it set to broadcast the SSID. So, if you have this same WiFi router, or you experience something similar, you can try manually entering in your network information to try connecting. The rest of the configuration process was uneventful. The next part of this review concerns actually using the Ring Video Doorbell Pro. In the end the Ring Video Doorbell Pro was successfully installed with my existing doorbell chimes dinging when the Ring Doorbell was pressed (with about a 1 second delay). I receive a notification on my phone when someone presses the doorbell button, and if I go into the Ring app, I am presented with a video of the visitors outside my door. The speaker and microphone on the doorbell allow me to communicate with my visitors, whether I am at home or away. In the Ring app, you can also setup Motion Zones under your Motion Settings. You can "draw" zones on the video feed that you want your doorbell to care about as far as motion is concerned. So, if there is activity outside of your door, Ring will record that activity, even if the visitor does not press the doorbell button. This is great for security or for visitors who knock on your door, rather than ring the doorbell. You will probably need to play with your Motion Zone definitions and/or the motion sensitivity settings, as I have found that at night headlights will cause a Motion Event alert to be sent to my phone. One aspect of Ring's products, including the Video Doorbell Pro, that I do not like is that Ring requires that you subscribe to a Recording Plan in order for the video captured by the doorbell to be available for viewing at a later time. The Video Doorbell Pro will work without a subscription, allowing you to remotely "answer" a live doorbell ring or motion event and have an audio/video conversation with a visitor. However, if you want your doorbell to be part of your home security, then you will want to subscribe to a Recording Plan in order to capture those motion events in the middle of the night or when you're away on vacation. Overall, I would say that the Ring Video Doorbell Pro is a good product, which does what it says, and I would recommend it. It does require some upfront research and can require some extra effort to install. It also requires a Recording Plan subscription to store videos for later viewing. As long as these caveats are understood, then I think you will be pleased with the Ring Video Doorbell Pro.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Pros - Cons - Tips

    Posted
    StairClimber
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I'm reviewing the Ring Video Doorbell Pro. I get no compensation for this review. Pros Only $3 per month for cloud recording of your ring pro recordings. Ability to shrink and shape the area sensed by the motion detector which can reduce alerts of irrelevant motion like shrubs or traffic movement. Some cheaper doorbells don't offer this level of control. Wired to your existing doorbell system. No batteries to charge or replace. Clear 1080p video on a good wifi network. Recordings only occur when movement is detected, the doorbell is pushed or live view is chosen. That means less demand on your wifi network. Some competitors record 24 by 7 creating more traffic on your wifi network. Amazon bought Ring.com for a billion dollars. I believe with that kind of backing Ring will continue to improve and thrive. There are enough positive features with this doorbell that I plan to keep it and I plan to add a couple Ring Floodlight Cams and a Ring Chime Pro for the back of the house. I give Ring customer support an A plus! They solved my audio issue with a replacement doorbell and free return shipping of the defective doorbell. The good news. Many of the cons listed at the bottom of my review can be resolved given knowlege, internet searching, time or money. In my case, the pros of this doorbell outweigh the cons. Tips: When looking at customer reviews sort them by most recent first. Ring products are changing and improving. Old reviews may no longer apply. If your house is decades old save yourself a hassle and just buy the ring chime pro instead of using your old mechanical doorbell chime. Details of my doorbell transformer 'hassle' are listed lower in this review. If you have problems getting the doorbell to work, buy yourself a low voltage tester (say..5 to 50 volts) from a local hardware store. They are inexpensive. Then google how to debug wired doorbell issues. If you are replacing an old doorbell and the holes in the wall from the old doorbell don't line up with the new doorbell mount, don't start drilling just yet. Temporarily mount the new doorbell with just one of the old screw holes. Get everything setup and working with the Ring Pro. Once you are satisfied with the performance then work on a permanent mount by drilling new holes if needed. On the other hand, if you give up from frustration and decide to stick with your old doorbell you'll be glad you kept the drill in the garage. If you must drill into your house go just far enough to seat the plastic anchors. If you drill too far you might run the risk of hitting the doorbell wires inside the wall. If you decide to use the angle mount supplied with the doorbell, place the flat surface side of the mount against the wall. The indented surface faces away from the wall. You will eventually mount the back of the ring pro doorbell into the indented surface of the mount. If you live in hurricane country and want to insure the doorbell stays water resistant, get some outlet sealer (rubber sheet material) for a few bucks from a local hardware store and place a piece between the doorbell and the wall. If using the angle mount you can glue a piece of the sealer to the inside of the angle mount over the large hole in the mount but first cut a small slit in the sealer with an exacto knife so you can feed the doorbell wires through it later on. After attaching the wires to the back of the doorbell place a small piece of electrical tape over each terminal before attaching the doorbell to the mount/wall. If you get poor video and you have fast internet have ring support bump you from 720p to 1080p. They did it for me and the video improved. The audio - not so much. If your cell service is with t-mobile and you use one of their cellspot devices you might experience poor, choppy audio spoken from the person at the door. I re-seated the weird GPS plug in the back of the t-mobile cellspot and powered off/on the cellspot. It seemed to help a little. I created an APN - Access Point Name on my phone and called it 'T-mobile for Doorbell' as described here step by step: https://support.ring.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005739366-Improving-Ring-Performance-on-your-T-Mobile-Phone-by-Changing-the-Access-Point-Name If you can't save your APN, leave off the 'dun' for APN type. After I did all of this, the person speaking at the door was still barely audible - low volume and choppy. But Ring customer support solved the problem by shipping me a new replacement doorbell which solved the problem. Plus a return shipping label for the defective device. I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with Ring's support staff. Their feedback, expertise and follow through were A plus! Cons Delays - There are times when you won't see the face of a fast moving UPS man because the camera doesn't start recording fast enough. The first thing you will see is him walking away from the door. But at least you get an alert that he was there. Most of the time the cloud recording of the event shows more of the event than a doorbell alert or live event. So give it a few minutes then go check the cloud recording. If you have a house that is decades old, installation can require time, knowledge and handy work if you decide 'not' to buy the ring chime pro. If I had to do it again, I would buy the ring chime pro and save myself a lot of time and hassle. You might 'not' be happy with this doorbell if you have any of these situations: A doorbell transformer that is weaker than 16V 30VA and you insist on keeping your mechanical doorbell chime instead of buying the ring chime pro. I think 16V 20VA is the minimum recommended transformer even without a mechanical chime. A slow internet connection. A router that is located a great distance from the doorbell. Lots of movement outside you wish to exclude and no way to create a motion zone that avoids them. You have no idea where the builder installed your old doorbell transformer. Mine was located behind the doorbell chime in my foyer inside the electrical junction box. You bought a larger doorbell transformer $30 and discover it won't fit where the old one did. (Me). For $50, you might be able to skip the transformer torture and just get by with a ring chime pro. In my case I built a spacer out of wood (3/4" thick) for mounting the doorbell chime out from the wall in order to make room for the larger transformer that stuck out past the wall opening. Time consuming. My home configuration: Circa 1975 Emerson Ruttenhouse clunky mechanical doorbell chime. Purchased a Lee 78208 Doorbell Transformer 16V30VA $29 on Amazon to replace an ancient Emerson Ruttenhouse 16V10VA transformer. Comcast download speed: 120 Mbps. Upload 10 Mbps. Speedtest over wifi from my phone when standing near doorbell: 73 Mpbs Download, 9 Mpbs Upload. Ping 37 ms Ring app. Device Health: 4205 mV RSSI - 53 Firmware: Up to date. Doorbell located about 30 feet from the router with only one wall (exterior) in between. 70 feet from the doorbell to the road which I keep out of my motion zone. Samsung Galaxy S6 phone (switched from ATT to T-mobile last year) running the Ring app. Location: South Florida Check out this guys hack regarding Ring Floodlight Cams: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTqZp92qB18 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IszONtm9Kos With less than $9 of fiber optic strands and some scotch tape he tricks the motion detector at night into thinking its daytime so a decent color image is seen instead of the fuzzy infrared image (when the floodlights turn on due to motion). He says Ring took his suggestion and is planning to upgrade their cameras to show a color image at night when the floodlights turn on. The color image is much sharper than the b/w infrared image.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    This product is not for everyone!! NEW UPDATED

    Posted
    miggz
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Before buying this product you want to do all your research.In my case it worked out really well with no issue. Had it for 4 days and will update soon.You must have a fast internet connection for it to work correctly. I have 300 Down and 50 UP. The upload speed is important. If you have the minimum requirement do not buy.I have a dedicated 5 GHz Wi-Fi for the dooorbell also.I configure my router to support doorbell Pro and made it work efficient with no issue. I didn't take any chance on the 2.4 GHz. I don't think it's a big deal but there is a delay for doorbell because it trying to ring your phone first before it rings the doorbell. The connection to my phone is incredible with no issue or delay outside on the phone network. Based on the angle that I have my Doorbell Pro I don't have any issue with motion sensor because it's only looking at a wall and a cover pretty much the whole hallway. I took a big risk buying this product knowing I may have to return it back if it didn't work out. After reviewing all the review online it seems a lot of people have slow internet connection. This is the reason why a lot of people are giving a negative a review on this item. I also noticed in the new update lets you do live view on your phone.I think the old model works best for people with slow internet speed because it's not as high as resolution as you see on the new Pro. If the company can let you pick your resolution on this new doorbell Pro it would work a lot better for everyone. (Ex 480p, 720p and 1080p) I would only recommend this product to a friend that has high internet speed The only concern that I have it's always hot. I'm not sure if it's going to stand up to the Texas weather. I'll be back in 2 weeks to update!!! 6/22/2016 Do not buy if you have a slow upload speed It's been a month since I updated my review on Ring Video Doorbell Pro. I have ran into some issues where for a split second of the recording it shows a grey pictures then it goes back to the video but not to the point where it's a big problem Out of all the doorbells that you can buy with video on the internet. This product is still the best out of all of them. If you're still uncertain about this model I would recommend buying the old model that has really positive review. It works every time when someone rings the doorbell also when they enter into the door way. On my router I have an option to keep track of how many megabytes it uses every day. so far it's been really consistent between 550 - 750 MB a day. I'm pretty sure this is due to all the upload of the video that it takes. Especially when we do a two way conference. It does take a lot of bandwidth to do. You want to make sure you have the best upload speed as possible in your area. I would definitely recommend 8 or higher on upload speed I was playing with the upload speed for a while it seems anything less than 5 upload I was having issue. Also I give it Priority for the upload within the router. Meaning if anyone ring the doorbell it's going to use a hundred percent of the upload speed and take away from every other device in the house. If someone has to ring the doorbell most likely I wouldn't be home so it's not a big deal for me to give it first priority out of all the device. Based on what you can buy today on the internet this still gets a 5 out of 5

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Needs a few tweaks, but works alright

    Posted
    AwesomeO
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I love this doorbell, however I do have some issues with it. Setup was straight forward. I think most techies will have no problem with the install. There is also a YouTube video that I found after the install that further clarifies the install. I didn't expect the Pro Power Kit part of the install, but it was a breeze. I had a minor hangup with the software setup and WiFi pairing, but after a couple retries it worked. My issue may have since been resolved as I was on a very early firmware. I've excluded a lot of issues from my review that the current firmware resolves. I'm on firmware version 1.0.50. One major con for me is that there is a delay between pressing the button and the physical hardwired mechanical doorbell ringing. In my opinion, there is no excuse or reason that a hardwired doorbell should ever have a delay. I expect some delay in receiving a notification on my phone, but there is a direct physical connection to the chime. I truly hope that Ring is able to resolve this in an update. The second major con is with the activity log. There is NO easy way to delete multiple entries in the app. I struggled at first to even figure out how to delete individual entries. You must press an entry and then slide your finger to the left and a trash can will show up. You can't select multiple entries and delete en masse though, so good luck if you have a ton of motion alerts. This is such a simple concept that it boggles my mind that this issue even exists. You can, however, delete multiple entries by signing into the Web site. Speaking of motion alerts, I drew a pretty conservative motion zone on my front porch, but all night passing cars caused motion alerts. Apparently a little change in light levels from passing cars is enough to trigger the alerts. There needs to be some sensitivity adjustment beyond the motion zones. This issue has gotten better over the last few updates, but I still get a half dozen or so alerts per night. I also don't always get alerts when someone walks directly in front of the doorbell. There is a delay between motion detection and recording. I often get recordings of butts walking away from, not towards the doorbell. It would be nice to have this always recording and when motion is sensed, include the previous 30 seconds or so. Another issue that isn't huge, but could maybe be incorporated into a later hardware revision is camera adjustment. There is none currently. If your camera needs to be aimed downwards or in any direction, you must physically tilt the entire doorbell. The wide angle lens helps some, but the only true fix is to have a way to adjust the internal camera itself. You can only tilt the doorbell a bit before it looks hideous. I really do like the live view feature. It has worked very well so far. The night vision is excellent as well. You can't initiate live view from the Ring Web site though. I also linked my Ring with my Wink hub. I have it automating my front porch light with doorbell presses. I gave up on motion for now as there are too many false alerts at night. Being able to share users is also nice as you don't have to give your account info to everyone that you want to be able to access the doorbell - they can create their own. You can also revoke their privileges if need be. Only the primary account can delete recordings though. I will probably pay for the ring+ service after the trial expires for $30/year. I would feel better having more control over the product though and being able to store videos locally rather than relying on "the cloud". Support is available from 9am to 6pm Pacific, which is good for me being on the east coast. Prior to the product's release, I was able to find the dimensions on the Ring web site and build a wood plate to match the contour of my home's siding that would also recess the doorbell a little bit. I commend the Ring team for having accurate dimensions as my plate fits perfectly. I feel like this really sets the doorbell apart and draws attention away from its size, which is still pretty big compared to a normal doorbell. Ring would be wise to consider offering something similar I think.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Product Not Ready Needs work

    Posted
    Wishkid
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have own this device for about a month and to be honest my conclusion is this device is not fully ready for prime it was rushed. Let me start with the good it is small, sleek look, good quality video, sound, multiple cover plates and lot of potential. Now the Bad, let’s start with the installation. Installing the device is not really that hard as the most time consuming will be the actual Setup. Now, as the company stated is a universal that can replace an existing doorbell, yes but some with complications, in my case my old doorbell was install in an electrical box with a plate. The actual Ring Pro it is narrow and long so it will not cover the hole completely, now Ring came up with a Retrofit Kit not included with the device and you have to call them to order it (no charge), they said for the newer ones they will include it. There is still a flaw as the Ring is longer the screws doesn’t align with the electrical box as the length from top to bottom is approximately 4.5in. and the Ring Pro is about 5in. so guess what you have to drill the wall, they should had made the device standard electrical box size at least for the US resale. Next, setting the actual device that was the most stressful part. I have an Asus RT-AC87R router dual band I could not get it connected to the WIFI and I spent multiple hours on the phone to get nowhere. After multiples trouble shooting they will escalate your problem to level 2 support that will not get you anywhere either and you have to wait for them to call or write you by email. To be honest I spent more time on the phone than playing with the actual device and in multiple days. The workaround that I came up with and it work was creating a guest account on my router somehow it connected that way. After that everything went well until I received the retrofit kit and I had to unplug that thing again, then the connectivity issue started over even on the guest account. After I was able to connected it aging and it was back to normal until I find myself I cannot view live feed away from home stuff that I was able to do before, I can only view the live at home on wifi. I get all the notification and all but no live view. One of the reason I bout this was the advertisement that it works with ADT Pulse, that will save me from installing a camera at the door. I went through all the setting I link both account but I don’t see how they work with each other. You are not able to see the Ring camera on the Pulse app and on the Ring app doesn’t show any feature for the Pulse System just an + icon when you looking at the camera that shows a ADT Pulse icon, when you click on it you get an Error. I called 6/1/16 to get help on the problem for the live view and all they did was send me to call my cellphone network provider. The actual support center is very poor, a lot of them doesn’t have any knowledge of the device as the one answer the phone to help with the live view told me that it was only available on Wifi then put me on hold to verify his statement when I told him I was able to do that before LOL. So for those potential buyers I would hold off on it, is not easy to drop 250 pops on a device that doesn’t delivers as promise, it does have potential but right now is not ready. I read those bad reviews and I still got one to see If I was one of the lucky one like those who posted good reviews with 5 stars but I wasn’t. Now I have to take this thing a part install my old doorbell back, cover the new holes I put on the wall, return it, and wait for something else or this one to get better right now this is thing too much hassle for $250. Good luck!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Wishkid, I'd like to apologize for your poor experience with Ring and for the delay with our CS team. You should be able to access Live View under cell data when you're away from home. In regards to the ADT Pulse integration, during your Ring video call when you select ADT Pulse from the + icon, you're able to lock/unlock your door, arm/disarm your system and turn on/off your lights. Would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com today so that we can improve your Ring experience please? I'd certainly appreciate your time and this second opportunity to make this right. Ring

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Calm down! Firmware release on 4/25/2016!

    Posted
    JasonH

    Ring is aware and is saying the retail stores jumped the gun on putting them on the shelves. I purchased it and of course it has issues. Taking it back and exchanging it WILL NOT help. A firmware update can correct all the issues they are having. Here is the email I received from ring when I entered the setup. Dear Neighbor, Thank you for your recent purchase of Ring Pro. As you begin using your Ring Video Doorbell Pro, there are a few things we’d like you to keep in mind. Our retailers are just as excited about Ring Pro as you, so some retail stores stocked their shelves with Ring Pro earlier than agreed. Ring Pro was not supposed to appear in Best Buy stores until Monday, 4/25/16, and Home Depot until Sunday, 5/1/16. Because of this early set, there's a chance you will encounter a few hiccups when using your Ring Pro. Our systems and infrastructure were preparing to have the final firmware and app versions available in time for the 4/25/16 release date, but currently, our systems are not as prepared to handle Ring Pros effectively at the moment. The good news is that a new firmware update will be available Monday morning (4/25/16), which means your current experience will improve very soon. The current firmware version your Pro is running (1.0.18) will update starting Monday, 4/25/16. Our firmware updates are pushed out “over the air”, so nothing is required of you in order to receive the update. We will also have an iOS and Android app update available in the next few days which will alleviate any app-related issues you may encounter this weekend. Here are some of the more major known issues. Keep in mind this is not the full list of issues, however, these are the largest remaining issues: Ring Pro Issues: Delayed doorbell kit ringing: Ring Pro takes up to 5 seconds to trigger your home doorbell once the button is pressed. The team is working on improving this experience. Video image is too dark: Automatic exposure may leave some objects near Ring Pro darker than desired. This may make it hard to make out faces of people near Ring Pro. The team is working on adjusting this. App Issues: Battery symbol showing - Android: The battery power icon is showing in the Android App on Ring Pro. This bug will be corrected in a future Android App release. Error when changing doorbell kit settings - Android: Some users get an error in the Android App when changing the home doorbell kit from Digital to Mechanical (or vice versa). Please try the operation again and it should go through. This bug will be corrected in a future Android App release. Incorrect install video - Android: The install video in our Android App is incorrect and will be updated. To view the correct video, please follow this link: https://youtu.be/0d9eYRgFvXc If you need some extra help installing your Ring Pro, please watch this Pro Install Video. For help installing the Pro Power Kit, please watch this video. As always, our Community Support team is available to assist you. Reach them by email at help@ring.com. Best, Team Ring Again, returning it will not help solve any issues. Just be patient and they will fix it. Should not even be on shelves yet technically. I'm going to be patient b/c I know it can be fixed.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi JasonH, thank you for purchasing your Ring Pro! If you have not received the latest firmware 1.0.29, please reach me at yul@ring.com today so that we can immediately push it out to your device. I'm happy to also address any other inquiries you may have, and assist you further. Ring

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    This product is not for everyone!!

    Posted
    Miggz066
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    5//26/2016 Before buying this product you want to do all your research.In my case it worked out really well with no issue. Had it for 4 days and will update soon.You must have a fast internet connection for it to work correctly. I have 300 Down and 50 UP. If you have the minimum requirement do not buy.I have a dedicated 5 GHz Wi-Fi for the dooorbell also.I configure my router to support doorbell Pro and made it work efficient with no issue. I didn't take any chance on the 2.4 GHz. I don't think it's a big deal but there is a delay for doorbell because it trying to ring your phone first before it rings the doorbell. The connection to my phone is incredible with no issue or delay outside on the phone network. Based on the angle that I have my Doorbell Pro I don't have any issue with motion sensor because it's only looking at a wall and a cover pretty much the whole hallway. I took a big risk buying this product knowing I may have to return it back if it didn't work out. After reviewing all the review online it seems a lot of people have slow internet connection. This is the reason why a lot of people are giving a negative a review on this item. I also noticed in the new update lets you do live view on your phone.I think the old model works best for people with slow internet speed because it's not as high as resolution as you see on the new Pro. If the company can let you pick your resolution on this new doorbell Pro it would work a lot better for everyone. (Ex 480p, 720p and 1080p) I would only recommend this product to a friend that has high internet speed The only concern that I have it's always hot. I'm not sure if it's going to stand up to the Texas weather. I'll be back in 2 weeks to update!!!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Too many bugs, don't make my mistake; stay away!

    Posted
    WeekendWarrior123
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First, the good: The form factor is great! The 4 color options are fantastic! The thoughtfulness of provided tools (masonry drill bit, dual-sided screwdriver, foam adhesive pads, etc) is top notch! The set up took less than an hour for someone who is slow and takes a lot of time to follow steps/instructions. The bad: Latency (the time from when the button is pressed to when your doorbell rings and you get an alert on your phone has been super inconsistent, sometimes does not work, and other times takes multiple minutes to engage/work... which most people would leave your front door by then) Settings for lighting are non-existent (i.e. - if you have a semi-covered entry way and there is more light behind your entry way, your visitor will not be identifiable because of the lack of contrast function) The App does not work consistently (the Live View mode often will not actually show a live view, but sometimes it records and later you can go back and see the historic footage of your "live view") The specs claim 1080p, from my experience it is sometimes high resolution, and other times it is 480 at best, and other times it gets so pixelated you cannot see anything, or else the feed is gray or green. I called Ring customer service to get clarification on wiring configuration during my install, and the person on the other end had only seen the product, but did not have specific knowledge (seems like a miss by Ring to not have knowledgeable call center people near the launch of new iteration). To Ring's credit, within an hour, I received a call back from someone else (more on that later). I was told by Ring that they recommend 2 Mbps minimum upload and 1Mbps minimum download internet speeds (I am above both numbers). So far, the thing just does not work as you would anticipate. Someone walking up to your door has to VERY deliberately/forcefully push the doorbell, and then figure out that when they press the button, that they should hear chimes on their side to know that they actually pressed the button. Many times when I pressed the button, nothing happened at all. From there, if the doorbell push was acknowledged, it took between 1 to 8 minutes for the alert to get to our cell phones. (Before you think this is a wifi range issue, I have a router about 15 feet away from the doorbell). Now, going back to the person who called me back from Ring (which, by then, I had figured out my small wiring question), she said that they presume/accept latency of between 30-60 seconds. This seems like a totally unreasonable amount of time for me to get an alert that someone is waiting at my door. And to be clear, the Ring Pro also controls the mechanical chime/ring in your house, so it's not like you hear the doorbell and then wait to get a notification, the latency affects both the timing of when the doorbell chimes are engaged as well as when the alert comes to the phone. I was reluctant to get the August video doorbell cam only because of the form factor. I guess my only option now is to invest in a Doorbird... their entry one is $100 more than the Ring Pro, and their nicer ones are $600+. Last, to install this, I drilled into my brick. Not an easy repair, and I'm super disappointed for a product I anticipated as being great. I take responsibility for believing the hype/advertising. I should have known better. PLEASE DO NOT DRILL INTO YOUR BRICK like me... you can still install it, and take off your old doorbell and wire this up. If it works better for your set-up, great, go ahead and drill away, otherwise, I recommend you test it out first, and then make the commitment to drill!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Thank you for purchasing a Ring Pro! Ring Pro was placed in retail stores at an earlier date than requested, however, we're in the process of completing a rollout for a firmware update. This firmware update will alleviate many of the issues you mentioned (including the long delay in receiving your alerts) and you'll enjoy your Ring Pro experience much more once that firmware is loaded to your device. Firmware updates happen over the air, so you won't have to do anything to receive it; your device will search for any new available firmware daily. The updated firmware version is 1.0.29. I apologize about your initial experience but would like to get in touch with you to address any other inquiries you may have, and assist you further. Please reach me at yul@ring.com today. Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great potential, poor implementation

    Posted
    Chris
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased this device with great enthusiasm for my parent whom I wanted to provide extra security. Like many folks around the country, they aren’t all that technical so I setup the device both physically and via a new router-setup I built for them specifically to integrate IoT devices. The installation is very simple, and when the device is working it does as advertised. However, in the 3 – 4 days that we’ve owned the device it’s “gone black” i.e. disconnected from my network 3 times, causing me to lose access to the camera or get doorbell notifications. The first time it went black, it only did so for 2 – 3 hours. However, the 2nd and 3rd time it went black and stayed that way for an entire day in one case, and indefinitely thus far, on the most recent one. The last two times I’ve called their techs, and the only solution I’ve gotten was to physically unscrew the device and press the hard-wired restart button. According to the tech, the device is designed to automatically reconnect to your network, but I found that this is not the case, and there is no way to reconnect the device via software which is a huge design flaw. Basically, if you’re out, on vacation, etc., and for whatever reason, your internet blips out (which is common in most of the country) for a few minutes, causing your modem/router to restart, the ring doorbell pro cannot consistently reconnect to your network, and thus you’ll be without sight until you can physically restart the device. Other IoT devices like the Wink/Hue/SmartThings do robustly reconnect to your network if there is a small outage/blip/etc. automatically. I can attest to that, and obviously mobile phones/tablets/laptops are the same way. So this should not be an amazing feature to implement. And since the common use-case for this device probably involves things like being able to see your home when you’re on vacation/at work/checking up on elderly relatives etc., I cannot recommend it to the average consumer as it clearly is not robust with respect to connectivity. For a tinkerer, techie, this may be a good apparatus to install in your home if you’re willing to forgive it’s faults and continually unscrew/screw in the device if/when it goes dark. However, purchasing this from Best Buy, I expected the technology to be ‘ready-for-prime-time’ which it is not. I suppose if you live in an area where the internet NEVER goes down or goes down say once a year (and your Router/Modem also never inexplicably restarts as they tend to do once a while), this won’t be too much of an issue, but that’s a fairly candy-land scenario for 90%+ of Americans I suspect. The tech honestly suggested I return the device, which I plan to do. It’s a great concept, but concepts don’t win markets, implementation does, and there definitely are many bugs to work out on this device.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Chris,

      Thank you for the feedback. Im sorry to hear you were having trouble with your Ring Pro. I would love the chance to personally look into this further for you so that we can resolve the issues you mention above in regards to your ring going black. If you would kindly reach me directly at Kandyce@ring.com, I can investigate this further to make sure we come to a resolution for you. I look forward to hearing from you Chris!

      Thank you,
      Kandyce C., Customer Satisfaction Manager
      Kandyce@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    I tried really hard to be a Ring customer

    Posted
    Jaymacbraun
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Email sent to Jamie Simioff, Inventor of the Ring Video Doorbell: Greetings, I tried really hard to be a customer. I think this product is a great idea, but if you cannot count on it to work reliably, it fails to deliver on the promise of Always Home. Your Customer Service Team has been great, but there is little they can do when the product itself is so unreliable. I purchased a Video Doorbell Pro and a Chime on 12/13/2016 after one of my colleagues was raving about it and showing our Team how it worked. It is a lot of money to spend on a doorbell, but we were excited to give it a go. I attempted to install it on 12/17/2016. The physical install was straightforward and I was pleased that it covered up the unsightly area where the old doorbell had been. The next several hours were the beginning of the nightmare. I could not get the doorbell to complete the setup process. After nearly an hour on hold, the support representative agreed that the unit was likely faulty and suggested I try a new one. I went back to Best Buy and exchanged old for new. Physical reinstall took less than 15 minutes. I was able to complete the setup process for the second unit, but shortly after I got it up and running, it lost its connection. While it was working, the video was choppy and stilted. I spent the next couple of days emailing back and forth with the Customer Service Team (again, as helpful as they could be and very pleasant). I reached the conclusion that a wifi extender was likely needed. I ordered one of the ones recommended on your support page and had it delivered the next day. I installed it on 12/20/2016 and this seemed to do the trick, but we observed lengthy delays initiating interaction with a visitor and poor audio quality/volume... more or less negating the Always Home promise. We also noted the doorbell wasn't ringing the existing chime, so it wasn't really even being a doorbell very well. The support representative sent a Chime Pro and said that would make everything work really well. In the meantime I purchased a new wireless router in the hopes that could help provide a stronger signal. The new router was no faster on the 2.4GHz band and too far away to use the 5GHz signal, which my range extender would not recognize anyway. The Chime Pro arrived on Christmas Eve and I installed it right away. Despite being 4-5 feet away and broadcasting a strong signal, the doorbell could not connect to the Chime Pro. Another support representative suggested the voltage could be an issue. I went to Lowes and purchased a multi-meter voltage tester and confirmed 16.3 at the doorbell. I was able to get the Chime Pro to connect by putting it on an extension cord and placing it right next to the doorbell. The support representative confirmed the unit had very good power and very good wifi connection. We had a family member come visit Christmas Eve and we observed the video was choppy and stilted. Later that evening, the setup lost its connection and has been offline ever since. Good news is the existing doorbell chime was now working... but unfortunately nothing else. Adding up the cost of the Video Doorbell Pro ($200 on sale), the Chime ($30), the range extender ($37), the router ($135) and the multi-meter ($30), I am into this whole thing for well over $400 and all I have is a doorbell that does nothing more than the old one did... and I don't trust your product to even do that reliably. Needless to say, everything that can be returned will be returned, but I won't get back the countless hours of frustration that your product has caused me and my family. The only thing I can count on coming out of this horrible product experience is the reminder of all these shenanigans every time I come home and see the hole in my vinyl siding where the Ring Video Doorbell resided briefly. I wish you the best and genuinely want the product to be a success... it just didn't work in my application apparently. A shame. Thanks for letting me vent to the owner/inventor... I don't normally complain about a product, but it is nice to know that you will actually see this.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Some struggles, but worth it...

    Posted
    BrightTitan
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    After researching the products on the market, I decided to go with the Ring Pro, mainly because of its slim design and the amazing customization of the motion zones, more about that later. Overall, the product is nicely built, lots of little details, such as multiple face plates, all the extra tid-bits that you may loose over time and so forth. It comes well packaged, very organized with excellent instructions and videos. On this aspect, I would give highest marks. The actual physical installation is very easy, the drill bit is included and most everything else that is needed. Upon initial connection, I was pleased it powered up after a few minutes, which is normal and when progressing through the app, etc., I was hopeful because things were going well. Then everything I had read in the lower star reviews began to take place. It took several attempts to connect to the WiFi network, had to open the front door to gain a stronger signal. After passing that hurdle, the app indicated it was connected to the device, but the camera would not work. After accessing the health report, I learned the power to the device was poor, in addition to a weak WiFi signal. This practically make it unusable at this point. These are some of the more common issues. I had done my research and was determined to correct the situation. I have the correct type of manual hardwired doorbell, it operates on 16V, which is the minimum required. However, most users have reported that 24V is needed. I would say that 24V is a must, period. My home only being a few years since being built, made is easy to rectify this issue. I found a multiple voltage doorbell transformer at a local home center for $15 that depends on how you connect the wires, it will provide either 8, 16 or 24 volts. Why cannot they just build homes with this version instead. It was a simple update since it was located in garage and was easy to access. After installing and connecting for the 24 volts, the health report immediately switched from poor to very good for power, hurdle one has been resolved. Please be aware, that Ring somewhat addresses this issue by providing a free power cable to use during the installing of the power pack, however you must call and ask for one and what I could tell from other reviews, it seems not to do too much to increase the power needed. Lastly, I needed to address the WiFi signal. I knew most likely an extender would be required to acquire the best signal at that specific location. I am not aware of too many people having their router by the front door. I installed an extender at the nearest wall plug near the device and the health report has gone from poor signal to good. After working to address these requirements, the device works quite well. The video is clear with minimal pixelation, freezing, choppiness, etc., this was all horrific before correcting the power and W-Fi issues. The sound is loud, crisp and clear. The app launches the live within 1 to 2 seconds and I have only had just an instance or 2 whereabouts I had to quit the app and launch again to connect. The internal doorbell rings almost instantaneously when the button is pressed, no lag. The notifications on the mobile and watch come through within 1 to 2 seconds as well, very impressed! After setting the customizable motion zones, middle sensitivity seems to work to best, I am very pleased. Overall, after addressing some installation pain points, I am enjoying this product and would recommend. However, if you are not able to boost power to the 24 volts range and send a strong WiFi, you most likely will be frustrated with the situation. Those concerns are not that difficult nor expensive to address to enjoy this innovative product.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Lots of bugs

    Posted
    neo8820
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I've had my Ring Pro and Ring Chime for almost a month and have decided to return it. I purchased the product right after launch so a few hiccups are to be expected. However, over the past month problems have increased. Ring would issue a firmware update a few times a week to fix one problem but two more would appear leading me to seriously doubt the competence of the development team and their ability to properly squash the large amount of bugs. Most of the bugs manifest in one of the following ways these were all confirmed by Ring who said there was not a problem with my installation or WiFi signal strength and the problems were all on their end and to “give us time because this is a beta product”. Funny because I don’t remember reading anything about a Beta on the box or user agreement. Alerts not sent to mobile device/Ring Chime Button presses sent to the mobile/Ring Chime device as motion instead of a button press False motion alerts exactly every 10 minutes. I had to uninstall the app from my phone to get some sleep a few nights. Live view works maybe 50% of the time Answering a motion or button press works maybe 25% of the time. Night Vision would turn on/off throughout the day/night and the software registered this as a false motion alert There are many more problems but the bottom line is the product does not work reliably as advertised. To make matters worse phone support is subpar. Expect lots of promises for call backs, etc. that never happen. Chat support is even worse. One chat took over an hour where there were periods of 15 minutes where I was waiting for the chat agent to respond to a message I sent. My advice is to stay away from this company at least for the next year to see if they survive. They are a new company and with this many problems with their core product my guess is they won't be around for long. Even if your Ring works fine it won't once they discontinue their service and turn off their servers when they go belly up.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi neo8820, I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience thus far with your Ring Pro. You should receive your Ring and Motion alerts on your smartphone, and Live View should be up and running in your Ring app for your Ring Pro. Would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com so that we can immediately address and resolve these issues for you? My job's to ensure you're happy with your Ring experience so I'd appreciate your time today. I look forward to hearing from you - thank you! Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Pretty Awful

    Posted
    MRivers
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Setup I’ve had this for about 6 months now. I spent maybe 50 hours getting this to “work” which took about 6 weeks. The time invested in wages would be thousands. It took multiple trouble tickets, multiple defective devices, multiple rewires even though my setup is on the approved list. Every time I had to set it up again, which was at least 20 times, there is a loud and obnoxious voice barking at me and announcing to the hole neighborhood that my “Ring Pro is in setup mode”....over, and over, and over. I’m a gadget nerd so I have several types of networks/routers and they had me test out each possible configuration (~5 factorial variations) ad naseum before deciding their device was defective, again and again. In the end, they had me add a chime device to my network which I did not want. It’s the only 2.4ghz device in my home. When we finally got the last replacement device set up, they deleted all my saved recordings. I had to contact them yet again and they eventually undeleted them. The setup couldn’t have gone worse. Usage For a device whose core competency is to alert, you’d think it would alert you if it stopped working....but you’d be wrong and also oblivious that your sense of security is false because your Ring Pro failed long ago but didn’t alert you. Do not underestimate how much of a failure these devices are. Even now, several months after setup and usage, I can rarely catch whatever motion it alerts me to because it takes up to a minute to load from any device. Package delivery? You’ll never see it. Friends coming over? They’ll think you’re not home if you try to speak to them through the app because nobody waits a minute to answer the door IRL... Finally my last critical failure is it doesn’t catch all motion ....really sketchy car out front? Check your feed and watch it appear between motion captures like abracadabra without the magic. Service It’s not too expensive but the app is really basic and kind of spammy. It’s super easy to delete everything and it makes you wait minutes to watch what just happened because it has to upload then download and show it to you which is super smart. They also created some kind of social network on top of it because I definitely want to share my security feed with strangers right??? I want to so bad that I was delighted it kept spamming me with notifications about it over and over with no way to turn it off. Looking closer at the social network, the experience is like the largest reply all thread you’ve ever seen only with complete strangers and short security camera snippets in tow. Overall I regret buying this, a lot, but I’m thankful for all that I learned. I now know what I want and expect from a security camera/doorbell by comparing my ring pro experience and doing something different.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Really good w/ a couple of bumps to get going

    Posted
    GadgetGirl

    I've had the Ring Pro for two weeks. At present, it is working really well, but there have been a few glitches along the way. I almost gave up on it, but I've been patient and I think (hope) that it's going to be ok now. It's the coolest product ever when it's working correctly, but patience is key until you figure out how it will work best for you. Install was super simple, and we wired it into our original doorbell mechanical ding-dong chime using the power pack that came with the Ring Pro. Darn, the original doorbell then only had the "ding" and not the "dong," which should have been our first clue that the doorbell transformer didn't have enough voltage to make things work smoothly. Within the first 24 hours, the Ring Pro quit working. Tech support confirmed that the power to the Ring Pro was not enough, and they sent me a bypass connector to reconnect the wires in the original doorbell chime box. This bypassed the old ding-dong chime, but they included a Ring Chime to plug into the wall, which is working fine. The Ring Pro is connected to my 5GHz wifi network, but the Chime connects to the 2.4 GHz network, however they still play well with each other. The resolution is very clear, and after a few trials, I have the motion sensor set up so that it doesn't have interference from cars driving by. I was so excited to be at the bookstore yesterday and be able to answer my doorbell when a workman arrived to do some exterior work on my house. He looked like he was on the TV show Candid Camera trying to figure out where the voice was coming from that told him that it was fine to go ahead and complete his work even though I wasn't home! As he walked away, I said "Bye!" and he turned around and said " Bye!" with a puzzled look, and waved towards the front door. Funny. I have had to reset the Ring Pro a couple of times due to Internet instability, and once when my router had a firmware update. Tech support walked me through it the first time, but I've been able to figure it out on my own since then. Sort of a pain to have to take the cover off to do the reset, but it's pretty quick. My internet download speed is about 130 Mbps and upload is about 4 Mbps, and that is fast enough to support this product. My router is about 20 feet from the front door, so the wifi signal is strong. I am hoping that as Ring continues to improve the product and push updates to the Ring, there will be fewer glitches along the way. It's a cool gadget when things are working smoothly, and so far I am glad that I've hung in there throughout the trials and tribulations. The Ring Pro is such a new product, and maybe was released a bit too soon, but I haven't given up because it is awesome when it's in action!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Quite disappointed

    Posted
    Shadofaxx

    I admit, I 'want' to like this product (Ring Doorbell Pro) but I cannot get it to work as intended and advertised. 24/7 Customer Support has been unable to help, suggesting I 'exchange' my device and indicating there was little else that could be done. I have also tried reaching out via email to one of the Ring Customer Satisfaction Specialists who frequently reply to these reviews prior to submitting my own. I have received no response. I purchased my first Doorbell Pro five days ago. It installed relatively easily and monitoring seemed to work. My major issue initially was that when I attempted to communicate with people outside the door, they heard nothing but static, and maybe an occasional garbled portion of a word, thus knowing I was at least trying to talk to them. I called Support after 2 days of trying various site-suggested fixes and it was recommended that I exchange my device. Sadly it is an hour drive, each way, to my closest store, but we made the trip. Best Buy exchanged it for a second unit, but I cannot be certain it was 'new' as when I got home (again, hour drive) I found the box had been opened and re-taped. I did look it over after this discovery and is appeared unused, so I reinstalled that evening. Much to my disappointment, this resulted in virtually the same issue with the sound. Initially visitors could make out 2-3 garbled words, but that quickly deteriorated to none at all - just static - but hey, they static was quieter! Early the next morning, Motion Detection identified a car driving past my home that was not in my specified motion zones. When I attempted to view, the App showed my Doorbell was offline. I got out of bed and walked out to look at the device and it alarmed again. It was seeing motion and people, alerting, but showing offline within the App so I could not view anything. It even recorded my vehicle leaving later that morning - still showing offline! Three hours later, it miraculously showed online and I could access past history and Live View. My setup is as follows: Ring Doorbell Pro Wifi Strength showed RSSI in the .54 -.57 range on the first unit, the second unit fluctuates between .59 - .61 with Ring Chime Pro (placed inside home 3 feet from the Doorbell). My power connection health report for both shows 4055mV in the morning and dropping to 4009mV by late afternoon My Chime Pro WiFi connection shows RSSI-29 signal strength currently, and shows the Doorbell connection to the Chime Pro at RSSI - .62 I have done multiple hard resets, as advised by Support. Again, I wish I could like this but am very dissatisfied and because of the cost, do not feel I have any other choice but to return for refund. It is too bad as the video portion works well for the most part. Motion sensitivity is quite sensitive even at the lowest setting, occasional moth and car lights will alert. I purchased the Chime Pro 2 as recommended by the site due to the low-ish signal strength, but it only got worse. If things change prior to my return I will amend this review (if Best Buy allows). I am giving 2 stars because what does work, seems pretty good. What doesn't work is the showstopper for me as I want to get what I paid for.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Shadofaxx,

      I am sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience.This is not the experience that we intended for you to have. I do, however, appreciate all the time, energy, and money that you have invested in trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to step in and ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can investigate these issues for you further. I do see that you mentioned already reaching out to one of our Customer Satisfaction Specialists, I would, however, appreciate it if you would email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com so that I can assist you further.

      I would appreciate your time as well as the chance to improve your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    After initial setup issues, I love it.

    Posted
    Gooflee
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My family gets a lot of packages in the mail, and with the news frequently highlighting package thefts from front doors, I decided on getting a Ring Doorbell especially hearing great things from podcasts. The space where my original door bell is tight, and the Ring Doorbell Pro just barely fits. The actual installation was very easy. It took me about 30 minutes to install it. I could have installed it faster, but I was being very cautious. I wasn’t able to see video on my phone from the Ring Doorbell until after 3 hours. This was after trying to find information from the internet, and talking with Ring Doorbell support person who ignored my questions about what some of the lights meant while I was trying to assist in troubleshooting. He felt that I wasn’t getting enough power to the Ring Doorbell, but he was incorrect. After waiting for 3 hours, and worrying that I would need to give up and take it back to the store, I was able to see video after the doorbell was pressed. My door is slightly recessed into the wall, so my original door bell was also recessed. Unfortunately this causes a tunnel view for the Ring Doorbell camera. It still works, but at night the infrared gets reflected by the wall back into the camera lens. This reflection makes me concern that I won’t be able to see people clearly at night. This isn't a camera flaw, and I only pointing this out to alert others whose original door bell is also recessed in the wall. I am considering seeing if I can find material to absorb some of the IR light to reduce the reflection back into the lens. I love the product after the issues I encountered were resolved (by just waiting). The cloud recording is great, and $30 a year for it seems reasonable. I watched people while I work via the cloud recording ring my doorbell and get a surprised look on their face when they see where the USPS has hidden a package. Unfortunately I haven’t answered my doorbell remotely, because I sometimes leave my phone at my desk at work. I get bummed that I missed answering my door by a few minutes. Currently this is more of a toy for me, because where I live is relatively safe and we haven’t had any burglaries in the neighborhood. It gives me a piece of mind that if someone decides to do something, I have video of it. I like the doorbell so much, I am considering getting a Ring Stickup Cam for the backyard.

    I would recommend this to a friend