Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel-Front_Standard

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel

Model: 8VR1P6-0EN0/88LP000CH000SKU: 5095900

Customer rating

Rating 4.3 out of 5 stars with 4340 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.9 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews

Pros

Cons

  • Here's a few highlights: -physical hardware install is simple - but there's major issues in the software -RING Pro wouldn't connect well to my network even though it saw a strong WiFi signal -RING Pro wouldn't ring my physical doorbell --twice it rang the doorbell with a few second delay -APP won't connect to RING Pro -errors every time I tried to use live view -APP wouldn't let me "delete" the RING Pro so that I could try to reconnect it.DKFCP
    See all reviews that mention delay as a con

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 112 Reviews
  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Product Not Ready Needs work

    Posted
    Wishkid
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have own this device for about a month and to be honest my conclusion is this device is not fully ready for prime it was rushed. Let me start with the good it is small, sleek look, good quality video, sound, multiple cover plates and lot of potential. Now the Bad, let’s start with the installation. Installing the device is not really that hard as the most time consuming will be the actual Setup. Now, as the company stated is a universal that can replace an existing doorbell, yes but some with complications, in my case my old doorbell was install in an electrical box with a plate. The actual Ring Pro it is narrow and long so it will not cover the hole completely, now Ring came up with a Retrofit Kit not included with the device and you have to call them to order it (no charge), they said for the newer ones they will include it. There is still a flaw as the Ring is longer the screws doesn’t align with the electrical box as the length from top to bottom is approximately 4.5in. and the Ring Pro is about 5in. so guess what you have to drill the wall, they should had made the device standard electrical box size at least for the US resale. Next, setting the actual device that was the most stressful part. I have an Asus RT-AC87R router dual band I could not get it connected to the WIFI and I spent multiple hours on the phone to get nowhere. After multiples trouble shooting they will escalate your problem to level 2 support that will not get you anywhere either and you have to wait for them to call or write you by email. To be honest I spent more time on the phone than playing with the actual device and in multiple days. The workaround that I came up with and it work was creating a guest account on my router somehow it connected that way. After that everything went well until I received the retrofit kit and I had to unplug that thing again, then the connectivity issue started over even on the guest account. After I was able to connected it aging and it was back to normal until I find myself I cannot view live feed away from home stuff that I was able to do before, I can only view the live at home on wifi. I get all the notification and all but no live view. One of the reason I bout this was the advertisement that it works with ADT Pulse, that will save me from installing a camera at the door. I went through all the setting I link both account but I don’t see how they work with each other. You are not able to see the Ring camera on the Pulse app and on the Ring app doesn’t show any feature for the Pulse System just an + icon when you looking at the camera that shows a ADT Pulse icon, when you click on it you get an Error. I called 6/1/16 to get help on the problem for the live view and all they did was send me to call my cellphone network provider. The actual support center is very poor, a lot of them doesn’t have any knowledge of the device as the one answer the phone to help with the live view told me that it was only available on Wifi then put me on hold to verify his statement when I told him I was able to do that before LOL. So for those potential buyers I would hold off on it, is not easy to drop 250 pops on a device that doesn’t delivers as promise, it does have potential but right now is not ready. I read those bad reviews and I still got one to see If I was one of the lucky one like those who posted good reviews with 5 stars but I wasn’t. Now I have to take this thing a part install my old doorbell back, cover the new holes I put on the wall, return it, and wait for something else or this one to get better right now this is thing too much hassle for $250. Good luck!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Wishkid, I'd like to apologize for your poor experience with Ring and for the delay with our CS team. You should be able to access Live View under cell data when you're away from home. In regards to the ADT Pulse integration, during your Ring video call when you select ADT Pulse from the + icon, you're able to lock/unlock your door, arm/disarm your system and turn on/off your lights. Would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com today so that we can improve your Ring experience please? I'd certainly appreciate your time and this second opportunity to make this right. Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Quite disappointed

    Posted
    Shadofaxx

    I admit, I 'want' to like this product (Ring Doorbell Pro) but I cannot get it to work as intended and advertised. 24/7 Customer Support has been unable to help, suggesting I 'exchange' my device and indicating there was little else that could be done. I have also tried reaching out via email to one of the Ring Customer Satisfaction Specialists who frequently reply to these reviews prior to submitting my own. I have received no response. I purchased my first Doorbell Pro five days ago. It installed relatively easily and monitoring seemed to work. My major issue initially was that when I attempted to communicate with people outside the door, they heard nothing but static, and maybe an occasional garbled portion of a word, thus knowing I was at least trying to talk to them. I called Support after 2 days of trying various site-suggested fixes and it was recommended that I exchange my device. Sadly it is an hour drive, each way, to my closest store, but we made the trip. Best Buy exchanged it for a second unit, but I cannot be certain it was 'new' as when I got home (again, hour drive) I found the box had been opened and re-taped. I did look it over after this discovery and is appeared unused, so I reinstalled that evening. Much to my disappointment, this resulted in virtually the same issue with the sound. Initially visitors could make out 2-3 garbled words, but that quickly deteriorated to none at all - just static - but hey, they static was quieter! Early the next morning, Motion Detection identified a car driving past my home that was not in my specified motion zones. When I attempted to view, the App showed my Doorbell was offline. I got out of bed and walked out to look at the device and it alarmed again. It was seeing motion and people, alerting, but showing offline within the App so I could not view anything. It even recorded my vehicle leaving later that morning - still showing offline! Three hours later, it miraculously showed online and I could access past history and Live View. My setup is as follows: Ring Doorbell Pro Wifi Strength showed RSSI in the .54 -.57 range on the first unit, the second unit fluctuates between .59 - .61 with Ring Chime Pro (placed inside home 3 feet from the Doorbell). My power connection health report for both shows 4055mV in the morning and dropping to 4009mV by late afternoon My Chime Pro WiFi connection shows RSSI-29 signal strength currently, and shows the Doorbell connection to the Chime Pro at RSSI - .62 I have done multiple hard resets, as advised by Support. Again, I wish I could like this but am very dissatisfied and because of the cost, do not feel I have any other choice but to return for refund. It is too bad as the video portion works well for the most part. Motion sensitivity is quite sensitive even at the lowest setting, occasional moth and car lights will alert. I purchased the Chime Pro 2 as recommended by the site due to the low-ish signal strength, but it only got worse. If things change prior to my return I will amend this review (if Best Buy allows). I am giving 2 stars because what does work, seems pretty good. What doesn't work is the showstopper for me as I want to get what I paid for.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Shadofaxx,

      I am sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience.This is not the experience that we intended for you to have. I do, however, appreciate all the time, energy, and money that you have invested in trying to get your Ring device to work for you and I would like to step in and ensure that your efforts are not wasted. With that being said, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can investigate these issues for you further. I do see that you mentioned already reaching out to one of our Customer Satisfaction Specialists, I would, however, appreciate it if you would email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com so that I can assist you further.

      I would appreciate your time as well as the chance to improve your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ring Pro - Difficult setup, defective unit

    Posted
    matthew345
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Wanted to purchase a ring doorbell. Went online to the BestBuy website. Said the regular unit was available at my local BestBuy. Once I was there, discovered they didn't have any of the regular ring doorbells (which are battery powered and don't require a transformer). They had a TON of the ring PRO, so without wanting to order it online and wait for shipping, etc. I decided to buy the Ring PRO. It APPEARED to be an easy installation (and I'm tech savvy). Hooked it up per the instructions. The white light on the doorbells was spinning, but it didn't work. FIRST TECH CALL: Was told I needed to get a more powerful transformer. Purchased a 16v transformer and installed it in the attic. White light spinning, doorbell still didn't work. SECOND TECH CALL: Was told that even though the previous tech told me 16v was sufficient, that I needed a 24v transformer as maybe I wasn't getting a full 16v to the doorbell. OK, couldn't find any 24v transformers locally, had to order one online. It arrived and installed it. White light spinning, doorbell STILL DIDN'T WORK! Now I'm frustrated as I spent $250 on the initial unit (with tax), plus TWO transformers (another $50). THIRD TECH CALL: Now I'm being told the unit is defective and that the previous technician gave me the WRONG INFORMATION! They said they would FedEx overnight a new replacement. TWO days later, it arrived. Uninstalled previous one, installed new one. FINALLY, after almost a MONTH, I heard the welcome greeting and it finally worked. I think overall it's a good device, but I would NOT buy the Ring PRO! Go for the less expensive model as it runs off of batteries and doesn't need the transformer. It has a lot of features to minimize sensitivity of things in front of the camera, but still tends to go off occasionally without anything in front of it. The way they make their money is they give you 30 days of FREE cloud storage, after which you have to pay a monthly fee if you want to keep your videos stored. OVERALL: I'm tech savvy and this was difficult to install and troubleshoot. If you're not very tech savvy, do not buy this! You will get frustrated! Opt for the lesser expensive model.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Conceptually great, not perfect.

    Posted
    tobias
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I got this because I wanted 1080p and the ability to get a live view whenever I want. It is also compatible with the Wink hub I use. The older (and cheaper model) is 720p and can only be viewed when a ring or motion event is triggered. This requires hard wiring, no battery option. It also requires more power, so wiring can be a headache. My fist one had a faulty accessory (the Pro power kit). It somehow made it so the mechanical chime wouldn't work. I even bought a new chime to prove to Ring it was their product, not my chime. I got a replacement Pro Power kit, but it didn't make the problem go away. Luckily, I could use the Ring without the Pro Power Kit (was told that by a ring rep on the phone). Then a couple months later my doorbell kept powering off on its own randomly. Ring had my buy a new transformer, which I did, before they agreed that their doorbell was faulty. I got the replacement and it works better, but there are still issues. More than half the time, when I try to view the camera from my tablet or phone I can hear but not see the doorbell. The camera rarely loads. Ring says it is my upload speed. They used to say you need at least 1mb up, but recommend 2mb up. They later changed their story and said you need at least 2mb up minimum. I upgraded my internet and now have 2mb up. I still don't see the image most of the time. So, I had to upgrade my internet plan, buy a new mechanical chime and transformer and still have a doorbell that doesn't work right. To be fair, Ring does try to fix their issues, but I can't help but feel there is no way to make this right any more. Now that the chime is not shutting off randomly, all I need is the video to load reliably (basically the primary reason to get this). There are two ways this could be fixed. Either 1) let the resolution dumb down to 720p when needed or 2) let the picture stream though the internal network instead of only through the internet. I've asked Ring about this and they say neither of those features are likely to happen any time soon. Others appear to have more luck with Ring than I do, but I wish I'd gotten a different brand at this point.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Tobias,

      I'm sorry to hear about your recent Ring experience! I do appreciate your patience. I would like to speak with you today to address the concerns you voiced in your review above and find the best resolution to resolve them. Your satisfaction with your Ring product is my top priority. Please email me at jennifer.finefrock@ring.com at your earliest convenience. I look forward to speaking with you.

      Thank you,
      Jennifer F., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Jennifer.finefrock@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Patience tested but.....3rd try was the charm

    Posted
    Earlyadaptor
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Ring Video Doorbell Pro. The old saying the 3rd time is the charm explains perfectly the experience of the newest ring pro video doorbell. First one connected to my system but then in one day it stopped working. Tech support from Ring was very helpful and despite trouble shooting the final assessment was faulty product. Returned to Best Buy for exchange. The 2nd attempt failed right out of the box, the new installed unit could not make a connection to my wifi. Ring support again helpful in trouble shooting and determined once again faulty unit. Instead of heading back to Best Buy for a third unit Ring.com offered to exchange my unit for a factor fresh unit which took 2 days to receive. They not only sent me a replacement but also the packaging material to return the faulty one. The 3rd unit connected immediately and worked as advertised. Pro's. Impressive camera and sound clarity, easy to install (once you get a unit that works) and easy to set up. Tech support from Ring was very responsive. Con's. Price seems on the high side, 2 faulty units. Alert delays when someone is at the door sometimes seem long as compared to what is expected with people who are standing at the door . Time frame breaks out in the following pattern. Some arrives at the door 10 or 20 seconds before an alert is triggered. Then after the alert the time spent to activate and open the ring app. to respond can take another 10 to 20 seconds thus leaving the person at the doors experience (now at minute +/- wondering if anyone is home. May not seem like much but you stand at a door after ring the bell for 40 seconds or more and see how you feel about delays. I would recommend to a friend but would also caution that patience may be needed to get the hang of the alert system.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Nice when it works

    Posted
    Dave
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    If you have a covered west facing entryway I would pass on this device. Mine remains in night mode all day creating a useless overexposed image in black and white. The rare instances where the daytime mode worked, usually for a few minutes after a reboot, the picture was great. Ring support is hit or miss technically depending on who answers the phone. The fall back answer seems to me a future firmware update will solve the issues or the light sensor is using a weighted average of the light measurement and it's skewed because of the dark brick. To their credit, I'm on my third device to rule out hardware issues and they sent a wedge kit to try to angle it more to the light. The second device was DOA. The wireless connection is fine, but my router is in the room next to the door so the signal is strong. Installation and setup was easy. After the third installation, I was able to have it wired and connected to the app in under 10 minutes. I basically have a very expensive wireless intercom. The audio is good and everyone who I've spoken to through it says the audio quality is very good. If you are mounting this in a location that provides lots of ambient light, lack of shadows or have a flood light pointed into your covered entryway, this may be a good deal. If you do have a covered entry way, it makes a decent intercom. I was able to speak with someone when I was travelling abroad with no issues. To summarize, I'm underwhelmed.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Dave,

      I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience but I'd like to connect with you today to provide additional options for you with the hope that you'll remain in our Ring family. I'd like to also investigate your past CS tickets to learn more about the issues you encountered. Would you reach me at TaMia.Dorris@ring.com today, please?

      Thank you,
      Ta'Mia D., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      TaMia.Dorris@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Could Not Get It To Work

    Posted
    kylejillm
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Before I get to my reasoning for the two-star review let me first say that I am not the most mechanically inclined person in the world. That being said I can read and follow directions very well. As for the Ring doorbell I simply could not get it to work. It worked for a short time, as in a few hours, and even then during this time it made my existing doorbell thump a very annoying sound. This is after using the included attachment that you install on the existing doorbell. Calling Tech Support they sent me something to alleviate this problem. Trouble is they sent me exactly what I already had so it did not help at all. Tossing aside using it hard-wired we decided to install it again using only the battery option. It still would not work. No amount of trying would get it sync and work in any way. So we returned it and purchased the Arlo doorbell that went along with our existing cameras and it has been nothing short of perfect. If you are looking for a doorbell and do not have any other cameras then perhaps the Ring will work for you. But if you already have Arlo cameras I highly recommend the Arlo doorbell over anything, including Ring.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Older one worked better

    Posted
    Adamj
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Installing this thing took me over 2 weeks, and I have extensive expertise with this kind of stuff. I think first one was defective as it wouldn’t broadcast an ssid no matter what i did so couldn’t set it up. Second unit they sent me worked quickly right out of the box and was was able to install pretty quickly. Never rings the actual mechanical doorbell so had to install a chime device. Live video is perfect but recorded video is missing 50% or more of the actual video due to stalling, but all the sound is there. Still working on getting this thing to work correctly but annoyed it’s taking so long. Also, 250mbps xfinity service and 18v 20va transformer producing 18 volts at doorbell verified by a meter I purchased for this. Would not recommend this to anyone without experience in this arena. Will update if I ever get this thing working correctly. Reading all the reviews, there is a serious quality control issue with several reviews depicting faulty devices. Ring should really work on this without wasting everyone’s time trying to get these to work. It’s seems to work perfectly for some, and after 2-3 replacements for others. Can’t wait for the nest doorbell to come out early next year!

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello Adam,

      I am so sorry to hear about this unfortunate Ring experience, this is not the experience that we intended for you to have. I would like to connect with you directly so that I can personally take a further look at the video issue that you are encountering. If you would kindly email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com I would like to get to the bottom of this for you ASAP.

      Thanks,

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Just OK - Still needs lots of work

    Posted
    Mousikos2
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Great idea, execution still needs refinement. I purchased both a Ring Pro Doorbell (for the front porch) and a standard Ring Doorbell (for my garage). The pro says it will connect to 5ghz wifi, but I found that it was extremely difficult to get it to connect and stay connected. I have a brand new, state of the art router (it cost about $400) that is well within wifi range, and it still struggled to connect to the 5ghz band. Unfortunately, video & audio quality on the 2.4ghz band was not great and the connection on 2.4ghz while reliable for a few days at a time, would keep disconnecting randomly also. I actually tried it on 3 different routers over the course of a little over a month, and all three routers had the same connectivity & reliability issues, so I know it has to be an issue with the ring hardware or software, not the wifi routers. I am a highly technical individual with degrees and certifications as well as 15+ years in high-level technical fields, so I'm pretty sure I have a good handle on how this stuff should be setup and how it should work. While I loved the concept of the Ring, it just wasn't reliable enough for the $250 (pro) + $200 (standard). I need something that will connect, stay connected, and be consistent. It also kind of sucks to have to pay a subscription for cloud recording on EACH device. Seems like one subscription would be enough to cover at least 3 devices.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Mousikos2, that doesn't sound right. We do recommend that your routers are no farther than 30 feet from your Ring devices for optimal performance but the closer it is, the better the performance. Thank you for sharing your feedback here - we'll look into bundle costs on cloud fees for the future. Would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com today so that we can take a closer look at your device/account and ensure a stable connection to your network? Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Doorbell Voltage Sensitivity

    Posted
    MMat
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The Pro unit requires 16-24 VAC from your existing doorbell system. I measured my system voltage before I bought the unit at 16.9 VAC. I purchased the unit and followed the installation instructions which included the power pack unit. After hooking everything up and applying power, the unit powered on and I was able to simply connect it to my wifi network and was able to test the system. Live view worked, remote notification also worked as advertised. Very happy. The next morning, the unit would not respond. All indications pointed to loss of power. I reset the circuit breaker, but nothing happened. I contacted Ring and was asked to ensure that I had the required voltage to the unit. Upon checking, the measured voltage was only 12.6 VAC?? I then removed both the ring and the power pack and reinstalled, the unit powered on, connected to my wifi and worked fine. After a couple of hours, the unit was unresponsive. I removed all the components and restored my original doorbell. The Ring Pro is headed back to Best Buy for a refund. Hopefully Ring will come out with a more voltage tolerant unit.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi MMat,

      I'm sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience, but I would like address & resolve the issues you mention above so that we can come to a resolution for you. If you would kindly reach out to me today at Kandyce@ring.com I would love to turn this around for you and see what other options are available for you so that we get your Ring Pro up and running to your expectations. I would appreciate your time and look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,
      Kandyce C., Customer Satisfaction Manager
      Kandyce@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Be Careful with set up.

    Posted
    RV213

    I purchased this item because I thought it would be great for added security. The camera looks great and set up was easy, but immediately I had issues with my mechanical chime. Once I installed the Ring Pro my chime stopped working. I push the doorbell button and no chime noise. Customer service started out great and after a few back and forth emails it just got worse. They stopped returning my emails and now when I call I am on hold for at least 30 min and another 30-45 min with an agent trying to figure out what is going on. They had me replace my transformer. The CS rep said if it doesn’t work I can just return it. Way to make me go out of my way. By the way it didn’t work. I called back and was on the phone for an hour when the rep asked if he could call me back due to the long wait. I said fine, he did not call back. Such a terrible experience. I will be returning my Ring Pro for another brand and hopefully will have better success. Yes, I know I can buy a chime from ring but why should I have to shell out another $30-$40.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi RV213,

      I am so sorry to hear about this poor Ring experience, this is by no means the Ring experience that we intended for you to have. While I do see that you have been in constant communication with our Customer Support team, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can provide you with some additional assistance. Would you please email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would like to get to work on improving your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Exciting product, poor execution

    Posted
    Susanzmoon

    I bought the last model and loved it. My husband wanted the new one because of the 1080p, so we upgraded after the software fix. We are having all the problems that they said the update would fix. 4-5 seconds delay on the ring. Complete whiteout of the person at the door on the video at night. Although great street video at night. And you have to shut off alerts at night. Even though we have it on the shortest range, every car sets it off, all night long. But it works great during the day. The video is wonderful if it never got dark. Unfortunately I do t live in Alaska. I called the company. They said I have current update. They want me to take screenshots and video and email. Not worth the hassle. They are not paying me, I am paying them. I will return this and go back to my old one for now. Wait till next year when they have worked the bugs out.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Susanzmoon, thank you for purchasing a Ring Pro! Ring Pro was placed in retail stores at an earlier date than requested, however, we're in the process of completing a rollout for a firmware update. This firmware update will alleviate many of the issues you have mentioned, and you'll enjoy your Ring Pro experience much more once that firmware is loaded to your device. Firmware updates happen over the air, so you won't have to do anything to receive it; your device will search for any new available firmware daily. The updated firmware version is 1.0.29. I apologize about your initial experience but would like to get in touch with you to address any other inquiries you may have, and assist you further. Please reach me at yul@ring.com today. Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ring has gradually becomes frustrating

    Posted
    JayWalter
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Installation was a breeze and in the beginning, worked as advertised. But approximately 9 months afterwards, I began encountering video freezing issues. Whenever the doorbell was pressed, the recording would freeze or I could not answer the doorbell because I couldn't get a video feed. Just the spinning circle. And just to be clear, I did change the transformer in my garage. I read online, that some people were able to get around the freezing issue by turning off the "ring my home doorbell" setting but now that no longer works either. I'm also noticing that when someone just walks in front of the doorbell, the recording also freezes. I've called Support for assistance but did not get to a resolution after spending quite a bit of time on the phone. I never called back because I expected the next agent to make me do the same steps to no avail. Now I'm outside the warranty period and may just move to the Nest Hello since I already have Nestcams in my home.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi JayWalter,

      I am so sorry to hear about this less than excellent Ring experience. While I do see that you mentioned already working with our Customer Support team, I would appreciate the chance to connect with you directly so that I can provide you with some additional assistance. Would you please email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate your time as well as the chance to improve your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Much potential, serious quality issues

    Posted
    Charlie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    In general, meh, nothing to knock my socks off. First unit was broken out of the box. Customer service was helpful, but it was easier to swap it at BB. Second one, I learned that I needed a new door bell transformer. NOTHING on Ring's website, found what I needed to know on youtube. Unit has always had a very long delay between pushing the button and ringing the bell. Has to be a design issue. Cloud storage, video streaming, etc lack luster and got worse as time went on. Maybe Ring has issues scaling their product? No idea, but for $250, I'm not debugging it for them. I'm now about to swap out for ANOTHER unit. Thankfully my credit card doubles the warranty. Depending on how that goes, this will probably be the last one. All in all? Rushed to market, company has execution issues. I'd give this product 2.5 stars, but I can't. No extra credit due to the time I've spent trying to make it work. Keep in mind - it's a DOORBELL first. It should not be this hard.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Charlie,

      I appreciate your honest feedback and I am sorry to hear that Ring did not meet your expectations. I understand you have spent time already in trying to resolve these issues, however, I would love this second opportunity to make sure we get your Ring Pro functioning, in all aspects, to your expectations. WOuld you reach me at Kandyce@ring.com today?

      Thank you,
      Kandyce K., Neighbor Satisfaction Manager
      Kandyce@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Save money, buy the cheaper version.

    Posted
    CamB
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I had purchased the Ring security kit that included the Ring doorbell, and two stick up cams. The installation was super easy with the original doorbell. I ended up returning the security kit after about a week due to wanting more security cameras on my house. I bought a different camera kit, and also bought the Ring Doorbell Pro. To me, the installation of the pro was a little more difficult due to having to add the battery booster to the doorbell since I didn't purchased the Ring Chime. After installing the Ring Pro, I honestly couldn't tell the difference in the picture quality with it being day or night compared to the 720p regular doorbell. I ended up returning the pro and purchasing the original Ring doorbell. Maybe I just got a bad pro version? I don't know. Overall, save the extra cash and go with the regular doorbell. It is easier to install, and to me, has the same picture quality. I guess the only positive to the Pro versus the regular Ring is that you have multiple face plate options and is slightly smaller.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi CamB,

      Thank you for your feedback! The Pro does require to be hardwired, which may make the installation not as easy as the Ring Video Doorbell. How are things going with your current Ring Video Doorbell? I would love to answer any questions or concerns you may have. Would you please email me at jennifer.finefrock@ring.com so I can make sure your device is up and running to its full potential? Your happiness with your Ring Video Doorbell as well as overall satisfaction is my top priority. I look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,
      Jennifer F., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Jennifer.finefrock@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Works but buggy

    Posted
    Dier
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The camera works but still has bugs to work out. Issues: Ring has connectivity issues to the Chime Pro. Always disconnects and the Chime Pro is limited to only 2.4Ghz frequency while the pro is dual band. Why would the company make a "Pro" version that isn't capable to it's counter part? When I get ring alerts, it takes FOREVER (sometimes it ends up timing out) to answer the Ring on my IPhone 8 (Latest IOS and app version as of 2/21/18). This defeats the purpose of answering your doorbell from your phone. It takes several minutes for the event to be logged in the app to allow you to view it again. This is an issue because when the app times out when trying to answer the ring, I go back into the app to view who's there and i can't even see the event for a while. If these 3 things were fixed, I would love my Ring and make it worth the $250 it costs. But until then, I feel its worth maybe $100 at most at this point.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Dier,

      I am so sorry to hear about this unfortunate Ring experience. The delay is normally attributed to WiFi/bandwidth connection but we'd be happy to further investigate this for you. Do you happen to have any major appliances between your router and device? Would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate the chance to further investigate the delays that you are experiencing so that I can work to improve your overall Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Works, but there are some caveats

    Posted
    Pete
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    So the product works, but not quite as advertised. AND, it took 5 days to speak with someone at Ring and 3 attempts to reach them. This device does not appear to work with the 5.0 wireless signal. It only works with 2.4Ghz, which is somewhat limiting. This device does not appear to work with a 16 volt transformer like the specs indicate. It was hooked up to a 16 volt transformer and when I was finally able to speak to Joseph at Ring he advised me I would need a new transformer, or I could purchase the "classic" version. I went out and bought a 24 volt transformer and the doorbell now seems to work. However, my mechanical doorbell now no longer rings, although it DID with my 16 volt transformer. Seems like I will now have to buy a Ring "chime" so that people in my home can hear the doorbell ring if they don't have their smartphone nearby. While the device seems to be working presently, tech support is subpar and the specifications listed on the Ring literature are not correct, at least in my instance.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Pete,

      Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your patience. I'd like to speak with you today to address the concerns you mentioned in your review above. I'd also like to take a further look into your open Customer Support tickets and ensure something like this doesn't happen again. Would you please email me at jennifer.finefrock@ring.com so we can get your device up and running to its full potential? I look forward to speaking with you, Pete!

      Thank you,
      Jennifer F., Customer Satisfaction Specialist
      Jennifer.finefrock@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Might be worth it after a year of firmware updates

    Posted
    JoeStl
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I would be much less disappointed with Ring Pro if I had been provided it at no cost as a beta tester. It isn't ready for mass release, and I strongly recommend against buying it, except for the most extreme early adopters. Motion sensing is mostly a failure. A sunrise or crawling bug will set it off. The app doesn't allow you to control the sensitivity, so I get dozens of alerts about motion when the lawn mowing crew is in the yard. I have to manually disable motion alerts and then remember to turn them back on. Motion sensing at night doesn't work, even when you stand just inches away from the doorbell. There are so many other annoyances and aggravations. I'm hopeful the company will issue a recall so I can get my money back.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi JoeStL, I'm sorry to hear about your poor experience with your Ring Pro. You will receive a motion alert whenever something/someone enters your custom motion zones you drew out. If your mowing crew is within one of the motion zones you enabled, you will receive motion alerts when they're working on your lawn. But you can easily disable your Motion alerts from your Ring app during their working hours. Would you kindly reach me at yul@ring.com today so that we can address this issue and improve your Ring experience please? I'd appreciate your time, Joe. Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Worked great at first

    Posted
    Lala
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    This produce was the best when we first got it. Easy to install, worked immediately, didn't have to get up to see who was at the door, and was able to monitor the house from work. However, after 4 months the device disconnected from our wifi. Went through the steps to reconnect, but the Ring wifi could not be accessed. I have been going back and forth with Ring support for another 4 months now trying to resolve. Standard troubleshooting techniques such as factory reset, wifi reset, electrical connection and wifi speed have not resolved it. I even disconnected the device and reinstalled. I also purchased a wifi booster to potentially remedy. Now it works intermittently, for about a day and looses connection again. I'm hoping this was just a faulty device because it was a great product at first. I'll update whether I get a replacement or end up trashing this one since I'm past return policy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi Lala,

      I am so sorry to hear about your poor Ring experience. At this point, I would like to step in and connect with you directly so that I can work to improve your Ring experience. Would you be so kind as to email me directly at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com?

      I would appreciate the chance to improve your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Ok when works

    Posted
    Whitee

    Installing this product was a breeze and live view rendered a very good image. However, after having the doorbell installed for several weeks now, I have noticed some not so stellar performance issues. 1) The actual doorbell ring works occasionally and if it works at all, it is delayed drastically. 2) The audio out is so choppy it's pretty much useless. 3) The recorded video can be very choppy and many times freezes. All this with consistently good power and WiFi signal. But the one that makes the product currently useless is the fact that it does not record any video once the sun goes down. I can consistently receive notifications throughout the day but as soon as the sun drops so do the notifications. I called tech support and was told this is a known issue and they are working on a fix. I would think this would be a top priority since coverage at night is critical and without, this is nothing more than a cool toy.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hello Whitee,

      I am so sorry to hear about this unfortunate Ring experience, however, I am confident that I can help. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly so that I may take a further look at the Live View, Sound, Ringing, and Recording issues that you mentioned in the above review. It is critical that we get your Ring device working consistently to your expectations and I would like to ensure that I make this happen for you. If you would kindly email me at Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com I would like to get to work providing you with a resolution ASAP.

      I look very forward to improving your Ring experience.

      Kaitlyn R., Neighbor Satisfaction Specialist
      Kaitlyn.rosenthal@ring.com Ring