Night Owl - 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 1080p 1TB DVR Surveillance System - Black/white

Spot unusual activity in your home or business with this eight-channel Night Owl video security system. It comes with four 1080p cameras with motion-activated recording and 100-foot night vision to provide clear footage in Full HD. This Night Owl video security system has 1TB of hard drive storage and is expandable up to 4TB.

Choosing a Home Security Solution
$249.99
Save $50
Was $299.99

Protect your product

Learn about Replacement Plans
Protection Plan Options

Overview

What's Included


  • Night Owl 8-Channel, 4-Camera Indoor/Outdoor Wired 1080p 1TB DVR Surveillance System

Ratings & Reviews


Overall Customer Rating:
84% of customers would recommend this product to a friend (86 out of 103)

Features


Motion-activated design

Automatically records once motion is detected.

Monitor your property with 4 cameras

Also includes DVR, remote control, mouse, power splitter and 3 security stickers.

Set and forget with hard drive storage

Record continuously from 8 channels with a 1TB hard drive.

High-resolution technology captures superior footage

Cameras use advanced image sensors to record larger, clearer full-screen video. They produce an image that is 1920 horizontal and 1080 vertical pixels in size.

Infrared night vision lets you see in the dark

Keep an eye on things up to 100' away when there's little to no light.

Viewing angle up to 100°

Expertly captures a wide angle of your property for exceptional security at all times.

HDMI and VGA outputs

Connect to a wide range of compatible displays for versatile viewing, including your HDTV, LCD or plasma TV. USB connectivity makes it easy to transfer stored footage.


Overall customer rating

4.2
84%
would recommend to a friend

Pros

Cons

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    Okay for a beginner, but lacks quality

    Posted
    SecuSure
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    So, I wanted a camera system just because my office has one window, and I wanted to see everywhere without issue. Well, this does it, perfectly. But the advanced features lack, alot.\ First, the installation is pretty simple. But, the camera mounts are horrible. The camera has a pivot ball, simple, right? No. No matter how much you tighten them, they keep moving. Daytime: No issues, but, the cameras only record at 15 FPS. Not too bad, but the picture quality is amazing. However, the zoom is junk. These cameras are 2 MP, but I expected more out of a camera system for $300. Nighttime: Yikes! Only 1 camera works perfectly at night. 2 other cameras you have to position just right, and 1 is pure ehhhh. They claim ambient lighting causes distortion, well, this is horrible. I have no lights outside causing this. May Night Owl LLC will see this and help me figure out my issue.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon and thank you for the detailed review. Ambient lighting should not distort the image. It enhances Night Vision and increases the viewing distance. A light shining directly into the camera lens will distort the image. If you are having issues with your cameras Night Vision, one of our tech support agents will happily troubleshoot for free at 1-866-390-1303. If you are within the 1 year warranty period and it is found that the cameras are defective, they will be immediately replaced. Thanks for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    Good overall, but could be better

    Posted
    Gill
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    I had these cameras installed outside and they are really great during the day, but only ok at night. My yard is not very well lit and the night vision is not very good at all. I had the wireless system, but I had to change it out because the wireless wouldn't work at my house (something about stucco walls and too many doors and walls). The wireless system is much better quality night vision and the app was much more user friendly. I can't figure out how to download and share videos on this app, the camera's keep disconnecting from my live view and I have to re-add them every time I open the app. For the money, it's a good system, but I wish the wireless ones would have worked for my house because it was much better quality, but it lagged and some cameras wouldn't even connect. I also really wish they would upgrade the app to make it more like the X.

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Hi Gill and thank you for the review. We would like to further troubleshoot some of the issues you are having. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with your 1) name, 2) best contact method and 3) best time of day to reach you. One of our advanced agents will then follow up with you. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    does not work

    Posted
    lola
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    we purchased this camera system for our house to be able to view on thru the mobile app, since we travel a lot. but it is always disconnecting. when we are home we trouble shoot everything, and sometimes it does not connect to our mobile device, it stays connected for a day, and while we are away, it gets disconnected. and we cannot connect or try to fix it until we return from our trip. this has become a nuisance. this has happened several times within the 3 months we have had this product. every week if anything. we DO NOT RECOMMEND this product, do not buy it. look for another camera system and DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME with the NIGHT OWL systems, any of them.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      We are very sorry you are experiencing connectivity issues with your Night Owl system. We recommend for the best connection is to have a minimum of 2mbps of upload speed at the location of your DVR. Please keep in mind that you may have such speed however it's shared with any other connected devices within your household. Also, on your smart device, for best connection, we recommend to have a Wi-Fi connection when viewing multiple cameras at the same time. Please, do not hesitate to contact our technical support team so they may assist you troubleshooting your connectivity issue. Thank you for choosing Night Owl.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    not at all a good system

    Posted
    amhent

    To start with it is very hard to get help. If you press 1 for a tech to call you back, it takes a week if they call you at all. If you call when they 1st open hours and get a tech, they sound and act like they just rolled out of bed and still waiting for their 1st cup of coffee. The system itself has had 3 cameras lose night vision and had to have the DVR fan motor replaced so I had to send it out. Low quality in my opinion The company shuts down he app for weeks at a time so you can't monitor from away from home. They don't give any notice of a shutdown nor do they know when it will be back up. The last time was 2 weeks...

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon and thank you for the feedback. We apologize for the issues that you have had and hope that we can improve your experience. Typically when a camera loses Night Vision, but is functioning otherwise, there is an issue with the power. This is something that can be easily troubleshot by one of our technicians and is fully covered under the 1 Year Warranty. If a component is found defective, we will send out the replacement at no cost to you. If the DVR, itself, needs to be examined/repaired, we send a pre-paid label to have it sent in to our team. Regarding the application... we do not shut down the App, period. Oftentimes customers have issues with the application that requires troubleshooting their Internet connection and/or network setup. If there is an issue with the App or our servers, our team works to quickly resolve the issue to minimize the inconvenience for our customers. Again, we apologize for the experience you have had and hope to be of more assistance to you in the future. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

    customer service not good camera ok not remarkable

    Posted
    Kimberly
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    They said their cameras were compatible with most DVR systems. I bought 4 add on cameras, they do not work on our system or 2 other ones my daughter's boss has. So I buy a1080p, it comes with 4 cameras so now I am just replacing the 4 I have and add the other 4. And it still does not work. I emailed the company and they can not even be bothered to answer. I called and was told I need to buy a new monitor also, of course one of their choosing. I was using a dell that is only a few years old and it worked just fine with our other system. So when just wanting to add a couple cameras ended up costing me way too much and having to buy their who!e system that is not good and is not compatible with anything. Think twice before buying

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Good Afternoon Kimberly. Please email customersupport@nightowlsp.com with the following: 1) your name, 2) your preferred contact method (phone or email), 3) the best time of day to reach you and 4) a brief description of the issue. One of our advanced agents will follow up within 24 hours and work to address the issues you have mentioned. Our systems are not compatible with 'all' or 'most' cameras. They are compatible with select cameras based on the technology and resolution at play. And I am not sure why you were told you needed a new monitor. We do not sell TVs or Monitors and have absolutely zero incentive to encourage you to buy a new one or any particular brand. We look forward to hearing from you and getting your issues resolved. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    Nothing fancy, but what I wanted

    Posted
    AverageJoe
    • Verified PurchaserVerified Purchase
    • My Best Buy® Elite MemberElite Member

    This Night Owl system is exactly what I wanted. Just wanted more of a closed circuit system that records 24/7 and I can go back review if I need to. It also has the ability to watch from mobile devices and such, but I have set it up yet. I’ve had it up for a few weeks now and the cameras are great, clear high def and cover my drive way, mailbox, front door and back yard. Can add four more if I want which is nice. I wasn’t looking for any fancy wireless system for someone to hack into, why I have set up the mobile part, so it’s just what I was looking for. (easy to set up to, worst part was crawling around the attic)

    I would recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      From everyone here at Night Owl, we are very glad to know you are enjoying your system. If you ever need assistance do not hesitate to contact us, our technical support team is available 24/7. Thank you for choosing Night Owl!

  • Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

    Good hardware but poor software

    Posted
    Dave98
    • My Best Buy® MemberMember

    The system is easy to setup and configured. The cameras and the DVR console have adequate features for a well rounded home surveillance system. However the DVR remote access software has connectivity trouble. When installed on a desktop computer the software often cannot connect with the DVR console to view live camera footage. "Connection failed" is the typical error message. To resolve the problem the DVR console must be powered off and on in order for the software to connect. This resolution lasts for a few hours then connectivity is lost again. The remote access software for cell phones also suffers from connectivity issues. It's very frustrating.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Hi Dave. Thank you for reaching out. This would need to be troubleshot by one of our technicians. Please contact 1-866-390-1303 at your convenience and an agent will assist is getting you up and running. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

  • Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

    ****YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR****

    Posted
    Andy

    Ive had problems and problems. One of the cameras is always black and white even on day time. One of the channels is not working. The app is really imposible to use and specially when you want to monitor your children. The app is really bad. I called customer service 2 times and the idiots told me that i need to call again because he did not know what to do. I already spoke with a professional and he told me theses are cheap quality surveillance. For maybe 200.00 more Ive could of got a HD quality system. I will never recommend Night Owl to no one. I even took the sign off from my yard because i was so ashamed for my security system.

    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Brand response

      Night Owl

      Hi Andy. We are sorry to hear you are having an issue with your Night Owl system. Please email techteam@nightowlsp.com with the following: your name, contact phone number, brief description of the issue and the best time of day to reach you. One of our technical leads will follow up with you after researching your tech support call so we can get this resolved.




Product images, including color, may differ from actual product appearance.