Main Content

Customer Ratings & Reviews

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel-Front_Standard

Ring - Video Doorbell Pro - Satin Nickel

Model: 8VR1P6-0EN0/88LP000CH000SKU: 5095900

Customer rating

Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 4344 reviews

90%
would recommend to a friend

Expert rating

Rating 3.9 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews

Pros

Cons

  • Here's a few highlights: -physical hardware install is simple - but there's major issues in the software -RING Pro wouldn't connect well to my network even though it saw a strong WiFi signal -RING Pro wouldn't ring my physical doorbell --twice it rang the doorbell with a few second delay -APP won't connect to RING Pro -errors every time I tried to use live view -APP wouldn't let me "delete" the RING Pro so that I could try to reconnect it.DKFCP
    See all reviews that mention delay as a con

Customer ratings & reviews

Filter:
Page 1, showing1-20 of 985 Reviews
  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Video Doorbell to Enhance Security

    Posted
    RobDroid
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I installed the Ring Video Doorbell Pro about three weeks ago (as of the date of this review). I would say that it is a great product to enhance security at your home and to interact with those who come to your house whether or not you are at home. I will talk about two aspects of this video doorbell product in this review. First is the installation process. Before you even purchase the Ring Video Doorbell Pro, you need to do some homework on your existing doorbell hardware. The Ring Video Doorbell Pro is powered by the electric current coming from your existing doorbell's transformer, and that transformer must be supplying between 16 VAC and 24 VAC. If your existing doorbell is battery powered, then you can look into something like the Ring Video Doorbell 2, which is also battery powered. If your existing doorbell transformer does not meet the voltage requirements, then you could look into changing out the transformer for one that does meet these requirements. The other requirement is that your 802.11 b/g/n WiFi signal must be good enough outside of your door to allow the doorbell to communicate with your WiFi access point. If there isn't enough power or enough WiFi signal, then the Ring Video Doorbell will not work until you address those issues. The first step in installing the Ring Video Doorbell is to turn off power to your doorbell at the breaker box. The second step is to connect their Ring Pro Power Kit to your existing doorbell transformer and chime. This is not difficult at all, and there are articles on Ring's website as well as YouTube videos that document this process. The third step is removing your current doorbell and connecting the Ring Video Doorbell Pro to your doorbell wiring. This is also easy enough to do. The problems with installation occur if the surface you have to install on is not typical of what Ring shows in their installation videos. In Ring's documentation, they always show a flat, wide surface, whether that is wood, brick, or stucco. However, in my neighborhood, the doorbells were installed on the door's trim, which has decorative tiers. So, in my case, I had to build up a backing to create a flat surface on which to install the doorbell. I cut to fit a paint stir stick and sanded it for proper depth in order to create this backing (See attached picture). After verifying that the doorbell worked for a few days, I used some almond colored silicone caulking to seal and hide the backing. Once the doorbell hardware is installed, restore power to the doorbell, and proceed to configure the doorbell with the Ring mobile app. However, this is where I experienced my second installation issue. In Ring's documentation, it says that once your restore power to your doorbell, the Ring Video Doorbell Pro will begin speaking to you in a few minutes. Well, once power was restored, I waited and waited. The doorbell did nothing; no speaking; no light circling around the button. I began to worry that either there wasn't enough power getting to the doorbell from my transformer or that I had a defective unit. I went inside to begin researching what my options were. As I started reading on my tablet about some other ways to power the doorbell, I suddenly heard some talking outside my front door. When I went out, the Ring Video Doorbell Pro was speaking, and there was a light circling around the button. This was about 10 minutes after having restored power. So, when Ring says wait a few minutes, they mean wait several minutes. So, I was then able to start the doorbell configuration process. When the doorbell started looking for WiFi networks to join, my SSID was not listed among the others, but I was able to manually enter the SSID name and password. The Ring Video Doorbell Pro immediately connected to my WiFi network with no problems at that point. I have the Netgear Orbi WiFi mesh system, and I do have it set to broadcast the SSID. So, if you have this same WiFi router, or you experience something similar, you can try manually entering in your network information to try connecting. The rest of the configuration process was uneventful. The next part of this review concerns actually using the Ring Video Doorbell Pro. In the end the Ring Video Doorbell Pro was successfully installed with my existing doorbell chimes dinging when the Ring Doorbell was pressed (with about a 1 second delay). I receive a notification on my phone when someone presses the doorbell button, and if I go into the Ring app, I am presented with a video of the visitors outside my door. The speaker and microphone on the doorbell allow me to communicate with my visitors, whether I am at home or away. In the Ring app, you can also setup Motion Zones under your Motion Settings. You can "draw" zones on the video feed that you want your doorbell to care about as far as motion is concerned. So, if there is activity outside of your door, Ring will record that activity, even if the visitor does not press the doorbell button. This is great for security or for visitors who knock on your door, rather than ring the doorbell. You will probably need to play with your Motion Zone definitions and/or the motion sensitivity settings, as I have found that at night headlights will cause a Motion Event alert to be sent to my phone. One aspect of Ring's products, including the Video Doorbell Pro, that I do not like is that Ring requires that you subscribe to a Recording Plan in order for the video captured by the doorbell to be available for viewing at a later time. The Video Doorbell Pro will work without a subscription, allowing you to remotely "answer" a live doorbell ring or motion event and have an audio/video conversation with a visitor. However, if you want your doorbell to be part of your home security, then you will want to subscribe to a Recording Plan in order to capture those motion events in the middle of the night or when you're away on vacation. Overall, I would say that the Ring Video Doorbell Pro is a good product, which does what it says, and I would recommend it. It does require some upfront research and can require some extra effort to install. It also requires a Recording Plan subscription to store videos for later viewing. As long as these caveats are understood, then I think you will be pleased with the Ring Video Doorbell Pro.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Calm down! Firmware release on 4/25/2016!

    Posted
    JasonH

    Ring is aware and is saying the retail stores jumped the gun on putting them on the shelves. I purchased it and of course it has issues. Taking it back and exchanging it WILL NOT help. A firmware update can correct all the issues they are having. Here is the email I received from ring when I entered the setup. Dear Neighbor, Thank you for your recent purchase of Ring Pro. As you begin using your Ring Video Doorbell Pro, there are a few things we’d like you to keep in mind. Our retailers are just as excited about Ring Pro as you, so some retail stores stocked their shelves with Ring Pro earlier than agreed. Ring Pro was not supposed to appear in Best Buy stores until Monday, 4/25/16, and Home Depot until Sunday, 5/1/16. Because of this early set, there's a chance you will encounter a few hiccups when using your Ring Pro. Our systems and infrastructure were preparing to have the final firmware and app versions available in time for the 4/25/16 release date, but currently, our systems are not as prepared to handle Ring Pros effectively at the moment. The good news is that a new firmware update will be available Monday morning (4/25/16), which means your current experience will improve very soon. The current firmware version your Pro is running (1.0.18) will update starting Monday, 4/25/16. Our firmware updates are pushed out “over the air”, so nothing is required of you in order to receive the update. We will also have an iOS and Android app update available in the next few days which will alleviate any app-related issues you may encounter this weekend. Here are some of the more major known issues. Keep in mind this is not the full list of issues, however, these are the largest remaining issues: Ring Pro Issues: Delayed doorbell kit ringing: Ring Pro takes up to 5 seconds to trigger your home doorbell once the button is pressed. The team is working on improving this experience. Video image is too dark: Automatic exposure may leave some objects near Ring Pro darker than desired. This may make it hard to make out faces of people near Ring Pro. The team is working on adjusting this. App Issues: Battery symbol showing - Android: The battery power icon is showing in the Android App on Ring Pro. This bug will be corrected in a future Android App release. Error when changing doorbell kit settings - Android: Some users get an error in the Android App when changing the home doorbell kit from Digital to Mechanical (or vice versa). Please try the operation again and it should go through. This bug will be corrected in a future Android App release. Incorrect install video - Android: The install video in our Android App is incorrect and will be updated. To view the correct video, please follow this link: https://youtu.be/0d9eYRgFvXc If you need some extra help installing your Ring Pro, please watch this Pro Install Video. For help installing the Pro Power Kit, please watch this video. As always, our Community Support team is available to assist you. Reach them by email at help@ring.com. Best, Team Ring Again, returning it will not help solve any issues. Just be patient and they will fix it. Should not even be on shelves yet technically. I'm going to be patient b/c I know it can be fixed.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Ring

      Hi JasonH, thank you for purchasing your Ring Pro! If you have not received the latest firmware 1.0.29, please reach me at yul@ring.com today so that we can immediately push it out to your device. I'm happy to also address any other inquiries you may have, and assist you further. Ring

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Some struggles, but worth it...

    Posted
    BrightTitan
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    After researching the products on the market, I decided to go with the Ring Pro, mainly because of its slim design and the amazing customization of the motion zones, more about that later. Overall, the product is nicely built, lots of little details, such as multiple face plates, all the extra tid-bits that you may loose over time and so forth. It comes well packaged, very organized with excellent instructions and videos. On this aspect, I would give highest marks. The actual physical installation is very easy, the drill bit is included and most everything else that is needed. Upon initial connection, I was pleased it powered up after a few minutes, which is normal and when progressing through the app, etc., I was hopeful because things were going well. Then everything I had read in the lower star reviews began to take place. It took several attempts to connect to the WiFi network, had to open the front door to gain a stronger signal. After passing that hurdle, the app indicated it was connected to the device, but the camera would not work. After accessing the health report, I learned the power to the device was poor, in addition to a weak WiFi signal. This practically make it unusable at this point. These are some of the more common issues. I had done my research and was determined to correct the situation. I have the correct type of manual hardwired doorbell, it operates on 16V, which is the minimum required. However, most users have reported that 24V is needed. I would say that 24V is a must, period. My home only being a few years since being built, made is easy to rectify this issue. I found a multiple voltage doorbell transformer at a local home center for $15 that depends on how you connect the wires, it will provide either 8, 16 or 24 volts. Why cannot they just build homes with this version instead. It was a simple update since it was located in garage and was easy to access. After installing and connecting for the 24 volts, the health report immediately switched from poor to very good for power, hurdle one has been resolved. Please be aware, that Ring somewhat addresses this issue by providing a free power cable to use during the installing of the power pack, however you must call and ask for one and what I could tell from other reviews, it seems not to do too much to increase the power needed. Lastly, I needed to address the WiFi signal. I knew most likely an extender would be required to acquire the best signal at that specific location. I am not aware of too many people having their router by the front door. I installed an extender at the nearest wall plug near the device and the health report has gone from poor signal to good. After working to address these requirements, the device works quite well. The video is clear with minimal pixelation, freezing, choppiness, etc., this was all horrific before correcting the power and W-Fi issues. The sound is loud, crisp and clear. The app launches the live within 1 to 2 seconds and I have only had just an instance or 2 whereabouts I had to quit the app and launch again to connect. The internal doorbell rings almost instantaneously when the button is pressed, no lag. The notifications on the mobile and watch come through within 1 to 2 seconds as well, very impressed! After setting the customizable motion zones, middle sensitivity seems to work to best, I am very pleased. Overall, after addressing some installation pain points, I am enjoying this product and would recommend. However, if you are not able to boost power to the 24 volts range and send a strong WiFi, you most likely will be frustrated with the situation. Those concerns are not that difficult nor expensive to address to enjoy this innovative product.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Really good w/ a couple of bumps to get going

    Posted
    GadgetGirl

    I've had the Ring Pro for two weeks. At present, it is working really well, but there have been a few glitches along the way. I almost gave up on it, but I've been patient and I think (hope) that it's going to be ok now. It's the coolest product ever when it's working correctly, but patience is key until you figure out how it will work best for you. Install was super simple, and we wired it into our original doorbell mechanical ding-dong chime using the power pack that came with the Ring Pro. Darn, the original doorbell then only had the "ding" and not the "dong," which should have been our first clue that the doorbell transformer didn't have enough voltage to make things work smoothly. Within the first 24 hours, the Ring Pro quit working. Tech support confirmed that the power to the Ring Pro was not enough, and they sent me a bypass connector to reconnect the wires in the original doorbell chime box. This bypassed the old ding-dong chime, but they included a Ring Chime to plug into the wall, which is working fine. The Ring Pro is connected to my 5GHz wifi network, but the Chime connects to the 2.4 GHz network, however they still play well with each other. The resolution is very clear, and after a few trials, I have the motion sensor set up so that it doesn't have interference from cars driving by. I was so excited to be at the bookstore yesterday and be able to answer my doorbell when a workman arrived to do some exterior work on my house. He looked like he was on the TV show Candid Camera trying to figure out where the voice was coming from that told him that it was fine to go ahead and complete his work even though I wasn't home! As he walked away, I said "Bye!" and he turned around and said " Bye!" with a puzzled look, and waved towards the front door. Funny. I have had to reset the Ring Pro a couple of times due to Internet instability, and once when my router had a firmware update. Tech support walked me through it the first time, but I've been able to figure it out on my own since then. Sort of a pain to have to take the cover off to do the reset, but it's pretty quick. My internet download speed is about 130 Mbps and upload is about 4 Mbps, and that is fast enough to support this product. My router is about 20 feet from the front door, so the wifi signal is strong. I am hoping that as Ring continues to improve the product and push updates to the Ring, there will be fewer glitches along the way. It's a cool gadget when things are working smoothly, and so far I am glad that I've hung in there throughout the trials and tribulations. The Ring Pro is such a new product, and maybe was released a bit too soon, but I haven't given up because it is awesome when it's in action!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    After initial setup issues, I love it.

    Posted
    Gooflee
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    My family gets a lot of packages in the mail, and with the news frequently highlighting package thefts from front doors, I decided on getting a Ring Doorbell especially hearing great things from podcasts. The space where my original door bell is tight, and the Ring Doorbell Pro just barely fits. The actual installation was very easy. It took me about 30 minutes to install it. I could have installed it faster, but I was being very cautious. I wasn’t able to see video on my phone from the Ring Doorbell until after 3 hours. This was after trying to find information from the internet, and talking with Ring Doorbell support person who ignored my questions about what some of the lights meant while I was trying to assist in troubleshooting. He felt that I wasn’t getting enough power to the Ring Doorbell, but he was incorrect. After waiting for 3 hours, and worrying that I would need to give up and take it back to the store, I was able to see video after the doorbell was pressed. My door is slightly recessed into the wall, so my original door bell was also recessed. Unfortunately this causes a tunnel view for the Ring Doorbell camera. It still works, but at night the infrared gets reflected by the wall back into the camera lens. This reflection makes me concern that I won’t be able to see people clearly at night. This isn't a camera flaw, and I only pointing this out to alert others whose original door bell is also recessed in the wall. I am considering seeing if I can find material to absorb some of the IR light to reduce the reflection back into the lens. I love the product after the issues I encountered were resolved (by just waiting). The cloud recording is great, and $30 a year for it seems reasonable. I watched people while I work via the cloud recording ring my doorbell and get a surprised look on their face when they see where the USPS has hidden a package. Unfortunately I haven’t answered my doorbell remotely, because I sometimes leave my phone at my desk at work. I get bummed that I missed answering my door by a few minutes. Currently this is more of a toy for me, because where I live is relatively safe and we haven’t had any burglaries in the neighborhood. It gives me a piece of mind that if someone decides to do something, I have video of it. I like the doorbell so much, I am considering getting a Ring Stickup Cam for the backyard.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Met my needs, Better than expected

    Posted
    Hank
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I purchased the Ring - Video Doorbell Pro at Best Buy. I had read the reviews on line prior to purchasing. The basic installation was easy. However, I had trouble getting it to communicate with my cell phone. I called the tech support number and they tried to correct the problem. I found out from them, the router does not penetrate drywall very well. It bounces off objects, Therefore the advertised signal travel distance of 30 feet between the router and the doorbell is restricted based on the number of walls and objects it hits prior to the signal reaching the doorbell. My cable/router/wifi, etc, are located in the rear corner of the house and my front doorbell is in the center front, I could not get a good signal strength. The signal from my router to the doorbell was very weak. Tech support did not tell me to replace the router but since it was several years old I replaced it.. This still did not solve my problem. Tech support told me to return the router to the store if I wanted, but I needed to add an "extender". I added an "extender" to the router and placed it an equal distance between the router and the doorbell. This solved the problem. But then the existing hardwired door bell chime no longer worked. Tech support sent me the wires to bypass the existing hardwired doorbell and a new remote doorbell chime. After a two week period of phone calls to tech support, my system works great. One lesson I learned from the installation experience, was that RING is a new company and has growing problems.. The tech support individuals that first answer the phone are very limited in their knowledge. If you need help with issues other than the instructions included with the product, there are only about 10 associates that can help you. You will have to make a date/time appointment for them to call back and assist you. These more advanced associates have a very good knowledge of the Ring equipment, are very patient, and great while helping you. They do e-mail you with a reference number so if you have further problems the same person will assist you. I have no complaint with tech support. The RING system works better than I expected. The camera is good. I am very satisfied with it. One thing to remember, it is an internet and WIFI system. It can only notify you when you are connected to the internet or WIFI. As long as I am connected to WIFI. it performs as advertised. I am very limited in my technical knowledge of all the new equipment that use the routers, internet and WIFI. A more tech savvy individual may have been better understood how routers connect to other items and have a better installation experience.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent product but could be slightly better

    Posted
    SeniorTaco
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    A doorbell that cost more than $100? If you were like me you may have thought the same thing. That did not stop me from purchasing it and I love this product. My wife is not a tech person and she loves this product, too. It alerts us both on our iPhones and through the normal doorbell we had in our home. I installed and configured this product in under an hour with very little experience in tech and handyman work. It was super easy and the tools are included. I did have to shim it with a couple stacked pennies to angle the camera more toward my entrance before I put a thin bead of silicone around it. The video is fairly good and clear. The timing of a when a visitor pushes the button to when it rings on my phone is excellent and quick. I love how inexpensive the video recording option is. This is a feature that saves all motion (you can set it up for this) and confirmed rings to a database online. The configuration options on my iPhone are easy and excellent. Even someone with little to no experience can configure this device. The device can be configured to alert you to motion and/or when the doorbell is pressed. The motion detector can be configured easily though the app by highlighting certain areas on the image that is called up through the doorbell. In other words if your doorbell faces the street and sidewalk, you can configure it so that only when motion is detected on the sidewalk it alerts you, avoiding false positives from, say, cars driving by on the street. Here are my only complaints: 1) I wish it was quicker from when you answered the doorbell from when a visitor pushed the button. This does not appear to be network lag as my Internet connection is nearly 300 mbps down and 30 up. It seems to be something within the actual doorbell system/app itself. There are times when someone rings my doorbell and by the time I swipe and it loads the video, the person is facing away and nearly walking away from my house. I have not timed this but it could be in the neighborhood of 30 seconds. 2) Sometimes it seems to be sensitive and have some false motion detection, especially as it switches from day to night. 3) this system allows an individual to talk to someone at the front door, as well. My complaint with this is that sometimes the voice is lagging and creates a feedback where you can hear yourself through the app with a delay. There is a night mode camera that is activated automatically. It is black and white image and although it is good, I would say it is limiting in the fact it is a typical black and white night vision camera. There is a replacement guarantee if it is stolen from your home and I believe it came with toll free support. If you do not want to install this, Ring company provides a list of people that will do this for a fixed rate (maybe $100?). Bottom line, if they fix the three issues above and improved the video quality dramatically, I would easily give this five stars. Even as this product sits now, I would purchase this again.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Excellent product, easy to setup, good support

    Posted
    milman
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The Ring Door Bell Pro is an excellent video camera doorbell. It works great, the install was relatively easy, and it is kind of fun to watch who is at your door. I have had it for about a week now. The cloud option for $30 a year to access video online is also very reasonable, and I will get that. It does only keep 60 days worth, but then you always have a video with the last 60 days of who was at your door. Only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5 is that at night the video turns black and white. Not sure why it does this, and I had noticed this on other reviews and is not a deal breaker for me, just kind of an annoyance as there is really no reason for this IMO. Another drawback is the outside speaker on the doorbell pro is weak and not very clear. It is audible, but not that loud. If you were planning to use this as an intercom to talk to people regularly at your door, I would not recommend it. Not an issue for me. For those that are considering, here are some things to keep in mind. 1) Make sure you are getting the right voltage at your door bell. Ring Door Bell Pro needs at least 16v. I had checked by simply disconnecting the existing doorbell and using a voltage meter to check. I think most house should be ok but it doesn't hurt to verify. If you don't have it, you would need an extra transformer and that will make the installation a little more complicated. I had 18V so I was fine. 2) Make sure you have a good wifi signal at your doorbell area. Ring says should have at least 2MB download which is minimum needed for 1080p video. Mine was like 10 - 20 MB as tested on speed test so I was good. I think for good video though 5MB download is needed but just my opinion. 3) Watch the installation videos from ring. I found it extremely useful and they show you exactly how to set it up. Basically, you attach a device to your existing doorbell (mine was mechanical), and then you attach the ring doorbell outside, and then run it through setup with the Ring App. I had set it up in about 1/2 hour. I did have a minor installation issue. I called support and got through to a support person quickly (which is a big plus) and they were able to help me out. The worst things these days are trying to deal with the automated responses. One up and running, you have several setup options in the app. 1) You can have doorbell activity always monitored and see who is at your door. You can also talk to them, but as said earlier the outside speaker is weak, so they might not be able to hear you well. You can hear them though nicely from the phone app. 2) You can setup motion zones and sensitivity so you can always have a video if anyone was at your door, even if they did not ring it. Pretty nice. It does pick up cars on the street if you don't turn down the sensitivity all the way, but you can configure. 3) You can have a live stream option in the app so you can always just view who is at your door. It has a wide angle camera, so you can a pretty good view of anything going on in your front yard. The camera is very good, and you can zoom in and out on your app. 4) Multiple people can download the app and everyone can monitor. So in my family, there are four of us and all of have the app and we can see who is at our door before we answer.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great, not perfect.

    Posted
    BombasticRed
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was astonished about the unboxing experience right out of the gate. It gave you everything you needed: Double Sided Screwdriver, 2 Mounting Plates, 4 Faceplates, screws, anchors, etc. The install time took a better part of an afternoon; because the doorbell wouldn't fit where we had our last doorbell, so we had to drill extra holes, and seal them with Caulking; but, if you have enough area it could take less than an hour. Setup was easy. It told you directly in the Ring App. --PROS - There is little to no lag from the time I press the doorbell, and get the notification on my phone (which is about 3 seconds). - It has a nice, sleek design. - The app is really easy, and clean to use. - The doorbell has nice integration with other Ring products (Ring Alarm, Ring Spotlight Cams etc.) - You can set times to mute the motion detection (that is called a rule) in the Ring app. -- CONS - The motion detection is wonky sometimes. At night, it picks up Car Lights in my motion zone. Since I live next to a busy neighborhood, I get about 50 notifications each night alone. If you have that problem (like me) you should set a rule to where it mutes it everyday from 9PM to 7AM. - It could disconnect, and reconnect sometimes. As you can see, the positives outweigh the negatives. Thank you for reading my review!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Product (Once working)

    Posted
    AnthonyTheTechGuy
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I originally purchased the Ring Video Doorbell and before opening the box I decided I wanted the newer features available on the Ring Video Doorbell Pro. So I exchanged the product for the new version. I was prompted to purchase because I built a new house and had a shortage in my wired doorbell and decided I should install this cool device rather than keeping my standard doorbell. Everything is packaged great. Ring pretty much gives you everything you need.and even things you may not need. The product feels like it is made of high quality materials and feels like it will be very durable. Physical installation of the actual device is pretty straight forward. If you have an existing wired doorbell, it is pretty much plug and play. You may need to make new screw holes or drill holes depending on your existing setup. While the power pack installation seemed pretty easy and straight forward, I believe this is where trial and error comes into play depending on the type of power supply you have, etc. Mine did not work (chime didn't ring) with the supplied power pack so my device is connected directly to my existing doorbell's terminal. I haven't had any issues, even at night (night vision). The setup of the wireless network can be pretty tricky. When I originally setup my doorbell, the wireless connection was not strong or fast enough to give me a good video stream so I decided to go out and buy a wifi extender since my router was in my basement where my office is located. Once setting this up, everything worked perfect. Ultimately, this will never work perfectly out of the box unless the user's setup is completely optimal. It just takes a little troubleshooting to get everything right and working. It takes patience and research to see what others have experienced. Once setup, the device works great! Oh and you may want to turn off notifications. An insect can set of the motion detectors depending on how you have your zones set up. However, I have noticed that after a few days, the sensors don't seem as sensitive and aren't set off by motion as easy. It is nice to be able to see live view and watch previously recorded footage. I do recommend this product for those who don't mind troubleshooting. I didn't contact Ring support because there was enough info online but I have read that their support is really good. Great product, underwhelming guidance. Good luck!

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Extremely Impressive

    Posted
    brbeaird
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I was hesitant to buy this when I saw several reviews of people saying it was really buggy, but I'm glad I did it. This thing is amazing. It's so cool having a view of your front door anytime. The recording feature is incredible, and the annual price for optional storage is very reasonable. Installation was fairly straight forward. Adding the extra wires to the existing inside doorbell box (new step required compared to old Ring version) was pretty easy. The Ring doorbell itself just takes the two wires from the old doorbell, so that's dead simple. The most difficult part for me was having to drill through solid brick. While they do include a masonry bit, you'll need a very strong drill (hammer drill preferred) and probably a smaller, sharper bit to drill a pilot hole to get the job done. I left off 1 star because there's a current bug where motion sensing does not work in night vision mode. It basically sets off a false alert every 10 minutes because of an ambient light check. They are working on it, but I've found a solid workaround is to just turn on my porch lights. Other than that, my notifications have been very accurate, and video quality is very good. This version itself is also pretty small, so it looks very sleek next to the door. The web interface and Windows 10 app are also nice surprises in how well they work. You can easily share links to any of your recordings (comes in handy for showing friends how it works). The Windows 10 app gives you all the same functionality of the device on your PC, so you can answer an event or just view past videos. Overall, it's a very impressive device and adds a great deal of piece of mind for my home security.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good, but still working out the kinks

    Posted
    David
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I bought this even though the reviews were a bit mixed because I was looking for an outdoor camera and also happened to need to replace the doorbell. This seemed like a good compromise, if not a bit expensive. The setup was mixed...the instructions were ok, but there were still a few places where the install was confusing and it did take longer than they suggested. Once it was setup, it worked very well for about a week, and then all of a sudden stopped working. I worked with support for over a week until they finally pushed a new firmware update that seemed to have fixed the unit. It has now been working well for abut 3 weeks. The motion sensor is good, but sometimes bugs or changes in light will throw false positives. I assume this will improve over time, but something to note if you keep the alerts on your phone at night. The camera quality is quite good, and the audio is clear enough to hear what you need. I do like that it looks similar to a normal doorbell, and I've only had one guest notice that there was something different about it. You definitely can't tell that there is a camera from the street. Last, there is no ability to do local storage, so therefore you have to pay $3 a month for the cloud storage. You can opt out of this service, but it defeats the purpose of having the camera, as you would only be able to use it real time, with no savings of clips or motion. This isn't a lot of money, and is cheaper than most of the other services I looked at, but it is still something to note. Overall, I like the system, but it does feel as if they are still working on the kinks. I liken this purchase to being a beta tester. If you go in with that mindset, you'll like it, but just don't expect the perfect polished experience you get with some other smart home products.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great product but still room for improvement

    Posted
    RichL
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had my eye on the previous generation of the Ring video doorbell but the two main reasons I didn't splurge on it was because of it's width and inability to view live video. You see, I have a wooden trim about 2" wide on the outside of my front door and then decorative stone. I really didn't want to drill into the stone. Plus, no live video? Those were deal breakers for me. Now along comes Ring Pro, which addressed both of my issues above. The slimmer unit now fits nicely and wholly on my trim (no drilling into stone) and I can get a live view of the camera whenever I like. There are also additional features that are a great plus such as 1080p video, interchangeable face plates, configurable zones for motion detection, and probably some more that I'm forgetting. Overall, I'm very happy with the product. So why 4 stars instead of 5? Well, I believe there's still room for improvement. First, all the units don't seem to be created equally. The first one I purchased was defective (the swirling blue light wouldn't stop swirling and when I disconnected and reconnected it the doorbell, it acted as if there was no power). I had to return that unit and exchange it for a 2nd one. The 2nd one worked. I noticed others who left comments experienced similar issues and took similar actions. Second, There is a noticeable delay in pushing the doorbell and hearing the actual "ding dong" (about 3-5 seconds). I'm not sure what's happening in this delay but I believe it should be rectified. Also, as a technologist myself, I believe the video streaming technology needs to be analyzed a bit more. It seems to be using a protocol that may not be widely adopted. I already noticed a couple of places where the live video feed seems to be blocked. And if it's blocked, the application should inform you. Instead, you just see the swirling circle as if it's going to connect at some point but it never does.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Went with the Pro Version

    Posted
    djmidway
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I bought the Pro version of the doorbell cause of the higher resolution and its smaller than Regular version. I needed a new door bell because I was missing deliveries and my doorbell button was worn out, so I did some research and found this was among the most popular of video doorbell solutions. First the good, this does work as advertised and works with the current doorbell. If you lose power, it will remember the setting and you won't have to reset it up once its up and running. It wasn't too hard to set up, but you must open up your doorbell ringer and wire the addition piece. Its fun to watch people outside on the live view. And it does work as a regular doorbell once it has been set up. It does seem weather proof and is still working after a few rains and very hot summer weather. And besides working with Smart Phone which is easy to use, there is a program that lets it run on current MACs, so if your not by the phone you will catch the doorbell. The night video also works well on doorbell. The bad, you must have internet to set up, otherwise your doorbell won't work as both a smart doorbell or a regular doorbell until you go through the set up steps, once it has been done it works fine. When you ring the doorbell, it only rings the chime once, so my mechanical doorbell only has one single chime which can be missed. And it takes a good 30 seconds before it will let ring the door again. While the video is generally good, its not as HD as a Hero or DSLR will produce, its more like an average smart phone at best. Also, sometimes the internet doesn't catch right for the live view so you will get a blank/black image. I have noticed this is allot less frequent than when I first got it, so this may be a non-issue for people who have quicker internet. Lastly all of the video goes through Rings servers, mostly as a part of there cloud service, but I am not sure if the live view feature would work if Ring went out of business or they weren't able to support the device, which is a concern. One thing to note you must have a decent internet speed to use the live view or other features. I have 10mbps down and 2 mbps which it runs ok most of the time, but it does hog the bandwidth while video is running. Also, this is more a feature request, being able to tilt the camera vertically a little bit. I am up higher up and in urban area making it so I have had to get creative with the Motion Zones. Despite my minor complaints, I really do like the doorbell and its features.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Smart Home Essential.

    Posted
    Daviathon
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    I have recently purchased a home, and I have been set on a mission to make my home as connected as possible. Finding the right product lineup has been interesting. The Ring was a product that peaked my interest when I heard about it on shark tank. I'm glad I picked up the Ring Pro, and installation was quite easy. You'll need a power drill to get the Ring in place on cinder block construction, but other than that was a breeze. I like that they have partnered with Wink, and I am able to set up Robots to allow for use of motion being detected as a trigger. Pros: Infrared sensors for nighttime viewing. Easy installation. Wink compatibility. Kēvo compatibility. Able to speak (or ignore) those as your door. Low cost for service to keep recordings. Changeable face plates. No batteries required. 1080p wide angle camera. Cons: Not able to adjust video quality within the app, nor can I seek to find a place to do so. It states it does it automatically, but user control here would be nice. Only a 30-day free trial to their cloud storage. Feel like I should get more for the money I have spent. But who doesn't? To summarize, the Ring was a great purchase for our household, and it has surely helped us with knowing who comes and goes at our house. Would highly recommend a look at this device if in the market for an outdoor camera/smart doorbell device.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Great Customer Support, Unexpected Fun for Guests

    Posted
    RingVideoDoorbellPro
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    After a friend showed me her Ring doorbell, I began researching a few video doorbell solutions before choosing Ring. Holding out a few more days made me lucky enough to earn time to find the Ring Doorbell Pro. A few differences between the Ring doorbell Pro and the standard Ring doorbell. The pro REQUIRES a preexisiting, wired doorbell. The standard doorbell can be charged by USB and mounted anywhere. An advantage the pro offers is that it can tap in to the existing chime and ring your already installed door bell. It also includes in infrared booster kit, and higher quality camera and motion sensing. The Ring Doorbell Pro came with everything I needed to install it, including a screwdriver and drill bit. Instructions were very clear. On first installation I was unable to see any video. I contacted customer service and was very surprised at the high quality of service I received. I have also been contacted multiple times by the company and been included in the insider's program. The doorbell functions very well. Motion and rings notifications are almost immediate to my phone, on Wifi at home or on cell outside of my home. Video and audio has been clear every time. I have had a few instances where the doorbell lost connectivity. I would receive not notification. A simple hard reset corrected the problems. There is very little home automation integration, but representatives from Ring say that it is coming. Video recordings can be browsed through your device or the Internet, but after the first 30 days require a subscription. $30 a year for cloud recording storage is acceptable to me, but be aware without it you won't be able to view your saved recordings.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Quick and Painless, Does a specific job.

    Posted
    OldSchoolTechie
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    I've been running my Ring Pro for several weeks now and overall I'm pretty pleased with the quality of the video and features. A strong WiFi signal and fast Internet access is a must however, so it would be worth downloading a good signal strength tool like Wifi Analyzer on your phone and testing your signal strength from the location where your Doorbell presently is. This single attribute can largely dictate your success and satisfaction with the Ring products. Assuming you have a good Wifi signal like I do you should be pretty pleased with the video quality. Several things I don't like. 1). You can only record video to the Ring cloud, no local storage is possible, and after 30 days you pay monthly or $30.00 per year. 2). The audio notifications can't be muted or changed on the Ring app on your phone, however, muting your phone audio will work but this is obviously not the solution that is required. 3). There is no way to view live video on a web browser at ring.com, your only option is using your phone to live view video. The positive features are nice motion control options and adjustments, it's inconspicuous looking, has a wide field of view and fairly decent night vision. There are trade-offs for ANY video monitoring system, nothing is perfect unless you literally design it yourself using discrete components, which I considered doing. However, a quick easy install and checking most of my requirement boxes is why I picked Ring as part of my video surveillance solution. I also have the Ring Floodlight and experienced similar performance and features. However my present Ring Floodlight is having audio issues so I'm going to have to get it replaced. Considering the competition like Arlo, Kuna, Nest (also a strong contender with the exception of the ridiculously huge power connection you have to drill a 1" hole in your house if you want no one tampering with it..) Ring products are pretty good for their respective niche.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Does Everything I Need

    Posted
    Arbies
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    Installing the Ring Pro was fairly straightforward. I'm certainly no electrician, but I was able to figure it out. I did have to drill a hole where the doorbell goes, but thankfully they provide a drill bit that can handle cement/bricks. The set up process was also simple. It involves hitting a button on the side of the doorbell, pairing your phone with it, and then choosing which wireless network to connect to along with supplying the wifi password. One feature that I was surprised to see is the ability to disable your normal doorbell from ringing (which my dog goes crazy over), so it would only notify you of motion or button pushes via the apps. As far as how the Ring Pro functions, it works well for the most part, however, there are 3 cons: 1) The video was sometimes choppy, losing frames. I had to install a wireless router closer to the Ring Pro, and this helped significantly. The router is also dedicated to the Ring Pro, so I'm sure that helps. 2) Even with the dedicated wireless router, sometimes playing back the recorded video (in the cloud) will be choppy. This seems to be happening less lately, and is only a minor annoyance. 3) The Windows 10 Ring app on my laptop will only work properly for about 1 day before it starts crashing. The workaround is to uninstall/reinstall the app, but then again it will only work for about 1 day. I don't have this issue on my other Win 10 desktop, and the Android and iOS apps also work fine for me. I have complained to their support team, and they said they're working on it, and they were nice enough to give me 5 years of their subscription service for free. Even though there are a few cons, I still highly recommend the Ring Pro. I've talked a few coworkers into purchasing them, and they enjoy them too. Later, I purchased the separate Chime accessory which plays configurable ring tones when the Ring Pro detects motion or when someone pushes the button (separate tones for each).

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    A nice temporary solution

    Posted
    AquaDog
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    Installation was pretty smooth. I did have to upgrade our doorbell transformer up to 24 volts which wasn't difficult other than making sure the power was off and a few screws. The doorbell did connect to the network pretty easily and worked great for the first day. I have a flagship router and over 150mb internet connection so the ring was well within range and has the speed to make it "very good" in the Ring health rating app. I will say that this product is working about 70% of the time correctly. The most common issue I have with this product is that it won't always record "live" video. I do receive the "motion" notice but no live video is being recorded, just a black screen for one minute. When it is working correctly, the video is clear and smooth and the communication piece can be somewhat choppy and delayed. If disconnected from the network the product will re-connect to the network on its own and you just have to hope it will work the next time someone enters the motion zone or actually rings the doorbell. The app is very smooth and easy to use. You are required to purchase the ability to store videos from Ring after the 30 day trial period. My overall review of this product is that it is somewhat reasonably priced and the same for reliability. I would recommend this product as a temporary fix to installing a wired cctv solution or for those that are aware that it is going not going to work 100% of the time. You just have to hope it isn't that time you really need it to work. My thanks to all of the previous reviews on the doorbell transformer voltage, network speed, and router wifi signal information.

    I would recommend this to a friend

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    What you need to know

    Posted
    Gadgeteer
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

    The Ring Pro provides improved daytime video quality and better control over motion sensing than the Ring, but it is essential to have a strong wifi signal where you install it, and either strong wifi or 4G/LTE signal where you want to use the App. The motion sensing will perform better if you have a large front yard with a long sidewalk that does not approach the door from the side within 5-7 feet of the door, and does not have tree limbs or other objects that move nearby - otherwise, you will either not get motion alerts in time to be effective, or you may get excessive false alerts. Because there can be delays in starting recording or receiving or responding to alerts, and the video capture resets if/when the doorbell is pressed or you respond, you may not get video of what triggered the alert, unless they very patiently wait around at the door for a response (unlikely). For existing Ring users considering upgrading to the Pro, be aware that they say you cannot power both from the same doorbell; however, you can add the old Ring under battery power (so no Live View function), or install it on a separate transformer. The $30/year Cloud Storage is per each device. Overall, under the right conditions, the Ring Pro is a significant improvement over a standard doorbell, but not as complete and reliable as a more elaborate security system. However, it is more aesthetic and much easier to install than a new wired security system. Note: a second firmware update (ver. 1.0.40) was pushed last night; it remains to be seen if this resolves various performance issues, especially night time motion sensing problems.

    I would recommend this to a friend