Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel-Front_Standard

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel

Model: 8VR1P6-0EN0/88LP000CH000SKU: 5095900

Customer rating

Rating 4.3 out of 5 stars with 4343 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.9 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews

Pros

Cons

  • Here's a few highlights: -physical hardware install is simple - but there's major issues in the software -RING Pro wouldn't connect well to my network even though it saw a strong WiFi signal -RING Pro wouldn't ring my physical doorbell --twice it rang the doorbell with a few second delay -APP won't connect to RING Pro -errors every time I tried to use live view -APP wouldn't let me "delete" the RING Pro so that I could try to reconnect it.DKFCP
    See all reviews that mention delay as a con

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 248 Reviews
  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Too many bugs, don't make my mistake; stay away!

    Posted
    WeekendWarrior123
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    First, the good: The form factor is great! The 4 color options are fantastic! The thoughtfulness of provided tools (masonry drill bit, dual-sided screwdriver, foam adhesive pads, etc) is top notch! The set up took less than an hour for someone who is slow and takes a lot of time to follow steps/instructions. The bad: Latency (the time from when the button is pressed to when your doorbell rings and you get an alert on your phone has been super inconsistent, sometimes does not work, and other times takes multiple minutes to engage/work... which most people would leave your front door by then) Settings for lighting are non-existent (i.e. - if you have a semi-covered entry way and there is more light behind your entry way, your visitor will not be identifiable because of the lack of contrast function) The App does not work consistently (the Live View mode often will not actually show a live view, but sometimes it records and later you can go back and see the historic footage of your "live view") The specs claim 1080p, from my experience it is sometimes high resolution, and other times it is 480 at best, and other times it gets so pixelated you cannot see anything, or else the feed is gray or green. I called Ring customer service to get clarification on wiring configuration during my install, and the person on the other end had only seen the product, but did not have specific knowledge (seems like a miss by Ring to not have knowledgeable call center people near the launch of new iteration). To Ring's credit, within an hour, I received a call back from someone else (more on that later). I was told by Ring that they recommend 2 Mbps minimum upload and 1Mbps minimum download internet speeds (I am above both numbers). So far, the thing just does not work as you would anticipate. Someone walking up to your door has to VERY deliberately/forcefully push the doorbell, and then figure out that when they press the button, that they should hear chimes on their side to know that they actually pressed the button. Many times when I pressed the button, nothing happened at all. From there, if the doorbell push was acknowledged, it took between 1 to 8 minutes for the alert to get to our cell phones. (Before you think this is a wifi range issue, I have a router about 15 feet away from the doorbell). Now, going back to the person who called me back from Ring (which, by then, I had figured out my small wiring question), she said that they presume/accept latency of between 30-60 seconds. This seems like a totally unreasonable amount of time for me to get an alert that someone is waiting at my door. And to be clear, the Ring Pro also controls the mechanical chime/ring in your house, so it's not like you hear the doorbell and then wait to get a notification, the latency affects both the timing of when the doorbell chimes are engaged as well as when the alert comes to the phone. I was reluctant to get the August video doorbell cam only because of the form factor. I guess my only option now is to invest in a Doorbird... their entry one is $100 more than the Ring Pro, and their nicer ones are $600+. Last, to install this, I drilled into my brick. Not an easy repair, and I'm super disappointed for a product I anticipated as being great. I take responsibility for believing the hype/advertising. I should have known better. PLEASE DO NOT DRILL INTO YOUR BRICK like me... you can still install it, and take off your old doorbell and wire this up. If it works better for your set-up, great, go ahead and drill away, otherwise, I recommend you test it out first, and then make the commitment to drill!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Thank you for purchasing a Ring Pro! Ring Pro was placed in retail stores at an earlier date than requested, however, we're in the process of completing a rollout for a firmware update. This firmware update will alleviate many of the issues you mentioned (including the long delay in receiving your alerts) and you'll enjoy your Ring Pro experience much more once that firmware is loaded to your device. Firmware updates happen over the air, so you won't have to do anything to receive it; your device will search for any new available firmware daily. The updated firmware version is 1.0.29. I apologize about your initial experience but would like to get in touch with you to address any other inquiries you may have, and assist you further. Please reach me at yul@ring.com today. Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great potential, poor implementation

    Posted
    Chris
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased this device with great enthusiasm for my parent whom I wanted to provide extra security. Like many folks around the country, they aren’t all that technical so I setup the device both physically and via a new router-setup I built for them specifically to integrate IoT devices. The installation is very simple, and when the device is working it does as advertised. However, in the 3 – 4 days that we’ve owned the device it’s “gone black” i.e. disconnected from my network 3 times, causing me to lose access to the camera or get doorbell notifications. The first time it went black, it only did so for 2 – 3 hours. However, the 2nd and 3rd time it went black and stayed that way for an entire day in one case, and indefinitely thus far, on the most recent one. The last two times I’ve called their techs, and the only solution I’ve gotten was to physically unscrew the device and press the hard-wired restart button. According to the tech, the device is designed to automatically reconnect to your network, but I found that this is not the case, and there is no way to reconnect the device via software which is a huge design flaw. Basically, if you’re out, on vacation, etc., and for whatever reason, your internet blips out (which is common in most of the country) for a few minutes, causing your modem/router to restart, the ring doorbell pro cannot consistently reconnect to your network, and thus you’ll be without sight until you can physically restart the device. Other IoT devices like the Wink/Hue/SmartThings do robustly reconnect to your network if there is a small outage/blip/etc. automatically. I can attest to that, and obviously mobile phones/tablets/laptops are the same way. So this should not be an amazing feature to implement. And since the common use-case for this device probably involves things like being able to see your home when you’re on vacation/at work/checking up on elderly relatives etc., I cannot recommend it to the average consumer as it clearly is not robust with respect to connectivity. For a tinkerer, techie, this may be a good apparatus to install in your home if you’re willing to forgive it’s faults and continually unscrew/screw in the device if/when it goes dark. However, purchasing this from Best Buy, I expected the technology to be ‘ready-for-prime-time’ which it is not. I suppose if you live in an area where the internet NEVER goes down or goes down say once a year (and your Router/Modem also never inexplicably restarts as they tend to do once a while), this won’t be too much of an issue, but that’s a fairly candy-land scenario for 90%+ of Americans I suspect. The tech honestly suggested I return the device, which I plan to do. It’s a great concept, but concepts don’t win markets, implementation does, and there definitely are many bugs to work out on this device.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Chris,

      Thank you for the feedback. Im sorry to hear you were having trouble with your Ring Pro. I would love the chance to personally look into this further for you so that we can resolve the issues you mention above in regards to your ring going black. If you would kindly reach me directly at Kandyce@ring.com, I can investigate this further to make sure we come to a resolution for you. I look forward to hearing from you Chris!

      Thank you,
      Kandyce C., Customer Satisfaction Manager
      Kandyce@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    I tried really hard to be a Ring customer

    Posted
    Jaymacbraun
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Email sent to Jamie Simioff, Inventor of the Ring Video Doorbell: Greetings, I tried really hard to be a customer. I think this product is a great idea, but if you cannot count on it to work reliably, it fails to deliver on the promise of Always Home. Your Customer Service Team has been great, but there is little they can do when the product itself is so unreliable. I purchased a Video Doorbell Pro and a Chime on 12/13/2016 after one of my colleagues was raving about it and showing our Team how it worked. It is a lot of money to spend on a doorbell, but we were excited to give it a go. I attempted to install it on 12/17/2016. The physical install was straightforward and I was pleased that it covered up the unsightly area where the old doorbell had been. The next several hours were the beginning of the nightmare. I could not get the doorbell to complete the setup process. After nearly an hour on hold, the support representative agreed that the unit was likely faulty and suggested I try a new one. I went back to Best Buy and exchanged old for new. Physical reinstall took less than 15 minutes. I was able to complete the setup process for the second unit, but shortly after I got it up and running, it lost its connection. While it was working, the video was choppy and stilted. I spent the next couple of days emailing back and forth with the Customer Service Team (again, as helpful as they could be and very pleasant). I reached the conclusion that a wifi extender was likely needed. I ordered one of the ones recommended on your support page and had it delivered the next day. I installed it on 12/20/2016 and this seemed to do the trick, but we observed lengthy delays initiating interaction with a visitor and poor audio quality/volume... more or less negating the Always Home promise. We also noted the doorbell wasn't ringing the existing chime, so it wasn't really even being a doorbell very well. The support representative sent a Chime Pro and said that would make everything work really well. In the meantime I purchased a new wireless router in the hopes that could help provide a stronger signal. The new router was no faster on the 2.4GHz band and too far away to use the 5GHz signal, which my range extender would not recognize anyway. The Chime Pro arrived on Christmas Eve and I installed it right away. Despite being 4-5 feet away and broadcasting a strong signal, the doorbell could not connect to the Chime Pro. Another support representative suggested the voltage could be an issue. I went to Lowes and purchased a multi-meter voltage tester and confirmed 16.3 at the doorbell. I was able to get the Chime Pro to connect by putting it on an extension cord and placing it right next to the doorbell. The support representative confirmed the unit had very good power and very good wifi connection. We had a family member come visit Christmas Eve and we observed the video was choppy and stilted. Later that evening, the setup lost its connection and has been offline ever since. Good news is the existing doorbell chime was now working... but unfortunately nothing else. Adding up the cost of the Video Doorbell Pro ($200 on sale), the Chime ($30), the range extender ($37), the router ($135) and the multi-meter ($30), I am into this whole thing for well over $400 and all I have is a doorbell that does nothing more than the old one did... and I don't trust your product to even do that reliably. Needless to say, everything that can be returned will be returned, but I won't get back the countless hours of frustration that your product has caused me and my family. The only thing I can count on coming out of this horrible product experience is the reminder of all these shenanigans every time I come home and see the hole in my vinyl siding where the Ring Video Doorbell resided briefly. I wish you the best and genuinely want the product to be a success... it just didn't work in my application apparently. A shame. Thanks for letting me vent to the owner/inventor... I don't normally complain about a product, but it is nice to know that you will actually see this.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Lots of bugs

    Posted
    neo8820
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I've had my Ring Pro and Ring Chime for almost a month and have decided to return it. I purchased the product right after launch so a few hiccups are to be expected. However, over the past month problems have increased. Ring would issue a firmware update a few times a week to fix one problem but two more would appear leading me to seriously doubt the competence of the development team and their ability to properly squash the large amount of bugs. Most of the bugs manifest in one of the following ways these were all confirmed by Ring who said there was not a problem with my installation or WiFi signal strength and the problems were all on their end and to “give us time because this is a beta product”. Funny because I don’t remember reading anything about a Beta on the box or user agreement. Alerts not sent to mobile device/Ring Chime Button presses sent to the mobile/Ring Chime device as motion instead of a button press False motion alerts exactly every 10 minutes. I had to uninstall the app from my phone to get some sleep a few nights. Live view works maybe 50% of the time Answering a motion or button press works maybe 25% of the time. Night Vision would turn on/off throughout the day/night and the software registered this as a false motion alert There are many more problems but the bottom line is the product does not work reliably as advertised. To make matters worse phone support is subpar. Expect lots of promises for call backs, etc. that never happen. Chat support is even worse. One chat took over an hour where there were periods of 15 minutes where I was waiting for the chat agent to respond to a message I sent. My advice is to stay away from this company at least for the next year to see if they survive. They are a new company and with this many problems with their core product my guess is they won't be around for long. Even if your Ring works fine it won't once they discontinue their service and turn off their servers when they go belly up.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi neo8820, I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience thus far with your Ring Pro. You should receive your Ring and Motion alerts on your smartphone, and Live View should be up and running in your Ring app for your Ring Pro. Would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com so that we can immediately address and resolve these issues for you? My job's to ensure you're happy with your Ring experience so I'd appreciate your time today. I look forward to hearing from you - thank you! Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Pretty Awful

    Posted
    MRivers
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Setup I’ve had this for about 6 months now. I spent maybe 50 hours getting this to “work” which took about 6 weeks. The time invested in wages would be thousands. It took multiple trouble tickets, multiple defective devices, multiple rewires even though my setup is on the approved list. Every time I had to set it up again, which was at least 20 times, there is a loud and obnoxious voice barking at me and announcing to the hole neighborhood that my “Ring Pro is in setup mode”....over, and over, and over. I’m a gadget nerd so I have several types of networks/routers and they had me test out each possible configuration (~5 factorial variations) ad naseum before deciding their device was defective, again and again. In the end, they had me add a chime device to my network which I did not want. It’s the only 2.4ghz device in my home. When we finally got the last replacement device set up, they deleted all my saved recordings. I had to contact them yet again and they eventually undeleted them. The setup couldn’t have gone worse. Usage For a device whose core competency is to alert, you’d think it would alert you if it stopped working....but you’d be wrong and also oblivious that your sense of security is false because your Ring Pro failed long ago but didn’t alert you. Do not underestimate how much of a failure these devices are. Even now, several months after setup and usage, I can rarely catch whatever motion it alerts me to because it takes up to a minute to load from any device. Package delivery? You’ll never see it. Friends coming over? They’ll think you’re not home if you try to speak to them through the app because nobody waits a minute to answer the door IRL... Finally my last critical failure is it doesn’t catch all motion ....really sketchy car out front? Check your feed and watch it appear between motion captures like abracadabra without the magic. Service It’s not too expensive but the app is really basic and kind of spammy. It’s super easy to delete everything and it makes you wait minutes to watch what just happened because it has to upload then download and show it to you which is super smart. They also created some kind of social network on top of it because I definitely want to share my security feed with strangers right??? I want to so bad that I was delighted it kept spamming me with notifications about it over and over with no way to turn it off. Looking closer at the social network, the experience is like the largest reply all thread you’ve ever seen only with complete strangers and short security camera snippets in tow. Overall I regret buying this, a lot, but I’m thankful for all that I learned. I now know what I want and expect from a security camera/doorbell by comparing my ring pro experience and doing something different.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Awful - DO NOT BUY RING PRO!

    Posted
    Sparky

    I read many of the reviews for the Ring Pro and knew what I was getting into. Having a home automation setup (my entire home is wired) and having been through all the growing pains of the bugs, I thought I would be able to handle some of the bugs with the Ring Pro. I was mistakenly wrong. Upon initial setup, which was quiet easy, everything seemed to work well with the exception of the motion detection. The motion detection was quite weak and only triggered when someone was at my front door. I was able to deal with that with the hopes of future updates would only improve the system. I experienced some of the other issues often complained about such as delay ringing the bell, lag time with the motion detection, etc. Then after a couple days, it no longer rang my chime inside my home when the doorbell was pressed. Tech support is spotty at best with this product. But after several phone calls and emails, they finally suggested I remove the power box. This, for some strange reason, made the chime in my home work when the doorbell was pressed. A few days had passed and the entire system no longer works: door bell will not ring, no motion activity, no chime, and no live view. I pulled the unit off and did a reset and everything was working "normally" again ... but only for about 1.5 days before it went dead again. I think I have reset the Ring Pro at least 5 times in a two week period to keep it working. Taking this unit back for a replacement, but only because I am going out of town. Otherwise, I would go for a straight refund. I don't have much hopes of the replacement working any better, though. If it does, I will update this review to reflect that. This product is nothing but awful. Save yourself the headache and time and look elsewhere.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Needs some improvement on camera connectivity

    Posted
    Frank
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    When I first bought it was great. After owning the camera a few months, I started having issues. I was getting a black screen on live view, and the camera would also go offline. I called Ring for help, and I was informed the internet speed was too slow, I need to upgrade to faster speeds in other to work. At the time, I already had 25mbps download speeds and about 6 or 7 in upload speeds. I eventually upgraded to 100mbps and continue to have problems. Called Ring back several times and they gave me the run around each time. First telling me it was my internet speed, router, need to get a WIFI extender, doorbell transformer, it was the brick around the house causing the issue, or sometimes I would get an answer saying I don't see anything wrong. Eventually, they gave in and sent me a refurbished camera on top of it. Once I received the camera, I installed it and right of the back I noticed the camera was producing an over exposed video quality. Called Ring back and again I was repeatedly told nothing was wrong with the camera by several representatives. I was told I had to show them footage of the old camera quality V.S the new refurbished. I told them all my footage was deleted once I installed the camera they sent. In others words, they called me a liar. Luckily, I was able to find an old footage recording and gave to them. Now, I'm actually fixing to install the second refurbished camera that was sent to me today. Let's see how well that goes. They have horrible customer service! Dont get me wrong they start off very nicely, and after they can't find a solution, they start to get frustrated with the customer.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello,

      I'm so sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience. I would like to further investigate the problems you are running into with your Ring Pro. In addition, I would like to look into your past CV tickets to learn more about the issues you encountered and ensure that this doesn't happen again. Would you kindly contact me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com today?

      Thanks,

      Kailyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Was good but not perfect, now TOTAL FAIL

    Posted
    SGUfan
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    The video quality is good, but no where near as good as the samples on the web site. I have an excellent connection to my router on 5GHz, so that is not an issue. Motion detection is very picky. Sometimes it will trigger when I turn on my porch light. Other times it will go off for no obvious reason even when the setting is at the lowest sensitivity. Another issue with the motion is that most of the time it takes so long to trigger that I just see the back of the person as they're leaving. It needs to constantly record the last few seconds to itself, then send it if it sees motion. That way it wouldn't miss whatever is triggering it. The doorbell part works well, but it's slow to open on the iPhone 7 Plus iOS 10.1.1. It would also be a lot better if it worked with HomeKit. It would really be helpful and make sense if the app worked with the Apple Watch as well. The audio volume is very low on the doorbell itself. The person at the door sometimes has a hard time hearing me. Overall I like the Ring Pro, I just hope that software updates can fix these issues. Edit March 31 2017 The motion detection has been improved significantly. It hardly senses motion when there isn't any. It also now records video before, during, and after the doorbell is pressed, so no more videos of the back of the person leaving. I'm hopeful that my other issues will be solved soon with more updates. *** Edit July 16 2018 The Ring Pro has started to get cloudy on the lens. After contacting support and following their troubleshooting suggestions (which were to clean the device with a microfiber cloth and distilled water, then to use rubbing alcohol) it appears that the plastic lens cover is already degrading from the weather. In fact here's a quote from their customer service. "Your assumption about decomposition might be correct, but, unfortunately, your device is not covered with warranty service anymore, so the only possible solution for you is to buy a new device." So they expect me to buy a new device because they couldn't be bothered to use something that would stand up to weather for a device that's supposed to be designed for outdoor use. Needless to say I would not recommend this product any longer. The fact that the most important part of the device can't handle being in the sun and weather is not only disappointing, it's pathetic design.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi SGUfan,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience. This is not the experience that we intended for you to have. While I do see that you mentioned already being in contact with our Customer Support team, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly. I would like to investigate the issues that you are encountering with your Ring device so that I can work to provide you with some additional suggestions and assistance to help improve your overall Ring experience. It is imperative to me that you receive the best possible Ring experience and I would like to step in and ensure that this happens for you today. Would you email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Disappointed

    Posted
    Thetruth
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Received the Ring doorbell as a Christmas gift. Had heard alot about it and was rather excited to get it up and running. Thats where the excitement ended. I received the Ring Pro, it is the wired version of the doorbell and directly replaces your existing doorbell. Installation of the Ring product is anything but simple and straightforward. It requires redoing wiring inside of your doorbell chime itself, which is not in itself that big a problem so much as the provided connections from Ring. The connecting pieces as supplied by Ring will not fit into the chime and still allow you to have a functional doorbell. I have installed two of them and had to cut off the factory connectors and splice in longer wires to allow for proper installation in both cases. Installation of the doorbell/camera itself also poses several issues that will require either additional pieces or modification of the home to complete. Where the wires from the existing doorbell connect to the Ring there is absolutely no where for the wires to recess into to allow the doorbell to sit flush against the home. In both circumstances I had to purchase and install the mounting wedge, not to provide a better viewing angle but simply to allow somewhere for the wires to go. Of course this did not become apparent until well into the installation process. Once installation was finally complete the functionality also is not top notch. I have found in both homes there is no less than a 4 second delay between when the doorbell is pushed and when the chime sounds. This just seems a bit excessive, especially in a wired product. There should really be no delay at all. I think the final nail in the coffin for the Ring product is the fact that if you want any sort of cloud recording capability you have to pay a monthly subscription fee. They will provide you with a 30 day free trial of that service but once that trial period is over the product becomes a very expensive doorbell with no true security benefits. My parents also received this product as a gift at christmas and I had not had the opportunity to install for them yet. At this point I am glad I haven't as I will be purchasing the Skybell for them instead. Just with the free recording of events the Skybell seems to be a much better product.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi TheTruth,

      I am so sorry to hear about your poor and inconvenient Ring Pro experience. This is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. At this point, I would like to step in and personally assist you with getting your Ring Pro up and running consistently to your expectations. I would like to investigate the issues that you are encountering with delays so that I can work to resolve this for you. Additionally, I would appreciate the chance to assist your parents with the installation process of their Ring device so that I can ensure that we get everything up and running smoothly for them. Would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on drastically improving your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not Ready Due to Camera

    Posted
    RichardK
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    Read the many bad reviews, read the few good reviews, and thought I should take a chance anyway. Install was fine, got the latest updates, but the camera is not working correctly. If the camera sees more sky in the background than people in the foreground it simply incorrectly adjusts to the sky. So not matter how bright the porch or time of day the person in the video is just a shadow. It is like the brightness and contrast are not automatically adjusting correctly on the camera. The only way to see anyone is if they stand 1 foot from the camera to block out the sky and the camera finally adjusted to show an acceptable picture. The attached picture at a specific time of day was truly the best I could get out of hours of trying. Called the very nice support team a week ago who confirmed they saw the same issue but have not heard back. Will be returning this weekend unless I hear from support on some sort of fix to address the issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi RichardK, I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience thus far with your Ring Pro. Would you reach me at yul@ring.com so that I can address some of your concerns as well as follow up on your CS ticket #? I'd certainly appreciate your time Richard. Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Seems to have problems

    Posted
    Seadog

    I was given a ring pro as a gift @ 6 months ago. They also provided with the gift the services of an installer who when they arrived (2) went to work and installed it and ensured that it was working to specifications. Well, here's my analysis. The Ring Pro (maybe not so pro after I've finished writing this) well, on with this review, it worked fine for the first 28 days, and walla, the trial period hadn't even ended and suddenly it wouldn't connect to the router. I called Ring support and they extended the trial period out to the end of last month. Ring (not so) Pro was working like a champ until 062018, and walla, you guessed it, out it went again, close to the end of the trial period. out it went again. Several phone calls and pictures of the wiring and all sent including the indoor ringer and finally the transformer for the doorbell and chime. After the last picture, the doorbell transformer, and walla, the support staff had their answer, it was the transformer, it wasn't strong enough. Well, it had been strong enough for almost 6 months and the doorbell (not so) Pro still rings and the indoor ringer still works, but, the doorbell (not so) Pro doesn't connect to the router. Each time it got close to where you had to put money down to continue the service, a problem occurred. Now, here's the real catch, the readings on the doorbell (no so) Pro anymore read good to excellent AND the router is closer to the doorbell (not so) Pro than either the doorbell transformer or indoor ringer. If I had a 10-12 foot either net cable and the doorbell (not so) Pro anymore had an ethernet connection I could wire directly to the router. This thing even has an IP address listed which correlates to my router IP address. So, finally, go figure and buyer beware.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Seadog,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience. Your Ring device should continue working consistently to your expectations even after the 30-day trial period has ended. With that being said, I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to step in from here and provide you with some additional assistance. It is imperative to me that you receive the best possible Ring experience and I would like to make sure that this happens with no further hassle for you. Would you please email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time as well as the chance to turn your Ring experience around for you.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great hardware, terrible software

    Posted
    bjamintc
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I loved the idea of this newly designed video doorbell, it looks like a normal doorbell which was a big appeal to me. I bought one and it was very easy to set up, took all in about 30-35 minutes with minimal effort. My issues are with the software, it is terrible. I have the latest firmware 1.0.40. The notification time from when you ring the doorbell to when your phone alerts you is anywhere from 5 to 60 seconds, sometimes not at all. Also with the motion sensing features, you typically see whoever it was walking way not walking up. Night vision with the infrared sensors was great before this firmware update, but now the infrared sensors come on but the camera stays on daytime color mode, making it nearly impossible to see anything aside from a street lamp. If your doorbell is in a corner, do not buy, they don't make a corner mount to angle, which means half of what you see is siding which blows out with over exposure of what you actually want to see, I had to buy some shims from my local hardware store to make it work. In summary, this has the potential to be a great product, but if they don't take ownership in sub par software this product won't last long

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi bjamintc, the latest firmware for your Ring Pro is 1.0.50 - would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com so that we can push this out to your device and improve your Ring Pro experience? I'd certainly appreciate your time and I'm happy to address any other concerns/inquiries you have for me. Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Piece of Garbage

    Posted
    Noring
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This is an overpriced piece of garbage. The customer service is worse. No matter what the problem is, it's something other than their product and they don't answer specific questions. I asked about transformer wattage since my existing was 16 volts and 10 watts. I was told that I needed a 16-24 volt transformer. I replaced it with a 16 volt 30 watt. My doorbell still kept buzzing and ringing by itself. No help. I disconnected my mechanical doorbell. They wanted me to buy their bell. It worked okay for about 30 days then the night vision starts turning on during the day. I'm in Arizona and it's August. The doorbell faces north under the covered patio. I was told that the ambient light levels were to low, and that I should mount the doorbell somewhere else. It's a hard wired doorbell pro. Where should I mount it? In the back yard? Where the sun would shine directly on it. The night vision started turning off at night also recording black screen. Motion alerts every time it switches. They finally tell me they would replace it because the night vision turns off at night. I'm glad I bought the extended warranty, because I returned this garbage to the store. Then bought an 8 channel 4 camera DVR system for the same price. It was more difficult to install, but worth it. Don't buy Ring products.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello,

      Oh no, I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience we intended for you to have. Would you kindly contact me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com? I would like to follow up on your return as well as with your past CS tickets so ensure that this problem does not happen again.

      Thank you,

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Not reliable, and I don't recommend

    Posted
    jscgs350
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I have an extensive home automation environment, and all that was left to do was to add my doorbell. I bought the Ring Doorbell Pro after reading many, many, reviews; and thought to myself that I should be able to handle this. I have very fast internet , my router is only 20ft from the front door with only the exterior wall in between, I have excellent wifi coverage (including outside), and I have excellent power at the existing mechanical doorbell (19v verified with a voltmeter). Even though all those requirements were more than enough for the Ring Pro, this product just would not stay connected to my wireless network. When it would stay connected, I would NEVER get Live View to work, and I only received notifications (via the Ring app and the mechanical doorbell) of a button being pressed only a few times. The pro power kit was easy to install, and setup wasn't too bad, but no matter what I did this product was just too unreliable to be included in a home automation system, or even to be considered as part of a security system plan. I must have performed a dozen system resets to get everything to work, and even that wasn't enough. Half the time Device Health said everything was very good or good (green text indicators), and the other half of the time it said I was disconnected from my network. I need something that works all the time, and is reliable enough to be part of my HA/security environment. This product requires way too much tinkering to maintain. Also, considering firmware releases are not within the customer's control to install, Ring can push out a bad update anytime they want and cause problems for your doorbell. If you have one of these in a vacation home, or you're away from home when this happens, this can be a real inconvenience. Luckily I bought this less than 24 hours ago, and as soon as the Best Buy opens - I'll be returning this for my money back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Jscgs350,

      I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Ring thus far. Would you please email me at jennifer.finefrock@ring.com so we can take a look at this at? We are constantly updating our firmware and making our product better, but would never cause intentional problems for our devices. I look forward to speaking with you and learning more about your experience.

      Thank you,
      Jennifer F., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Jennifer.finefrock@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Replacement policy is bogus!

    Posted
    LaurieNardinelli
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    We installed this unit easily and enjoyed it immensely for about a year, then our problems began! Our unit died, so we called Ring to request replacement. After three hours on the phone, second level tech suppprt finally agreed it was defective and sent a replacement unit. Unfortunately, this unit was also defective. As a network engineer, I was able to capture the wireless transmissions using wire shark. The replacement advertised it’s ssid only 1-5 times at only -83 dB and then dropped connections the few times I was able to attempt a setup connection quickly enough. When I called support again, they requested that I install a different doorbell transformer that held 16 - 24 volts and that I bypass my existing doorbell (ring device). I did so, but the replacement unit still failed as before. They then sent out a second replacement. This unit also failed out of the box. It advertised it’s ssid at only -93 dB, completely insufficient. Additionally, once it exited setup mode, it tried to “reconnect” to a previously configured wireless router (someone else’s not mine). I captured the wireless connection attempts on wireshark so am able to prove that they sent me a defective refurbished unit in a new box, trying to pass it off as new. I then purchased a brand new unit from a different local bigbox. It installed easily proving my wireless and electrical setup were not any part of the problem. What do you know? I was still burning from my interactions with Ring so ultimately decided to return it because I am so uncomfortable with their having tried to pass of a refurbished unit as a new one. Glad some other reliable companies are entering the market.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi LaurieNardinelli,

      I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience but I'd like to connect with you today to provide additional options for you with the hope that you'll remain in our Ring family. I'd like to also investigate your past CS tickets to learn more about the issues you encountered with your Ring Pro. Would you reach me at marynell@ring.com today, please? I hope to hear from you soon and would greatly appreciate this second opportunity!

      All the best,
      Mary Nell J., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      marynell@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Too many bugs, glitches

    Posted
    CurlyFries

    We purchased the Ring Video Doorbell Pro because of ongoing criminal incidents near our home and even on our property. In addition to the delayed alerts that others have noticed, we ran into the following problems: 1. Difficulty with initial setup because our upload speed was too slow. However, the Ring Pro started working shortly after I got off the phone with the first tech rep. Apparently, a firmware update had taken a long time. 2. The setting sun triggered a motion alert. We have a semi-covered porch, so I guess the change in brightness caused it. But even the second tech rep was perplexed. 3. Despite the glitches, we went ahead and purchased cloud storage. We figured delayed video and an oversensitive motion sensor are better than no video. Then the doorbell started ringing every five to ten seconds and there was a loud, continuous buzzing noise from the chime box (the transformer??). That's when the third tech rep told me there was a doorbell chime incompatibility issue. He emailed me some possible solutions to that particular issue, which included buying a new chime kit -- which we did. I replied to the email a few days ago to ask about another issue. I have not heard back from him or any other rep. I called support again today. After I waited forty minutes for a live rep to get on the line, the call automatically timed out with no option to request a return call. While you're on hold, you DO get a couple of prompts to save your place in line if you don't want to remain on hold. Since I'm not all that busy today, I decided to wait. My mistake. I wish we could have gotten the Ring Pro to work or at least have heard back from tech support on the unresolved issue...make that "issues". One of my neighbors raved about Ring products. I'm glad his worked for him. We're going to see if we can find a video doorbell that has better performance.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi CurlyFries,

      I'm sorry to hear about your Ring experience thus far. Would you please email me today at jennifer.finefrock@ring.com so we can get to the bottom of this? I want to apologize for the glitches but provide additional options for you to make sure we get your device up and running to its full potential. Your happiness with your Ring Pro is my top priority. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right.

      Thank you,
      Jennifer F., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Jennifer.finefrock@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Buyers remorse

    Posted
    Fortunecookie

    My husband and I bought this for safety, however, we bought the unit from BestBuy and it worked well for about a week then we couldn't get any video. We contacted customer support and they tried to help and had to set us up with tech support appointment the next day at 5 pm, tech support remotely looked into everything and said it should be working so they sent us a new unit. That one the video worked for about a day and then quit. Not only does the video not work but neither does the motion detected notification work either. I called customer support and was told that what I was experiencing was wrong. I had to ask for a supervisor 5 times before he would let me talk to someone. I talked to someone else who still wasn't a supervisor because they were ALLin a meeting.. Four hours later I got a call from a supervisor long story short, doorbell still broken, i have two units sitting on my desk and one can't be returned to best buy anymore. I would give it 0 stars if I could but 1 is the lowest.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Fortunecookie,

      I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience with your Ring Pro, but I would like to connect with you today to address and resolve the issues you are experiencing with your video for your Ring Pro not working. If you would kindly reach me directly at Kandyce@ring.com, I would like to personally look into this to make sure we come to a resolution for you and get your Ring Pro video working as expected. I look forward to hearing from you so that I can turn this experience around!

      Thank you,
      Kandyce C., Customer Satisfaction Manager
      Kandyce@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Great when it works, trouble is that it doesn't

    Posted
    Me32565
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    When it works right it is fantastic. The problem is that it often doesn't work. It will trigger sometimes when people are walking and sometimes not. To get people walking toward my house I have to make the geo fence way out into the street and then cars going by trigger it. The video quality is nowhere near what it says it is capable of and my internet connection is very good, I have checked that over and over. I even tried to get the chime range extender, but the problem is that it actually degrades the quality, so that definitely didn't help. The most obnoxious thing is that often when people come right up to your house, and especially if they ring the doorbell, it catches a few seconds of video, and then the screen goes black, or the screen freezes. It keeps "recording" for a full minute or so while they are right at your door, but you cannot see what they were doing, and when you replay the video, it just shows a black screen. Often when you go to watch live stream, it will error out as well. I have spoken to their customer support, and the chime range extender was the answer, but it did nothing to help. They also thought the glitching and low quality video was pretty good for 1080p. I mean, it is very clearly not 1080p, I have no idea how they get away with that claim. I will keep it because I guess it is better than nothing, and I am past my return period. However, if I knew it was like this before I purchased, I never would have wasted my money. If you want ten million pointless videos and then have it not work when you actually need it to, this is the camera for you!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Me32565,

      Oh no, I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience, this is not the experience that we intended for you to have. While I do see that you have been in contact with our Customer Support team, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly. It is imperative to me that we get your motion detector and video quality working consistently to your expectations and I would like to step in and ensure that this happens for you today. Would you please email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time as well as the opportunity to drastically improve your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Doesn't work, problems w/ this since I've had it.

    Posted
    RingProSucker
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This product has issues. Never has worked correctly. Now Its completely dead. The videos would freeze on & off & door bell would NOT ring sometimes when it was pushed, then I was NOT getting notifications when someone came up to the door. It's like a gamble, sometimes it would work & others it would not. It worked on and off for a few months, now its completely dead. Will not light up or anything. Called them for support & wanted to get a new one shipped to me but the lady REFUSED. She kept saying that it was our wiring or transformer or something else, but NOT the Ring doorbell. It was working, like I said on & off for 4 months, then on April 17th, it stopped recording. I checked it and it was completely black. The app on my phone says its disconnected, so I tried to connect, and nothing happened. No white light, nothing. Tried the reboot, pushed the button, and Nothing. Then the hard reboot, held the button for 15 seconds & still nothing. Did this several times during the week, but NOTHING is happening. My husband checked the transformer & it is getting Power & then checked our doorbell wiring & our Old Doorbell IS WORKING, Just NOT the Ring Doorbell Pro, So I decided to call Customer Support. She just gave us the Run around & was NO HELP WHAT SO EVER. I am very disappointed, because I thought they would send a replacement, but She Refused to Do ANYTHING. Told me to get an Electrician. So I would ADVISE YOU NOT to Buy the Ring Doorbell Pro. Look for something else. That is my next move.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi RingProSucker,

      I am very sorry to hear that your experience with your device and customer support has been poor. I would like to turn your experience around and assist with finding a resolution to your nonworking Video Doorbell Pro if you would allow me. Would you kindly reach out to me at Tamia.Dorris@ring.com to further discuss your current issue? I look forward to hearing from you and getting your device to work to your expectations.

      Thank you,
      Ta'Mia D., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Tamia.Dorris@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    Ring Pro Not So Great

    Posted
    GJK1128

    I had the first ring door bel, and worked OK not good but OK. THe motion alerts and software needs improvement no matter what distance you adjusted the area the infrared would pick up vehicles 50 plus feet away. Then I upgraded to the pro hoping motion would improve. First off reaction time is way to long and the person was gone out of site. Did the upgrade to the software 1.0.50 no difference. Motion would work then not work, some days are good some bad. Our wifi is excellent. Speed test is excellent. The real bad thing here the top and bottom video are smaller than the original ring. My front porch is 14 feet wide 10 feet out. With the pro all visibility of the porch is gone. The video is on an angle showing a very small corner of the porch. The first ring visibility of the porch was excellent most all the porch was visible almost to the door. You could see a package on the porch. Now you see nothing except the black bar at the bottom on an angle. The community service has gotten real bad, was within 24 hours or less. Now your lucky you get a email from someone after 3 days or longer plus they have no answer to your problem and give you someone else's email to set up an appt to review your problem. Still waiting for a reply from them to replace the pro due to the camera video on an angle. If the second one is no better I will send both back and put the original back and live with the nuisance of motion until something else better comes along. Frustrated very Frustraded.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi GJK1128, I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience with your Ring Pro thus far. Would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com so that we can address & improve the issues you're encountering currently? I'd like to ensure you receive assistance immediately. Thank you for your time! Ring