Main Content

Wemo - Insight Plug - White/Gray

Belkin WeMo F7C029FC Insight Plug: Monitor your energy usage and control your home electronics from almost anywhere using your Android or Apple® smartphone or tablet. Receive personalized notifications about your devices from the WeMo App.

Home Automation, Security and Networking Buying Guide
$44.99

Protect your product

Learn about Replacement Plans
Protection Plan Options

Item Added.View List

Add to List

    No lists found. Create one today.
    Add Item
    Cardmember Offers
    Frequently bought together
    Subtotal:

    Overview

    What's Included


    • Owner's manual
    • WeMo Insight Plug

    Ratings & Reviews


    Overall Customer Rating:
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (632 out of 689)

    Features


    Control any electronic device with an ON/OFF Plug from your smartphone or tablet

    Turn devices on or off or set a customized schedule from anywhere with Wi-Fi, 3G or 4G access.

    Your home Wi-Fi network provides wireless control of your devices

    Control your TVs, lamps, fans and more.

    Set schedules and receive notifications

    Get notified when your laundry is finished or find out when your child has exceeded their TV limit so you can turn it off.

    Works with the whole Belkin WeMo family

    Including WeMo Plug, WeMo Motion Sensor and more. WeMo products are designed to work together via the WeMo App.

    Customize the WeMo App

    Change the names and icons of your devices for a more personal experience.

    Lower energy costs

    Set schedules, monitor energy usage on electronics, and find out which of your devices are used the most.


    Customer rating

    Rating 4.4 out of 5 stars with 689 reviews

    92%
    would recommend to a friend

    Expert rating

    Rating 4 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

    Pros

    Cons

    • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

      Privacy & Reliability Issues

      Posted
      ProviderLandru
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

      I really want to say this is a great product, but I have some issues that prevent that. I am using about a dozen WEMO devices. One to periodically power cycle a Tablo, one to cycle network equipment, and the remainder to monitor and manage power in a crypto mine. I have been using WEMO for over a year. For context, I made my living designing computers and electronics, as well as developing firmware for these sorts of things, so I am not without a clue in using these devices. The Good: On the plus side, it is really handy to have the ability to restart equipment from anywhere, and the power monitoring is valuable as well. The monthly summary is very helpful. WHEN IT ALL WORKS. On the down side - Privacy Issues: Belkin's WEMO smartphone app is very intrusive, and I have to suspect that Belkin may be selling user data to data mining companies. The app has access to your contact info, cell phone number, and just about anything else to do with your phone. I see no reason for this access given what the app does. There is no functionality which relates to contacts, and the phone has a UUID for unique identification, so there is no reason for them to access your phone number. Far too many app providers feel free to steal your personal info, and we all need to stand up against it. I have solved it in this case by running the WEMO app from an iPod which has no phone number, and contains no contact info, but this sort of extreme measure should not be necessary in order to maintain control of private personal information. Reliability Problems: The wi-fi connectivity of this device drops all too often. I have even gone to the trouble of placing an additional access point in the vicinity of the WEMO devices, so it isn't a problem of signal strength. From time to time devices also seem to turn off for no apparent reason, although this hasn't happened enough for me to troubleshoot. It may be related to the poor decision by Belkin to use a touch sensor instead of a mechanical switch for manual power control. The touch sensor is an absolute nuisance, and has resulted in more than one inadvertent switching event. As in most engineering, simpler is better. I also find that the device setup process can be quirky, and (the annoyingly frequent) firmware upgrades break things more often than not, requiring that the device be set back up. The firmware updates sometimes require multiple upgrade attempts. Security: In February of last year it became public knowledge that the WEMO devices had serious security flaws. To be fair, Belkin came out with firmware to address the problem, but the nature of the mistakes in the original implementation were so fundamental as to shake my confidence in the development process at Belkin. It would seem that someone at Belkin has a lackadaisical approach to securing a device that has the potential to burn your house down if compromised. So why do I use these devices given the negatives, and the fact that I could roll my own solution with an Arduino, RasPi, or Beaglebone? That's easy. I'm lazy, and they are usable, just annoying. If you're okay with that (as I am) have fun!

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        BelkinStaff

        Hi ProviderLandru,

        Your detailed feedback regarding our WEMO product is appreciated. One of our main objectives has always been to keep our devices in tip top shape, which includes the updates and upgrades devices go through. Rest assured that we took note of this for future product developments.

        If you want to share more about your experience or if you need our help, you may email us at WEMOhelp@belkin.com. Please include your contact details, location, and the link to this review for reference.

        Regards,

        Belkin Support
        http://www.belkin.com/us/support Belkin

    • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

      Does what it says, but you cannot rule the world.

      Posted
      TechNut

      I originally discovered WeMo products after searching for a device to remotely cycle the power to a server computer located across town in the event of a system freeze, a product like this was an absolute blessing. Professional networking gear which performs the same function can cost hundreds, so I was quite pleased to find this handy little doodad economically priced. Alright, the WeMo app found the switch, sweet! But wait.... I have to...update....the....firmware...on....an....outlet? Ooookay, (Unexpected life achievement) I go along with the update, not really giving it much more thought since pretty much every electronic device purchased these days will almost certainly require an update right out of the box. I get it. Bug fixes are good! I fumble along with updating the firmware on the future socket, wait more than the stated 10 minutes for updating even though it's connected to a fiber network. Unplug, plug back in, no dice. Perform a factory reset, (Which instructions as to how to do were buried in the app's help section.) No biggie, but another hurdle to jump in a mildly frustrating situation. A 1 cent sticker could of made the difference between a return here for a noob. Strike 1 Alright, got a factory reset done, connected with the app over Wi-Fi, aaaand, another firmware update... >:s Wait, download, update, restart the app. Alright! We are in business, (Wi-Fi) side.... After struggling with the initial setup, I then moved onto the controlling the world capabilities of this. I go to try to cycle the switch over 3g/4g, and the app says no device found. D; I dive into the support section of the app, it notes that the device will have issues communicating with networks that use special characters in the routers SSID, such as ($*&+@#_). I changed the network name to something more suitable, and carried on. Ok not really a huge deal breaker, but Belkin should really consider adding a notation about this to the minuscule amount of documentation found inside the box. Those who are less inclined to hopelessly wander the app's help section would have almost certainly returned this item. (Heads up WeMo stock holders) Strike 2 At this point, the switch is functioning as the box states, I am elated to finally have this magical box in my life, it is going to save my sleep! I was so astounded at its functionality, I decided to look into WeMo's other products... I picked up a WeMo wall switch, and the remote LED lightbulb kit for my home. Coool, future, hell yes. Then proceeded to setup the bulbs, which were actually much easier to setup having the knowledge of the first round. I then get to the point of setup to enable remote access to the bulbs over 3g/4g. Upon enabling remote access, I notice I no longer have remote control to the wall outlet installed across town for the server >_< After reading the grayed out text on the Remote Access portion of the app, it does state something along the lines of "Remote access will only work from one location with this device" *sigh* a warning before wiping remotely accessed WeMo's would be nice. I then drive back across town, jump on the Wi-Fi network the WeMo wall outlet is located on, enable remote access again, because the app or website does not keep a history for you to swap. Back in the saddle (or so I thought). Then head on home to mess with the light bulbs, I connect to the local Wi-Fi, open the app, and I now can't even access the lightbulbs at my house, because the switch is added at another location. Strike 3 In conclusion, this type of technology will definitely gain a solid foothold in the market, although Belkin and WeMo have seemed to put a good polish on this item from the shelf, once you get it home you will shortly discover they have left a lot of loose ends, and practically are setting themselves up for failure due to rushed programming and the severe expansion limitations imposed by said software. If you only ever plan on owning one WeMo device, I might recommend this product only if you are willing to take the time to bumble through setup, but if you are planning on an expansive network in other locations, the future has not yet arrived. I traded the WeMo wall switch and bulbs to for some regular LED lightbulbs so I can at least save that drive across town.

      No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

      Works as advertised!

      Posted
      wrz0170

      As stated in the title, works as adverised. When I got it, I followed the instructions inside the box. Downloaded the WeMO app. Plugged the Insight Switch in. Through the app, I pointed it to my network and it was able to connect fairly quickly. Next thing I did was let it go through firmware updates. Apparently there were two updates. After that, it was ready to go. To note, as of this review and since I got it, there were two app updates. So it appears they are active with the app and switch. I bought it for my espresso machine, a Rocket Giotto Evoluzione V2. It is 15amp/110v and 1200 watts. It takes a good hour to warm up before pulling the first shot. I wake up at 4:30am and I don't have time to wait for it to warm up so I started research for timers and chose the WeMo. Once set up, I went back into the app and set the rules (your on and off times). You can set a bunch of different rules. For example, my Weekday rule is the machine will turn on an hour before I get up and turn off about an hour after I leave. I set up an After Work rule to come on an hour before I get home and stay on til about 6p.m. (not a good idea to drink espresso after 6 unless you want to write operas at 2am). I then have a Weekend rule set up to turn on and basically stay on during the day. You can pretty much set any type of rule you want. Select days and select times. If I was in a situation where I got to go home early before a rule started, I can go in the app and manually turn on the machine from wherever I am and I have and it works. By the same token, I can manually turn the machine off, overriding a rule. The range seems to be pretty good. My router is located in the living room and obviously the machine in the kitchen. A room away with a wall separating the router and switch. I also have the WeMo plugged into a surge protector which is located underneath a coffee cart where my machine resides. So it's not even out in the open. So the range for me is very good. Even impressive. Some minor nitpicks. Little pricey. The directions were minimal. I didn't see any instructions on how to set up rules but it appeared intuitive enough.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

      Good for single WiFi.

      Posted
      AncientGeek
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

      I’ve been using WeMo outlets and switches for a few years now. Overall, they are useful and reliable. I use them to control various electronic devices that require an occasional power cycle. I have one controlling my block heater on my Kubota, so I can turn it on from my house a hour or two before I need to use it on a cold and snowy day. They are handy, My two complaints are my reason for withholding one star and depending on your circumstances this could either be a five star or one star review as a result of these issues. 1. The WeMo system only allows you to use one SSID with a user account. This means that if you have more than one WiFi SSID name in your home or if you have more than one home and they have different SSIDs, you can not remotely control WeMo devices on different SSISs from a single account. As IoT systems gained in popularity and maturity, many companies realized they needed to have the concept of “locations” as part of their underlying data model and in their software. So for example, I can pull up my thermostat app and see my home and vacation home then control thermostats in each home as logical groups. I had to buy a different brand of smart outlet to use on my other SSID or use a different account to remotely control WeMo devices on different SSIDs. 2. Firmware updates seem to often (if not always) leave the device in the off state after the update. I have experience some updates that required me to physically power on the device after the update. I couldn’t do it remotely or even locally through the app. I don’t know the exact circumstances, but I have experienced this enough to teach me to delay all firmware updates until I am able to physically touch the device, if needed, to bring it back online. Clearly not good for “remote control” situations. So I let those sit until I can be there. On my wishlist, is the ability to ask the WeMo to cycle the power off and on with some defined delay without having a network connection...and that last part is the catch. I can do a lot of things when I have connectivity between the WeMo and “the cloud”, but if you need to power cycle your only network device, once it is off, it is off until you can touch it, I work around this by having both DSL and Cable connections. I control one side from the other, so as long as one or the other is alive, I can bounce the nonresonsive side. Of course, this leads me to my 1st issue about SSIDs! I can only use WeMo for one side. Now that I have two other brands installed, I plan to gain experience with them to see if I could eventually get to a single vendor solution for all of my SSIDs.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

      So Easy To Use

      Posted
      texbuc
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

      Bought this Insight switch to go along with my WeMo bulbs and other regular WeMo switches. The integration with my other products was seamless and I really like the extra features this switch has to monitor power consumption. Wasn't sure it justified the few extra dollars when I left the store, but after using it, I really wish all my regular WeMo switches and bulbs had the same power consumption monitoring. One of my favorite features is knowing how long my Insight switch is on everyday and then it averages that time into my daily, weekly and monthly use. Love it! The Insight switch also works with my Echo. With my voice, I can turn all my WeMo switches on and off. Really love it!!!! I love that convenience. The Echo is so quick and the switches are so responsive. Before I can even physically get to the switch or my WeMo app, the switch is on or off. That is very convenient, especially when you are in bed, or if your hands are full, if you are already settled into your chair, or if the room is dark. I really love all my WeMo products and love that I have control of my products from anywhere in the world. My one issue with Belkin, and they immediately responded to me for help, was the initial set up. It's a little awkward connecting your WiFi but it's because of their instructions and timing. It's easy to get around, but I know they would get even better reviews if they changed their set up instructions. After the initial set up, adding new products and changing things or combining lighting in the app is easy. Belkin makes a great product that doesn't physically take space up on my WiFi router like other products do, their products are well built and responsive, and they are much easier to use as compared to Philips. Love my Philips lights, but the WeMo app is much more straightforward and user friendly. Along with my Echo, these connected home devices from WeMo are the future and I am just so amazed at all I can do that I couldn't do before.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

      Absolutely Awesome!

      Posted
      txpilot2005
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      For some time I have been trying to figure out how to more efficiently get hot water throughout my entire house in order to save money on my gas, water, and electric bill. The Problem: I have a hot water recirculating pump that I can set manually (major pain in the rear) but my work schedule was not conducive to using this for showering unless I left it on all the time (which equates to a high gas and electric bill.) When not using the pump it takes 4-5 minutes to get hot water up to my master bathroom from the water heater which is located on the other side of the house (equating to a much higher water bill and time wasted by letting it run till it got hot.) My solution: Enter the Wemo Insight! After programming the switch and making a rule to automatically turn off after 5 minutes of use and linking it to a recently purchased Amazon Echo my problem was solved. I now have my recirculating pump plugged into my Wemo Insight and have the pump set to "on" all the time. Except now it only turns on when I say "Alexa, Hot Water On" and then for only 5 minutes. I now can quickly get hot water to every faucet in my house in only a matter of a few seconds with a simple voice command to "Alexa" and only when one of my family members or I need it for everything from showering to laundry and the dishwasher. Plus, because of the auto off function I don't have to worry about someone forgetting to turn the pump off after using it. I'm estimating my first month of utilities savings alone will more than pay for the Wemo and possibly even the Echo. This device is Awesome and can help make your smart home imaginations possible.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

      Totally unnecessary, but I like it

      Posted
      Jdnlex
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® Elite Plus MemberElite Plus Member

      The promise of this plug is that in addition to adding smart functionality to traditional lamps, fans, etc, it also allows tracking electric consumption. This is handy and I enjoy getting the reports just because I'm a nerd. It's very handy for things like setting up notifications for when the refrigerator is running longer than normal, which may mean I left the door open again. Also, I have another unit set up to notify me when my lawn equipment batteries have finished charging. The device can give you insight into energy consumption, but if you're buying this to save money, remember it will take an awfully long time to make up the purchase price in energy savings. That said, it's a great device and highly recommended if you like more information and control over your electrical stuff. One star off because I often have to reset up wireless connections anytime the device is unplugged or the power fails. Also, it defaults to off. I have one on the refrigerator, and I would much prefer it default to ON. Fortunately, the app can send notifications and you can power on from the app, assuming it reconnects to WiFi without intervention. Maybe I wouldn't recommend this on refrigerators or freezers if your line in power is flaky.

      I would recommend this to a friend

    • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

      Stupid Android....

      Posted
      juanboy2k
      • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
      • My Best Buy® MemberMember

      Contrary to all available resource info, unless you have a non-Android device to set this thing up, you're screwed. Fortunately, apple products abound. I had to use an Apple iPad in order to connect to the wireless access point on the outlet switch, in order to get it connected to the house wireless system. It is one of life's difficult mysteries, that the fine folks at Android-world are UN FREAKING able to have an option to TURN OFF the requirement that all wireless connections permit access to the INTERNET. Once you get past that, you might find that the device just works. I was >--< close to returning the device to Best Buy because even with the iPad to boot strap it up, the first attempt failed miserably. However, I later found out that evening, that i needed to restart my routers - so perhaps the problem was in the wireless network itself. No matter, when I tried again about a week later, the device found the local wireless network (I have 2 separate access points due to distance) and I was successfully able to operate the device remotely with an android app. 3 stars I give this device, because it should simply not be that difficult to set it up. I would, however recommend it nevertheless. You have to be able to remotely turn on/off a device sometimes afterall.

      I would recommend this to a friend

      • Brand response

        BelkinStaff

        Hi, juanboy2k,

        Your feedback is of great value and we appreciate your taking the time in bringing this to our attention. We're happy to hear that the product currently works, however, we feel sad to hear the challenge you've gone through in setting up the unit. We're glad to hear that a simple reboot of your router fixed this matter. And your observation is right, this is a possible Wi-Fi settings that wasn't recognized by your WEMO device. No worries, we'll take note of your feedback and we'll share it with our team. Should you have queries, or should you need assistance in the future, get in touch with us at WEMOCares@belkin.com along with your contact details and the link to this post for reference. We would be more than willing to lend a hand.

        Regards,
         

        WEMO Support
        www.wemo.com Belkin

    What experts are saying

    Rating: 4 out of 5 stars with 4 reviews

    Click to visit alaTest website
    Using an algorithm based on product age, reviewers ratings history, popularity, product category expertise and other factors, this product gets an alaTest Expert Rating of 69/100 = Good quality.
    • The WirecutterRachel Cericola on February 2, 2017
      The Best Smart Switch
      The easy-to-use, widely compatible Belkin WeMo Insight Switch is the best smart switch outlet adapter to plug in and get you started with smart-home automation.Full Review
    • Trusted Reviews (UK)Rating, 4 out of 5Catherine Hood on October 11, 2016
      Belkin WeMo Insight Switch
      The Belkin WeMo Insight Switch is the successor to the existing Belkin WeMo Switch – a Wi-Fi-enabled smart plug that lets you remotely control your home devices from your phone, set custom rules and receive status notifications. The WeMo InsightFull Review
    • CNETRating, 4 out of 5December 16, 2013
      Belkin WeMo Insight Switch
      Are those extras worth the $10 price premium? The smaller housing is more visually appealing than the original. For many people that alone will be enough. The energy consumption tracking won't be useful for everyone, but thanks to IFTTT, I can seeFull Review
    • cnet.co.ukRating, 4 out of 5Ry Crist on September 9, 2013
      Belkin WeMo Switch + Motion review
      Belkin's WeMo home automation products offer the ability to control your home electronics from anywhere, and the WeMo Switch + Motion might be the most attractive package of the bunch. If it has a plug, you can plug it into the WeMo -- a lamp, aFull Review



    Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.